DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s species election without traverse of the recombinant resilin protein identified in SEQ ID NO: 13 with an alpha mating factor secretion signal and a FLAG-tag in the reply filed on December 17, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 17, 2025.
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 12-19, and 69-71, drawn to the elected species are currently pending and under examination. If the species is not identified in the prior art, then another species will be examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The priority date is January 13, 2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2024 is being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 10 discloses an amino acid sequence that does not appear to correspond to the SEQ ID NO: identifier, SEQ ID NO: 1. Suggest identifying the amino acid sequence with the SEQ ID NO: identifier that corresponds with the disclosed sequence in figure 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Figure 10 discloses an amino acid sequence that does not appear to correspond to the SEQ ID NO: identifier, SEQ ID NO: 1. Suggest identifying the amino acid sequence with the SEQ ID NO: identifier that corresponds with the disclosed sequence in figure 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 12-19, and 69-70 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-53 of U.S. Patent No. 10,988,515 B2 (March 12, 2024 IDS, Patent document #3). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are of overlapping scope. The claims of the issued patent are drawn to methods of producing a composition comprising a recombinant resilin protein. The term composition is disclosed to encompass gels. The claims of the issued patent are also drawn to vectors, recombinant host cells, and fermentation comprising the cells. The currently pending resilins are species of the claimed species of the issued patent. It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to make and use the currently claimed resilins, because the issued patent discloses species that overlap in scope with the pending claims. Both resilins have use for similar compositions based on the resilins resilient and elastic properties, which are useful for biomaterial forming proteins.
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 12-19, and 69-71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,858,971 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are of overlapping scope. The claims of the issued patent are drawn to methods of producing a composition comprising a recombinant resilin protein. The composition can be a cross-linked recombinant resilin in a gel format (see claim 21). The claims of the issued patent are also drawn to vectors, recombinant host cells, and fermentation comprising the cells. The currently pending resilins are species of the claimed species of the issued patent. It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to make and use the currently claimed resilins, because the issued patent discloses species that overlap in scope with the pending claims. Both resilins have use for similar compositions based on the resilins resilient and elastic properties, which are useful for biomaterial forming proteins.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the soluble full-length resilin" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not refer to the full-length resilin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim is rejected for failing to describe the components of the fermentation that results in the rate of at least 2 mg/ g dry cell weight/ hour as currently claimed. The claim is drawn to a composition but does not describe the elements in the composition that results in the functional limitations. The art cited below shows a fermentation of a host cell with a vector that comprises a secreted resilin coding sequence but does not produce the secretion of the resilin in the concentration as currently claimed. Therefore, the current claim is lacking in description of the vector or host cell or media that provides for the functional concentration intended for the fermentation being claimed.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. The courts have stated:
"To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966." Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Further, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. the court stated:
"A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) ("In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus ...") Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
MPEP § 2163 further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is "not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence." MPEP § 2163 does state that for a generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP § 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number of species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gostelli, the courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gostelli, 872, F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
As stated supra, the MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad genus. Claims are broadly generic to all possible fermentation compositions encompassed by the claims. The possible variations are enormous. Since the MPEP states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure, it is "not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence." MPEP § 2163. Here, though the claims may recite some functional characteristics, the claims lack written description because there is no disclosure of a correlation between function and structure.
The description requirement of the patent statue requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.") Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azam et al. (Biotechnology and Bioengineering 113: 2313-2320 (2016) (March 12, 2024 IDS, NPL document #4) in view of US 2014/0206022 A1 (March 12, 2024 IDS, U.S. Patent Application Publication document #4; see sequence below from SCORE search).
Azam et al. disclose the recombinant expression and purification of a secreted resilin coding sequence. The use of a secretion system was employed for export of the recombinant resilin from the bacterial strain (see page 2314, left hand column). The plasmid vector used has a C-terminal FLAG tag (see Table 1). The target proteins were purified by gravity-flow nickel affinity chromatography (see entire document, particularly pages 2316, The Secreted Peptides are of High Purity Compared to Those Harvested from the Cytoplasm, and 2317 figures 1 and 2). Figure 2 shows the purity of resilin protein expression from both a secreted fraction and a pellet fraction that was purified. The pellet was obtained by centrifugation of the fermentation media.
Azam et al. does not disclose the resilin coding sequence selected from the group of SEQ ID NOs: currently pending, but it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to use the pending SEQ ID NO: because SEQ ID NO: 26 was known Drosophila resilin protein as disclosed by Nuti et al. (US 2014/0206022 A1; SEQ ID NO: 12).
In KSR, the Supreme Court particularly emphasized "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art,"Id. at 415, 82 USPQ2d at 1395, and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that "[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results."Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rational to support a conclusion of obviousness. It is not inventive to use known resilin protein sequences such as Drosophila resilin (Nuti et al., SEQ ID NO: 12), since Azam et al. disclose the use of resilin for recombinant expression as currently encompassed by the pending claims.
SCORE: 20260508_080459_us-18-533-639b-26.rapbm file.
RESULT 2
US-14-108-182-12
Filing date in PALM: 2013-12-16
Sequence 12, US/14108182
Publication No. US20140206022A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Nuti, Gina M.
APPLICANT: Verardo, Mark R.
APPLICANT: Messina, Darien J.
TITLE OF INVENTION: Three-Dimensional Cell Culture Methods for Test Material
TITLE OF INVENTION: Assessment of Cell Differentiation
FILE REFERENCE: 19109 (BRE)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/108,182
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2013-12-16
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/738,125
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2012-12-17
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 117
SEQ ID NO 12
LENGTH: 633
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Drosophila virilis
Also in US-61-738-125-12
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 12, US/61738125
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Nuti, Gina M.
APPLICANT: Verardo, Mark R.
APPLICANT: Messina, Darien J.
TITLE OF INVENTION: Three-Dimensional Cell Culture Methods for Matrix Assessment
FILE REFERENCE: 19109PROV (BRE)
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/61/738,125
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2012-12-17
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 117
SEQ ID NO 12
LENGTH: 633
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Drosophila virilis
Query Match 100.0%; Score 3456; Length 633;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 616; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy
1 RPEPPVNSYLPPSPGDSYGAPGQGQGQGQGGFGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGA 60
Db
18 RPEPPVNSYLPPSPGDSYGAPGQGQGQGQGGFGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGA 77
Qy
61 PGQGQGQGGFGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGQGGFGGRPSSSYGAPG 120
Db
78 PGQGQGQGGFGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGQGGFGGRPSSSYGAPG 137
Qy
121 QGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGIGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNG 180
Db
138 QGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGIGGKPSDSYGAPGAGNGNGNG 197
Qy
181 RPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGA 240
Db
198 RPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGA 257
Qy
241 PGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGQG 300
Db
258 PGAGNGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGGFGGKPSDTYGAPGAGNGNGRPSSSYGAPGQGQGQG 317
Qy
301 GFGGKPSDSYGPPASGAGAGGAGGPGAGGGGDYDNDEPAKYEFNYQVEDAPSGLSFGHSE 360
Db
318 GFGGKPSDSYGPPASGAGAGGAGGPGAGGGGDYDNDEPAKYEFNYQVEDAPSGLSFGHSE 377
Qy
361 MRDGDFTTGQYNVLLPDGRKQIVEYEADQQGYRPQVRYEGDANGNGGPGGAGGPGGQDLG 420
Db
378 MRDGDFTTGQYNVLLPDGRKQIVEYEADQQGYRPQVRYEGDANGNGGPGGAGGPGGQDLG 437
Qy
421 QNGYSSGRPGGQDLGQGGYSNGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLG 480
Db
438 QNGYSSGRPGGQDLGQGGYSNGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLG 497
Qy
481 QNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGNGGS 540
Db
498 QNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGQDLGQNGYSGGRPGGNGGS 557
Qy
541 DGGRVIIGGRVIGQDGGDGQGYSSGRPNGQDGGFGQDNTDGRGYSSGKPGQGRNGNGNSF 600
Db
558 DGGRVIIGGRVIGQDGGDGQGYSSGRPNGQDGGFGQDNTDGRGYSSGKPGQGRNGNGNSF 617
Qy 601 GPGGQNGDNDGSGYRY 616
Db 618 GPGGQNGDNDGSGYRY 633
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655