DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 22, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5 and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 4 and 8 recite “treating” in line 1, which should recite “the treating” in order to provide proper antecedence in light of the recitation in claim one.
Claim 5 recites “wherein disrupting local innervation” in lines 1-2, which should read “wherein the disrupting of the local innervation” in order to provide proper antecedence in light of the recitation in claim one.
Claim 10 recites “wherein uptake the agent inhibits hyperplastic regrowth of the cells”, which seems to have a grammatical typo. The examiner suggests amending claim 10 to read “wherein the agent is configured to inhibit hyperplastic regrowth of the cells”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 12 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dev et al (2005/0171575).
Referring to claims 1 and 21, Dev et al teaches a system for treating a blood vessel (paragraphs 0002 and 0026) comprising: an energy delivery catheter (100) comprising an energy delivery body positionable within or near the blood vessel (paragraphs 0044-0045; Figures 1 and 4) and a generator (114) in electrical communication with the energy delivery body (paragraph 0045), wherein the generator includes at least one energy delivery algorithm that provides pulsed electric field energy to the energy delivery body so that the energy treats cells of the blood vessel, while maintaining an extracellular matrix of the blood vessel in a manner that decreases or eliminates the ability of the blood vessel to vasconstrict (paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0051, 0060-0062; Figures 1 and 4).
Referring to claim 2, Dev et al teaches treating comprises removing, destroying or killing the cells (paragraphs 0009 and 0033). Furthermore, this is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 3, Dev et al teaches wherein the cells comprise vascular smooth muscle cells involved in vasoconstriction of the blood vessel (paragraphs 0023, 0031 and 0039). Furthermore, this is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claims 4-5, Dev et al teaches a system that is capable of disrupting local innervation to vascular smooth muscle cells and disrupting a neural pathway from a local area of spasm through at least one vagal afferent fiber that contributes to anginal pain symptoms (paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0031, 0033, 0039, 0043, 0045, 0051 and 0060-0062; Figures 1 and 4). This is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 6, Dev et al teaches a system that is capable of treating endothelial cells and maintaining the extracellular layer leads to regeneration of an endothelial layer of the blood vessel (paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0031, 0033, 0039, 0043, 0045, 0051 and 0060-0062; Figures 1 and 4). This is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 11, Dev et al teaches wherein the energy delivery body comprises an expandable member (102) surrounding at least one electrode (110 and/or 112) (paragraphs 0045-0047; Figure 1).
Referring to claim 12, Dev et al teaches wherein the energy delivery body comprises a shaft (100), wherein the at least electrode comprises a plurality of electrodes (110 and/or 112) disposed along the shaft and wherein the expandable member (102) comprises an elongate expandable member surrounding the plurality of electrodes (paragraphs 0045-0047; Figure 1).
Referring to claim 16, Dev et al teaches wherein the pulsed electric field energy is generated from a waveform including one or more of the following parameters a) a voltage in a range of 500-3000 V b) a frequency in a range of 100-800 kHz c) a total on-time in a range of 25-250ps, and d) packets per electrode activation are in a range of 1-30 packets (paragraphs 0034 and 0036-0037). Dev teaches “[f]or example, for a rabbit blood vessel, about six pulses having a voltage ranging from about 50 to 90 volts with a duration of about 10 to 15 msec is applied to the vessel when one of the electrodes is positioned between two balloons an endoluminally inserted catheter is preferred' (0036). Dev teaches “[t]he field strength is calculated by dividing the voltage by the distance (calculated for 1 cm separation: expressed in cm) between the electrodes. Thus, if the voltage is 500 volts between two electrodes faces which are 0.5 cm apart, then the field strength is 500/(0.5) or 1000 volts/cm or 1 KW/cm (0037). Dev teaches “[t]he pulse length can be from about 1000 microseconds to 100 milliseconds, preferably from 500 microseconds to 100 ms and more preferably from about 1 ms to 10 ms. There can be from about 1 to 100 pulses applied to a vessel. Preferably, the number of pulses is from about to 1 to 50 pulses and more preferably from about 1 to 10 pulses. The time between pulses can be one second or longer. The electric field strength, waveform type. pulse duration and number of pulses depend upon the construction of the device used to apply the electrical pulse and can be adjusted as appropriate according to the particular vessel to which the electric pulse is applied' (paragraph 0084 describes a packet as a series of voltage pulses therefore, the waveform parameters include at least delivering 1 packet of electrode activation).
Referring to claim 17, Dev et al teaches wherein the pulsed electric field energy is generated from a waveform including one or more of the following parameters a) a voltage in a range of 1000-6000 V b) a frequency in a range of 10-500 kHz c) a total on-time in a range of 50-500ps, and d) packets per electrode activation are in a range of 1-30 packets (paragraphs 0034 and 0036-0037). Dev teaches “[f]or example, for a rabbit blood vessel, about six pulses having a voltage ranging from about 50 to 90 volts with a duration of about 10 to 15 msec is applied to the vessel when one of the electrodes is positioned between two balloons an endoluminally inserted catheter is preferred' (0036). Dev teaches “[t]he field strength is calculated by dividing the voltage by the distance (calculated for 1 cm separation: expressed in cm) between the electrodes. Thus, if the voltage is 500 volts between two electrodes faces which are 0.5 cm apart, then the field strength is 500/(0.5) or 1000 volts/cm or 1 KW/cm (0037). Dev teaches “[t]he pulse length can be from about 1000 microseconds to 100 milliseconds, preferably from 500 microseconds to 100 ms and more preferably from about 1 ms to 10 ms. There can be from about 1 to 100 pulses applied to a vessel. Preferably, the number of pulses is from about to 1 to 50 pulses and more preferably from about 1 to 10 pulses. The time between pulses can be one second or longer. The electric field strength, waveform type. pulse duration and number of pulses depend upon the construction of the device used to apply the electrical pulse and can be adjusted as appropriate according to the particular vessel to which the electric pulse is applied' (paragraph 0084 describes a packet as a series of voltage pulses therefore, the waveform parameters include at least delivering 1 packet of electrode activation).
Referring to claims 18 and 22, Dev et al teaches a system for treating a vascular spasm (paragraphs 0002, 0023 and 0026) comprising: an energy delivery catheter (100) comprising an energy delivery body positionable on or near muscular tissue ( paragraphs 0023 and 0044); and a generator (114) in electrical communication with the energy delivery body, wherein the generator includes at least one energy delivery algorithm that provides pulsed electric field energy to the energy delivery body so that the energy modifies the muscular tissue so as to replace or eliminate regional mechanical forces that cause the vascular spasm (paragraphs 0002, 0023, 0033, 0044, 0045, 0048, 0060 and 0062; Figures 1 and 4).
Fig. 1 shows the body of the catheter 100 and Fig. 4 shows the arrangement of the catheter within a blood vessel that includes the smooth muscle cells (paragraph 0023). Paragraph 0023 of Dev teaches that the term "vessel" means any tube within the body of a subject or a hollow channel through an organ of a subject to which an electrical impulse can be applied including preferred vessels contain smooth muscle cells (e.g., myocytes). Dev et al teaches in paragraph 0033 that denuding the endothelial lining of a vessel prior to applying an electrical impulse may "potentiate" or "augment" the induction of vessel vasodilation or an increase in the flow of fluid through the vessel. As used herein, the term "potentiate" or "augment" means any action (e.g., mechanical, physical) or composition that can enhance, stimulate, or promote the induction of vessel vasodilation or the increase in flow of fluid through a vessel produced by an electropulse” and in paragraph 0060 teaches that the invention is for inducing or
increasing vasodilation of a vessel in a subject are useful in treating clinical situations in which a subject exhibits a blockage, undesirable narrowing or a situation in which it is desired to dilate a vessel. Paragraph 0062 of Dev teaches that “[t]he invention methods for inducing or increasing the flow of fluid through a vessel can be used to treat various clinical situations, for example, an artery which supplies blood to the heart in which
a blockage, narrowing or occlusion is present in the artery, such as that caused by restenosis or a blood clot. Acute or chronic angina, which can be caused by a lack of oxygen to the heart, can be treated'; vasodilation is a technique to decrease or eliminate the opposite vasoconstriction, such as that caused by a spasm of the coronary artery that creates angina).
Referring to claim 19, Dev et al teaches wherein the pulsed electric field energy is generated from a waveform including one or more of the following parameters a) a voltage in a range of 500-3000 V, b) a frequency in a range of 100-800 kHz, c) a total on-time in a range of 25-250ps, and d) packets per electrode activation are in a range of 1-30 packets (paragraphs 0034 and 0036-0037). Dev teaches “[f]or example, for a rabbit blood vessel, about six pulses having a voltage ranging from about 50 to 90 volts with a duration of about 10 to 15 msec is applied to the vessel when one of the electrodes is positioned between two balloons an endoluminally inserted catheter is preferred' (0036). Dev teaches “[t]he field strength is calculated by dividing the voltage by the distance (calculated for 1 cm separation: expressed in cm) between the electrodes. Thus, if the voltage is 500 volts between two electrodes faces which are 0.5 cm apart, then the field strength is 500/(0.5) or 1000 volts/cm or 1 KW/cm (0037). Dev teaches “[t]he pulse length can be from about 1000 microseconds to 100 milliseconds, preferably from 500 microseconds to 100 ms and more preferably from about 1 ms to 10 ms. There can be from about 1 to 100 pulses applied to a vessel. Preferably, the number of pulses is from about to 1 to 50 pulses and more preferably from about 1 to 10 pulses. The time between pulses can be one second or longer. The electric field strength, waveform type. pulse duration and number of pulses depend upon the construction of the device used to apply the electrical pulse and can be adjusted as appropriate according to the particular vessel to which the electric pulse is applied' (paragraph 0084 describes a packet as a series of voltage pulses therefore, the waveform parameters include at least delivering 1 packet of electrode activation).
Referring to claim 20, Dev et al teaches wherein the pulsed electric field energy is generated from a waveform including one or more of the following parameters a) a voltage in a range of 1000-6000 V b) a frequency in a range of 10-500 kHz c) a total on-time in a range of 50-500ps, and d) packets per electrode activation am in a range of 1-30 packets (paragraphs 0034 and 0036-0037). Dev teaches “[f]or example, for a rabbit blood vessel, about six pulses having a voltage ranging from about 50 to 90 volts with a duration of about 10 to 15 msec is applied to the vessel when one of the electrodes is positioned between two balloons an endoluminally inserted catheter is preferred' (0036). Dev teaches “[t]he field strength is calculated by dividing the voltage by the distance (calculated for 1 cm separation: expressed in cm) between the electrodes. Thus, if the voltage is 500 volts between two electrodes faces which are 0.5 cm apart, then the field strength is 500/(0.5) or 1000 volts/cm or 1 KW/cm (0037). Dev teaches “[t]he pulse length can be from about 1000 microseconds to 100 milliseconds, preferably from 500 microseconds to 100 ms and more preferably from about 1 ms to 10 ms. There can be from about 1 to 100 pulses applied to a vessel. Preferably, the number of pulses is from about to 1 to 50 pulses and more preferably from about 1 to 10 pulses. The time between pulses can be one second or longer. The electric field strength, waveform type. pulse duration and number of pulses depend upon the construction of the device used to apply the electrical pulse and can be adjusted as appropriate according to the particular vessel to which the electric pulse is applied' (paragraph 0084 describes a packet as a series of voltage pulses therefore, the waveform parameters include at least delivering 1 packet of electrode activation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dev et al (2005/0171575) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Lennox et al (2016/0000499).
Referring to claim 7, Dev et al teaches wherein the generator includes the algorithm configured to trigger delivery of the energy (paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0051, 0060-0062; Figures 1 and 4), however fails to teach a fluid in a timing sequence so that the fluid acts as a virtual electrode. Lennox et al teaches an analogous system for treating a blood vessel (paragraph 0011) comprising a generator that includes an algorithm configured to trigger delivery of the energy and a fluid in a timing sequence so that the fluid acts as a virtual electrode (paragraphs 0135, 0148, 0151, 0152, 0153 and 0156; Figures 3A, 16, 19 and 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generator with the algorithm, as taught by Dev et al, to trigger delivery of the energy and a fluid in a timing sequence so that the fluid acts as a virtual electrode, as taught by Lennox et al, in order to deliver ablative energy with fluid to reduce mechanical manipulation or contact forces on the treated tissue (paragraphs 0011, 0135 and 0153).
Referring to claim 8, the modified Dev reference teaches treating comprises causing the cells to uptake an agent (paragraphs 0010, 0062, 0074-0085). Additionally, this is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 9, the modified Dev reference teaches agent comprises a chemical, drug, medication, chemotherapy agent, immunotherapy agent micelle, liposome, embolic, nanoparticle, drug-eluting particle, gene, plasmid, protein or combination of these (paragraphs 0010, 0062, 0074-0085). Additionally, this is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 10, the modified Dev reference teaches wherein uptake the agent inhibits hyperplastic regrowth of the cells (paragraphs 0010, 0062, 0074-0085). Additionally, this is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention and as such if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 13, Dev et al teaches delivering other fluids to the treatment area (paragraph 0010) however fails to teach that the expandable member is configured to weep fluid. Lennox et al teaches an analogous system for treating a blood vessel (paragraph 0011) comprising an expandable member (150) is configured to weep fluid (paragraphs 0135, 0148, 0151, 0152, 0153 and 0156; Figures 3A, 16, 19 and 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable member, as taught by Dev et al, to weep fluid, as taught by Lennox et al, in order to deliver ablative energy with fluid to reduce mechanical manipulation or contact forces on the treated tissue (paragraphs 0011, 0135 and 0153).
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794