DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejection
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1-9 as over Sun et al. (CN 110156321), made of record in the office action mailed 04/08/2026, page 2 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed on 06/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN 104788019).
Regarding claims 1-9, Sun discloses near infrared-absorbing glass compositions comprising 65-85% P2O5, 5-30% Al2O3, 0-10% B2O3, 0.5-15% CuO, 0-10% R1O wherein R1O is MgO, CaO, SrO and BaO, and 0.1-10% R2O which can be one or more of Li2O, Na2O and K2O, less than 10% ZnO, less than 8% of SiO2. This composition meets or renders obvious as composition of P, Li and Cu ions as essential cations, a ratio of a content of O ions relative to a content of P ions (0 ion/P ion) is 3.10 or less, in a glass composition indicated by anion%, a content of O ions is 90.0 anion% or more, on a molar basis, a total content of oxides of the main cations is 90.0 % or more, a content of Al2O3 is 8% or less, content of MgO is 0%, content of V2O5 is 0.1% or less, a ratio of a total content of Na20, K20, and ZnO relative to a content of Li20 ((Na20+K20+ZnO)/Li2O) is 2.4 or less, a total content of B203 and Si02 (B203+SiO2) is 3.0 % or less). Sun teaches that glass composition of thickness of 0.3 mm has a transmittance at wavelength of 1200 nm of 25% or less and transmittance at 400 nm of 80% or more (translation, see entire document, specifically pages 1-4).
O makes up 100% or the anions as the glass is made of all oxides. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 II.
The disclosed ranges encompass values wherein:
a ratio of a content of O ions relative to a content of P ions (O ion/P ion) is 3.15 or less:
a total content of MgO and Al2O3 (MgO+Al2O3) is 8.0 % or less,
a total content of Na2O, K2O, and ZnO is 2.4 or less,
(B203+SiO2) is 3.0 % or less,
the content of CuO lies within the values defined by the claimed formulas.
Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glass discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 II.
Given that the reference discloses the content range of each component, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the molar percentage of each component within the range as needed, thereby arriving at a ratio of O ions to P ions less than 3.15, and other ratio limitations.
The disclosed ranges encompass values wherein:
a ratio of a content of O ions relative to a content of P ions (O ion/P ion) is 3.15 or less:
a total content of MgO and Al2O3 (MgO+Al2O3) is 8.0 % or less,
a total content of Na2O, K2O, and ZnO is 2.4 or less,
(B203+SiO2) is 3.0 % or less,
the content of CuO lies within the values defined by the claimed formulas.
Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glass discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Regarding claim 10-11, Sun discloses near infrared-absorbing glass compositions comprising 65-85% P2O5, 5-30% Al2O3, 0-10% B2O3, 0.5-15% CuO, 0-10% R1O wherein R1O is MgO, CaO, SrO and BaO, and 0.1-10% R2O which can be one or more of Li2O, Na2O and K2O, less than 10% ZnO, less than 8% of SiO2. This composition meets or renders obvious as composition of P, Li and Cu ions as essential cations, a ratio of a content of O ions relative to a content of P ions (0 ion/P ion) is 3.10 or less, in a glass composition indicated by anion%, a content of O ions is 90.0 anion% or more, on a molar basis, a total content of oxides of the main cations is 90.0 % or more, a content of Al2O3 is 8% or less, content of MgO is 0%, content of V2O5 is 0.1% or less, a ratio of a total content of Na20, K20, and ZnO relative to a content of Li20 ((Na20+K20+ZnO)/Li2O) is 2.4 or less, a total content of B203 and Si02 (B203+SiO2) is 3.0 % or less). Sun teaches that glass composition of thickness of 0.3 mm has a transmittance at wavelength of 1200 nm of 25% or less and transmittance at 400 nm of 80% or more (translation, see entire document, specifically pages 1-4).
Regarding claim 12-19, As Sun discloses near-infrared absorbing glass comprising components in mol% as presently claimed as stated above, therefore the glass composition would intrinsically have the claimed properties of claims 12-19.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN 104788019) as applied to 1 above, further in view of Tatemura (WO 2019189039).
Regarding claim 20, Sun fails to disclose that near-infrared absorbing glass used in near-infrared cut filter.
Whereas, Tatemura discloses optical filter (1) comprising: a transparent substrate (10); and three or more thinfilm laminated structures (11), (12) and (13) which respectively restrict the passage of light having predetermined wavelength ranges within the near-infrared wavelength region. Each of the thin-film laminated structures is laminated on one surface of the transparent substrate (10), and the wavelength ranges for which the passage of light is restricted are different to one another for at least two of the three or more thinfilm laminated structures (11), (12) and (13) (abstract). Tatemura discloses an optical multilayer film (near-infrared cut filter) having the following configuration can be suitably used as the thin film laminated structure that can reduce the reflection ripple of oblique incidence (page 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the glass of Sun in a near-infrared cut filter as taught by Tatemura motivated by the desire for end use applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/17/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788