DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 10/08/2025
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 have been amended.
Claim(s) 2-3 have been cancelled.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1 and 4-6 have been rejected in view of the amendments received on 10/08/2025.
Response to Arguments
Received 10/08/2025
Regarding independent claim(s) 1 and 6:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks; Page 5: ¶ 3-4), filed 10/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Wherein, Yerli (US PGPUB No. 20220070238 A1) fails to disclose the subject matter regarding the third terminal apparatus is configured to adjust, based on the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus, distance information between the first user and the second user who are displayed on the display of the third terminal apparatus, and the third terminal apparatus is configured to adjust the distance information between the first user and the second user who are displayed on the display of the third terminal apparatus to be shorter, the shorter the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus is. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Regarding previously indicated allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks; Page 5: ¶ 5-6), filed 10/08/2025:
Although, the subject matter of cancelled Claims 2 and 3 have been amended into the independent claims based on indicated allowable subject matter within the Office Action on 07/30/2025, a rejection has been made in view of Stevens (US PGPUB No. 20230188372 A1) and Kim et al. (US PGPUB No. 20100001994 A1). The subject matter of former claims 2 and 3 were interpreted as being allowable based on the adjusts the third terminal apparatus were able to perform to the distance information from other terminal apparatuses. Such that, under the previous interpretation, the claim language appeared that the third terminal apparatus had the ability to control the physical distance of other terminal apparatuses (to be shorter); however, this interpretation was improper given the lack of limitations within the claim language, in light of the specification (Spec.; [¶ 0035-0038]). Wherein, the “adjust” performed by the third terminal apparatus is on a display based adjustment (i.e. visually adjusted) (Spec.; “… the third terminal apparatus 3 adjusts the distance information between the first user P1 and the second user P2 to be shorter on the display 14 of the third terminal apparatus 3, the shorter the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus 1 is. With this configuration, for example, when the first user P1 approaches or moves away from the second user P2 on the display 14, the third user can see the distance between the first user P1 and the second user P2 on the display 34 shorten or lengthen” (emphasis added) [¶ 0037]). Therefore, the objected to subject matter has been withdrawn under MPEP 706.04.
Additionally, the prior art of Stevens and Kim et al. has further influenced the interpretation of objected claim 5. Thus, the indicated allowability of claim 5 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) and rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens, US PGPUB No. 20230188372 A1, hereinafter Stevens, and further in view of Kim et al., US PGPUB No. 20100001994 A1, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Stevens discloses an information processing system comprising a plurality of terminal apparatuses each located at a predetermined distance from each of a plurality of users (Stevens; an information processing system comprising a plurality of terminal apparatuses [¶ 0164-0165 and ¶ 0169] each located at a predetermined distance from each of a plurality of users [¶ 0012 and ¶ 0090], as illustrated within Figs. 2A-B; wherein, event handling is based on a certain distance between participants (depicted/represented using icons) [¶ 0094-0095]; additionally, hybrid physical/virtual interactions [¶ 0099], as illustrated within Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of terminal apparatuses comprises a first terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a first user (Stevens; the plurality of terminal apparatuses [as addressed above] comprises a 1st terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a 1st user [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0098-0099]; wherein, a user device and/or kiosk corresponds to a terminal apparatus for each user [id.]; moreover, Fig. 3 illustrates a distance relationship between a user (312) and a device/terminal (304) [¶ 0099]), a second terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a second user (Stevens; the plurality of terminal apparatuses [as addressed above] comprises a 2nd terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a 2nd user [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0098-0099]; moreover, Fig. 3 illustrates a distance relationship between another user (312) and a device/terminal (304) [¶ 0099]), and a third terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a third user (Stevens; the plurality of terminal apparatuses [as addressed above] comprises a 3rd terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a 3rd user [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0098-0099]; moreover, Fig. 3 illustrates a distance relationship between a 3rd user and a device/terminal (306) [¶ 0099]), each of the plurality of terminal apparatuses is configured to display, on a display, an image of each of other users (Stevens; each of the plurality of terminal apparatuses is configured to display an image of each of other users on a display [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094, ¶ 0098, and ¶ 0146]; wherein, updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145], as illustrated within Fig. 3; moreover, users can view one another through a UI comprising icons [¶ 0090, ¶ 0129, and ¶ 0136], as illustrated within Figs. 2A-B; additionally, screen-sharing [¶ 0157]), the first terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit, to the third terminal apparatus, first distance information between the first user and the second user who is displayed on the display of the first terminal apparatus (Stevens; the 1st terminal apparatus [as addressed above] is configured to implicitly detect and transmit (given communication between devices and one or more criteria associated with determined movements of icons)(a) first distance information between the 1st user and the 2nd user who is displayed on the display of the 1st terminal apparatus to the 3rd terminal apparatus [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094-0095, and ¶ 0098]; wherein, the information one or more distances between users (e.g. a 1st and 2nd user) [id.] are detected and transmitted (visually and/or via a communications network) to each of the devices/terminals [¶ 0156, ¶ 0162, and ¶ 0169]; and wherein, updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145-0146]; moreover, a communication network (e.g. device-to-device, server-to-device, and/or device-to-network) [¶ 0175 and ¶ 0180-0181]), the third terminal apparatus is configured to adjust, based on the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus, distance information between the first user and the second user who are displayed on the display of the third terminal apparatus (Stevens; the 3rd terminal apparatus [as addressed above] is configured to (visually) adjust distance information between the 1st user and the 2nd user who are displayed on the display of the 3rd terminal apparatus based on the first distance information transmitted from the 1st terminal apparatus [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094-0095, and ¶ 0098]; wherein, the one or more other users and their movements are reflected within the UI to one another [id.]; moreover, displaying on the display screen of the kiosk a plurality of icons, each icon representing a different virtual event participant associated with a remote computing device and updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145]; and, displaying updated locations for one or more icons using transmitted information [¶ 0146, ¶ 0155-00156, and ¶ 0158]), and the third terminal apparatus is configured to adjust the distance information between the first user and the second user who are displayed on the display of the third terminal apparatus to be shorter (Stevens; the 3rd terminal apparatus is configured to (visually) adjust the distance information between the 1st user and the 2nd user who are displayed on the display of the 3rd terminal apparatus [as addressed above] to be shorter (i.e. closer) [¶ 0090 and ¶ 0094-0095]; wherein, grouping corresponds to user’s having a closer distance [id.]; wherein, displaying on the display screen of the kiosk a plurality of icons, each icon representing a different virtual event participant associated with a remote computing device and updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145, and ¶ 0155-0156]), the shorter the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus is (Stevens; the shorter (i.e. closer) the first distance information transmitted from the 1st terminal apparatus is [¶ 0094-0095 and ¶ 0155]; such that, participants are allowed to move their presence in the social virtual environment to get closer to people with whom they want to socialize, and to move farther away from people with whom they do not want to socialize [¶ 0073]; moreover, grouping based on a threshold disclose [id.]; wherein, updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0145]).
Stevens fails to explicitly disclose one terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit to another terminal apparatus.
However, Kim teaches a terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a user (Kim; a terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a user [¶ 0089 and ¶ 0104]);
one terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit to another terminal apparatus (Kim; one terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit to another terminal apparatus [¶ 0028 and ¶ 0032-0033]; wherein, determining distance information indicating a distance between the user who is moving and the 3D image display device, and determining the user's request based on the motion information and the distance information [id.]; additionally, establishing communication between users [¶ 0102] in relation with transmitting distance information that is represented visually [¶ 0103-0104], as illustrated within Fig. 6); and
terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who is displayed (Kim; terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who is displayed [¶ 0070-0072 and ¶ 0108-0109]; wherein, one user’s movements are tracked ad transmitted to another user [¶ 01036-0104]).
Stevens and Kim are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Stevens, to incorporate a terminal apparatus located at a predetermined distance from a user; one terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit to another terminal apparatus; and terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who are displayed (as taught by Kim), in order to provide an improved information sharing between multiple users that allows for an intuitive user-interface experience with reduced steps (Kim; [¶ 0006-0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Stevens in view of Kim further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit, to the third terminal apparatus, second distance information between the second user and the first user who is displayed on the display of the second terminal apparatus (Stevens; the 2nd terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit (a) second distance information between the 2nd user and the 1st user who is displayed on the display of the 2nd terminal apparatus to the 3rd terminal apparatus [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]; wherein, the functionality of the 1st terminal [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is equivalent to that of a 2nd terminal, given that the device types are the same and/or have the same required features for operating within the platform environment (i.e. application and UI associated with a multi-user shared experience); wherein, the first distance information between 1st user and 2nd user [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is equivalent to that of a second distance information between the 2nd user and 1st user, given that they are the same users and distance from one is the same as distance from the other associated with the multi-user shared experience; and wherein, similarly to the functionality of the 1st terminal apparatus [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] the 2nd terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit to the 3rd terminal apparatus, given the operations and functionality of the platform environment associated with the multi-user shared experience), and the third terminal apparatus is configured to adjust a distance between the first user and the second user who are displayed on the display of the third terminal apparatus, based on a total distance of the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus and the second distance information (Stevens; the 3rd terminal apparatus is configured to (visually) adjust a distance between the 1st user and the 2nd user who are displayed on the display of the 3rd terminal apparatus [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] based on a total distance of the first distance information transmitted from the first terminal apparatus and the second distance information [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094-0095, and ¶ 0098]; wherein, the one or more other users and their movements are reflected within the UI to one another [id.]; and wherein, the first and second distance information are the same, given the distance from one user is the same from the other user within the platform environment; moreover, displaying on the display screen of the kiosk a plurality of icons, each icon representing a different virtual event participant associated with a remote computing device and updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed based on user input received by the remote computing device associated with each icon [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145]; and, displaying updated locations for one or more icons using transmitted information [¶ 0146, ¶ 0155-00156, and ¶ 0158]).
Kim further teaches terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who is displayed (Kim; terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who is displayed [¶ 0070-0072 and ¶ 0108-0109]; wherein, one user’s movements are tracked ad transmitted to another user [¶ 01036-0104]; wherein, determining distance information indicating a distance between the user who is moving and the 3D image display device, and determining the user's request based on the motion information and the distance information [¶ 0028 and ¶ 0032-0033] ] in relation with transmitting distance information that is represented visually [¶ 0102-0104], as illustrated within Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Stevens as modified by Kim, to incorporate terminals are configured to adjust the distance information based on a user who is displayed (as taught by Kim), in order to provide an improved information sharing between multiple users that allows for an intuitive user-interface experience with reduced steps (Kim; [¶ 0006-0009]).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 6 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 6 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 6. Although, claim 6 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 6 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens in view of Kim as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Teshome et al., US PGPUB No. 20160378183 A1, hereinafter Teshome.
Regarding claim 5, Stevens in view of Kim further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit the first distance information only while the first user is looking at the second user who is displayed on the display of the first terminal apparatus (Stevens; the first terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit the first distance information [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] while the 1st user is implicitly looking (given gaze detection) [¶ 0115] at the 2nd user (i.e. icon representation) who is displayed on the display of the 1st terminal apparatus [¶ 0090, ¶ 0094, and ¶ 0098]; wherein, displaying on the display screen of the kiosk a plurality of icons, each icon representing a different virtual event participant associated with a remote computing device and updating on the display screen of the kiosk a location at which each of the plurality of icons is displayed [¶ 0099 and ¶ 0145-0146]).
Stevens in view of Kim fails to disclose to detect and transmit the information only while the first user is looking at the second user who is displayed on the display.
However, Teshome teaches wherein the first terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit data only while the first user is looking at the second user who is displayed on the display of the first terminal apparatus (Teshome; the 1st terminal apparatus [¶ 0047-0049] is configured to detect and transmit data only while the first user is looking at the second user who is displayed on the display of the first terminal apparatus [¶ 0058-0059 and ¶ 0094-0096]; moreover, event handling based on detected eye contact [¶ 0098-0099 and ¶ 0102-0103]; additionally, multiple user event handling [¶ 0104-0107 and ¶ 0111-0112]).
Stevens in view of Kim and Teshome are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Stevens as modified by Kim, to incorporate the first terminal apparatus is configured to detect and transmit data only while the first user is looking at the second user who is displayed on the display of the first terminal apparatus (as taught by Teshome), in order to provide an enhanced user experience wherein two or more users perceive increased engagement (Teshome; [¶ 0006-0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611