DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reed (US 2008/0087039), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Reed shows:
1. A galley water heating system for heating water of a water supply system of an aircraft galley 12, comprising: a galley water supply system 20 which comprises water bearing parts 22,24,40,72; a fresh air piping system comprising an air inlet 54 located at one end of the fresh air piping system; a first air outlet 94 for supplying fresh air to an aircraft cabin, wherein the first air outlet is located at another end of the fresh air piping system (fig. 1); and a second air outlet 52 located in relation to the galley water supply system such that fresh air can flow at least in sections against predetermined water bearing parts of the galley water supply system (fig. 1).
7. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined water bearing parts (sink and toilet) are enclosed in a compartment of an aircraft galley which is fluidly connected to the second air outlet 52 of the fresh air piping system (fig. 1).
8. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the fresh air piping system, the air inlet and the second air outlet are configured to have an air flow rate adapted to a predetermined amount of thermal convection needed at the predetermined water bearing parts of the galley water supply system being flowed against for keeping water temperature above a freezing point (inherent for keeping the water from freezing).
10. An aircraft galley comprising a galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein fresh air supplied by the second air outlet 52 provides a thermal energy (heat) to the predetermined water bearing parts 40 of the galley water supply system by thermal convection on a surface of the galley water supply system (fig. 1).
11. The aircraft galley according to claim 10, further comprising a compartment 12 which encloses the predetermined water bearing parts of the galley water supply system, wherein the compartment is fluidly connected to the second air outlet 52 (fig. 1).
12. The aircraft galley according to claim 11, wherein the compartment comprises an opening for releasing fresh air stored in the compartment (inherent – fig. 1).
13. The aircraft galley according to claim 12, wherein the opening of the compartment is fluidly connected to the first air outlet of the fresh air piping system (everything is fluidly connected between the various compartments).
14. The aircraft galley according to claim 11, wherein the compartment comprises a drain hole 94 (outflow valve inherently includes a hole) for releasing fresh air in case pressure inside the compartment exceeds a predetermined threshold pressure (fig. 1).
15. An aircraft with an aircraft galley according to claim 10 (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (US 2008/0087039) in view of Seewang (US 2018/0338666).
Reed discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the claimed water filter.
Seewang, in the same or related field of endeavor (i.e., aircraft water supply), teaches that it is known in the art to provide a water filter (para. 0043).
** teaches that such an arrangement provides for weight reduction (para. 0043).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the filter as taught by Seewang into the invention disclosed by Reed, so as to provide for weight reduction.
Claims 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (US 2008/0087039) in view of Vue (US 2016/0096628).
Reed discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations as described above, but fails to explicitly recite:
3. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the air inlet is configured as a coupling interface for fluidly connecting the fresh air piping system to a fresh air supply system of an aircraft.
4. The galley water heating system according to claim 3, wherein the coupling interface comprises a bifurcation element which is configured to divide a fresh air flow, wherein one branch supplies fresh air to the first air outlet and another branch supplies fresh air to the second air outlet.
5. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the fresh air piping system comprises a bifurcation element which is configured to divide a fresh air flow, wherein one branch supplies fresh air to the first air outlet and another branch supplies fresh air to the second air outlet.
6. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the first air outlet is configured as an adjustable nozzle for providing an adjustable amount of fresh air to an aircraft cabin.
9. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the fresh air piping system is fluidly connected to a trim air path having a valve for supplying the fresh air piping system with trim air having a higher temperature than fresh air, wherein the valve is configured to vary an amount of trim air flowing from the trim air path into the fresh air piping system.
Vue, in the same or related field of endeavor (i.e., aircraft air flow), teaches that it is known in the art to provide:
3. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the air inlet is configured as a coupling interface for fluidly connecting the fresh air piping 216 system to a fresh air supply system of an aircraft (para. 0021).
4. The galley water heating system according to claim 3, wherein the coupling interface comprises a bifurcation element (fig. 4 – 220 is split into 222 and 224) which is configured to divide a fresh air flow, wherein one branch supplies fresh air to the first air outlet and another branch supplies fresh air to the second air outlet.
5. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the fresh air piping system comprises a bifurcation element (fig. 4 – 220 is split into 222 and 224) which is configured to divide a fresh air flow, wherein one branch supplies fresh air to the first air outlet and another branch supplies fresh air to the second air outlet.
6. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the first air outlet is configured as an adjustable nozzle for providing an adjustable amount of fresh air to an aircraft cabin (para. 0018).
9. The galley water heating system according to claim 1, wherein the fresh air piping system is fluidly connected to a trim air path having a valve for supplying the fresh air piping system with trim air having a higher temperature than fresh air, wherein the valve is configured to vary an amount of trim air flowing from the trim air path into the fresh air piping system (para. 0003).
Vue teaches that such an arrangement provides for maintaining temperature requirements in the cabin (para. 0003).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the above limitations as taught by Vue into the invention disclosed by Reed, so as to provide for maintaining temperature requirements in the cabin.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
March 6, 2026
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762