DETAILED ACTION
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/434,879, filed 12/22/2022, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/434,846, filed 12/22/2022. The priority claim is acknowledged by the examiner.
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s amendments filed on 05/21/2026. Claims 1-12 and 14-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 10, 14-18, and 20 have been amended. Claim 13 has been canceled. Any examiner’s note, objection, and rejection not repeated is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2024, 11/25/2025, 04/30/2026, and 05/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may also apply. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The Examiner notes that [0191] of the instant specification recites “a particular Represent resources that can be created”. “Represent” appears to possibly be intended to be written as “representation of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 20, the pertinent portions of the claim are as follows: “generate a plurality of potential shapes; receive a user selection of the recommended shape in a subset of the plurality of potential shapes; generating... based on the recommended shape selected by the user from the subset of the plurality of potential shapes”. The claim requires that the user selects the singular recommended shape from a subset of the plurality of recommended shapes, without defining how the subset of the plurality of recommended shapes is determined or what criteria distinguishes the subset from the remainder of the plurality of recommended shapes. Although the plurality of recommended shapes is established by the preceding limitation, it is unclear which shapes constitute the subsequently recited subset from which the user selection is received, causing a person of ordinary skill in the art to be unable to reasonably ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, the Examiner assumes the user selection of the recommended shape is made from the plurality of potential shapes as a whole.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “selecting the subset comprising one or more potential shapes”. The claim does not identify how the subset is determined or what criteria define its membership. Although claim 15 recites selecting “the subset”, selection of the subset does not establish how the subset is initially determined. Consequently, it remains unclear to a person of ordinary skill in the art which of the plurality of potential shapes comprise the recited subset, thereby causing a person of ordinary skill in the art to be unable to reasonably ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, the Examiner assumes the user selection of the recommended shape is made from the plurality of potential shapes as a whole.
Any claim not explicitly mentioned above is rejected due to dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinde et al. (US 20240070435 A1) hereafter Shinde in view of Liu et al. (US 20210365339 A1) hereafter Liu, further in view of Wang et al. (US 20230029888 A1) hereafter Wang, further in view of Witschey et al. (US 20220353289 A1) hereafter Witschey.
Regarding claim 1, Shinde teaches:
A method comprising:
identifying an asset in a source environment (Paragraph 33; “the server can extract the metadata of the on-premises system and identify the features and execution environment of the on-premises system”, where features and execution environment of the on-premises system correspond to the applicant’s asset. The claimed asset is represented by the features of the on-premises system identified by the server. The on-premises system corresponds to the source environment because the on-premises system provides the environment from which the asset features are extracted.);
adding the asset to a migration project, the migration project designating the source environment and a destination environment for replication of the asset (Paragraph 71; “the server can produce solution blueprint for the cloud migration, such as the recommended features of the target cloud architecture”, where recommended features of the target cloud architecture corresponds to the asset added to a migration project because the solution blueprint organizes asset migration details into a structured plan. “the server can process source system details and target system details” corresponds to the source and destination environments respectively.);
receiving a request for generation of a recommended shape, the recommended
shape designating a shape of the replicated asset in the destination environment (Paragraphs 57, 65, 71; “the server can receive a request to migrate an on-premises system to a cloud architecture”. “the server can provide the option to re-assess the data in case the solution blueprint is not satisfactory”, where solution blueprint corresponds to the applicant’s recommended shape because the blueprint specifies the target cloud architecture and instance characteristics, such as CPU/GPU/memory. “virtual machine size/shape, virtual machine storage, operating system, memory allocated” corresponds to the applicant’s shape of the replicated asset in the destination environment as they define the configuration of the asset once migrated.);
in response to the request, generating the potential shape based on metadata characterizing attributes of the source environment (Paragraphs 70-71; “The server can extract metadata of the on-premises system and generate the set of input parameters that influences the cloud migration” and “The server can produce solution blueprint for the cloud migration, such as the recommended features of target cloud architecture”, where the server generates the solution blueprint based on input parameters and the extraction of metadata from the on-premises system, the source environment, is directly used to generate a potential cloud architecture, the shape.);
and rules designating compatibility requirements for the recommended shape (Paragraph 39; “the migration methods can depend on the on-premises system and target cloud architecture compatibility, target cloud database, database size, archive log mode, allowed downtime window, product license availability, etc., which can help in decision making of the appropriate migration path”, where the compatibility to help in decision making corresponds to the rules designating compatibility requirements for the recommended shape.);
wherein the metadata characterizes at least a central processing unit (CPU) related attribute and a network related attribute of the source environment (Paragraph 34; “number of central processing unit (CPU) cores”, “network bandwidth” both within the metadata of the on-premises system corresponds to the metadata characterizing CPU and network related attributes of the source environment.).
Shinde does not teach a replication strategy provided by a user.
However, Liu teaches:
a replication strategy provided by a user (Paragraph 87; “strategies including replication strategies that relate to fixed data protection topologies and/or changing data protection topologies. The replication strategies discussed herein can be static and/or dynamic”, “Changes in the topology may include, by way of example and not limitation, the addition or removal of an application, the migration of an application to a different server, changes in storage, hypervisors, domains, user input, user designated priorities, or the like or combination thereof.”, where the prior art discloses replication strategies that can be influenced or configured by user input.).
Shinde and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource migration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde to incorporate the teachings of Liu and utilize a replication strategy provided by a user. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the use of known methods of generating metadata of a source environment selecting a target based on that metadata, and applying a user-provided replication strategy would yield the predictable result of generating a recommended template for a replicated asset in the destination environment that reflects the source environment attributes and conforms to user preferences.
Shinde in view of Liu does not teach generating a plurality of potential shapes; receiving a user selection of the recommended shape in a subset of the plurality of potential shapes; and generating a terraform representation of a migration plan for the asset in the migration project based on the recommended shape selected by the user from the subset of the plurality of potential shapes.
However, Wang teaches:
generating a plurality of potential shapes (Paragraph 51; “The recommendation may specify the determined compute resource configuration and further specify the percentage of the customer’s current utilization that the determined compute resource configuration satisfies. Recommendation 122 may further specify an alternative recommendation that recommends a compute resource configuration that satisfies 100 percent of the customer’s utilization with a caveat that such a configuration is more costly.”, where the compute resource configuration corresponds to the applicant’s shape. Paragraph 55 confirms that a plurality is generated, “At step 604, a respective score for each cloud-based compute resource configuration of a plurality of cloud-based compute resource configurations of a cloud-based platform is generated”.);
receiving a user selection of the recommended shape from the plurality of potential shapes (Paragraph 52; “the user may select one of the recommended compute resource configurations. Upon selection, the selected compute resource configuration is allocated for the user”).
Shinde, Liu, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource migration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde in view of Liu to incorporate the teachings of Wang and have generated a plurality of potential shapes, followed by a user selection of a recommended shape from the plurality of potential shapes. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized generation of a plurality of potential shapes and allowing a user to select a recommended shape from the plurality to be a known concept in the art because providing multiple candidate shapes allows a user to evaluate available alternatives and select a shape that is suitable for the user’s needs, whose implementation would yield the predictable result of providing the user with a selection among multiple potential options and improving user interaction and control.
Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang does not teach generating a terraform representation of a migration plan for the asset in the migration project based on the recommended shape selected by the user from plurality of potential shapes.
However, Witschey teaches:
generating a terraform representation of a configuration plan (Paragraph 16; “create a proposed configuration change to a cloud environment in a CCD system and save the configuration change in a cloud configuration definition (e.g. a TERRAFORM template in TERRAFORM's HCL configuration language). The configuration change may propose to create new cloud assets or change existing assets in the cloud environment.”).
Shinde, Liu, Wang, and Witschey are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource configuration modification. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Witschey and generate a terraform representation of a configuration plan for the asset in the migration project in Shinde, for the recommended shape selected by the user from the plurality of potential shapes of Wang. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized generation of a Terraform representation of the migration plan comprising the asset and the user-selected recommended shape to be a known concept in the art because a declarative infrastructure representation facilitates translating selected infrastructure configurations into deployable config instructions, whose implementation would yield the predictable result of representing the selected migration plan in a form suitable for deployment.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations as those of claim 1, additionally reciting a memory comprising executable instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions. Shinde further teaches:
a memory comprising executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions (Paragraph 73; “The processor 502 can process instructions for execution within the computing device 500, including instructions stored in the memory 504”).
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as those of claim 1.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as those of claim 1, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a plurality of instructions. Liu further teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors (Paragraph 156; “A non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors to perform the operations of any one or more of or portions of embodiments 1-11.”).
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as those of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 1. Shinde teaches:
wherein the destination environment is within a tenancy on a cloud services provider infrastructure (CSPI) (Paragraph 57; “At step 302, the server can receive a request to migrate an on-premises system to a cloud architecture”, where the on-premises system is the source environment, the cloud architecture is the destination environment, and cloud architecture corresponds to a tenancy on a cloud services provider infrastructure.).
Regarding claim 3, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 1. Shinde teaches:
metadata characterizing attributes of the source environment (Paragraph 70; “In the plan and analysis phase 410, the server can extract metadata of the on-premises system and generate the set of input parameters that influences the cloud migration. In step 1 412, after the server receives a request to migrate an on-premises system, the server can discover and extract metadata of the on-premises system”, where the parameters correspond to attributes of the source environment.).
Liu teaches:
a receiving step (Paragraph 95; “The data protection system can monitor for these changes or receive input from a user related to the application topology”).
Regarding claim 4, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 3. Shinde teaches:
wherein the metadata characterizes attributes of the asset in the source environment (Paragraph 34; “The values of the set of input parameters can provide metadata of the on-premises system”, where metadata of the on-premises system corresponds to applicant’s attributes of the asset in the source environment.).
Regarding claim 5, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 4. Shinde teaches:
wherein the CPU related attribute characterizes at least one of: a number of CPUs of the asset in the source environment; average CPU usage by the asset in the source environment; or maximum CPU usage in the source environment (Paragraph 34; “number of central processing unit (CPU) cores” corresponds to the applicant’s number of CPUs of the asset in the source environment element of the “at least one of...” limitation.).
Regarding claim 6, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 4. Shinde teaches:
wherein the network related attribute characterizes at least one of: average bandwidth usage by the asset in the source environment; or bandwidth usage by the asset in the source environment (Paragraph 34; “network bandwidth” corresponds to usage that belongs to the asset in the source environment).
Liu teaches:
a maximum (Paragraph 81; “A limit on the number of applications replicated to a particular replica virtual machine may be capped or limited.”).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the use of an upper limit as equivalent to a conceptual maximum, and would have been motivated to apply the known concept of a maximum on the network related attribute of bandwidth usage yielding the predictable result of characterizing bandwidth usage of a resource by its resource limit.
Regarding claim 19, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the system of claim 18. Shinde teaches:
metadata characterizing attributes of the source environment (Paragraph 70; “In the plan and analysis phase 410, the server can extract metadata of the on-premises system and generate the set of input parameters that influences the cloud migration. In step 1 412, after the server receives a request to migrate an on-premises system, the server can discover and extract metadata of the on-premises system”, where the parameters correspond to attributes of the source environment.);
wherein the metadata characterizes attributes of the asset in the source environment (Paragraph 34; “The values of the set of input parameters can provide metadata of the on-premises system”, where metadata of the on-premises system corresponds to applicant’s attributes of the asset in the source environment.).
Liu teaches:
a receiving step (Paragraph 95; “The data protection system can monitor for these changes or receive input from a user related to the application topology”).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Patil et al. (US 20190340100 A1) hereafter Patil.
Regarding claim 7, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 4. Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey does not teach wherein the metadata characterizes at least: a graphics processing unit (GPU) related attribute; and a memory related attribute.
However, Patil teaches:
wherein the metadata characterizes at least: a graphics processing unit (GPU) related attribute; and a memory related attribute (Paragraph 41; “As shown, the “resources []” object might store an operating system type (e.g., stored in an “osType” field), a number of CPUs (e.g., stored in a “numCPU” field), a maximum memory consumed (e.g., stored in a “maxMem” field), a number of GPUs (e.g., stored in a “numGPU” field)”, the num GPU field corresponding to the GPU related attribute, and the max Mem field corresponding to the memory related attribute.).
Shinde, Liu, Wang, Witschey, and Patil are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey to incorporate the teachings of Patil and also have the metadata characterize GPU and memory attributes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize known modern computer systems as having many types of resources including GPU and memory and the implementation of characterizing these resource types would yield the predictable result of properly assigning resources upon replication.
Regarding claim 8, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Patil teaches the method of claim 7. Shinde teaches:
a source environment (Paragraph 33; “the server can extract the metadata of the on-premises system”, the on-premises system corresponding to the source environment.).
Patil teaches:
wherein the GPU related attribute characterizes at least one of: a number of GPUs of the asset; average GPU usage by the asset; or maximum GPU usage (Paragraph 41; “As shown, the “resources []” object might store an operating system type (e.g., stored in an “osType” field), a number of CPUs (e.g., stored in a “numCPU” field), a maximum memory consumed (e.g., stored in a “maxMem” field), a number of GPUs (e.g., stored in a “numGPU” field)”, the num GPU field corresponding to a number of GPUs of the asset of the “at least one of...” limitation.).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe et al. (US 20220021652 A1) hereafter Moghe.
Regarding claim 9, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey teach the method of claim 4. Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey does not teach receiving an assessment strategy from the user.
However, Moghe teaches:
receiving an assessment strategy from the user (Paragraph 54; “data lakes as provided for herein are provisioned with optimal “shapes” that deliver maximum performance, preferably within a user-defined cost threshold.” The user-defined cost threshold represents a user-defined parameter used to evaluate acceptable resource usage, corresponding to receiving an assessment strategy from the user.).
Shinde, Liu, Wang, Witschey, and Moghe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey to incorporate the teachings of Moghe and receive an assessment strategy from the user. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the known method of receiving configuration input from a user would yield the predictable result of enabling the system to tailor processing to user-defined preferences.
Regarding claim 10, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe teach the method of claim 9. Moghe teaches:
wherein the assessment strategy specifies a performance capability for the recommended shape (Paragraph 54; “data lakes as provided for herein are provisioned with optimal “shapes” that deliver maximum performance, preferably within a user-defined cost threshold.” Because the system delivers an optimal shape that delivers maximum performance, the user-defined parameter used for provisioning necessarily specifies the performance capability associated with the recommended shape, thereby being for the recommend shape.).
Regarding claim 11, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe teach the method of claim 10. Moghe teaches:
wherein the assessment strategy specifies at least one of: an average strategy; or a peak strategy (Paragraph 54; “data lakes as provided for herein are provisioned with optimal “shapes” that deliver maximum performance, preferably within a user-defined cost threshold.” Selecting resource shapes based on performance characteristics relative to user-defined constraints necessitates the determination of maximum performance, which corresponds to evaluating the peak performance capability of the shapes used for provisioning. Thus, the performance evaluation used to determine an optimal shape corresponds to an assessment strategy specifying a peak strategy.).
Regarding claim 12, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe teach the method of claim 10. Shinde teaches:
generating shape requirements for the recommended shape (Paragraph 71; “The server can produce solution blueprint for the cloud migration, such as the recommended features of the target cloud architecture. The recommendation features of the target cloud architecture can include identifier of the target cloud architecture, versions of the components of the target cloud architecture, methods for cloud migration, cloud target shapes/sizes, licensing impact, estimated time, etc.”, where recommended features correspond to shape requirements for the recommended shape because it identifies the parameters that define the recommended target configuration.).
Moghe teaches:
based on the assessment strategy (Paragraph 54; “data lakes as provided for herein are provisioned with optimal “shapes” that deliver maximum performance, preferably within a user-defined cost threshold.” Selecting resource shapes based on performance characteristics relative to user-defined constraints necessitates the determination of maximum performance, which corresponds to evaluating the peak performance capability of the shapes used for provisioning. Thus the performance evaluation used to determine an optimal shape corresponds to an assessment strategy specifying a peak strategy.).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe, further in view of Kouznetsov et al. (US 20170097845 A1) hereafter Kouznetsov.
Regarding claim 14, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe teach the method of claim 12. Wang teaches:
plurality of potential shapes (Paragraph 51; “The recommendation may specify the determined compute resource configuration and further specify the percentage of the customer’s current utilization that the determined compute resource configuration satisfies. Recommendation 122 may further specify an alternative recommendation that recommends a compute resource configuration that satisfies 100 percent of the customer’s utilization with a caveat that such a configuration is more costly.”, in which Paragraph 55 confirms that a plurality is generated, “At step 604, a respective score for each cloud-based compute resource configuration of a plurality of cloud-based compute resource configurations of a cloud-based platform is generated based on the plurality of time series.”).
While Wang discloses generation of a score defining the probability of fulfilling performance needs based on profiled metrics (Paragraph 36; “price-to-performance modeler 116 generates a score for each compute resource configuration available for data migration that represents the probability of fulfilling the customer’s performance needs based on all profiled metrics”), Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe does not explicitly teach generating a compatibility score characterizing compatibility.
However, Kouznetsov teaches:
generating a compatibility score characterizing compatibility (Paragraphs 67-76; “VM host compatibility scores based on existing placement rules are shown. In this example, VM-host compatibility scores are between 0 and 100, wherein 100 means fully compatible and 0 means incompatible.”, “When computing the compatibility scores, as shown by way of example below, when there is not full compatibility (with a score of 100) or complete incompatibility (with a score of zero), any one of a variety of scoring mechanisms can be used to assign a score between zero and 100 for partial compatibility.”).
Shinde, Liu, Wang, Witschey, Moghe, and Kouznetsov are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of resource management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe to incorporate the teachings of Kouznetsov and generated a compatibility score characterizing compatibility for each of plurality of potential shapes of Wang. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the known method of generating compatibility scores for each possible configuration would yield the predictable result of producing numeric scores for every shape, thus allowing the system to evaluate and select the most compatible shape.
Regarding claim 15, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe, further in view of Kouznetsov teach the method of claim 14.
Wang teaches:
plurality of potential shapes (Paragraph 51; “The recommendation may specify the determined compute resource configuration and further specify the percentage of the customer’s current utilization that the determined compute resource configuration satisfies. Recommendation 122 may further specify an alternative recommendation that recommends a compute resource configuration that satisfies 100 percent of the customer’s utilization with a caveat that such a configuration is more costly.”, in which Paragraph 55 confirms that a plurality is generated, “At step 604, a respective score for each cloud-based compute resource configuration of a plurality of cloud-based compute resource configurations of a cloud-based platform is generated based on the plurality of time series.”).
While Wang discloses generation of a score defining the probability of fulfilling performance needs based on profiled metrics (Paragraph 36; “price-to-performance modeler 116 generates a score for each compute resource configuration available for data migration that represents the probability of fulfilling the customer’s performance needs based on all profiled metrics”), Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe does not explicitly teach a compatibility score.
Kouznetsov teaches:
selecting at least one of the options based at least partially on respective compatibility score of that selected at least one of the options (Paragraphs 65-66; “From the overall group-host compatibility scores (86), a VM sub-group is chosen to process (90). The group-host compatibility metrics and the number of allocated hosts are used to select the optimal host assignments for the group (92). This is done by comparing group-host scores to choose the most suitable hosts for a group of VMs 18. For example, the largest group may be chosen first.” Discloses actively using compatibility scores to choose VM sub-groups and assign them to hosts, corresponding to selecting at least one of the options based at least partially on a compatibility score of that selected at least one of the options.).
Regarding claim 16, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe, further in view of Kouznetsov teach the method of claim 15. Wang teaches:
the potential shapes (Paragraph 51; “The recommendation may specify the determined compute resource configuration and further specify the percentage of the customer’s current utilization that the determined compute resource configuration satisfies. Recommendation 122 may further specify an alternative recommendation that recommends a compute resource configuration that satisfies 100 percent of the customer’s utilization with a caveat that such a configuration is more costly.”, in which Paragraph 55 confirms that a plurality is generated, “At step 604, a respective score for each cloud-based compute resource configuration of a plurality of cloud-based compute resource configurations of a cloud-based platform is generated based on the plurality of time series.”).
Kouznetsov teaches:
wherein the one or more options are fully compatible with the source asset (Paragraphs 67-76; “Since V3 and V4 can only be placed on Host2, the normalized compatibility scores are 1 for both those cases”, where 1 corresponds to a compatibility score of 100 with the VM, corresponding to the source asset, and the options are candidate host assignments for the VMs.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Kouznetsov to have one or more options be fully compatible with the source asset on the evaluation of the potential shapes of Wang. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated by the need to determine whether the generated potential shape(s) of Wang are fully suitable for operational needs before selecting them for deployment, whose implementation would yield the predictable result of ensuring that all user requirements are fulfilled before selection and deployment of the recommended shape.
Regarding claim 17, Shinde in view of Liu, further in view of Wang, further in view of Witschey, further in view of Moghe, further in view of Kouznetsov teach the method of claim 15. Wang teaches:
the potential shapes (Paragraph 51; “The recommendation may specify the determined compute resource configuration and further specify the percentage of the customer’s current utilization that the determined compute resource configuration satisfies. Recommendation 122 may further specify an alternative recommendation that recommends a compute resource configuration that satisfies 100 percent of the customer’s utilization with a caveat that such a configuration is more costly.”, in which Paragraph 55 confirms that a plurality is generated, “At step 604, a respective score for each cloud-based compute resource configuration of a plurality of cloud-based compute resource configurations of a cloud-based platform is generated based on the plurality of time series.”).
Kouznetsov teaches:
wherein the selected at least one of the options is at least partially incompatible with the source asset (Paragraphs 67-76; “Normalized score for V(n)−Host(n)=compatibility score of V(n)−Host(n)/sum of scores of V(n)−Host(i=1 to h). For example, the normalized score for V1−Host1=100/(100+0+100)=0.5.”, where the source asset corresponds to the VMs. The disclosure provides examples of the possible options being fully compatible or partially compatible based on a calculated normalized compatibility score. The VMs correspond to the source asset and the options are candidate host assignments for the VMs.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Kouznetsov to have one or more options be partially compatible with the source asset on the evaluation of the potential shapes of Wang. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated by the need to determine whether the generated potential shape(s) of Wang are partially suitable for operational needs before selecting them for deployment, whose implementation would yield the predictable result of allowing display to the user of what requirements are only partially fulfilled before selection and deployment of the recommended shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are summarized below:
Amendments to the claims overcome the objections to claims 10-17.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the amended limitations of claims 1, 18, and 20.
Dependent claims are submitted as allowable for at least the above reasons.
Examiner’s response:
The Examiner agrees that the amendments to the claims remedy the minor informalities previously objected to. Accordingly, the objections to claims 10-17 are withdrawn.
The Examiner agrees that the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the amended limitations of claims 1, 18, and 20. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 1, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shinde, Liu, Wang, and Witschey, under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Independent claims 1, 18, and 20 remain rejected for the reasons stated above. Therefore, contrary to Applicant's arguments, because the dependent claims depend from an unpatentable claim and does not add limitations that overcome the rejection, it likewise remains rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sutton et al. (US 9778952 B1) discusses migration of VM images through a user interface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH P TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196