Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 January 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant suggests that Shariaymadari does not teach “receive . . . a downlink grant scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission that includes a transport block (TB) associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback occasion and a second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assessment.
From Applicant’s own arguments, “the UE identifies a target transmission opportunity that is different from the one initially intended by the UT, [0219], Shariatmadari. This implies that an original downlink grant existed for the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion. The actual transmission being multiplexed with a second feedback occasion does not negate the existence of the first grant. Shariatmadari still teaches scheduling a PDSCH transmission that includes a TB associated with a first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion. Shariatmadari teaches all of the limitations of the original claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 9 - 12, 18 - 20, 26, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shariatmadari, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0388387.
Shariatmadari teaches:
1. A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 8); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network node, a downlink grant scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (SPS is the mechanism in which the PDSCH transmissions are configured by an RRC message, [0122]) that includes a transport block (TB) associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback occasion and a second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3), wherein the downlink grant schedules at least the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]); and
transmit, to the network node, HARQ feedback for the TB in one or more of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion or the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3).
2. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is associated with a default processing time for the TB, and wherein the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is associated with a delayed processing time for the TB (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3).
4. The UE of claim 1, wherein the HARQ feedback includes an acknowledgment (ACK) that is transmitted in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and a repetition of the ACK that is multiplexed with additional uplink control information (UCI) in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]).
9. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the network node, information configuring a group of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources that includes the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3).
10. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion are indicated in the downlink grant (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]).
11. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is indicated in the downlink grant and the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is derived from the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]).
12. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion are configured based on the PDSCH transmission corresponding to a retransmission of the TB (repetition of PDDCH, [0095]).
18. The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion, an acknowledgement (ACK) associated with the TB (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]); and
receive a new TB associated with a HARQ process corresponding to the TB associated with the ACK prior to the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]).
19. A network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink grant scheduling a physical downlink shared
channel (PDSCH) transmission (SPS is the mechanism in which the PDSCH transmissions are configured by an RRC message, [0122]) that includes a transport block (TB) associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback occasion and a second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3), wherein the downlink grant schedules at least the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]); and
receive, from the UE, HARQ feedback for the TB in one or more of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion or the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3).
20. The network node of claim 19, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is associated with a default processing time for the TB, and wherein the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is associated with a delayed processing time for the TB (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3).
26. The network node of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
receive, in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion, an acknowledgement (ACK) associated with the TB (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]); and
transmit a new TB associated with a HARQ process corresponding to the TB associated with the ACK prior to the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (granted transmission may be pre-empted by later transmission, [0096]).
29. A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network node, a downlink grant scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (SPS is the mechanism in which the PDSCH transmissions are configured by an RRC message, [0122]) that includes a transport block (TB) associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback occasion and a second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3), wherein the downlink grant schedules at least the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]); and
transmitting, to the network node, HARQ feedback for the TB in one or more of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion or the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]).
30. A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink grant scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (SPS is the mechanism in which the PDSCH transmissions are configured by an RRC message, [0122]) that includes a transport block (TB) associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback occasion and a second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (see Fig. 15, n+1 and n+3), wherein the downlink grant schedules at least the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]); and
receiving, from the UE, HARQ feedback for the TB in one or more of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion or the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion associated with the TB (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 21, 22, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariatmadari as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Yang, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0393808.
Shariatmadari teaches a method of grouping HARQ-ACK signaling for multiple transmissions. Shariatmadari does not teach early transmission of HARQ feedback. However, Yang teaches early transmission of HARQ feedback. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Shariatmadari to incorporate the known technique of early HARQ feedback as taught by Yang in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
3. The UE of claim 1, wherein the HARQ feedback is not transmitted in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on the HARQ feedback including an acknowledgment (ACK) transmitted in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when feedback is an ACK, [0122], Yang).
6. The UE of claim 1, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is skipped based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when the feedback information is an ACK, on occasion the first ACK feedback is skipped, [0122], Yang).
7. The UE of claim 1, wherein the HARQ feedback is transmitted in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when the feedback information is an ACK, on occasion the first ACK feedback is skipped, [0122], Yang).
21. The network node of claim 19, wherein the HARQ feedback is not transmitted in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on the HARQ feedback including an acknowledgment (ACK) transmitted in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when feedback is an ACK, [0122], Yang).
22. The network node of claim 19, wherein the HARQ feedback includes an acknowledgment (ACK) that is transmitted in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and a repetition of the ACK that is multiplexed with additional uplink control information (UCI) in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (two transmission opportunities for transmitting HARQ feedback, [0219]).
24. The network node of claim 19, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion is skipped based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when the feedback information is an ACK, on occasion the first ACK feedback is skipped, [0122], Yang).
25. The network node of claim 19, wherein the HARQ feedback is transmitted in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (early HARQ feedback when the feedback information is an ACK, on occasion the first ACK feedback is skipped, [0122], Yang).
Claim(s) 5, 8, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariatmadari as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of 3GPP document R1-1813540.
Shariatmadari teaches a method of grouping HARQ-ACK signaling for multiple transmissions. Shariatmadari does not teach early transmission of NACK feedback. However, R1-1813540 teaches NACK feedback. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Shariatmadari to incorporate the known technique of NACK feedback as taught by R1-1813540 in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
5. The UE of claim 1, wherein the HARQ feedback includes a negative acknowledgment (NACK) multiplexed with additional uplink control information (UCI) in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (NACK is indicated based on the front 3 symbols, R1-1813540, p. 1).
8. The UE of claim 1, wherein the HARQ feedback includes a negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmitted in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion and an acknowledgement (ACK) transmitted in the second HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (it may happen that the PDSCH is decoded successfully with all 6 symbols after a NACK is indicated based on the front 3 symbols, R1-1813540, p. 1).
23. The network node of claim 19, wherein the HARQ feedback includes a negative acknowledgment (NACK) multiplexed with additional uplink control information (UCI) in the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion based on an attempted decoding for the TB being incomplete at a time of the first HARQ-ACK feedback occasion (NACK is indicated based on the front 3 symbols, R1-1813540, p. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 – 17, 27, and 28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463