DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action for application Serial No. 18/533,730 filed on 12/08/2023. Claims 2-3 have been withdrawn. Claims 14-20 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-13 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, subgroup B in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-3 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: "A work machine comprising:
a frame;
an operator cab mounted to said frame;
loader arms supported on said frame;
a quick attach coupler for securing an attachment to said loader arms;
an electrical output for connecting to an attachment;
a hydraulic coupler for connecting to an attachment;
a selector element positioned in said operator cab and configured to receive an input representative of a selection of one of a plurality of control modes;
control elements mounted in said operator cab and configured to be manipulated by a user to generate control signals, wherein said control elements include a pair of joysticks; and
a controller configured to receive a signal representative of said selection of one of said control modes and adjust function assignments of said control elements based at least in part on said selection,
wherein each of said function assignments connects one of said control elements to one of a plurality of functions of the work machine."
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Means-Plus-Function Language: The following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“a selector element positioned in said operator cab and configured to receive an input representative of a selection of one of a plurality of control modes”
“a controller configured to receive a signal representative of said selection of one of said control modes and adjust function assignments of said control elements based at least in part on said selection”
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Intended Use: The claim contains the following language that is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the scope of this language is intended to affirmatively require specific performance or whether this language is deliberately articulated as an expression of intended use:
“a quick attach coupler for securing an attachment to said loader arms;”
“an electrical output for connecting to an attachment;”
“a hydraulic coupler for connecting to an attachment;”
“a selector element positioned in said operator cab and configured to receive an input representative of a selection of one of a plurality of control modes;”
“control elements mounted in said operator cab and configured to be manipulated by a user to generate control signals, wherein said control elements include a pair of joysticks;”
“a controller configured to receive a signal representative of said selection of one of said control modes and adjust function assignments of said control elements based at least in part on said selection”
Accordingly, this language does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference. See In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641; In re Yanush, 177 USPQ 705; In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530; In re Casey, 512 USPQ 235; In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458; Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2nd 1647.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A work machine comprising:
a frame;
an operator cab mounted to said frame;
loader arms supported on said frame;
a quick attach coupler [intended for securing an attachment to said loader arms];
an electrical output [intended for connecting to an attachment];
a hydraulic coupler [intended for connecting to an attachment];
a selector element positioned in said operator cab and [intended to receive an input representative of a selection of one of a plurality of control modes];
control elements mounted in said operator cab and configured to be manipulated by a user [intended to generate control signals], wherein said control elements include a pair of joysticks; and
a processor configured to receive a signal representative of said selection of one of said control modes and adjust function assignments of said control elements based at least in part on said selection,
wherein each of said function assignments connects one of said control elements to one of a plurality of functions of the work machine."
Claims 4-13 are further rejected as depending on this claim.
Claim 4 recites: "The work machine of claim 1, further comprising actuators for lifting said loader arms, wherein a function assignment for controlling said actuators for lifting said loader arms is the same in all said control modes."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The work machine of claim 1, further comprising actuators [intended for lifting said loader arms, wherein a function assignment [intended for controlling said actuators [intended for lifting said loader arms is the same in all said control modes]]]."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendron (US 2006/0095186 A1) in view of Vandegrift (DE 10 2021 203343 A1. For purposes of this interview, Examiner will refer to the English language translation of this reference provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Hendron discloses a work machine (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and related text) comprising:
a frame (e.g. at least frame 12, see e.g. at least ¶ 13, Fig. 1, and related text);
an operator cab mounted to said frame (e.g. at least cab 11, id.);
loader arms supported on said frame (e.g. at least boom 15, dipperstick 14, id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 13);
a quick attach coupler [intended for securing an attachment to said loader arms] (e.g. at least bucket pivot assembly 17, id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 14);
an electrical output [intended for connecting to an attachment] (e.g. at least controller 130, see e.g. at least ¶ 18, Fig. 2, and related text);
a hydraulic coupler [intended for connecting to an attachment] (e.g. at least bucket cylinder 13a, hydraulic work cylinders 15a, 18, 19, see e.g. at least ¶ 14, 16, 26, Fig. 1, and related text);
a selector element positioned in said operator cab and [intended to receive an input representative of a selection of one of a plurality of control modes] (e.g. at least mode toggle switch 110, see e.g. at least ¶ 18, Fig. 2, and related text, selecting a first and/or second operational mode);
control elements mounted in said operator cab and configured to be manipulated by a user [intended to generate control signals], wherein said control elements include a joystick (e.g. at least joystick 120, see e.g. at least ¶ 18, Fig. 2, and related text); and
a processor configured to receive a signal representative of said selection of one of said control modes and adjust function assignments of said control elements based at least in part on said selection (e.g. at least central controller 130, see e.g. at least ¶ 18, Fig. 2, and related text),
wherein each of said function assignments connects one of said control elements to one of a plurality of functions of the work machine (see e.g. at least ¶ 26, Fig. 1-2, and related text).
Additionally, Vandegrift teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Hendron including namely: [that control elements include] a pair of joysticks (e.g. at least joysticks 60, joystick devices 52, 54, MRF joystick devices 272, see e.g. at least ¶ 30, 63, Fig. 2, 7, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hendron by configuring [that control elements include] a pair of joysticks as taught by Vandegrift in order to simultaneously control the movement and positioning of the work vehicle and boom assembly in a safe, precise, and efficient manner (Vendergrift: ¶ 4, 18).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Hendron teaches that a function assignment [intended for controlling said actuators [intended for lifting said loader arms is the same in all said control modes]]] (Hendron: see e.g. at least ¶ 18-20, 25-26, 30-34, Fig. 2, and related text).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Hendron teaches that said control modes comprise –
a first mode comprising function assignments connecting said control elements to only electrical-related functions (Hendron: see e.g. at least ¶ 18-19, Fig. 1-2, and related text),
a second mode comprising function assignments connecting said control elements to hydraulic- and electrical-related functions (Hendron: see e.g. at least ¶ 25-26, 31, Fig. 1-2, and related text), and
a third mode comprising function assignments connecting said control elements to hydraulic-related functions, electrical-related functions, and said quick attach coupler (Hendron: id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 31-33).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Hendron teaches that said control elements comprise thumbwheels located on said joysticks (Vandegrift: ¶ 30).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Hendron teaches –
a drive assembly supporting said frame and configured to propel said frame (Hendron: e.g. at least propulsion system 200, see e.g. at least ¶ 31, Fig. 2, and related text; Vandegrift: e.g. at least trolley 276, see e.g. at least ¶ 63, Fig. 7, and related text); and
an engine or motor mounted on said frame and configured to power said drive assembly (Hendron: e.g. at least engine 50, id.; Vandegrift: e.g. at least motor, id.,).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Hendron teaches that said selector element comprises a display located in said operator cab and configured to display a plurality of graphics representative of said control modes (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 27-30, 38, 46, Fig. 2, and related text).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Hendron teaches that said display is configured to simultaneously display a graphic for each of said control modes (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 27-30, 38, 46, Fig. 2, and related text).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Hendron teaches that said display is configured to display a graphical representation of said function assignments associated with a selected control mode (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 27-30, 38, 46, Fig. 2, and related text).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Hendron teaches that said display is configured to display a graphical representation of climate controls and to receive inputs representative of an adjustment to climate settings (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 27-30, 38, 46, Fig. 2, and related text).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Hendron teaches that said display is configured to display a graphical representation of a sensitivity level of said pair of joysticks and to receive inputs representative of an adjustment to said sensitivity level (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 46, Fig. 5, and related text).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Hendron teaches that said display is configured to display a graphical representation of a power button and to receive an input representative of an instruction to turn on an engine of the work machine (Vandegrift: see e.g. at least ¶ 27, Fig. 2, and related text).
Conclusion
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662