DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (JP2019093968A, English machine translation) in view of Roy (US 2023/0415784).
Regarding claim 1, Ichikawa teaches a server device (300) comprising: a communication unit (500, [0012]); and a control unit (300 which also serves as control unit, [0015]) that communicates through the communication unit with a plurality of power supply vehicles (100 and 200, [0012]) to be dispatch from the base station (510, [0012]) to a supply destination of the power, and that instructs a first power supply vehicle (200) to meet a second power supply vehicle (100) at a meeting point and supply remaining power in the first power supply vehicle to the second power supply vehicle ([0033], [0034], [0036] and [0044]-[0048]).
Ichikawa fails to teach the returning vehicle (best understood as the dispatching and the returning vehicles are from the same base).
However, Roy teaches server device (600) comprising a communication unit (internet); and a control unit (600) that communicates through the communication with a power supply vehicle (100) to be dispatched from a supply base of power to a supply destination of the power and return to the supply base, and that instructs a first power supply vehicle (100) returning and to meet a second vehicle (10) at a meeting point and supply remaining power in the first power supply vehicle to the second vehicle (figs. 6, 7 and [0048]-[0050]).
In view of Roy’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ichikawa by incorporating the teaching as taught by Roy in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Ichikawa as modified by Roy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Ichikawa and Roy further teach wherein the control unit sets the meeting point near a travel route of the second power supply vehicle to the supply destination (Ichikawa: [0045]. Roy: [0050] and [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Ichikawa as modified by Roy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for the first power supply vehicle to a further supply destination. However, Roy further teaches the first power supply vehicle (100) returns to other location after supply power to the second power supply vehicle (10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ichikawa and Roy for the first power supply vehicle to a further supply destination since it is just a matter of mere duplication for charging additional vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Ichikawa as modified by Roy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ichikawa further teaches wherein the control unit instructs the first power supply vehicle having an amount of power expected to be supplied at the supply destination by the second power supply vehicle to head for the meeting point ([0049] and [0052]-[0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Taguchi et al. (US 2019/0126766) and Mori (US 2021/0287550) are cited because they are related to recharging electric vehicle system and method.
/TUYEN K VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876