This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 12/08/2023
Claims 1-15 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102058046 B1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Juntunen et al. USPGPUB 2009/0140065 A1 (hereinafter Juntunen).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an air conditioner [Par. [0001] “air conditioning system”], comprising:
an indoor controller (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200).” - interpreting control signal input unit as an indoor controller) configured to:
receive an operation command from a user (Par. [0066] “the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen”; Par. [0067] “input unit (301) provided in the control signal input unit (300)”), and
generate a first communication signal corresponding to the operation command (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200).”);
an outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “outdoor unit (21)”); and
a main controller (Par. [0040] “contact controller (200) may also be installed inside the central controller (10)” – contact controller and central controller are both being interpreted as the main controller, as the contact controller can be installed inside the central controller) configured to:
connect to the indoor controller and the outdoor unit (Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10) or the control signal input unit (300).”),
receive a first communication signal (Par. [0124] “The contact controller (200) can convert the first control signal (Sc1) received from the control signal input unit (300) into a control voltage (Vc).”), and
convert the first communication signal into a second communication signal (Par. [0108] - [0109] “The protocol conversion unit (201) may be equipped with conversion means according to multiple communication methods or protocols to enable data transmission and reception between communications using different communication methods or different protocols. Specifically, the protocol conversion unit (201) is connected to the central controller (10) and can convert the protocol between the first air conditioner (100b) and the central controller (10) which have different communication methods.”; Par. [0113] “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300).”), and
transmit the second communication signal to the outdoor unit to control operation of the outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “The central controller (10) may include a microprocessor capable of performing information processing and may transmit a central control signal in conjunction therewith; Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10)”),
wherein the outdoor unit is configured to receive the second communication signal, and operate based on the second communication signal (Par. [0104] “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line”).
Kim teaches receiving, converting, and transmitting signals, but does not explicitly teach receiving a plurality of first communication signals, converting the plurality of first communication signals into a single combined second communication signal, and transmitting the created single second communication signal to an outdoor unit configured to receive the single second communication signal and operate based on the single second communication signal.
However, Juntunen teaches receiving a plurality of first communication signals, converting the plurality of first communication signals into a single combined second communication signal, and transmitting the created single second communication signal to an outdoor unit configured to receive the single second communication signal and operate based on the single second communication signal (Par. [0004] “The HVAC controller may include a save a wire terminal that provides two or more multiplexed or otherwise encoded control signals on a wire”; Par. [0023] “The multiplexer (MUX) 32 may be configured to, for example, multiplex two or more control signals of the control module 28 onto a single multiplexed output signal 33, which may be transmitted over one of wires 22. In some cases, the MUX 32 may multiplex two (or more) of the heat call signal, the cool call signal, and the fan call signal … When so provided, the multiplexed output signal 33, after being decoded by a demultiplexer module (De-MUX) 34, may be able to control one or more HVAC components 12”).
Kim and Juntunen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to air conditioning controllers.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a multiplexer to combine multiple first communication signals into a single second communication signal, as taught by Juntunen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce wiring complexity and improve communication efficiency between HVAC components as suggested by Juntunen (Par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Juntunen further teaches wherein the main controller is configured to combine signals in an ON state from among the plurality of first communication signals to convert the plurality of first communication signals into the single second communication signal (Par. [0023] “The MUX 32 may be configured to, for example, multiplex two or more control signals of the control module 28 onto a single multiplexed output signal 33, which may be transmitted over one of wires 22. In some cases, the MUX 32 may multiplex two (or more) of the heat call signal, the cool call signal, and the fan call signal” – the multiple signals must be in an active (ON) state in order to be combined).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of first communication signals include a contact communication signal (Par. [0066] “The input unit (301) may include at least one input means such as a button that applies a signal by pressing, a switch, a rotary switch that applies a predetermined signal by rotating, or a rotary switch. According to an embodiment, the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen.”), and
the single second communication signal includes a serial communication signal communicable with the outdoor unit (Par. [0051] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485” – RS-485 is used for enabling communication through serial communication signals).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the main controller includes:
a transmitting terminal configured to transmit the single second communication signal to the outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “central controller (10) can be connected to an indoor unit (31) or an outdoor unit (21), and can perform wireless or wired communication with the indoor unit (31) or the outdoor unit (21)” – in order to transmit and receive data wirelessly, the central controller must include a transmitting terminal and a receiving terminal), and
a receiving terminal configured to receive an outdoor unit operation signal from the outdoor unit (Par. [0102] – [0103] “The control unit (207) transmits and receives data with the central controller (10) through the protocol conversion unit (201), transmits data of the first air conditioner (100b) to the central controller (10), and receives a central control signal (Scc) of the central controller (10) to control the operation of the first air conditioner (100b). In addition, the control unit (207) is connected to the outdoor unit (22)” – Kim’s disclosure of bidirectional wireless and wired communication between the controller and outdoor unit necessarily requires transmit and receive circuitry, corresponding to the claimed transmitting terminal and receiving terminal.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the main controller is configured to control a communicator to perform bidirectional communication with the outdoor unit through the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal (Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the main controller is configured to:
determine an operation of an indoor unit based on the plurality of first communication signals (Par. [0126] “contact controller (200) can determine a user control command by comparing the control voltage with a temperature table.”; Par. [0009] “contact controller includes a reference voltage conversion unit that converts a reference voltage into a control voltage that varies according to the input resistance value, a reference voltage detection unit that detects a change in the reference voltage, and a control unit that corrects the control voltage when the reference voltage changes and generates a second control signal for controlling the first air conditioner based on the corrected control voltage”), and
control a communicator to transmit the determined operation of the indoor unit to the indoor unit (Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10) or the control signal input unit (300).”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Juntunen further teaches wherein the operation of the indoor unit includes a plurality of operation stages (Par. [0021] “control module may be configured to provide a heat call signal, a cool call signal, and/or a ventilation or fan call signal, when desired.”), and
the main controller is configured to determine an operation stage corresponding to the plurality of first communication signals among the plurality of operation stages as the determined operation of the indoor unit (Par. [0023] “the two or more multiplexed signals may include a second stage heat call signal, a second stage cool call signal, a second stage fan call signal, or any other suitable signal, as desired”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches an apparatus to control an air conditioner, the apparatus comprising:
an indoor unit connection terminal configured to be connected to an indoor unit (Par. [0044] “central controller (10) can be connected to an indoor unit (31) or an outdoor unit (21), and can perform wireless or wired communication with the indoor unit (31) or the outdoor unit (21)” – to communicate wirelessly, the indoor unit must have a connection terminal);
an outdoor unit connection terminal configured to be connected to an outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “central controller (10) can be connected to an indoor unit (31) or an outdoor unit (21), and can perform wireless or wired communication with the indoor unit (31) or the outdoor unit (21)” – to communicate wirelessly, the outdoor unit must have a connection terminal);
an indoor controller connection terminal configured to be connected to an indoor controller, the indoor controller being configured to obtain an operation command from a user and generate a first communication signal corresponding to the operation command (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200).” - interpreting control signal input unit as an indoor controller; Par. [0066] “the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen”; Par. [0067] “input unit (301) provided in the control signal input unit (300)”); and
a controller (Par. [0040] “contact controller (200) may also be installed inside the central controller (10)” – contact controller and central controller are both being interpreted as the controller, as the contact controller can be installed inside the central controller) configured to:
receive the first communication signal from the indoor controller (Par. [0124] “The contact controller (200) can convert the first control signal (Sc1) received from the control signal input unit (300) into a control voltage (Vc)”),
convert the received first communication signals into a single second communication signal (Par. [0108] - [0109] “The protocol conversion unit (201) may be equipped with conversion means according to multiple communication methods or protocols to enable data transmission and reception between communications using different communication methods or different protocols. Specifically, the protocol conversion unit (201) is connected to the central controller (10) and can convert the protocol between the first air conditioner (100b) and the central controller (10) which have different communication methods.”; Par. [0113] “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300).”, and
transmit the single second communication signal through the outdoor unit connection terminal to the outdoor unit to control the outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “The central controller (10) may include a microprocessor capable of performing information processing and may transmit a central control signal in conjunction therewith; Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10)”).
Kim teaches receiving, converting, and transmitting signals, but does not explicitly teach receiving a plurality of first communication signals, converting the plurality of first communication signals into a single combined second communication signal, and transmitting the created single second communication signal to an outdoor unit configured to receive the single second communication signal and operate based on the single second communication signal.
However, Juntunen teaches receiving a plurality of first communication signals, converting the plurality of first communication signals into a single combined second communication signal, and transmitting the created single second communication signal to an outdoor unit configured to receive the single second communication signal and operate based on the single second communication signal (Par. [0004] “The HVAC controller may include a save a wire terminal that provides two or more multiplexed or otherwise encoded control signals on a wire”; Par. [0023] “The multiplexer (MUX) 32 may be configured to, for example, multiplex two or more control signals of the control module 28 onto a single multiplexed output signal 33, which may be transmitted over one of wires 22. In some cases, the MUX 32 may multiplex two (or more) of the heat call signal, the cool call signal, and the fan call signal … When so provided, the multiplexed output signal 33, after being decoded by a demultiplexer module (De-MUX) 34, may be able to control one or more HVAC components 12”).
Kim and Juntunen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to air conditioning controllers.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a multiplexer to combine multiple first communication signals into a single second communication signal, as taught by Juntunen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce wiring complexity and improve communication efficiency between HVAC components as suggested by Juntunen (Par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Juntunen further teaches the controller is configured to combine signals in an ON state from among the plurality of first communication signals to convert the plurality of first communication signals into the single second communication signal (Par. [0023] “The MUX 32 may be configured to, for example, multiplex two or more control signals of the control module 28 onto a single multiplexed output signal 33, which may be transmitted over one of wires 22. In some cases, the MUX 32 may multiplex two (or more) of the heat call signal, the cool call signal, and the fan call signal” – the multiple signals must be in an active (ON) state in order to be combined).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of first communication signals include a contact communication signal (Par. [0066] “The input unit (301) may include at least one input means such as a button that applies a signal by pressing, a switch, a rotary switch that applies a predetermined signal by rotating, or a rotary switch. According to an embodiment, the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen.”), and
the single second communication signal includes a serial communication signal communicable with the outdoor unit (Par. [0051] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485” – RS-485 is used for enabling communication through serial communication signals).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches a transmitting terminal configured to transmit the single second communication signal to the outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “central controller (10) can be connected to an indoor unit (31) or an outdoor unit (21), and can perform wireless or wired communication with the indoor unit (31) or the outdoor unit (21)” – in order to transmit and receive data wirelessly, the central controller must include a transmitting terminal and a receiving terminal); and
a receiving terminal configured to receive an outdoor unit operation signal from the outdoor unit (Par. [0102] – [0103] “The control unit (207) transmits and receives data with the central controller (10) through the protocol conversion unit (201), transmits data of the first air conditioner (100b) to the central controller (10), and receives a central control signal (Scc) of the central controller (10) to control the operation of the first air conditioner (100b). In addition, the control unit (207) is connected to the outdoor unit (22)” – Kim’s disclosure of bidirectional wireless and wired communication between the controller and outdoor unit necessarily requires transmit and receive circuitry, corresponding to the claimed transmitting terminal and receiving terminal.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a communicator to perform bidirectional communication with the outdoor unit through the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal (Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
determine an operation of the indoor unit based on the plurality of first communication signals (Par. [0126] “contact controller (200) can determine a user control command by comparing the control voltage with a temperature table.”; Par. [0009] “contact controller includes a reference voltage conversion unit that converts a reference voltage into a control voltage that varies according to the input resistance value, a reference voltage detection unit that detects a change in the reference voltage, and a control unit that corrects the control voltage when the reference voltage changes and generates a second control signal for controlling the first air conditioner based on the corrected control voltage”), and
control a communicator to transmit the determined operation of the indoor unit to the indoor unit (Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10) or the control signal input unit (300).”).
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102058046 B1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Juntunen et al. USPGPUB 2009/0140065 A1 (hereinafter Juntunen), and further in view of Vendt et al. US 6,230,979 B1 (hereinafter Vendt).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim and Juntunen do not explicitly teach wherein the main controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit.
However, Vendt teaches wherein the main controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit (Col. 1, “The controller initiates a second stage delay timer, and the timer continues to count down unless reset, until it reaches zero and second stage heating is initiated” – A delay timer suppressing activation signals to higher stages for a reference period, corresponds to blocking transmission of at least one first communication signal for a reference period to determine indoor unit operation).
Kim, Juntunen, and Vendt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to thermostats.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate blocking transmission of at least 1 signal for a reference period of time, as taught by Vendt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow fast, easy, and inexpensive replacement of an existing single stage heating device with a modern multistage heating device, without replacing the thermostat and/or adding additional thermostat wiring as suggested by Vendt (Col. 1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim and Juntunen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim and Juntunen do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit.
However, Vendt teaches wherein the controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit (Col. 1, “The controller initiates a second stage delay timer, and the timer continues to count down unless reset, until it reaches zero and second stage heating is initiated” – A delay timer suppressing activation signals to higher stages for a reference period, corresponds to blocking transmission of at least one first communication signal for a reference period to determine indoor unit operation).
Kim, Juntunen, and Vendt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to thermostats.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate blocking transmission of at least 1 signal for a reference period of time, as taught by Vendt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow fast, easy, and inexpensive replacement of an existing single stage heating device with a modern multistage heating device, without replacing the thermostat and/or adding additional thermostat wiring as suggested by Vendt (Col. 1).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee [KR-10-2021-0078257 A] teaches an air conditioner containing a signal extractor, a processor that transmits a contact signal to the second heating terminal and the second cooling terminal based on the signal extracted from the signal extractor, and a communication terminal for an outdoor unit that is connected to the processor to communicate with the simultaneous heating and cooling type outdoor unit.
Song et al. [USPGPUB 2006/0283198 A1] teaches an air conditioner which diversifies signals to be transmitted using existing connection lines for transmitting signals by adjusting an interval between ON and OFF signals, etc., thereby allowing the air conditioner to be operated in various modes.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119