DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 8/31/2026
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-15 are pending
Claims 2 and 10 have been canceled
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 8/31/2026, on pages 6-10 directed to Juntunen and Vendt, and Applicant's arguments that Song does not disclose receiving a plurality of first communication signals, generating a single second communication signal from the plurality of first communication signals, or locating the signal generating unit in the claimed main controller, have been considered but are moot with respect to the challenged teachings because the present rejection does not rely upon Song for the plurality-of-signals, single-signal generation, or main-controller-location limitations. Juntunen has been replaced by Baldwin for the plurality-of-signals and single-signal-generation limitations, and Vendt has been replaced by Griffin for the signal-blocking limitation.
Applicant further argues on pages 7-9, that Song requires a time-dependent series of ON/OFF signals to be decoded before determining an operation mode. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Song is relied upon for teaching that its control signaling corresponds to respective predetermined air-conditioner operation modes. Paragraph [0016] teaches signals “corresponding to predetermined air conditioner modes,” and paragraph [0051] teaches that the air conditioner is driven in respective strong, weak, or middle modes according to the signaling.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10, Applicant further argues that claims 3-8 and 11-15 are patentable because they depend from claims 1 and 9 and include additional limitations not disclosed by the cited references. Examiner respectfully disagrees because claims 1 and 9 remain unpatentable for the reasons set forth in the present rejection, and the additional limitations of the dependent claims are separately addressed in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the main controller" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102058046 B1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Baldwin et al. US 5,039,009 A (hereinafter Baldwin), and further in view of Song et al. US 2006/0283198 A1 (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an air conditioner (Par. [0001] “air conditioning system”), comprising:
an indoor controller (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200).” - interpreting control signal input unit as an indoor controller) configured to:
receive an operation command from a user (Par. [0066] “the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen”; Par. [0067] “input unit (301) provided in the control signal input unit (300)”), and
generate a first communication signal corresponding to the operation command (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200).”);
an outdoor unit (Par. [0044] “outdoor unit (21)”); and
a main controller (Par. [0071] “The contact controller (200) may include a protocol conversion unit (201), a reference voltage conversion unit (202), a reference voltage detection unit (203), a storage unit (204), a mode setting unit (205), a control signal output unit (206), and a control unit (207).)” – interpreting contact controller 200 as the main controller) configured to:
connect to the indoor controller and the outdoor unit (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200)”; Par. [0051], “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485 or a local area network (LAN)” – contact controller 200 is connected to control signal input unit 300 corresponding to the indoor controller, and to outdoor unit 22.),
receive a first communication signal (Par. [0124] “The contact controller (200) can convert the first control signal (Sc1) received from the control signal input unit (300) into a control voltage (Vc).”), and
generate a single second communication signal (Par. [0113] “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300).”), and
transmit the single second communication signal to the outdoor unit to control operation of the outdoor unit (Par. [0104] “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line.” – control signal output unit 206 outputs Sc2 through a communication line connected to outdoor unit 22.),
wherein the outdoor unit is configured to receive the single second communication signal, and operate based on the single second communication signal (Par. [0104] “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line. Meanwhile, the first air conditioner (100b) operates based on the second control signal (Sc2).”).
Kim does not explicitly teach generate a plurality of first communication signals corresponding to the operation command;
receive the plurality of first communication signals, and
generate a single second communication signal based on an ON state or an OFF state of each of the received plurality of first communication signals, and
wherein the main controller is configured to generate the single second communication signal based on two or more first communication signals that are in the ON state among the received plurality of first communication signals, and
the single second communication signal is one of a plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals.
However, Baldwin teaches generate a plurality of first communication signals corresponding to the operation command (Claim 15, “means for generating commands in response to the temperature sensor, the mode selector and the set point selector, and means, responsive to said command generating means, for transmitting a plurality of commands in parallel on a plurality of transmission lines.” – Baldwin’s plurality of thermostat commands is incorporated into Kim’s first communication signal generation to provide the claimed plurality of first communication signals.);
receive the plurality of first communication signals (claim 1, “means for receiving a plurality of parallel commands from a thermostat where each command represents one of two possible states”), and
generate a single second communication signal based on an ON state or an OFF state of each of the received plurality of first communication signals (Fig. 7, Col. 5, lines 44-62, “the Y1 and Y2 output lines 92, 94 from the thermostat are combined by a command-to-analog conversion block 120 within the interface 88 into a single analog output on the cooling setpoint line 110. The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal, and recognize that these signal states respectively indicate that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are low, that the Y1 input line 92 is high, that the Y2 input line is high or that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high” - the respective states of Y1 and Y2 are combined to generate a unique value on the single CSP output. Figure 7 also identifies the active states as ON states by determining “Y1 ON?” and “Y2 ON?”.), and
wherein the main controller is configured to generate the single second communication signal based on two or more first communication signals that are in the ON state among the received plurality of first communication signals (Fig. 7, Col. 5, lines 47-62, “If the incoming signal on the Y1 input line is high, a level 1 signal generator 122 generates a level 1 signal on the CSP line 110. Similarly, if the incoming signal on the Y2 input line 94 is high, a level 2 signal generator 124 generator a level 2 signal on the CSP line 110. The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and level 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal, and recognize that these signal states respectively indicate that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are low, that the Y1 input line 92 is high, that the Y2 input line is high or that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high” – Figure 7 identifies the active states of Y1 and Y2 as ON states. Thus, Baldwin’s condition in which the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high corresponds to both Y1 and Y2 being in their ON states, and their combination generates the combined level 1 and 2 signal on the single CSP output.), and
the single second communication signal is one of a plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals (Col. 2, lines 7-13, “means for converting each of the plurality of parallel commands into a plurality of predetermined values; means for combining the predetermined values in a predetermined manner; and means for transmitting the combined predetermined values to the controller”; Col. 5, lines 52-58, “The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and level 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal” - Baldwin teaches predetermined values that are combined in a predetermined manner and expressly identifies the resulting CSP outputs as one of a plurality of unique signal states, including a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal, and a combined level 1 and 2 signal. When incorporated into Kim, these predetermined signal states correspond to the plurality of predetermined values for second control signal Sc2 transmitted to the outdoor unit.).
Kim and Baldwin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC control systems using thermostat or control signals to control heating and cooling equipment.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a technique of receiving a plurality of two-state thermostat commands and combining the states of those commands to determine a unique signal value, as taught by Baldwin, into Kim’s contact controller such that the contact controller receives the plurality of first communication signals, determines the unique signal value based on the states of those signals, and uses the determined signal value in generating Kim’s second control signal Sc2 for transmission to the outdoor unit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow a thermostat transmitting discrete command information to be used in conjunction with an HVAC system controller requiring a value, such as an analog signal, to be input, as suggested by Baldwin (Col. 1-2).
Kim and Baldwin do not explicitly teach each of the plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals indicates a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit, and
the outdoor unit is configured to operate in the operation mode indicated by the single second communication signal.
However, Song teaches each of the plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals indicates a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit (Par. [0016], “an operation signal generating unit for outputting signals for controlling the operation of the unitary air conditioner corresponding to predetermined air conditioner modes using a switch-ON/OFF method”; Par. [0051], “when the operation signal generating unit 52 continuously outputs the ON signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a strong mode, i.e., a standard mode, and when the operation signal generating unit 52 repeatedly outputs the ON signal and the OFF signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a weak mode or a middle mode, i.e., in an additional mode.” – Song teaches respective control signaling corresponding to respective predetermined air conditioner operating modes.), and
the outdoor unit is configured to operate in the operation mode indicated by the single second communication signal (Par. [0016], “an operation signal generating unit for outputting signals for controlling the operation of the unitary air conditioner corresponding to predetermined air conditioner modes using a switch-ON/OFF method”; Par. [0051], “when the operation signal generating unit 52 continuously outputs the ON signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a strong mode, i.e., a standard mode, and when the operation signal generating unit 52 repeatedly outputs the ON signal and the OFF signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a weak mode or a middle mode, i.e., in an additional mode”; Par. [0021], “The operation controller may be provided in an outdoor unit of the unitary air conditioner” – Song teaches that different control signaling corresponds to respective predetermined operation modes and that the operation controller may be provided in the outdoor unit. In the combination, Kim and Baldwin provide the claimed single second communication signal, while Song’s teaching is used to associate each predetermined signal value with a respective operation mode. Thus, the outdoor unit operates in the respective operation mode indicated by the particular single second communication signal.).
Kim, Baldwin, and Song are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to control of HVAC or air-conditioning equipment using control signals.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system with predetermined control signals, as taught by Kim and Baldwin, and incorporate having each predetermined control signal indicate a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit and operating the outdoor unit in the indicated operation mode, as taught by Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability of the air conditioner to operate in different predetermined operation modes according to the received control signal, as suggested by Song (Par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of first communication signals include a contact communication signal (Par. [0006], “when additionally installing an air conditioner having a different communication method from the already installed air conditioner, a contact controller such as a dry contact may be used. At this time, the contact controller receives a resistance value that varies depending on the operation of the switch through a control signal input device”; Par. [0066] “The input unit (301) may include at least one input means such as a button that applies a signal by pressing, a switch, a rotary switch that applies a predetermined signal by rotating, or a rotary switch. According to an embodiment, the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen.”), and
the single second communication signal includes a serial communication signal communicable with the outdoor unit (Par. [0113], “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300).”; Par. [0104], “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line)”; Par. [0051] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485” – Kim generates Sc2 in the contact controller, outputs Sc2 over the communication connection to the outdoor unit, and discloses RS-485 as the dedicated outdoor unit communication method.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the main controller includes:
a transmitting terminal configured to transmit the single second communication signal to the outdoor unit (Par. [0071], “The contact controller (200) may include a protocol conversion unit (201), a reference voltage conversion unit (202), a reference voltage detection unit (203), a storage unit (204), a mode setting unit (205), a control signal output unit (206), and a control unit (207).”; Par. [0104] “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line” – the connection point between control signal output unit 206 of contact controller 200 and the communication line corresponds to the claimed transmitting terminal because second control signal Sc2 is output through that connection to outdoor unit 22.), and
a receiving terminal configured to receive an outdoor unit operation signal from the outdoor unit (Par. [0051] – [0052] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485 or a local area network (LAN) … The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)” – the connection point through which contact controller 200 receives data from outdoor unit 21/22 corresponds to the claimed receiving terminal.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the main controller is configured to control a communicator to perform bidirectional communication with the outdoor unit through the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal (Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Kim and Baldwin further teaches wherein the main controller is configured to:
determine an operation of an indoor unit (Kim, Par. [0097] “The control unit (207) communicates with the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21) and can control the operation of the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21)”; Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10) or the control signal input unit (300)” – control unit 207 is included within contact controller 200 and controls indoor unit operation according to received control information.) based on the plurality of first communication signals (Baldwin, Table 1-2, Col. 7, lines 33-36, “Table 2 shows how the voltage ratio is used to identify the status of the thermostat lines 90 and 92. Table 1 shows the actions taken for particular HVAC system configurations once a thermostat line status is identified” – Baldwin determines the HVAC operation based on the states of the plurality of thermostat signals.), and
control a communicator to transmit the determined operation of the indoor unit to the indoor unit (Kim, Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”; Par. [0097], “The control unit (207) communicates with the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21) and can control the operation of the indoor unit (31)”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches an apparatus to control an air conditioner, the apparatus comprising:
an indoor unit connection terminal configured to be connected to an indoor unit (Par. [0036], “the outdoor unit (21) and the indoor unit (31) may be connected to the contact controller (200) through a separate communication line” – the connection of the indoor unit to the contact controller through the separate communication line requires a connection point at the contact controller, corresponding to the indoor unit connection terminal);
an outdoor unit connection terminal configured to be connected to an outdoor unit (Par. [0051], “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485 or a local area network (LAN)” – the connection of the outdoor unit to the contact controller through the dedicated communication line requires a connection point at the contact controller, corresponding to the outdoor unit connection terminal);
an indoor controller connection terminal configured to be connected to an indoor controller, the indoor controller being configured to obtain an operation command from a user and generate a first communication signal corresponding to the operation command (Par. [0064] “The control signal input unit (300) is connected to the contact controller (200) and can input a first control signal that varies according to the operation of the input unit (301) to the contact controller (200)”; Par. [0065], “The input unit (301) has at least one switch and can receive a user's control command. For example, the input unit (301) can receive a temperature control command or air volume control command of the first air conditioner (100b).” – the control signal input unit corresponds to the indoor controller, and its connection to the contact controller provides the claimed indoor controller connection); and
a controller (Par. [0071] “The contact controller (200) may include a protocol conversion unit (201), a reference voltage conversion unit (202), a reference voltage detection unit (203), a storage unit (204), a mode setting unit (205), a control signal output unit (206), and a control unit (207).)” – interpreting contact controller 200 as the controller) configured to:
receive the first communication signal from the indoor controller (Par. [0124] “The contact controller (200) can convert the first control signal (Sc1) received from the control signal input unit (300) into a control voltage (Vc)”),
generate a single second communication signal (Par. [0113] “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300)”), and
transmit the single second communication signal through the outdoor unit connection terminal to the outdoor unit to control the outdoor unit (Par. [0104], “the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line. Meanwhile, the first air conditioner (100b) operates based on the second control signal (Sc2).”).
Kim does not explicitly teach generate a plurality of first communication signals corresponding to the operation command; receive the plurality of first communication signals;
generate a single second communication signal based on an ON state or an OFF state of each of the received plurality of first communication signals;
wherein the main controller is configured to generate the single second communication signal based on two or more first communication signals that are in the ON state among the received plurality of first communication signals; and
the single second communication signal is one of a plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals.
However, Baldwin teaches generate a plurality of first communication signals corresponding to the operation command (Claim 15, “means for generating commands in response to the temperature sensor, the mode selector and the set point selector, and means, responsive to said command generating means, for transmitting a plurality of commands in parallel on a plurality of transmission lines.”);
receive the plurality of first communication signals (Claim 1, “means for receiving a plurality of parallel commands from a thermostat where each command represents one of two possible states”);
generate a single second communication signal based on an ON state or an OFF state of each of the received plurality of first communication signals (Fig. 7, Col. 5, lines 44-62, “the Y1 and Y2 output lines 92, 94 from the thermostat are combined by a command-to-analog conversion block 120 within the interface 88 into a single analog output on the cooling setpoint line 110. The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal, and recognize that these signal states respectively indicate that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are low, that the Y1 input line 92 is high, that the Y2 input line is high or that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high” - the respective states of Y1 and Y2 are combined to generate a unique value on the single CSP output. Figure 7 also identifies the active states as ON states by determining “Y1 ON?” and “Y2 ON?”.);
wherein the main controller is configured to generate the single second communication signal based on two or more first communication signals that are in the ON state among the received plurality of first communication signals (Fig. 7, Col. 5, lines 47-62, “If the incoming signal on the Y1 input line is high, a level 1 signal generator 122 generates a level 1 signal on the CSP line 110. Similarly, if the incoming signal on the Y2 input line 94 is high, a level 2 signal generator 124 generator a level 2 signal on the CSP line 110. The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and level 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal, and recognize that these signal states respectively indicate that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are low, that the Y1 input line 92 is high, that the Y2 input line is high or that the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high” – Figure 7 identifies the active states of Y1 and Y2 as ON states. Thus, Baldwin’s condition in which the Y1 and Y2 input lines are both high corresponds to both Y1 and Y2 being in their ON states, and their combination generates the combined level 1 and 2 signal on the single CSP output.); and
the single second communication signal is one of a plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals (Col. 2, lines 7-13, “means for converting each of the plurality of parallel commands into a plurality of predetermined values; means for combining the predetermined values in a predetermined manner; and means for transmitting the combined predetermined values to the controller”; Col. 5, lines 52-58, “The level 1 and level 2 signals are selected so that each signal, and the combination of the level 1 and level 2 signals, generates a unique signal when applied to the CSP line 110. The controller 20 can monitor the CSP line for one of four states: no signal, a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal or a combined level 1 and 2 signal” - Baldwin teaches predetermined values that are combined in a predetermined manner and expressly identifies the resulting CSP outputs as one of a plurality of unique signal states, including a level 1 signal, a level 2 signal, and a combined level 1 and 2 signal. When incorporated into Kim, these predetermined signal states correspond to the plurality of predetermined values for second control signal Sc2 transmitted to the outdoor unit).
Kim and Baldwin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC control systems using thermostat or control signals to control heating and cooling equipment.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus to control an air conditioner, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a technique of receiving a plurality of two-state thermostat commands and combining the states of those commands to determine a unique signal value, as taught by Baldwin, into Kim’s controller such that the controller receives the plurality of first communication signals, determines the unique signal value based on the states of those signals, and uses the determined signal value in generating Kim’s second control signal Sc2 for transmission through the outdoor unit connection terminal to the outdoor unit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow a thermostat transmitting discrete command information to be used in conjunction with an HVAC system controller requiring a value, such as an analog signal, to be input, as suggested by Baldwin (Col. 1-2).
Kim and Baldwin do not explicitly teach each of the plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals indicates a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit.
However, Song teaches each of the plurality of predetermined outdoor unit control signals indicates a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit (Par. [0016], “an operation signal generating unit for outputting signals for controlling the operation of the unitary air conditioner corresponding to predetermined air conditioner modes using a switch-ON/OFF method”; Par. [0051], “when the operation signal generating unit 52 continuously outputs the ON signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a strong mode, i.e., a standard mode, and when the operation signal generating unit 52 repeatedly outputs the ON signal and the OFF signal during a designated length of time, the air conditioner is driven in a weak mode or a middle mode, i.e., in an additional mode.” – Song expressly associates different control signaling with respective predetermined air-conditioner operating modes).
Kim, Baldwin, and Song are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to control of HVAC or air conditioning equipment using control signals.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus with predetermined control signals, as taught by Kim and Baldwin, and incorporate having each predetermined control signal indicate a respective operation mode of the outdoor unit, as taught by Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability of the air conditioner to operate in different predetermined operation modes according to the received control signal, as suggested by Song (Par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the plurality of first communication signals include a contact communication signal (Par. [0006], “when additionally installing an air conditioner having a different communication method from the already installed air conditioner, a contact controller such as a dry contact may be used. At this time, the contact controller receives a resistance value that varies depending on the operation of the switch through a control signal input device”; Par. [0066] “The input unit (301) may include at least one input means such as a button that applies a signal by pressing, a switch, a rotary switch that applies a predetermined signal by rotating, or a rotary switch. According to an embodiment, the input unit (301) may receive user commands, including a touch pad or a touch screen.”), and
the single second communication signal includes a serial communication signal communicable with the outdoor unit (Par. [0113], “when the contact control mode is set, the control unit (207) can generate a second control signal (Sc2) for controlling the first air conditioner (100b) based on the first control signal (Sc1) input from the control signal input unit (300).”; Par. [0104], “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line)”; Par. [0051] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485” – Kim generates Sc2 in the contact controller, outputs Sc2 over the communication connection to the outdoor unit, and discloses RS-485 as the dedicated outdoor unit communication method).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches a transmitting terminal configured to transmit the single second communication signal to the outdoor unit (Par. [0071], “The contact controller (200) may include a protocol conversion unit (201), a reference voltage conversion unit (202), a reference voltage detection unit (203), a storage unit (204), a mode setting unit (205), a control signal output unit (206), and a control unit (207).”; Par. [0104] “The control signal output unit (206) can output the second control signal (Sc2) generated by the control unit (207) to the first air conditioner (100b). For this purpose, the control signal output unit (206) can be connected to the outdoor unit (22) and/or the indoor unit (34, 35) via a communication line” - the connection point between control signal output unit 206 and the communication line corresponds to the transmitting terminal because second control signal Sc2 is transmitted through that connection to outdoor unit 22.); and
a receiving terminal configured to receive an outdoor unit operation signal from the outdoor unit (Par. [0051] – [0052] “the contact controller (200) can transmit and receive data by being connected to the outdoor unit (22) through a dedicated line communication method such as RS-485 or a local area network (LAN) … The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)” – the connection point through which contact controller 200 receives data from the outdoor unit corresponds to the claimed receiving terminal.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a communicator to perform bidirectional communication with the outdoor unit through the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal (Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Kim and Baldwin further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
determine an operation of the indoor unit (Kim, Par. [0097] “The control unit (207) communicates with the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21) and can control the operation of the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21)”; Par. [0100] “The control unit (207) can also control on/off control of the indoor unit (31) and the outdoor unit (21), setting of operation modes such as cooling mode, heating mode, and ventilation mode, and driving and stopping of the compressor (102) according to a control signal input from the central controller (10) or the control signal input unit (300)” – control unit 207 is included within contact controller 200 and controls indoor unit operation according to received control information.) based on the plurality of first communication signals (Baldwin, Table 1-2, Col. 7, lines 33-36, “Table 2 shows how the voltage ratio is used to identify the status of the thermostat lines 90 and 92. Table 1 shows the actions taken for particular HVAC system configurations once a thermostat line status is identified” – Baldwin determines the HVAC operation based on the states of the plurality of thermostat signals.), and
control a communicator to transmit the determined operation of the indoor unit to the indoor unit (Kim, Par. [0052] “The contact controller (200) transmits and receives data with any one of the connected devices, i.e., the central controller (10), the indoor units (31 to 33), and the outdoor unit (21)”; Par. [0097], “The control unit (207) communicates with the indoor unit (31) and/or the outdoor unit (21) and can control the operation of the indoor unit (31)”).
Claim(s) 7-8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102058046 B1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Baldwin et al. US 5,039,009 A (hereinafter Baldwin) and Song et al. US 2006/0283198 A1 (hereinafter Song), and further in view of Griffin et al. USPGPUB 2016/0102877 A1 (hereinafter Griffin).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim, Baldwin, and Song do not explicitly teach wherein the main controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit.
However, Griffin teaches wherein the main controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals (Par. [0025], “In a second mode, interface board 10 may interrupt transmission of signals and commands from thermostat 2” – Griffin’s interruption of signals and commands from the thermostat corresponds to blocking transmission of at least one of the thermostat communication signals.) for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit (Par. [0025], “a remote operator may intervene to perhaps test the system 100 by requiring the system to follow, for a period of time, a schedule different from a schedule programmed into thermostat 2. This kind of instantiation of the second mode may be useful in diagnosing certain irregularities in the functioning of HVAC unit 1” – the signals are interrupted while the system is operated for a period of time to test and diagnose the functioning of the HVAC unit, corresponding to the reference period being used to determine operation of the indoor unit.).
Kim, Baldwin, Song, and Griffin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to control of HVAC systems using thermostat signals.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, Baldwin, and Song, and incorporate the ability to interrupt thermostat signals for a reference period of time, as taught by Griffin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability to diagnose operation of the HVAC system, as suggested by Griffin (Par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, Song, and Griffin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the operation of the indoor unit includes a plurality of operation stages (Col. 3, lines 36-39, “The HVAC system, as shown in FIG. 1 is configured as a heat pump system with two compressors and two stages of auxiliary heat”; Col. 4, lines 24-26, “The mixed air then passes over a first auxiliary heater H1 and a second auxiliary heater H2” – the two auxiliary heating stages, H1 and H2, correspond to a plurality of operation stages.), and
the main controller is configured to determine an operation stage corresponding to the plurality of first communication signals among the plurality of operation stages as the determined operation of the indoor unit (Col. 6, lines 9-10, “This allows the controller 20 to monitor the HSP line 112 for one of eight states”; Col. 6, lines 13-16, “The controller 20 respectively equates these eight states to recognize that the W1, W2/X and AUX input lines 96, 98, 100 are low, that the W2/X input line 98 is high…”; Col. 8, “If the W1 line is on then the heater H1 is turned on at step 320, while if the W2 line is on then the heater H2 is turned at in step 325” – Baldwin describes first and second auxiliary heating stages H1 and H2, and controller 20 determines the states of the plurality of thermostat signals W1, W2/X, and AUX and controls H1 or H2 according to the determined signal state, corresponding to determining an operation stage from the plurality of first communication signals.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim, Baldwin, and Song teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim, Baldwin, and Song do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit.
However, Griffin teaches wherein the controller is configured to block transmission of at least one first communication signal among the plurality of first communication signals (Par. [0025], “In a second mode, interface board 10 may interrupt transmission of signals and commands from thermostat 2” – Griffin’s interruption of signals and commands from the thermostat corresponds to blocking transmission of at least one of the thermostat communication signals) for a reference period of time to determine the operation of the indoor unit (Par. [0025], “a remote operator may intervene to perhaps test the system 100 by requiring the system to follow, for a period of time, a schedule different from a schedule programmed into thermostat 2. This kind of instantiation of the second mode may be useful in diagnosing certain irregularities in the functioning of HVAC unit 1” – the signals are interrupted while the system is operated for a period of time to test and diagnose the functioning of the HVAC unit, corresponding to the reference period being used to determine operation of the indoor unit.).
Kim, Baldwin, Song, and Griffin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to control of HVAC systems using thermostat signals.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above air conditioning system, as taught by Kim, Baldwin, and Song, and incorporate the ability to interrupt thermostat signals for a reference period of time, as taught by Griffin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability to diagnose operation of the HVAC system, as suggested by Griffin (Par. [0025]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee [KR-10-2021-0078257 A] teaches an air conditioner containing a signal extractor, a processor that transmits a contact signal to the second heating terminal and the second cooling terminal based on the signal extracted from the signal extractor, and a communication terminal for an outdoor unit that is connected to the processor to communicate with the simultaneous heating and cooling type outdoor unit.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119