DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As amended claim 1 recites “sealing structure comprises a groove, and the flange structure is clamped in the groove of the sealing structure when the cabinet door is closed.” It is unclear how the specification and drawings would reasonably convey to one skilled in the art the flange structure is clamped in the groove of the sealing structure when the cabinet door is closed. Applicant’s sealing structure is designed with a first side plate 311, making it unclear how the flange would be inserted or clamped intro the groove of the sealing structure. Because the flange structure would come into contact with the first side plate when the door is closed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9-16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub No.: 20190090369 (“Wilson et al”) in view of CN 218644158 (“ZHANG et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilson et al. discloses an outdoor cabinet, comprising:
a cabinet body (12);
a cabinet door (20) being connected to the cabinet body (12);
a flange structure (36); and
a sealing structure (42) having a groove (between 46 and 48 ,see figs.2- 3)
the flange structure (36) is clamped in the groove between 46 and 48).
Wilson et al. also discloses the bottom of the door has sealing structure has an auxiliary notch (56, see Figs. 2 & 4) but does not disclose the one of the flange or sealing structure arranged on the cabinet body and the other on the other on the cabinet door, and the flange having a drain notch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified that one of the flange structure and sealing structure could be arranged on the cabinet body, where the other of the flange structure and sealing structure is arranged on the cabinet door, such a medication would only require a rearranging parts of an invention and would still maintain the watertight seal between the flange structure and sealing structure as is well known in the art to having ordinary skill.
Zhang et al discloses a body having a door (1) the bottom of the door has a flange structure (2) with one or more holes along the flange.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified that one of the flange structure could be configured with notches or drain holes to permit excess water to drain away from the cabinet, as demonstrated by Zhang et al. As modified, the flange drainage notch and the auxiliary drainage notch are arranged in positional correspondence with each other, and the flange drainage notch and the auxiliary drainage notch are configured to discharge water entering the groove. ** Note: the phrase positional correspondence has been broadly interpreted to mean vicinity, as the specification does provide a special meaning .
Regarding Claim 2, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein the groove (along the flange) comprises a first side plate, a bottom plate, and a second side plate connected in sequence, the auxiliary drainage notch is provided at the first side plate, and the second side plate abuts against the flange structure for sealing. The seal (42) is does not have a second side plate. Zhang et al also demonstrates how the door flange could be clamped to a seal (5) configured with a first side, bottom and second plate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the seal be configured in a different shape as alternate arraignment for creating a water tight seal between the door and cabinet, as demonstrated by Zhang et al.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein the number of flange drainage notches is at least two, the at least two flange drainage notches are provided at a bottom of the flange structure, wherein at least one of the at least two flange drainage notches is located on a first side of the flange structure (26, and at least another one of the at least two flange drainage notches is located on a second side of the flange structure (as modified by Zhang et al.). It would be obvious one having skill in the art to provide additional drainage notch along the flange, making it easier for the water to drain out of the flange and seal .
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) discloses wherein the flange drainage notch comprises a first drainage notch and a second drainage notch, the auxiliary drainage notch comprises a third drainage notch and a fourth drainage notch, wherein the first drainage notch and the third drainage notch are arranged in positional correspondence with each other, and the second drainage notch and the fourth drainage notch are arranged in positional correspondence with each other. Zhang et al. teaches the benefit of having multiple drainage holes. It would be obvious to have duplicate flange notches and duplicate axillary notches along the flange and sealing structure to drain excess water away from the cabinet.
** Note: the phrase positional correspondence has been broadly interpreted to mean vicinity, as the specification does provide a special meaning .
Regarding Claim 6, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein the third drainage notch ( on the seal) is formed at the first side plate or the second side plate, and the fourth drainage notch is formed at the first side plate or the second side plate Yamamoto.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein an area of the auxiliary drainage notch is greater than an area of the flange drainage notch. It would obvious to have a large auxiliary notch over the flange drainage water so that the water is not blocked from drainage.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein the groove (52) is a U-shaped groove (52), and a distance between the first side plate and the second side plate gradually decreases along a direction away from the bottom plate.
Regarding Claims 11-12 and 14 the combination discloses (Wilson et al.) wherein an area of the auxiliary drainage notch is greater than an area of the flange drainage notch. It would obvious to have a large auxiliary notch over the flange drainage water so that the water is not blocked from drainage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8, 13 and 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637