DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 03/27/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 12,20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-7,10-15,17-18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutskover to (US20170289926) in view of Noh to (US 20220360397 A1)
Regarding claims 1,12,20 Sutskover teaches a method for determining transmit power in a wireless local area network, ([0027] The WLAN 100 may comprise a basis service set (BSS) 100 that may include a master station 102, which may be an AP, a plurality of high-efficiency wireless (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax) (HE) stations ) comprising: receiving, by a station, a trigger frame([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including anindication of a maximum receive power at the access point, the per station information including an identification of the station, and an indication of a resource unit (RU), encode an uplink (UL) physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU)(UL-PPDU) in accordance with the indication of the RU; determine a transmit power for the UL-PPDU based on the maximum receive power; and configure the wireless device to transmit the UL-PPDU using the determined transmit power) , wherein the trigger frame indicates a first resource unit allocated to the station([0183] determine the transmit power for the UL-PPDU based on a proportion of the RU to a total bandwidth, the total bandwidth indicated in the trigger frame or based determined based on a communication standard) , and wherein the trigger frame comprises an access point (AP) transmit power subfield ([0181] where the common information further comprises an indication of a transmit power used to transmit the trigger frame) and an uplink target receive power subfield; ([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including an indication of a maximum receive power at the access point, the per station information including an identification of the station, and an indication of a resource unit (RU), encode an uplink (UL) physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU)(UL-PPDU) in accordance with the indication of the RU; determine a transmit power for the UL-PPDU based on the maximum receive power; and configure the wireless device to transmit the UL-PPDU using the determined transmit power) and sending, by the station, a trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit (TB PPDU) at first transmit power, wherein the TB PPDU occupies a second resource unit comprised in the first resource unit,([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including an indication of a maximum receive power at the access point, the per station information including an identification of the station, and an indication of a resource unit (RU), encode an uplink (UL) physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU)(UL-PPDU) in accordance with the indication of the RU; determine a transmit power for the UL-PPDU based on the maximum receive power; and configure the wireless device to transmit the UL-PPDU using the determined transmit power) and wherein the first transmit power is determined based on an indication of the AP transmit power subfield,([0182] determine a path loss based on the an indication of the transmit power used to transmit the trigger frame and a received power of the trigger frame at the station; and determine the transmit power for the packet) an indication of the uplink target receive power subfield, the second resource unit, and the first resource unit([0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR)
Sutskover does not explicitly teach the second resource unit that is used by the station for transmission and is in the first resource unit, and the first resource unit that is allocated to the station
However, Noh teaches the second resource unit that is used by the station for transmission and is in the first resource unit, and the first resource unit that is allocated to the station([0167] discloses ,,, HE STAs could be assigned on the primary 160 MHz channel. For the secondary 160 MHz channel, PS160 subfield and RU Allocation field are used to indicate the location of RU or MRU on the secondary 160 MHz channel for EHT STAs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sutskover include the second resource unit that is used by the station for transmission and is in the first resource unit, and the first resource unit that is allocated to the station, as suggested by Noh. This modification would benefit the system to reduce transmission power waste.
Regarding claims 2,13 Sutskover teaches wherein the first transmit power is determined based on a value indicated by the AP transmit power subfield, a value indicated by the uplink target receive power subfield, a size of the second resource unit, and a size of the first resource unit,([0182] determine a path loss based on the an indication of the transmit power used to transmit the trigger frame and a received power of the trigger frame at the station; and determine the transmit power for the packet.[0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR).
Regarding claims 3,14 Sutskover teaches wherein that the first transmit power is determined based on an indication of the AP transmit power subfield, an indication of the uplink target receive power subfield, a second resource unit, and the first resource unit comprises: the first transmit power is determined based on the indication of the AP transmit power subfield, ([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including an indication of a maximum receive power at the access point, the per station information including an identification of the station, and an indication of a resource unit (RU), encode an uplink (UL) physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU)(UL-PPDU) in accordance with the indication of the RU) the indication of the uplink target receive power subfield, and a ratio of a size of the second resource unit to a size of the first resource unit([0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR).
Regarding claims 4,15 Sutskover teaches wherein the size of the first resource unit is determined based on a total quantity of subcarriers comprised in the first resource unit, and the size of the second resource unit is determined based on a total quantity of subcarriers comprised in the second resource unit([0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR).
Regarding claims 6,17 Sutskover teaches wherein the size of the first resource unit is determined based on a quantity of first bandwidth sizes comprised in a bandwidth of the first resource unit, and the size of the second resource unit is determined based on a quantity of second bandwidth sizes comprised in a bandwidth of the second resource unit([0112],[0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR).
Regarding claims 7,18 Sutskover teaches wherein one of the first bandwidth sizes is one of the following: 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz([0109] derive their proportional receive power 1308 based on the MAX RX power 1002 and on the RU 1128 size compared with the BW 1302. For example, STA1 1304.1, STA2 1304.2, and STA6 1304.6, (RU 1128/BW 1302) is equal to (10 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ⅛, which may be −50 dBm−9 dB=−59 dBm. For STA4 and STA5 (5 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to 1/16th, which may be −50 dBm−12 dB=−62 dBm. For STA3 1304.3 and STA7 1304.7 (20 MHz/80 MHz), which is equal to ¼th, which may be −50 dBm−6 dB=−56 dBm for proportional TX PWR).
Regarding claim 10, Sutskover teaches wherein the trigger frame further comprises indication information indicating one or more of the following: determining the first transmit power based on the indication of the AP transmit power subfield and the indication of the uplink target receive power subfield,([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including an indication of a maximum receive power at the access point, the per station information including an identification of the station, and an indication of a resource unit (RU), encode an uplink (UL) physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU)(UL-PPDU) in accordance with the indication of the RU; determine a transmit power for the UL-PPDU based on the maximum receive power; and configure the wireless device to transmit the UL-PPDU using the determined transmit power) .
Regarding claim 11, Sutskover teaches wherein the indication information is located in a common information field or a user information field of the trigger frame,([0173] decode a trigger frame from an access point for an uplink communication, the trigger frame including an uplink resource allocation for the station, the uplink resource allocation including common information and per station information, the common information including an indication of a maximum receive power at the access point) .
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutskover to (US20170289926) in view of Noh to (US 20220360397 A1) and further in view IEEE P802.11ax/D8.0, "Draft Standard for Information technology-Telecommunications and information exchange between systems Local and metropolitan area networks-Specific requirements; Part 11: Wireless LAN Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications; Amendment 1: Enhancements for High Efficiency WLAN," from IDS referred here as “IEEE P802.11ax/D8.0”
Regarding claim 9, Sutskover does not explicitly teach the bandwidth of the first resource unit is a sum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the first resource unit, and the bandwidth of the second resource unit is a sum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the second resource unit
However, “IEEE P802.11ax/D8.0” teaches the bandwidth of the first resource unit is a sum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the first resource unit, and the bandwidth of the second resource unit is a sum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the second resource unit(section 27.3.10, page ,567-574)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Sutskover include the bandwidth of the first resource unit is a sum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the first resource unit, and the bandwidth of the second resource unit is asum of bandwidths occupied by one or more resource units comprised in the second resource unit, as suggested by . “IEEE P802.11ax/D8.0.” This modification would benefit the system to reduce transmission power waste.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,8,16,19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461