DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this communication, Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) In Claims 1, 4, 8, 10-11 & 16-17 all contain “the air intake openings”. This renders the claims indefinite because it assumes there are more than one intake opening despite all independent claims stating, “one or more air intake openings”. For the purposes of examination, “the air intake openings” has been construed to be “the one or more air intake openings”.
B) Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9 & 12-15 are also rejected due to their dependency on Claims 1 or 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 & 11-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/533866 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they all claim the same features even if they are in different orders throughout the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication Number 2014/0065939 A1 to Dietz.
A) As per Claim 1, Dietz teaches a vent assembly (Dietz: Figure 4), comprising:
a vent flapper (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 58); and
one or more air intake openings (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 59) formed within the vent flapper, wherein the air intake openings allow air to flow both in and out.
B) As per Claim 2, Dietz teaches a removable cover attachable to the vent flapper (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz.
A) As per Claims 3 & 9, Dietz teaches a tube opening (Dietz: Figure 4, opening at Item 32); and
a vent flapper area (Dietz: Figure 4, area of Item 58), wherein the vent flapper area is larger than the tube opening.
Dietz does not explicitly teach that the flapper area is at least 80% larger than the tube opening.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the flapper 80% larger than the tube opening, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (larger flapper than tube opening), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that relative size is a result effective variable because the bigger the flapper area, the better a seal can be made, but the more costly the flapper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the flapper at least 80% larger than the tube opening, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
B) As per Claim 4, Dietz teaches all the limitations except that the air intake openings are hexagonal.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having hexagonal openings solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that hexagonal openings would perform equally well with Dietz. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the opening of Dietz hexagonal because the shape of the opening does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
C) As per Claim 5, Dietz teaches that the vent flapper area is non-circular (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 58).
D) As per Claim 6, Dietz teaches all the limitations except that the vent flapper area is substantially square.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having a square flapper solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that square flapper would perform equally well with Dietz. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flapper of Dietz square because the shape of the flapper does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
E) As per Claim 7, Dietz teaches a flapper recess, formed on the vent flapper; and a flapper hinge, wherein the flapper recess substantially ensures the vent flapper rotates around the flapper hinge (Dietz: Figure 4, items 42 & 50 with recesses on flapper in top left of flap best shown in Figure 5).
Claim(s) 8 & 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz in view of US Patent Number 11,402,111 B2 to Vogel.
A) As per Claims 8 & 10-11, Dietz teaches a vent assembly (Dietz: Figure 4), comprising:
a vent flapper (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 58);
one or more air intake openings (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 59 or opening Item 72) formed within the vent flapper, wherein the air intake openings allow air to flow both in and out.
Dietz does not teach a removable cover configured to block the air intake openings formed within the vent flapper.
However, Vogel teaches a removable cover configured to block the air intake openings formed within the vent flapper (Vogel: Figures 10-11, Item 200).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dietz by add a removable cover, as taught by Vogel, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Dietz with these aforementioned teachings of Vogel with the motivation of adjusting the maximum airflow allowed through the opening.
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz in view of Vogel as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication Number 2008/0185055 A1 to Niedermair.
A) As per Claims 12-17, Dietz teaches a vent assembly (Dietz: Figure 4), comprising:
a vent flapper (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 58);
one or more air intake openings (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 59 or hole in Item 72) formed within the vent flapper, wherein the air intake openings allow air to flow both in and out;
a backplate (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 24c);
a tube (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 30);
a face plate (Dietz: Figure 4, Item 42);
Dietz does not teach a removable cover configured to block the air intake openings formed within the vent flapper.
However, Vogel teaches a removable cover configured to block the air intake openings formed within the vent flapper (Vogel: Figures 10-11, Item 200).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dietz by add a removable cover, as taught by Vogel, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Dietz with these aforementioned teachings of Vogel with the motivation of adjusting the maximum airflow allowed through the opening.
Dietz in view of Vogel does not teach the backplate having a plurality of concentric cylinders arranged in an order of decreasing diameter; and
the tube configured to attach to one of the concentric cylinders, the concentric cylinders are separated by dual-sided score lines and at least one of the concentric cylinders is recessed from the backplate;
a tooth formed on the backplate; and
a tooth receiver formed on the face plate.
However, Niedermair teaches the backplate having a plurality of concentric cylinders arranged in an order of decreasing diameter (Niedermair: Figures 2 & 4, Item 30); and
the tube configured to attach to one of the concentric cylinders, the concentric cylinders are separated by dual-sided score lines and at least one of the concentric cylinders is recessed from the backplate (Niedermair: Paragraph 0021);
a tooth formed on the faceplate (Niedermair: Figure 4, Item 68); and
a tooth receiver formed on the backplate (Niedermair: Figure 4, Item 60).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dietz in view of Vogel by having a connection mechanism, as taught by Niedermair, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Dietz in view of Vogel with these aforementioned teachings of Niedermair with the motivation of being able to connect to many different sizes of duct.
Dietz in view of Vogel and Niedermair does not explicitly teach that the tooth is on the backplate and the receiver is on the faceplate.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having the tooth and receiver any particular direction solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that switching the tooth and receiver would perform equally well with Dietz in view of Vogel and Niedermair. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the tooth on the backplate of Dietz in view of Vogel and Niedermair because the particular connection type does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
Dietz in view of Vogel and Niedermair does not explicitly teach that the score-lines are dual sided.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having dual-sided core lines solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that dual-sided score lines would perform equally well with Dietz in view of Vogel and Niedermair. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the score lines of Dietz in view of Vogel dual sided because the type of score lines does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762