DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/05/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 2011/0312262 A1 to Grandmaison.
A) As per Claim 1, Grandmaison teaches a vent assembly (Grandmaison: Figure 3), comprising:
a backplate having a mounting flange (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Item 40) configured to attach to a support surface, and an inner wall (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Items 10 & 15) projecting inward from an inner perimeter of the mounting flange; and
a vent flapper (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Item 60) rotatably attached to the inner wall of the backplate, the vent flapper including a plurality of air intake openings formed within the vent flapper, wherein the air intake openings allow air to flow both in and out.
B) As per Claim 5, Grandmaison teaches that the vent flapper has a polygonal front face with a plurality of sidewalls projecting substantially orthogonally from the front face, and wherein the air intake openings extend through and cover a majority of the front face (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Item 60).
C) As per Claim 7, Grandmaison teaches that the vent flapper further includes a flapper recess formed on a lateral side of the vent flapper and a flapper hinge rotatably mounting the vent flapper to the backplate, wherein the flapper recess substantially ensures the vent flapper rotates around the flapper hinge (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Items 80 with recess on Item 60 between allows flapper to rotate).
D) As per Claim 18, Grandmaison teaches that the air intake openings are arranged in a mesh lattice covering a majority of a front face of the vent flapper (Grandmaison: Figure 3, Item 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandmaison.
A) As per Claim 4, Grandmaison teaches all the limitations except that the air intake openings are hexagonal cells arranged in a honeycomb structure.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having intake opening shape solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that hexagonal cells would perform equally well with Grandmaison. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the intake openings of Grandmaison hexagonal because the specific shape and arrangement of the openings does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
B) As per Claim 6, Grandmaison teaches all the limitations except that the front face of the vent flapper is substantially square.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having shape of the front face solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that a square front face would perform equally well with Grandmaison. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the front face of Grandmaison square because the shape of the front face does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 8-10 & 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762