DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn. However, new drawing objections are raised in view of newly added claim 22.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 14-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 14-16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 102/103 rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, and 13 as being anticipated and/or unpatentable in view of Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0160951 A1; hereafter Anderson) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Anderson in view of Ng et al. (Pub. No. US 2005/0206736 A1; hereafter Ng) and Shukla (Pub. No. US 2019/0074747 A1; hereafter Shukla).
Applicant persuasively argues that the prior art of Anderson does not anticipate freely rotating the image sensor, as Anderson is only concerned with small rotations to correct for device shake.
Prior art Ng, however, discloses that it was well-known at the time the invention was filed to provide a device which allows free rotation of the image sensor in order to adjust the angle of the image sensor to any desired angle (see, for example, Ng paragraphs [0010]-[0011]] which discloses that “A primary objective of the present invention is to provide an automatic angle adjusting system for use in an image capturing device, which can automatically adjust an oriented angle of a picture captured by image capturing device” or “which can adjust an image capturing unit of the angle adjusting system to a preset angle to allow the image capturing device to be operated at any angle”).
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would therefore have had ample motivation to modify the driving structure of Anderson with an image sensor driver that could provide full rotation of the sensor so that the user can automatically level the image sensor, or set the image sensor to a desired, set angle, as taught by Ng.
Shukla discloses a drive system that allows for full rotation of the payload, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the drive system of Anderson with one like that in Shukla in order to effectuate the desired rotational range discussed in Ng.
Regarding claims 2, 6-10, 11, and 13-16, Applicant’s arguments rest on the arguments made with respect to claim 1 and addressed above, and therefore are similarly addressed.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Anderson and Shukla have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takizawa (Pub. No. US 2014/0354833 A1; hereafter Takizawa).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rotating pair, two parts of which move relatively and are respectively fixedly connected to the shell and a rotating part” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the at least one annular light-insulating piece.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18, as currently presented, depends from claim 1, which does not recite any “at least one annular light-insulating piece.” For the purposes of this examination, Examiner will interpret claim 18 as depending from claim 11 which recites “an annular light-insulating piece” providing proper antecedent basis for the limitation in claim 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites “rotating pair, two parts of which move relatively and are respectively fixedly connected to the shell and a rotating part.” However, it is unclear a “rotating pair” of what? The term “pair” denotes the number of items (two), but does not indicate what the items are. It is therefore unclear what the limitation of “a rotating pair” applies to, and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takizawa (Pub. No. US 2014/0354833 A1; hereafter Takizawa).
Regarding claim 12, Takizawa discloses a photosensitive module, comprising: a shell (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 200), an image sensing assembly (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 180), comprising a photosensitive element (see Takizawa Fig. 2, item 108), and a servo driver, comprising a stator connected to the shell (see Takizawa Fig. 6A, item 303), and a rotor rotating relative to the stator (see Takizawa Fig. 7, items 102R, 401 and 402), the rotor being connected to the image sensing assembly (see Takizawa Figs. 2 and 7, items 102H, 108, 401, and 402), wherein the servo driver drives the image sensing assembly, so that the photosensitive element rotates relative to the shell to achieve imaging effects at different angles (see Takizawa Fig. 2, item 22 and paragraph [0170] “ this camera driving apparatus 165 uses the pair of panning magnetic yokes 203 and the pair of tilting magnetic yokes 204 in combination as the rolling magnetic yokes in order to rotate the movable unit 180 in the rolling direction 22”): wherein the servo driver comprises: the stator with an annular structure, an outer wall of the stator being fixedly connected to an inner wall of the shell (see Takizawa Figs. 1, 3A, and 3B, the stator elements are embedded with the shell, therefore whatever components are construed as the “outer” and “inner” walls are connected to one another); and the rotor with an annular structure, one end of the rotor being embedded into the stator and being in clearance fit with an inner wall of the stator (see Takizawa Figs. 1 and 10, the rotor is nestled into the stator, and therefore can be construed as embedded), and the other end of the rotor being connected to the inner wall of the shell through a bearing (see Takizawa Fig. 10B, item 55), wherein the photosensitive element is arranged in an interior of the rotor (see Takizawa Fig. 10B, items 108 and 102R).
Regarding claim 22, Takizawa discloses a photosensitive module, comprising: a shell (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 200), an image sensing assembly (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 180), comprising a photosensitive element (see Takizawa Fig. 2, item 108), and a servo driver, comprising a stator connected to the shell (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 303), and a rotor rotating relative to the stator (see Takizawa Fig. 2, items 102R, 401, and 402), the rotor being connected to the image sensing assembly (see Takizawa Figs. 2 and 7, items 102H, 108, 401, and 402), wherein the servo driver drives the image sensing assembly, so that the photosensitive element rotates relative to the shell to achieve imaging effects at different angles (see Takizawa Fig. 2, item 22 and paragraph [0170] “ this camera driving apparatus 165 uses the pair of panning magnetic yokes 203 and the pair of tilting magnetic yokes 204 in combination as the rolling magnetic yokes in order to rotate the movable unit 180 in the rolling direction 22”); wherein a motion sensor configured to sense a motion state of the photosensitive element in real time is arranged on the image sensing assembly (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 700).
Regarding claim 23, Takizawa discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 22, wherein an angle sensor is arranged on a rotating pair, two parts of which move relatively and are respectively fixedly connected to the shell and a rotating part, and the angle sensor is configured to measure a relative angular motion between the photosensitive element and the shell (see Takizawa Fig. 1, item 700 and paragraph [0248] “the pair of tilting drive magnets 402 also rotates to cause a steep variation in magnetic pole with respect to the second magnetic sensors 700. That is why by making the second magnetic sensors 700 detect such a steep magnetic pole variation involved with the rotation in the rolling direction 22.” In this case “the rotating pair” is being construed as a rotating pair of portions of the shell and rotor, which rotate relative to one another.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0160951 A1; hereafter Anderson) in view of Ng et al. (Pub. No. US 2005/0206736 A1; hereafter Ng) and Shukla (Pub. No. US 2019/0074747 A1; hereafter Shukla).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a photosensitive module, comprising: a shell (see Anderson Fig. 4, item 410); an image sensing assembly, comprising a photosensitive element (see Anderson Fig. 5, item 510); and a servo driver (see Anderson Fig. 6, item 525. See also paragraph [0041] which discloses that “the rotation stage (525) and X-Y stage (530) may be actuated by piezo electric actuators” which can be construed as servo drivers), comprising a stator connected to the shell, and a rotor rotating relative to the stator (while Anderson does not specifically label which part rotates and which part is relatively fixed, the rotation stage inherently has some portion which rotates, and can be construed as a rotor, and some other portion which is relatively fixed and connected via stage 530 to the shell), the rotor being connected to the image sensing assembly (see Anderson Fig. 5, items 510 and 525), wherein the servo driver drives the image sensing assembly, so that the photosensitive element rotates relative to the shell to achieve imaging effects at different angles (see Anderson paragraph [0051] “the rotation stage (525) provides rotation about a bore axis (720) which passes through the center of the IR optics (630)”).
Anderson does not disclose that the photosensitive element is capable of being controlled to rotate to a desired angle within its reachable rotation range, and the photosensitive element is capable of rotating continuously according to an expected rotating direction.
Ng discloses that it was well-known at the time the invention was filed to provide a device which allows free rotation of the image sensor in order to adjust the angle of the image sensor to any desired angle (see, for example, Ng paragraphs [0010]-[0011]] which discloses that “A primary objective of the present invention is to provide an automatic angle adjusting system for use in an image capturing device, which can automatically adjust an oriented angle of a picture captured by image capturing device” or “which can adjust an image capturing unit of the angle adjusting system to a preset angle to allow the image capturing device to be operated at any angle”).
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would therefore have had ample motivation to modify the driving structure of Anderson with an image sensor driver that could provide full rotation of the sensor so that the user can automatically level the image sensor, or set the image sensor to a desired, set angle, as taught by Ng.
Shukla discloses a drive system that allows for full rotation of the payload, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the drive system of Anderson with one like that in Shukla in order to effectuate the desired rotational range discussed in Ng.
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 1, wherein the image sensing assembly further comprises at least one circuit board; the photosensitive element is arranged on one of the at least one circuit board, the photosensitive element is electrically connected to the at least one circuit board (see Anderson Fig. 5, items 510 and 520, while Anderson does not specifically state that the electrical connector to which the image sensor is mounted is a circuit board, it is clear from the figure that this is the case. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the image sensor of Anderson on a circuit board as the electrical connector in order to take advantage of the cheap, ubiquitous manufacturing capabilities of producing image sensors on circuit boards.).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 1, wherein a rotating axis of the servo driver passes through a center of an effectively sensing range of the photosensitive element, so that the rotating axis and a center of the photosensitive element are located at a same optical axis (see Anderson paragraph [0051] “the rotation stage (525) provides rotation about a bore axis (720) which passes through the center of the IR optics (630)”).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 1, wherein a sensor assembly is arranged on the photosensitive module and comprises a motion sensor or/and an angle sensor, and the sensor assembly is configured to acquire a rotating state of the photosensitive element (see Anderson Fig. 6, item 625).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson as modified discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 1, wherein a controller is arranged on the photosensitive module, and the controller is configured to control the servo driver to drive the photosensitive element to rotate to an expected position (see Anderson Fig. 8, item 865, while Fig. 8 is not a structural chart, it shows that a controller is part of the photosensitive module. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the controller in the photosensitive module in order to control the device locally, as suggested by Anderson).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses a camera module, comprising: the photosensitive module of claim 1 and a lens assembly connected to the photosensitive module (see Anderson paragraph [0051] “the rotation stage (525) provides rotation about a bore axis (720) which passes through the center of the IR optics (630)”).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson as modified discloses a gimbal camera apparatus, comprising: a camera device, wherein the camera device comprises the photosensitive module of claim 1, and a lens assembly connected to the photosensitive module (see Anderson Fig. 6, item 630).
Anderson does not specifically disclose that the gimbal camera apparatus further comprises at least one connecting rod, wherein a driving assembly is arranged on the at least one connecting rod, thereby achieving the rotating connection between the connecting rod and the camera device.
While Anderson discloses tilt and pan drive actuators (see Anderson Fig. 4, items 420 and 425 and paragraph [0038] “typical gimbaled systems provide an elevation rotation (420) about an X axis and an azimuth rotation (425) about a Y axis. By actuating motors which control motion about these two axes”), but does not disclose how they are mounted or otherwise connected to the imaging system.
Shukla further discloses a gimbal camera apparatus that further comprises at least one connecting rod, wherein a driving assembly is arranged on each connecting rod, thereby achieving the rotating connection between the connecting rod and the camera device, or/and the rotating connection between connecting rods (see Shukla Fig. 3A, items 330, 340, 310B, and 310C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the two-axis gimbal of Anderson with a drive system like that in Shukla in order to effectuate the two-axis driving discussed in Anderson.
Regarding claim 15, Anderson as modified discloses the gimbal camera apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the camera device is connected directly to or connected, through an adapter, to the driving assembly for driving the motion of the camera device (see Anderson Fig. 7, items 710 and 510, which show the camera module is connected to the driving assembly).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Ng and Shukla as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Elberbaum (U.S. Patent No. 6,268,882 B1; hereafter Elberbaum).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Anderson as modified discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 1, but does not specifically disclose an electrical connection piece is arranged on the photosensitive module, and an electronic device and a circuit in the shell are in electric energy or/and communication connection with the outside of the shell through the electrical connection piece, [claim 10] wherein the electrical connection piece comprises an electric slip ring, or an electrical connector for realizing electric energy and communication transmission in a wireless manner.
Elberbaum discloses an electrical connection piece is arranged on the photosensitive module, and an electronic device and a circuit in the shell are in electric energy or/and communication connection with the outside of the shell through the electrical connection piece (see Elberbaum Figs. 9A and 9B, items 63 and 65 which disclose a conduit for electrically connecting the device to external data/power), [claim 10] wherein the electrical connection piece comprises an electric slip ring, or an electrical connector for realizing electric energy and communication transmission in a wireless manner (see Elberbaum Fig. 2B, item 7C, which is disclosed as a slip ring).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Anderson with a power/data conduit and a slip ring, like those shown in Elberbaum, in order to enable the device to send/receive data/power, thereby obviating the need for an internal battery or large storage capacity.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Anderson in view of Ng and Shukla as applied to claim 2, above, and further in view of Nagata et al. Pub. No. US 2018/0131879 A1; hereafter Nagata).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 2, but does not disclose an annular light-insulating piece is arranged on an inner wall of the shell, and the at least one annular light-insulating piece is in fit with the at least one circuit board and/or the photosensitive element to form a light-insulating structure.
Nagata discloses an annular light-insulating piece is arranged on an inner wall of the shell, and the annular light-insulating piece is in fit with the circuit board and/or the photosensitive element to form a light-insulating structure (see Nagata Fig. 1, item 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Anderson with a light blocking member like that in Nagata in order to block unwanted light from reaching the image sensor.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Ng and Shukla as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Sidman (Pub. No. US 2007/0050139 A1; hereafter Sidman).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson as modified disclose the gimbal camera apparatus according to claim 14, but does not disclose that an angular motion sensor and/or a motion sensor are arranged on the at least one connecting rod.
Anderson discloses the angular/motion sensors in the shell, but not specifically on connecting rods.
Sidman discloses placing angular/motion sensors on the connecting rods (see Sidman Figs. 3A, items 76 and 78).
As taught by Sidman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the motion sensors with the actuator arms due to the fact that “collocating a sensor with its respective actuator motor and coupling them rigidly provides the necessary control loop stability at the higher loop gains needed for high closed-loop performance” (see Sidman paragraph [0091]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takizawa in view of Nagata.
Regarding claim 20, Takizawa discloses the photosensitive module according to claim 12, wherein the image sensing assembly further comprises an, the image sensor is wirelessly electrically connected with the shell (see Takizawa paragraph [0226] “It should be noted that if the image sensor driving section 99 is a wireless camera, just a power line and a drive line need to be provided for the image sensor driving section 99.”).
Takizawa does not specifically disclose that the image sensor is mounted on a circuit board.
Nagata discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide an image sensor on a circuit board (see Nagata Fig. 1, items 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the image sensor of Takizawa on a circuit board, as taught by Nagata, in order to provide a substrate for mounting the image sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 2/10/2026