DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the title of the disclosure filed March 19th, 2026 is descriptive and being considered. The objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, (see remarks pages 7-9 of 10), filed March 19th, 2026, with respect to rejection of claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for reasons set forth below:
1) Regarding Claim 1, the applicant argued that, “Applicant respectfully submits that Chun merely refers to a same STA receiving a DL PPDU and feeding channel state information back. In contrast to the current claims and the pending rejections, Chun has not been shown to disclose that the STA receives the DL PPDU and determines whether to trigger a different STA to feed channel state information back. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Chun has not been shown to disclose "receiving, by a first communication apparatus, a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)" and "determining, by the first communication apparatus based on the first information, whether to trigger a second communication apparatus to send a feedback result" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added)." [Remarks, page 9 of 10].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a different STA to feed channel state information back) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, CHUN et al. (US 2017/0070914 A1) fig. 45, pg. 44, ¶773-¶779 discloses as follows:
[0773] FIG. 45 is a flowchart showing an operating method of an STA device according to an embodiment of the present invention. The above-described embodiments may be applied in the same manner in relation to this flowchart. Accordingly, a redundant description is omitted below.
[0774] Referring to FIG. 45, first, an STA may receive a DL PPDU at step S4510. In this case, feedback request information may have been included in the received DL PPDU. In particular, the feedback request information may have been included in the first HE control field of at least one MPDU included in the DL PPDU. In this case, the feedback request information may refer to various types of indication information which are transmitted in order to indicate (or instruct) that an STA should feed channel state information back.
[0775] The first HE control field (or the DL PPDU) may include an MRQ field instructing (or indicating) whether the first HE control field is a field that requests the feedback of channel state information. Furthermore, the first HE control field may include a band indication field, indicating whether an STA should generate channel state information with respect to a full transmission band or partial transmission band of the DL PPDU (or a feedback frame/UL PPDU), as feedback request information. If the band indication field indicates that the channel state information should be generated with respect to the partial transmission band of the DL PPDU, the partial transmission band (e.g., an MFR) may be indicated by a subfield included in the first HE control field, or may correspond to a frequency resource band (or a DL PPDU frequency reception band or an UL PPDU frequency transmission band) allocated to the STA.
0776] In this case, the STA may generate channel state information. More specifically, the STA may generate the channel state information (e.g., an SNR value and/or a beamforming feedback matrix) based on feedback request information included in the received DL PPDU. In this case, the generated channel state information may be generated with respect to the full transmission band or partial transmission band of the DL PPDU ...
[0777] Next, the STA may send an UL PPDU including the channel state information at step S4520. In this case, the generated channel state information may be included in the second HE control field of at least one MPDU included in the UL PPDU.
[0778] The second HE control field may include an MFQ field instructing (or indicating) whether the second HE control field is a field through which the channel state information is fed back. Furthermore, the second HE control field may include an unsolicited MCS feedback (MFB) field indicating whether the channel state information is transmitted in response to a request. Furthermore, the second HE control field may include information about the ID of the DL PPDU, that is, the subject of generation of the channel state information (or the subject of measurement of a channel state) …
[0779] As described above in connection with this flowchart, the STA may feed (or report) the channel state information back in response to a request from an AP (i.e., the reception of the HE control field including feedback request information (or NDPA information) or the reception of the NDP frame) or may feed (or report) the channel state information that has been autonomously measured back. If the channel state information is autonomously measured and fed back (or reported), step S4510 may be omitted …
In other words, “Chun” teaches:
1) “receiving, by a first communication apparatus, a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), wherein the first PPDU comprises first information, wherein the first information comprises at least one of channel state information (CSI) measurement quantity indication information for channel variation calculation, a CSI type for the channel variation calculation, information about a rule for the channel variation calculation, or a feedback suggestion parameter, and wherein the feedback suggestion parameter indicates a suggested feedback form" by disclosing:
an STA receives a DL PPDU with feedback request information (i.e. first information) included in the received DL PPDU. In particular, the feedback request information is included in the first HE control field of at least one MPDU included in the DL PPDU (i.e. feedback suggestion parameter). The first HE control field includes a band indication field, indicating whether an STA should generate channel state information with respect to a full transmission band or partial transmission band of the DL PPDU (or a feedback frame/UL PPDU), as feedback request information (i.e. suggested feedback form).
2) “determining, by the first communication apparatus based on the first information, whether to trigger a second communication apparatus to send a feedback result” by disclosing –
the STA generates the channel state information (e.g., an SNR value and/or a beamforming feedback matrix) based on feedback request information (i.e. first information) included in the received DL PPDU; to feed (or report) the channel state information back in response to a request from an AP (i.e., trigger a second communication apparatus to send a feedback result) (Emphasis added).
Therefore “Chun” clearly establishes anticipation under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) for teaching each and every limitation of the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHUN et al. (US 2017/0070914 A1) hereinafter “Chun”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Chun discloses a feedback method [see fig. 45, pg. 44, ¶773 lines 1-5, an operating method of an STA device], comprising:
receiving [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, receiving], by a first communication apparatus [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, by the STA], a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, a downlink (DL) physical protocol data unit (PPDU) or DL PPDU], wherein the first PPDU comprises first information [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, feedback request information is included in the received DL PPDU indicating information which are transmitted in order to indicate (or instruct) that an STA should feed channel state information back], wherein the first information comprises a feedback suggestion parameter [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10; ¶775 lines 1-16, the feedback request information is included in the first HE control field of at least one MPDU included in the DL PPDU; the first HE control field (or the DL PPDU) includes an MRQ field instructing (or indicating) whether the first HE control field is a field that requests the feedback of channel state information], and wherein the feedback suggestion parameter indicates a suggested feedback form [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶775 lines 1-16, the first HE control field includes a band indication field, indicating whether an STA should generate channel state information with respect to a full transmission band or partial transmission band of the DL PPDU (or a feedback frame/UL PPDU), as feedback request information]; and
determining [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13, generating], by the first communication apparatus based on the first information [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13, by the STA, based on feedback request information included in the received DL PPDU], whether to trigger a second communication apparatus to send a feedback result [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13; ¶777 lines 1-5, the channel state information (e.g., an SNR value and/or a beamforming feedback matrix), for sending an UL PPDU including the channel state information].
Regarding Claim 2,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first PPDU further comprises fourth information [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, for feeding a channel state back, the HT control field (hereinafter referred to as an “HE control field”) of an HE format (or HE variant) is used], and the fourth information indicates a channel variation degree [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, an AP instructs an STA to feed channel state information back thereto using the HE control field].
Regarding Claim 3,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first PPDU further comprises second information [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, tone plans for respective channels are configured in resource units having the same size (e.g., a 26-tone resource unit), but are configured in resource units of different sizes], and the second information indicates whether a channel variation exceeds a specified variation threshold [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, if an FG is indicated in a resource unit of a size exceeding 26 tones, there is a 26-tone resource unit not indicated by an FG].
Regarding Claim 4,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before receiving [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, receiving], by the first communication apparatus [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, by the STA], the first PPDU [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, the downlink (DL) physical protocol data unit (PPDU) or DL PPDU], the method further comprises:
sending [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, sending], by the first communication apparatus [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, by the STA], a second PPDU [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, feedback information of the FG_sch (if FG_sch is fixed to a 26-tone resource unit, FG_sch indication information is excluded from the frame) with respect to an MFR configured in a full band], wherein the second PPDU comprises third information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, the AP allocates frequency/spatial resources to each STA based on the feedback information received from the STA, indicates a resource region allocated to each STA through a broadcast frame including NDPA information], and the third information is used to request the first information or to notify the first information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, and requests feedback information measured in an FG unit with respect to the allocated resource region].
Regarding Claim 6,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the CSI measurement quantity indication information for the channel variation calculation comprises of indication information indicating whether more measurements are required [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, CSI_unit refers to a feedback measurement (or resource) unit in which an SNR will be measured (or reported) for resource unit scheduling].
Regarding Claim 7,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the CSI type for the channel variation calculation comprises of CSI measured this time [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, if CSI_unit is a 26-tone resource unit, the number of SNR values fed back with respect to each of 20/40/80 MHz channels are each of 9/18/37].
Regarding Claim 8,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback suggestion parameter comprises of a feedback type [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, the size of CSI_unit is determined based on the size (or MFR) of a target channel to be fed back (or to be measured), and is directly/indirectly indicated by an AP].
Regarding Claim 9,
Chun discloses a feedback method [see pg. 37, ¶660 line 13, an operating method of an access point (AP) device in Next-Generation System], comprising:
generating [see pg. 37, ¶661 lines 1-14, generating], by a second communication apparatus [see pg. 37, ¶661 lines 1-14, by the AP], a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) [see pg. 37, ¶661 lines 1-14, feedback information with respect to all of the transfer channels of a PPDU (or a full bandwidth)], wherein the first PPDU comprises first information [see pg. 37, ¶661 lines 1-14, … feedback information is generated with respect to some transfer channels of a PPDU (i.e., corresponding to at least one resource unit)], wherein the first information comprises a feedback suggestion parameter [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, an STA sends feedback information (or a feedback value) about a full bandwidth through one MPDU of an UL frame or an HE control field at the request of an AP or autonomously], and wherein the feedback suggestion parameter indicates a suggested feedback form [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, the STA sends feedback information of the FG_sch (if FG_sch is fixed to a 26-tone resource unit, FG_sch indication information is excluded from the frame) with respect to an MFR configured in a full band]; and
sending [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, allocating], by the second communication apparatus [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, by the AP], the first PPDU [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, frequency/spatial resources to each STA based on the feedback information received from the STA, indicates a resource region allocated to each STA through a broadcast frame including NDPA information, and requests feedback information measured in an FG unit with respect to the allocated resource region].
Regarding Claim 10,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the first PPDU further comprises fourth information [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, for feeding a channel state back, the HT control field (hereinafter referred to as an “HE control field”) of an HE format (or HE variant) is used], and the fourth information indicates a channel variation degree [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, an AP instructs an STA to feed channel state information back thereto using the HE control field].
Regarding Claim 11,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the first PPDU further comprises second information [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, tone plans for respective channels are configured in resource units having the same size (e.g., a 26-tone resource unit), but are configured in resource units of different sizes], and the second information indicates whether a channel variation exceeds a specified variation threshold [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, if an FG is indicated in a resource unit of a size exceeding 26 tones, there is a 26-tone resource unit not indicated by an FG].
Regarding Claim 12,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein before sending [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, sending], by the second communication apparatus [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, by the AP], the first PPDU [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, the downlink (DL) physical protocol data unit (PPDU) or DL PPDU], the method further comprises:
receiving [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, receiving], by the second communication apparatus [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, by the AP], a second PPDU [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, feedback information of the FG_sch (if FG_sch is fixed to a 26-tone resource unit, FG_sch indication information is excluded from the frame) with respect to an MFR configured in a full band], wherein the second PPDU comprises third information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, the AP allocates frequency/spatial resources to each STA based on the feedback information received from the STA, indicates a resource region allocated to each STA through a broadcast frame including NDPA information], and the third information is used to request the first information or to notify the first information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, and requests feedback information measured in an FG unit with respect to the allocated resource region].
Regarding Claim 14,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the CSI measurement quantity indication information for the channel variation calculation comprises of indication information indicating whether more measurements are required [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, CSI_unit refers to a feedback measurement (or resource) unit in which an SNR will be measured (or reported) for resource unit scheduling].
Regarding Claim 15,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the CSI type for the channel variation calculation comprises of CSI measured this time [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, if CSI_unit is a 26-tone resource unit, the number of SNR values fed back with respect to each of 20/40/80 MHz channels are each of 9/18/37].
Regarding Claim 16,
Chun discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the feedback suggestion parameter comprises of a feedback type [see pg. 38, ¶696 lines 1-7, the size of CSI_unit is determined based on the size (or MFR) of a target channel to be fed back (or to be measured), and is directly/indirectly indicated by an AP].
Regarding Claim 17,
Chun discloses a communication apparatus [see fig. 46, pg. 44, ¶781 lines 1-4, an STA device], comprising;
at least one processors and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations [see fig. 46, pg. 44, ¶781 lines 1-4, including memory and a processor implemented to execute steps] comprising:
receiving a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, receiving a downlink (DL) physical protocol data unit (PPDU) or DL PPDU], wherein the first PPDU comprises first information [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, with feedback request information included in the received DL PPDU indicating information which are transmitted in order to indicate (or instruct) that an STA should feed channel state information back], wherein the first information comprises a feedback suggestion parameter [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶775 lines 1-16, the first HE control field (or the DL PPDU) includes an MRQ field instructing (or indicating) whether the first HE control field is a field that requests the feedback of channel state information], and wherein the feedback suggestion parameter indicates a suggested feedback form [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶775 lines 1-16, the first HE control field includes a band indication field, indicating whether an STA should generate channel state information with respect to a full transmission band or partial transmission band of the DL PPDU (or a feedback frame/UL PPDU), as feedback request information]; and
determining [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13, generating], based on the first information [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13, based on feedback request information included in the received DL PPDU], whether to trigger a second communication apparatus to send a feedback result [see pg. 44, ¶776 lines 1-13; ¶777 lines 1-5, the channel state information (e.g., an SNR value and/or a beamforming feedback matrix), for sending an UL PPDU including the channel state information].
Regarding Claim 18,
Chun discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the first PPDU further comprises fourth information [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, for feeding a channel state back, the HT control field (hereinafter referred to as an “HE control field”) of an HE format (or HE variant) is used], and the fourth information indicates a channel variation degree [see pg. 29, ¶541 lines 1-5, an AP instructs an STA to feed channel state information back thereto using the HE control field].
Regarding Claim 19,
Chun discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the first PPDU further comprises second information [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, tone plans for respective channels are configured in resource units having the same size (e.g., a 26-tone resource unit), but are configured in resource units of different sizes], and the second information indicates whether a channel variation exceeds a specified variation threshold [see pg. 35, ¶628 lines 1-9, if an FG is indicated in a resource unit of a size exceeding 26 tones, there is a 26-tone resource unit not indicated by an FG].
Regarding Claim 20,
Chun discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 17, wherein before receiving the first PPDU [see fig. 45: Step “4510”, pg. 44, ¶774 lines 1-10, receiving the downlink (DL) physical protocol data unit (PPDU) or DL PPDU], the operations further comprise:
sending a second PPDU [see pg. 37, ¶658 lines 1-8, sending feedback information of the FG_sch (if FG_sch is fixed to a 26-tone resource unit, FG_sch indication information is excluded from the frame) with respect to an MFR configured in a full band], wherein the second PPDU comprises third information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, the AP allocates frequency/spatial resources to each STA based on the feedback information received from the STA, indicates a resource region allocated to each STA through a broadcast frame including NDPA information], and the third information is used to request the first information or to notify the first information [see pg. 37, ¶659 lines 1-12, and requests feedback information measured in an FG unit with respect to the allocated resource region].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469