Drawings
The drawings are objected to because applicant’s drawing quality is poor. The figures contain faint lines and excessive shading that obscures the images. Figures 2 and 8 appear to show inappropriate photo images (see below) and Figure 2 contain three images that should be separately labelled (such as 2(a), 2(b), 2(c)). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “trailer mounting unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1-3, line 1, “type” is an indefinite term that renders the structure associated with it indefinite.
In claim 2, line 2, it is not clear what applicant means by the hydrogen tank is “a stand-alone system”. Applicant’s disclosure refers to the fuel cell package and the hydrogen tank as being a “stand-alone system” but fails to explain what is meant by that term. While the term may have meaning in the sense that the fuel cell system may contain all of the components required to generate electricity, it is not clear what applicant means by the tank being a stand-alone system. It is difficult to imagine how a tank could be anything other than a stand-alone system, so it is not clear how applicant means to limit the claim with this language.
In claim 3, line 3, “capable of independent operation in a trailer docking type” is unclear. It is not clear if applicant means that the trailer is separately drivable or simply able to generate power independently. The trailer is clearly not able to drive separately from the lead vehicle in that the trailer has only one axle and has no ability to maintain balance without being connected to the lead vehicle so it is not clear to what “independent operation” refers. Also, the phrase “in a trailer docking type” does not make sense.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herten (DE102021200601)
Regarding claim 1, Herten teaches a rear trailer docking type trailer fuel cell system (trailer 6 with fuel cell 26 and hydrogen storage 22, 24), comprising: a fuel cell package (fuel cell 26 and hydrogen storage 22); a trailer 6 for mounting the fuel cell package; and a trailer mounting unit (coupling 8, Figure 1) for docking the trailer with the fuel cell package to a vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the fuel cell package comprises a hydrogen tank (tanks 24) to be configured as a stand-alone system (the trailer can produce electricity and use the electricity to drive the trailer, using drive wheels 28, as a stand-alone driving vehicle; see page 8, first three paragraphs, of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herten in view of Mann (USPN 8,152,201).
Regarding claim 3, Herten teaches that the trailer is capable of independent operation (motor driven at drive wheels 28) in a trailer docking type (it can also be docked to a towing vehicle 4), and provides a module fuel cell system (fuel cell arrangement below deck 34).
Herten is silent regarding the module fuel cell system having a front door, a side door, a rear door, and a roof door to facilitate repair and replacement of parts. However, it is well known to provide doors to access drive arrangements for repair and replacement of parts.
Mann teaches a stand-alone trailer 10 having a hitch coupling 8 and a body 12 containing fuel tank, engine generator, etc. The body includes several doors 19. At least one door 19 on each side is discussed, doors are shown at the front (Figure 1) and top (Figures 1 and 2) of the trailer, and additional doors are suggested (col. 3, lines 52-65; “The main body 12 may be formed of aluminum sheet metal with a plurality of latching door 19. The doors 19 provide ready access to refrigeration, engine assembly, radiator assembly, servo air, hydraulic and electric generator components. For example, the doors 19 shown in FIG. 1 may provide access to an engine and generator, while the doors 19 shown in FIG. 2 may provide access to a blower. A flexible air conditioner duct 20 may be stored in a cabinet 21 located within the cart 10.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a front door, a side door, a rear door, and a roof door, to facilitate repair and replacement of parts, on the fuel cell system of Herlen, in view of Mann, in order to provide access to all of the equipment contained in the fuel cell system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pettit, Caldeira, Wess, and Wellborn teach trailers having fuel cell systems.
Naef teaches a bus coupled to a trailer having a fuel cell system.
CN102795117 teaches a bus having an energy supply in a trailer.
DE19509625, WO EP 0947376, 2020/222370, Roy, WO 00/74964, and DE102010016743 teach energy supplies in trailers.
Klucsartis shows a vehicle having a modular docking portion with and energy supply.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/