DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 12/8/2023.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Prior to the examination of this application, no information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed or submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the same UE" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claim 12 is included because it depends on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goyal et al. US 20230015536 hereafter Goyal.
As to Claim 1. Goyal discloses a system, comprising [Title: Channel Access for Directional Systems In Unlicensed Band]: a user equipment (UE) configured to [Fig. 1A, Sections 0067-0068: The communication system enable wireless users to employ channel access methods. The system include UE/WTRU configured for operation]:
receive channel access scheduling information [i.e. DCI or DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information; Section 0142: Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based] that includes at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Sections 0128, 0174, 0200, 0267: Frame based equipment (FBE) refer to equipment for which transmit/receive timing may be structured. The DL/UL switching configuration indicate a slot size (i.e. number or length) to use for transmission occasion (i.e. timing/slot). A DL/UL switching configuration determination made at gNB when it has data to send to a UE, and derive the DL/UL switching configuration and send to the UE. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like],
wherein the frame [Sections 0110, 0232: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A UE receive from a gNB message indicate DL data transmission schedule] includes a downlink signaling phase [i.e. DCI/control signal or DL assignment], a data transmission phase, an additional scheduling phase and an additional data transmission phase [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0204, 0224, 0225, 0282: A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled. A DCI contain the control information in the DL-downlink and the following fields: a eDRTS flag, a DL Resource block assignment, a MCS for DL; UL Resource block assignment (i.e. additional scheduling for UL data transmission by UE), PUSCH and Resource block assignment for data transmission. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein. The gNB has additional data to send, it transmits the additional DL data to the targeted UE],
and transmit data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information [i.e. LBT or LBT/CCA, see 0124], wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., on a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0144, 0162, 0270: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A grant/allocation may be provided explicitly in a DL control information (DCI) and may be used by the UE when the UE has data to transmit. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. slots/subframe scheduled)],
and an access point (AP) [i.e. Base Station/gNB; Section 0130: An gNB/base station-BS, and/or AP may be used interchangeably herein] configured to: transmit the channel access scheduling information to the UE [Sections 0069, 0142, 0200: The base stations may be an access point (AP). Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based. A DL/UL switching configuration (provide information regarding timing/scheduling and maximum channel occupancy time, see 0170) in which the determination made at a gNB and derive the DL/UL switching configuration and send to the UE],
and receive the data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information from the UE [Sections 0162, 0165, 0281: A UE perform a LBT (i.e. CCA) and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. [0165] Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., on a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes. The UE perform a CCA to check if the channel is clear, determines that the channel is clear, and UE transmit towards the gNB].
As to Claim 2. Goyal discloses an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) [i.e. WTRU] the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to [Fig. 1B, Section 0081: The WTRU include a processor-118]:
decode [Section 0214: The UE can successfully decode messages from gNB] from signaling received from an access point (AP) [i.e. Base Station/gNB, see 0069], channel access scheduling information [i.e. DCI or DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information; Section 0142: Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based] that includes at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Sections 0128, 0174, 0200, 0267: Frame based equipment (FBE) refer to equipment for which transmit/receive timing may be structured. The DL/UL switching configuration indicate a slot size (i.e. number or length) to use for transmission occasion (i.e. timing/slot). A DL/UL switching configuration determination made at gNB when it has data to send to a UE, and derive the DL/UL switching configuration and send to the UE. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like],
and configure transceiver circuitry to [Fig. 1B, Section 0081: WTRU include a transceiver-120]
transmit data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information [i.e. LBT or LBT/CCA, see 0124], wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., on a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0144, 0162, 0270: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A grant/allocation may be provided explicitly in a DL control information (DCI) and may be used by the UE when the UE has data to transmit. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. slots/subframe scheduled)].
As to Claim 3. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein one or more of the data transmission slots include a channel sensing period which combines channel sounding, clear channel assessment, and access reservation mechanisms [Sections 0165, 0176, 0417: CCA/LBT assessment of a channel in which transmitting/receiving nodes engage in communication that involves signaling/messages configured for channel reservation purposes. A message sent to reserve the channel and the type of control signal transmission may be a reference signal (RS), for example, cell specific reference signal (CRS) (i.e. channel sounding). The sensing information include indices of slots when the channel was sensed using LBT (i.e. CCA-clear channel assessment)].
As to Claim 4. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the channel access scheduling information comprises scheduling information for directional access in an unlicensed spectrum [Title, Sections 0142, 0159: Channel Access for Directional Systems In Unlicensed Band. Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based. The AP/gNB in a directional manner perform a LBT towards the direction of a UE to occur for accessing an unlicensed channel].
As to Claim 5. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein a duration of the frame [Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths (i.e. duration/timing/period)] is chosen to match a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) [Sections 0170, 0214: Note that a configuration of a DL/UL switching refers to a configuration that provide information regarding timing/scheduling for uplink/downlink transmission within a maximum channel occupancy time (MOOT) allowed for a transmission. Downlink data transmission from gNB using different antenna configurations to reserve a directional channel based on the total duration of MOOT (maximum channel occupancy time)].
As to Claim 6. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the frame [Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths] includes a downlink signaling phase, a data transmission phase, an additional scheduling phase and an additional data transmission phase [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0204, 0224, 0225, 0282: A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled. A DCI contain the control information in the DL-downlink and the following fields: a eDRTS flag, a DL Resource block assignment, a MCS for DL; UL Resource block assignment (i.e. additional scheduling for UL data transmission by UE), PUSCH and Resource block assignment for data transmission. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein. The gNB has additional data to send, it transmits the additional DL data to the targeted UE].
As to Claim 7. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the channel access scheduling information [i.e. DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information] comprises initial downlink signaling information [i.e. DCI/control signal or DL assignment], to be included in the downlink signaling phase, and wherein the downlink signaling information comprises information about timing and direction of upcoming data transmission slots [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0174, 0177, 0204: Example information indications in Table 1, in accordance with embodiments, the “Transmitter Identification” and “Receiver Identification” fields infer a direction of upcoming transmission(s); and the DL/UL switching configuration may also indicate a slot size to use for an upcoming transmission occasion (i.e. timing). UE to determine where to look for control information which assign DL and UL resources for transmissions performed in an upcoming channel occupancy time. A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled].
As to Claim 8. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the downlink signaling information further comprises timing information for the additional scheduling phase [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0170, 0174, 0225: A DL/UL switching configuration provide information regarding timing/scheduling of messages. This information may be used by the UE to derive the DL/UL configuration and/or timing. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein].
As to Claim 9. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the downlink signaling information further comprises information to designate the UE as either a primary UE or a backup UE for the frame duration, and if the UE is designated as a backup UE, the timing information is to be used by the UE to know when to be available in the additional scheduling phase [Fig. 9, Sections 0174, 0225, 0278, 0286: This information may be used by the UE to derive the DL/UL configuration and timing. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein. Once the gNB determines that the channel is clear, it transmit a new DCI (additional signaling) on a downlink common channel scrambled using a common RNTI to more than one UE or common throughout a network, such as, a targeted UE (i.e. primary UE) or in a direction of a non-targeted UE (i.e. backup UE). Following the determination, the non-targeted UE may perform one or more eDRTS transmissions directed towards the gNB using an associated CGS].
As to Claim 10. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein a duration of one or more of the data transmission slots is selected to match an expected transmission duration for data of the primary UE, such that different transmission slots may have a different duration [Sections 0110, 0148, 0143, 0200: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. Resource selection may be a function of a UE-ID; different UE(s) or groups of UE(s) may be configured with different resources (i.e. time). Resources may be time. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like].
As to Claim 11. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the data transmission slots for transmissions to/from the same UE, and transmissions using a same direction/beam, are grouped together [Sections 0164, 0174, 0226: A UE/gNB perform scheduled resource with one or more beam(s) and/or beam-pair link(s). The DL/UL switching configuration indicate a slot size (i.e. number or length) to use for transmission occasion (i.e. timing/slot). Table 6 depicts start time of DL data transmission and a bitmap containing beam IDs corresponding to transmission slots and filed identifies beam ID intended for subsequent (i.e. next) DL data transmission].
As to Claim 12. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein only a single initial clear channel assessment [i.e. CCA] need be performed [Sections 0131, 0164: Equipment perform a LBT/CCA check before a transmission on an operating channel. A UE may perform CCA for a granted and scheduled resource].
As to Claim 13. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the data transmission slots has a channel sensing period which combines an idle and back-off period, a directional Listen-Before-Talk (LBT) period for CCA, and a period for Request-to-Send (RTS) and Clear-to-Send (CTS) message exchange [Sections 0153, 0192, 0308, 0428: In accordance with embodiments, clear channel assessment (CCA) include directional enhanced directional request-to-send/enhanced directional clear-to-send (eDRTS/eDCTS). A gNB and UE set up a protected period for directional transmissions to perform exchanging of an eDRTS (directional request to send) and eDCTS (directional clear to send). Nodes using all LBT energy detection stage sense the channel to be idle for a duration of a known period at least DIFS plus a backoff time (i.e. period) to proceed with a data transmission. Further, transmissions at unlicensed frequencies require channel sensing to determine if the channel is free by performing directional LBT and a RTS/CTS].
As to Claim 14. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the RTS and CTS message exchange is used simultaneously for access reservation and channel sounding on full data transmission bandwidth [Sections 0192, 0214, 0275, 0392: A gNB and UE set up a protected period for directional transmissions to perform exchanging of an eDRTS (directional request to send) and eDCTS (directional clear to send). The eDCTS and eDCTS messge exchange between gNB and UE used to reserve a directional channel for a given period over the total duration of a transmission/communication exchange between the gNB and the UE (e.g., a MOOT). The BS and targeted UE perform concurrent (e.g., simultaneous) directional transmissions. Time-domain LBT coordination procedure and transmit coordination occur by exploiting the whole bandwidth (BW)].
As to Claim 15. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein reference signals in the RTS message are utilized as a Listen-Before-Receive measurement to estimate a quality metric [i.e. SNR/CSI/RSRP], which is fed back via the CTS message to the AP to allow AP-side link adaptation [Sections 0176, 0179, 0337: An eDRTS may include the duration of the complete transmission, the type of control signal transmission may be: a reference signal (RS), for example, cell specific reference signal (CRS). A node transmit an eDCTS to reserve the channel based on the channel quality e.g., SNR on the Rx beam on which the eDRTS is received. A receiving node (i.e. gNB/AP) of eDCTS message, perform adjusting transmission parameters based on SINR and the like. Signals and/or measurement reports from a receiving node used by node to adapt the LBT parameters include, but are not limited to: a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel state information (CSI), interference measurement (IM), reference signals (CRS, DM-RS) and/or the like].
As to Claim 16. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein if CCA for the UE fails [Sections 0125: A CCA failure mean a channel was found to be busy], the channel access scheduling information further includes timing information to inform the UE that the UE should listen for further scheduling information in a slot for DL RTS or DL CTS [Sections 0340, 0362: The result of the LBT/CCA in the paired directions indicate that the channel is busy; as such, the transmitting node defer the data transmission and wait for a DIFS plus backoff time before the next channel access attempt. If, the LBT in the TX direction indicates that the channel is busy, the gNB proceed to send to the UE an indication of the clear channel (i.e. CTS) in that direction then the UE proceeds with data transmission].
As to Claim 17. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the channel access scheduling information further includes an indication to selectively apply the channel sensing period and to skip [i.e. back-off, Section 0204: UE may back-off and/or may not attempt to access the channel] the channel sensing period if transmissions are to/from the same UE, and/or transmissions are using a same direction/beam [Sections 0164, 0308, 0428: A UE/gNB perform scheduled resource with one or more beam(s) and/or beam-pair link(s). Nodes using all LBT energy detection stage sense the channel to be idle for a duration of a known period proceed with a data transmission. Further, transmissions at unlicensed frequencies require channel sensing to determine if the channel is free by performing directional LBT and a RTS/CTS].
As to Claim 18. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the channel access scheduling information [i.e. DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information] comprises downlink signaling information [i.e. DCI/control signal or DL assignment], to be included in the downlink signaling phase, the downlink signaling information comprising: initial timing information for initial data transmission slots; and additional timing information for data transmission slots in the additional signaling phase [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0174, 0177, 0204: Example information indications in Table 1, in accordance with embodiments, the “Transmitter Identification” and “Receiver Identification” fields infer a direction of upcoming transmission(s); and the DL/UL switching configuration may also indicate a slot size to use for an upcoming transmission occasion (i.e. timing). UE to determine where to look for control information which assign DL and UL resources for transmissions performed in an upcoming channel occupancy time. A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled].
As to Claim 19. Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to configure transceiver circuitry to [Fig. 1B, Section 0081: The WTRU include a processor-118 and a transceiver-120], during the initial data transmission slots, transmit uplink buffer reports to the AP, and transmit CCA assessment feedback to the AP [Sections 0165, 0174, 0411: Following a a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes. This information may be used by the UE/gNB receiver to derive the DL/UL configuration and Buffer status at the UE/gNB transmitter. LBT procedure includes a gNB collect HARQ-ACK feedback from a UE within a time period/slot].
As to Claim 20. Goyal discloses an apparatus of an access point (AP) [i.e. Base Station/gNB], the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: configure transceiver circuitry to [Sections 0069, 0121: The base stations may be an access point (AP). A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a base station]:
transmit channel access scheduling information [i.e. DCI or DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information; Section 0142: Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based] to one or more of a plurality of user equipment (UE(s)), the channel access scheduling information including at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Sections 0128, 0174, 0200, 0267: Frame based equipment (FBE) refer to equipment for which transmit/receive timing may be structured. The DL/UL switching configuration indicate a slot size (i.e. number or length) to use for transmission occasion (i.e. timing/slot). A DL/UL switching configuration determination made at gNB when it has data to send to a UE, and derive the DL/UL switching configuration and send to the UE. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like],
and decode [Sections 0262, 0361: The gNBs and/or UEs may be configured to listen and decode. At 2024, the gNB may receive the transmitted data and decode it] from signaling received from one or more of the plurality of UEs, data and clear channel assessment (CCA) [i.e. LBT or LBT/CCA, see 0124] information, wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., on a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0144, 0162, 0270: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A grant/allocation may be provided explicitly in a DL control information (DCI) and may be used by the UE when the UE has data to transmit. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. slots/subframe scheduled)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. ISLAM et al. US 20180115994
2. Oh et sl. US 20220095375
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
February 20, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477