DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 5/27/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment of the claims have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
6. In light of Applicant’s amendment regarding 35 USC 112(b), the rejection has been withdrawn herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. US 20230015536 hereafter Goyal in view of PAZ et al. US 20260051999 hereafter Paz.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses a system [Title: Channel Access Procedures for Directional Systems In Unlicensed Band], comprising: a user equipment (UE) configured to [Fig. 1A, Sections 0067-0068: The communication system enable wireless users to employ channel access methods. The system include UE/WTRU/FBE equipment configured for operation]:
receive channel access scheduling information [Section 0142: Access and transmission on a channel, may be allocation-based and scheduler-based] that includes at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0110, 0167, 0232, 0267: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. In general, any type of an enhanced message described herein refers to a message that include, information regarding timing or scheduling information, interference directions, etc. UE receive eDRTS/eDCTS message from gNB that include a start time and transmission duration fields to indicate the DL data transmission schedule. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like];
wherein the frame [i.e frame or data; Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths] and includes a downlink signaling phase [i.e. DCI, 0243], a data transmission phase [i.e. PDCSH, 0216], an additional scheduling phase and an additional data transmission phase [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0224, 0232, 0282: A DCI (downlink control information) contain the following fields: a eDRTS flag, a DL Resource assignment, a MCS for DL; UL Resource assignment (i.e. additional scheduling for UL data transmission by UE), PUSCH and Resource assignment for data transmission. A UE receive from a gNB message indicate DL (downlink) data transmission schedule. The gNB has additional data to send, it transmits the additional DL data to the targeted UE if so configured],
and transmit data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information [i.e. LBT or LBT/CCA, see 0124] wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data) and directional transmit confirmation message configured to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0162, 0270, 0416: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. assigned slots/symbols scheduled, see 0267). An (omni)directional LBT procedure may involve, the following: (i) sensing information transmitted from a transmitting node on a slot and/or OFDM symbol indexes in which a channel access was attempted and (ii) a response sent from a receiving node, (1) slot/OS indexes in which a sensed node was detected, and a percentage of attempts],
and an access point (AP) configured to [i.e. Base Station/gNB; Sections 0069, 0130: The base stations may be an access point (AP). An gNB/base station-BS, and/or AP may be used interchangeably herein]: transmit the channel access scheduling information to the UE [Sections 0142, 0200, 0232: Access and transmission on a channel, may be scheduler-based. A DL/UL switching configuration (provide information regarding timing/scheduling and maximum channel occupancy time, see 0170) in which the determination made at a gNB and derive the DL/UL switching configuration and send to the UE. UE receive message from gNB that include a start time and transmission duration fields to indicate the DL data transmission schedule],
and receive the data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information from the UE [Fig. 32, Sections 0162, 0165: A UE perform a LBT (i.e. CCA) and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. Based on a CCA/LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting/receiving nodes engage in communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data), directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes]
Although Goyal discloses data/frame communication is supported for directional unlicensed access and directional channel use beams for transmitting in unlicensed spectrum (see 0003-0004, 0152), it does not explicitly state “sub-THz” band thus silent on is configured to support directional unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band
However, PAZ teaches “frame/data” is configured to support directional [0048: The base station and the UE transmit/receive in directions and beamforming signals] unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band [Figs. 2A-2D, Sections 0025, 0044, 0054, 0086: A wireless communication system allow for transmission and reception of data over a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band. The wireless system further include a unlicensed frequency spectrum and the UEs/AP perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) prior to communicating in order to determine whether the channel is available. A frame structure of the present disclosure applicable to wireless communication technologies includes slot numbers. UE configured by the base station with eligibility criteria for transmitting/receiving subTHz communications to transmit/receive data over a subTHz band].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Goyal relating to UE and base station/AP communicate using data using frame that includes DL signal (i.e. DCI), DL data (i.e. PDSCH), additional scheduling/ul grant, additional data or PUSCH or another PDSCH and performing CCA to determine whether channel is free/available before sending frame/data with the teaching of Paz relating to frame/data is supported/used in wireless system/technology for transmission and reception of data over unlicensed a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band in which the devices uses directional access or beams, and the devices perform CCA. By combining the method/systems the frame/data can support directional unlicensed sub-THz band/frequency without undue experimentation to allow for faster data rate as suggested by Paz.
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) [i.e UE/WTRU/FBE], the apparatus [Fig. 1A, Sections 0067-0068: The communication system enable wireless users to employ channel access methods. The system include UE/WTRU/FBE equipment configured for operation] comprising processing circuitry configured to [Fig. 1B, Section 0081: The WTRU include a processor-118]:
decode [Section 0214: The UE can successfully decode messages from gNB], from signaling received from an access point (AP) [i.e. Base Station/gNB, see 0069], channel access scheduling information that includes at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Sections 0110, 0167, 0232, 0267: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. In general, any type of an enhanced message described herein refers to a message that include, information regarding timing or scheduling information, interference directions, etc. UE receive eDRTS/eDCTS message from gNB that include a start time and transmission duration fields to indicate the DL data transmission schedule. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like],
and configure transceiver circuitry to [Fig. 1B, Section 0081: WTRU include a transceiver-120] transmit data and clear channel assessment (CCA) [i.e. LBT or LBT/CCA, see 0124] information to the AP [Fig. 32, Sections 0162, 0165: A UE perform a LBT (i.e. CCA) and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB (i.e. AP). Based on a CCA/LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting/receiving nodes engage in communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data), directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes],
wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data) and directional transmit confirmation message configured to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0162, 0270, 0416: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. assigned slots/symbols scheduled, see 0267). An (omni)directional LBT procedure may involve, the following: (i) sensing information transmitted from a transmitting node on a slot and/or OFDM symbol indexes in which a channel access was attempted and (ii) a response sent from a receiving node, (1) slot/OS indexes in which a sensed node was detected, and a percentage of attempts],
wherein the frame [i.e frame or data; Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths]
Although Goyal discloses data/frame communication is supported for directional unlicensed access and directional channel use beams for transmitting in unlicensed spectrum (see 0003-0004, 0152), it does not explicitly state “sub-THz” band thus silent on
is configured to support directional unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band;
However, PAZ teaches “frame/data” wherein the frame is configured to support directional [0048: The base station and the UE transmit/receive in directions and beamforming signals] unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band [Figs. 2A-2D, Sections 0025, 0044, 0054, 0086: A wireless communication system allow for transmission and reception of data over a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band. The wireless system further include a unlicensed frequency spectrum and the UEs/AP perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) prior to communicating in order to determine whether the channel is available. A frame structure of the present disclosure applicable to wireless communication technologies includes slot numbers. UE configured by the base station with eligibility criteria for transmitting/receiving subTHz communications to transmit/receive data over a subTHz band].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Goyal relating to UE and base station/AP communicate using data using frame that includes DL signal (i.e. DCI), DL data (i.e. PDSCH), additional scheduling/ul grant, additional data or PUSCH or another PDSCH and performing CCA to determine whether channel is free/available before sending frame/data with the teaching of Paz relating to frame/data is supported/used in wireless system/technology for transmission and reception of data over unlicensed a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band in which the devices uses directional access or beams, and the devices perform CCA. By combining the method/systems the frame/data can support directional unlicensed sub-THz band/frequency without undue experimentation to allow for faster data rate as suggested by Paz.
As to Claim 3. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein one or more of the data transmission slots include a channel sensing period which combines channel sounding, clear channel assessment, and access reservation mechanisms [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0162, 0165, 0176, 0417: A UE perform a LBT (i.e. CCA) and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB (i.e. AP). CCA/LBT assessment of a channel in which transmitting/receiving nodes engage in communication that involves signaling/messages (i.e. data) configured for channel reservation purposes. A message sent to reserve the channel and the type of control signal transmission may be a reference signal (RS), for example, cell specific reference signal (CRS) (i.e. channel sounding). The sensing information include indices of slots when the channel was sensed using LBT (i.e. CCA-clear channel assessment)].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the channel access scheduling information comprises scheduling information for directional access in an unlicensed spectrum [Title, Sections 0142, 0159: Channel Access for Directional Systems In Unlicensed Band. Access and transmission on a channel, may be grant-based, allocation-based, and scheduler-based. The AP/gNB in a directional manner perform a LBT towards the direction of a UE to occur for accessing an unlicensed channel].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein a duration of the frame [Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths (i.e. duration/timing/period)] is chosen to match a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) [Fig. 38 (Depicts MCOT), Sections 0170, 0214: Note that a configuration of a DL/UL switching refers to a configuration that provide information regarding timing/scheduling for uplink/downlink transmission within a maximum channel occupancy time (MOOT) allowed for a transmission. Downlink data transmission from gNB using different antenna configurations to reserve a directional channel based on the total duration of MOOT (maximum channel occupancy time)].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the frame [Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths] includes a downlink signaling phase, a data transmission phase, an additional scheduling phase and an additional data transmission phase [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0204, 0224, 0225, 0282: A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled. A DCI contain the control information in the DL-downlink and the following fields: a eDRTS flag, a DL Resource block assignment, a MCS for DL; UL Resource block assignment (i.e. additional scheduling for UL data transmission by UE), PUSCH and Resource block assignment for data transmission. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein. The gNB has additional data to send, it transmits the additional DL data to the targeted UE].
As to Claim 7. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the channel access scheduling information [i.e. DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information] comprises initial downlink signaling information [i.e. DCI/control signal or DL assignment], to be included in the downlink signaling phase, and wherein the downlink signaling information comprises information about timing and direction of upcoming data transmission slots [Figs. 6-7, 9, Sections 0174, 0177, 0204: Example information indications in Table 1, in accordance with embodiments, the “Transmitter Identification” and “Receiver Identification” fields infer a direction of upcoming transmission(s); and the DL/UL switching configuration may also indicate a slot size to use for an upcoming transmission occasion (i.e. timing). UE to determine where to look for control information which assign DL and UL resources for transmissions performed in an upcoming channel occupancy time. A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled].
As to Claim 8. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the downlink signaling information further comprises timing information for the additional scheduling phase [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0170, 0174, 0225: A DL/UL switching configuration provide information regarding timing/scheduling of messages. This information may be used by the UE to derive the DL/UL configuration and/or timing. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein].
As to Claim 9. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the downlink signaling information further comprises information to designate the UE as either a primary UE or a backup UE for a frame duration, and if the UE is designated as a backup UE, the timing information is to be used by the UE to know when to be available in the additional scheduling phase [Fig. 9, Sections 0174, 0225, 0278, 0286: This information may be used by the UE to derive the DL/UL configuration and timing. However, it will be understood that the DCI may be configured differently and contain one or more different fields and additional field(s) disclosed herein. Once the gNB determines that the channel is clear, it transmit a new DCI (additional signaling) on a downlink common channel scrambled using a common RNTI to more than one UE or common throughout a network, such as, a targeted UE (i.e. primary UE) or in a direction of a non-targeted UE (i.e. backup UE). Following the determination, the non-targeted UE may perform one or more eDRTS transmissions directed towards the gNB using an associated CGS].
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein a duration of one or more of the data transmission slots is selected to match an expected transmission duration for data of the primary UE, such that different transmission slots have a different duration [Sections 0110, 0148, 0143, 0200: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. Resource selection may be a function of a UE-ID; different UE(s) or groups of UE(s) may be configured with different resources (i.e. time). Resources may be time. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like].
As to Claim 11. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the data transmission slots for transmissions to/from a same UE, and transmissions using a same direction/beam, are grouped together [Sections 0164, 0174, 0226: A UE/gNB perform scheduled resource with one or more beam(s) and/or beam-pair link(s). The DL/UL switching configuration indicate a slot size (i.e. number or length) to use for transmission occasion (i.e. timing/slot). Table 6 depicts start time of DL data transmission and a bitmap containing beam IDs corresponding to transmission slots and filed identifies beam ID intended for subsequent (i.e. next) DL data transmission].
As to Claim 12. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein only a single initial clear channel assessment [i.e. CCA] need be performed [Sections 0131, 0164: Equipment perform a LBT/CCA check before a transmission on an operating channel. A UE may perform CCA for a granted and scheduled resource].
As to Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the data transmission slots has a channel sensing period which combines an idle and back-off period, a directional Listen-Before-Talk (LBT) period for CCA, and a period for Request-to-Send (RTS) and Clear-to-Send (CTS) message exchange [Sections 0153, 0192, 0308, 0428: In accordance with embodiments, clear channel assessment (CCA) include directional enhanced directional request-to-send/enhanced directional clear-to-send (eDRTS/eDCTS). A gNB and UE set up a protected period for directional transmissions to perform exchanging of an eDRTS (directional request to send) and eDCTS (directional clear to send). Nodes using all LBT energy detection stage sense the channel to be idle for a duration of a known period at least DIFS plus a backoff time (i.e. period) to proceed with a data transmission. Further, transmissions at unlicensed frequencies require channel sensing to determine if the channel is free by performing directional LBT and a RTS/CTS].
As to Claim 14. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the RTS and CTS message exchange is used simultaneously for access reservation and channel sounding on full data transmission bandwidth [Sections 0192, 0214, 0275, 0392: A gNB and UE set up a protected period for directional transmissions to perform exchanging of an eDRTS (directional request to send) and eDCTS (directional clear to send). The eDCTS and eDCTS messge exchange between gNB and UE used to reserve a directional channel for a given period over the total duration of a transmission/communication exchange between the gNB and the UE (e.g., a MOOT). The BS and targeted UE perform concurrent (e.g., simultaneous) directional transmissions. Time-domain LBT coordination procedure and transmit coordination occur by exploiting the whole bandwidth (BW)].
As to Claim 15. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the system of claim 14, wherein reference signals in the RTS message are utilized as a Listen-Before-Receive measurement to estimate a quality metric [i.e. SNR/CSI/RSRP], which is fed back via the CTS message to the AP to allow AP-side link adaptation [Sections 0176, 0179, 0337: An eDRTS may include the duration of the complete transmission, the type of control signal transmission may be: a reference signal (RS), for example, cell specific reference signal (CRS). A node transmit an eDCTS to reserve the channel based on the channel quality e.g., SNR on the Rx beam on which the eDRTS is received. A receiving node (i.e. gNB/AP) of eDCTS message, perform adjusting transmission parameters based on SINR and the like. Signals and/or measurement reports from a receiving node used by node to adapt the LBT parameters include, but are not limited to: a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel state information (CSI), interference measurement (IM), reference signals (CRS, DM-RS) and/or the like].
As to Claim 16. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the system of claim 15, wherein if CCA for the UE fails [Sections 0125: A CCA failure mean a channel was found to be busy], the channel access scheduling information further includes timing information to inform the UE that the UE should listen for further scheduling information in a slot for DL RTS or DL CTS [Sections 0340, 0362: The result of the LBT/CCA in the paired directions indicate that the channel is busy; as such, the transmitting node defer the data transmission and wait for a DIFS plus backoff time before the next channel access attempt. If, the LBT in the TX direction indicates that the channel is busy, the gNB proceed to send to the UE an indication of the clear channel (i.e. CTS) in that direction then the UE proceeds with data transmission].
As to Claim 17. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 13, wherein the channel access scheduling information further includes an indication to selectively apply the channel sensing period and to skip [i.e. back-off, Section 0204: UE may back-off and/or may not attempt to access the channel] the channel sensing period if transmissions are to/from the same UE, and/or transmissions are using a same direction/beam [Sections 0164, 0308, 0428: A UE/gNB perform scheduled resource with one or more beam(s) and/or beam-pair link(s). Nodes using all LBT energy detection stage sense the channel to be idle for a duration of a known period proceed with a data transmission. Further, transmissions at unlicensed frequencies require channel sensing to determine if the channel is free by performing directional LBT and a RTS/CTS].
As to Claim 18. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the channel access scheduling information [i.e. DL/UL Switching configuration or Scheduling information] comprises downlink signaling information [i.e. DCI/control signal or DL assignment] to be included in the downlink signaling phase, the downlink signaling information comprising: initial timing information for initial data transmission slots; and additional timing information for data transmission slots in an additional signaling phase [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0174, 0177, 0204: Example information indications in Table 1, in accordance with embodiments, the “Transmitter Identification” and “Receiver Identification” fields infer a direction of upcoming transmission(s); and the DL/UL switching configuration may also indicate a slot size to use for an upcoming transmission occasion (i.e. timing). UE to determine where to look for control information which assign DL and UL resources for transmissions performed in an upcoming channel occupancy time. A UE, receives a configuration of the downlink data and control signal on the resources assigned/scheduled].
As to Claim 19. (Original) Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to configure transceiver circuitry to[Fig. 1B, Section 0081: The WTRU include a processor-118 and a transceiver-120], during the initial data transmission slots, transmit uplink buffer reports to the AP, and transmit CCA assessment feedback to the AP [Sections 0165, 0174, 0411: Following a a CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages that take the form of an enhanced directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes. This information may be used by the UE/gNB receiver to derive the DL/UL configuration and Buffer status at the UE/gNB transmitter. LBT procedure includes a gNB collect HARQ-ACK feedback from a UE within a time period/slot].
As to Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses an apparatus of an access point (AP) [i.e. Base Station/gNB, see 0069], the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: configure transceiver circuitry to [Sections 0069, 0121: The base stations may be an access point (AP). A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a base station]:
transmit channel access scheduling information to one or more of a plurality of user equipment (UE(s)), the channel access scheduling information including at least one frame with a configurable number of data transmission slots [Sections 0110, 0167, 0232, 0267: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. In general, any type of an enhanced message described herein refers to a message that include, information regarding timing or scheduling information, interference directions, etc. UE receive eDRTS/eDCTS message from gNB that include a start time and transmission duration fields to indicate the DL data transmission schedule. A UE allocated resources (i.e. time, see 0143) in subframes in each frame with SFN numbers (subframe numbers) assigned in a set of symbols/slots or the like],
and decode [Sections 0262, 0361: The gNBs and/or UEs may be configured to listen and decode. At 2024, the gNB may receive the transmitted data and decode it], from signaling received from one or more of the plurality of UEs, data and clear channel assessment (CCA) information [Fig. 32, Sections 0162, 0165: A UE perform a LBT (i.e. CCA) and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB (i.e. AP). Based on a CCA/LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting/receiving nodes engage in communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data), directional transmit confirmation message configured, to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes],
wherein the data and the CCA information [Section 0165: Following a successful determination that a channel is clear based, e.g., CCA and/or LBT assessment of a channel, transmitting and receiving nodes engage in a communication that involves an enhanced signaling or messages (i.e. data) and directional transmit confirmation message configured to confirm or acknowledge that the channel is clear for transmission and/or configured for channel reservation purposes] are transmitted in one or more data transmission slots selected from the configurable number of data transmission slots based on the channel access scheduling information [Figs. 6-9, Sections 0110, 0162, 0270, 0416: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths. A UE perform a LBT and proceed with data transmission towards the gNB. When the UE determine to transmit, it first performs CCA, after the successful CCA, the UE transmits on the dedicated resource (i.e. assigned slots/symbols scheduled, see 0267). An (omni)directional LBT procedure may involve, the following: (i) sensing information transmitted from a transmitting node on a slot and/or OFDM symbol indexes in which a channel access was attempted and (ii) a response sent from a receiving node, (1) slot/OS indexes in which a sensed node was detected, and a percentage of attempts],
wherein the frame [i.e frame or data; Sections 0110: The WTRU (i.e. UE) communicate with gNBs using subframe/frame transmission time intervals/TTIs (i.e. slots) of various scalable lengths]
Although Goyal discloses data/frame communication is supported for directional unlicensed access and directional channel use beams for transmitting in unlicensed spectrum (see 0003-0004, 0152), it does not explicitly state “sub-THz” band thus silent on
is configured to support directional unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band;
However, PAZ teaches “frame/data” wherein the frame is configured to support directional [0048: The base station and the UE transmit/receive in directions and beamforming signals] unlicensed access in a sub-Terahertz (sub-THz) band [Figs. 2A-2D, Sections 0025, 0044, 0054, 0086: A wireless communication system allow for transmission and reception of data over a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band. The wireless system further include a unlicensed frequency spectrum and the UEs/AP perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) prior to communicating in order to determine whether the channel is available. A frame structure of the present disclosure applicable to wireless communication technologies includes slot numbers. UE configured by the base station with eligibility criteria for transmitting/receiving subTHz communications to transmit/receive data over a subTHz band].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Goyal relating to UE and base station/AP communicate using data using frame that includes DL signal (i.e. DCI), DL data (i.e. PDSCH), additional scheduling/ul grant, additional data or PUSCH or another PDSCH and performing CCA to determine whether channel is free/available before sending frame/data with the teaching of Paz relating to frame/data is supported/used in wireless system/technology for transmission and reception of data over unlicensed a sub-terahertz (subTHz) frequency band in which the devices uses directional access or beams, and the devices perform CCA. By combining the method/systems the frame/data can support directional unlicensed sub-THz band/frequency without undue experimentation to allow for faster data rate as suggested by Paz.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. ISLAM et al. US 20180115994
2. Oh et sl. US 20220095375
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
July 24, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477