Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tomana et al (US 20190074524 A1).
As to claim 1, Tomana teaches a fuel cell stack with metal separators that include an oxygen-containing gas supply passage extending through the first metal separator in a separator thickness direction, a passage bead formed around the oxygen-containing gas supply passage, a plurality of tunnels protruding from the side wall of the passage bead and expanded in the separator thickness direction (see Abstract). The fuel cell separator is stacked on a membrane electrode assembly, and a compression load is applied to the separators in a stacking direction (see par 8) The separators include a fluid flow field configured to allow fluid of an oxygen-containing gas, a fuel gas or a coolant to flow along an electrode surface (See Par 8). The A plurality of tunnels protrude from the side wall of the bead seal and are expanded in the separator thickness direction (see Par 8). Tomana also discloses the fluid passages in the metal separators are surrounded by bead seals (see par 6). These bead seals also are configured to seal a space between the membrane electrode assembly and the gas flow field as well as a space between the membrane electrode assembly and the feed regions and protrude in the stacking direction (see annotated Fig 5 below). These bead seals are known in the art to be compressible when a fastening load is applied to the stack, and this compression would lower the height of the bead seals as said bead seals protrude in the thickness direction which is also the compression direction (see Par 8 and Figs. 4 and 6). The height of the feed ridge being lower than the height of the bead seals after compression would be inherent otherwise the feed ridges could be crushed or damaged by the compression of the fastening load in the stacking direction.
In the event that Tomana does not teach the bead seals in the staking direction are compressed and the height of the bead seals in the stacking direction being lower after compression than their height before compression, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select bead seals that compress upon compression in the stacking direction to resulting the height of the bead seal being lower after compression than before compression which would prevent the oxygen-containing gas from leaking into unintended spaces and/or out of the fuel cell stack.
As to claim 2, Tomana teaches separators made of a metal plate that can be a steel plate, a stainless-steel plate, an aluminum plate, a plate steel plate or a metal plate having an anti-corrosive surface by surface treatment (see Par 30). These materials are the same metal materials disclosed by the applicant to comprise the separator plates (see Par 26 in the instant application). As such, the disclosed metals are not sufficiently compressible or expandable such that the height of the ridge would change due to compression as claimed. Therefore, the metal separators taught by Tomana would have the same properties and would meet the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomana et al (US 20190074524 A1).
As to claim 3, Tomana is applied to claim 3 for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Tomana does not teach a feed ridge that does not contact the membrane electrode assembly after the fastening load is applied in the stacking direction to the stack body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a fuel cell stack, as taught by Tomana, to have a feed ridge height and fastening load to form a sufficient seal while simultaneously preventing the feed ridges from contacting the membrane electrode assembly to avoid interfering with or damaging the feed ridges.
As to claim 4, Tomana is applied to claim 4 for the same reasons as claim 3 above. Tomana does not teach a fuel stack wherein the feed ridge contacts the membrane electrode assembly when a load greater than the fastening load is applied to the stack body in the stacking direction. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that there exists a load greater than the fastening load that, when applied to the stack body in the stacking direction, would cause a sufficient compression that the feed ridges would contact the membrane electrode assembly.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from this examiner should be directed to WILLIAM JOHI WINCHESTER whose telephone number is (571)270-1910. The examiner can be normally reached M-W 10:00am – 10:00pm, T 10:00am – 2:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Barr can be reached at (571)272-1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
WILLIAM JOHI WINCHESTER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/WILLIAM JOHI WINCHESTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711