DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 08 May 2024, have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1+5, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are fully covered by the patent claims.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1+5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches a method:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one configuration parameter that indicates at least one reference signal (RS) for a channel as in the application corresponds to the limitation “receiving, by a wireless .. reference signal (RS)” (claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 2-4);
performing, based on a plurality of failures of a secondary cell, a failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determining a beam … secondary cell” (claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 5-6); and
based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, stopping at least one of: uplink transmission via a bandwidth part of the secondary cell; or monitoring at least one downlink control channel of the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “stopping, by the wireless … secondary cell” (claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches measuring an RS received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS (claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches the at least one configuration parameter is received via at least one of: a primary cell; or another secondary cell different from the secondary cell (claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches receiving at least one configuration parameter indicating a cell deactivation timer associated with the secondary cell, wherein the stopping comprises stopping, before expiration of the cell deactivation timer and based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, at least one of: the uplink transmission; or the monitoring (claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches determining that the failure recovery procedure is unsuccessful based on at least one of: an expiration of a timer associated with the secondary cell; or a maximum quantity of failure instances for the failure recovery procedure (claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,350 teaches the at least one RS comprises at least one of: an RS of a primary cell; or an RS of the secondary cell (lines 1-4).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1+5, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 14+18, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are fully covered by the patent claims.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1+5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches a method.
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one configuration parameter that indicates at least one reference signal (RS) for a channel as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determining, by a wireless … unsuccessful” (claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-4);
performing, based on a plurality of failures of a secondary cell, a failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determining, by a wireless … unsuccessful” (claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-4); and
based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, stopping at least one of: uplink transmission via a bandwidth part of the secondary cell; or monitoring at least one downlink control channel of the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “stopping, based on … with the cell” (claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches measuring an RS received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS (claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches the at least one configuration parameter is received via at least one of: a primary cell; or another secondary cell different from the secondary cell (claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches receiving at least one configuration parameter indicating a cell deactivation timer associated with the secondary cell, wherein the stopping comprises stopping, before expiration of the cell deactivation timer and based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, at least one of: the uplink transmission; or the monitoring (claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-9).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches determining that the failure recovery procedure is unsuccessful based on at least one of: an expiration of a timer associated with the secondary cell; or a maximum quantity of failure instances for the failure recovery procedure (claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 8, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches the at least one RS comprises at least one of: an RS of a primary cell; or an RS of the secondary cell (claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, claim 14+18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches a wireless device.
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive at least one configuration parameter that indicates at least one reference signal (RS) for a channel as in the application corresponds to the limitation “one or more processors … is unsuccessful” (claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-7);
perform, based on a plurality of failures of a secondary cell, a failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “determine that a … unsuccessful” (claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 2-7); and
based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, stop at least one of: uplink transmission via a bandwidth part of the secondary cell; or monitoring at least one downlink control channel of the secondary cell as in the application corresponds to the limitation “stop, based on the … with the cell” (claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 17, claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches measure an RS received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS (claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches the at least one configuration parameter is received via at least one of: a primary cell; or another secondary cell different from the secondary cell (claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches receive at least one configuration parameter indicating a cell deactivation timer associated with the secondary cell; and stop, before expiration of the cell deactivation timer and based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, at least one of: the uplink transmission; or the monitoring (claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 4-11).
Regarding claim 22, claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches determine that the failure recovery procedure is unsuccessful based on at least one of: an expiration of a timer associated with the secondary cell; or a maximum quantity of failure instances for the failure recovery procedure (claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 23, claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 teaches the at least one RS comprises at least one of: an RS of a primary cell; or an RS of the secondary cell (claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,488 lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu Mallick et al. (PG Pub US 2019/0200248 A1) in view of Agiwal et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0068162 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 16, 24, Basu discloses a method, a method, a wireless device, and a base station.
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (figs. 3-4):
receive/transmit at least one configuration parameter that indicates at least one reference signal (RS) for a channel (“the transceiver 325 receives a configuration for the beam revival procedure” [0064], “beam failure for each beam in the first set of beams based on measurements on one or more beam failure detection reference signals” [0063], “During candidate beam identification, a configurable L1-RSRP .. could be used for Candidate Beam identification” [0089]);
perform, based on a plurality of failures, a failure recovery procedure (“Having detected the beam failure, the procedure 500 implements for beam recovery and beam revival in parallel” [0088], “configured maximum number of BFRR transmission” [0096]); and
based on the failure recovery procedure being unsuccessful (“Unsuccessful recovery from beam failure is declared upon reaching the configured maximum number of BFRR transmission, or upon expiry of the beam failure recovery timer, e.g., when the beam failure recovery timer starts upon beam failure detection” [0096]), stop at least one of: uplink transmission via a bandwidth part; or monitoring at least one downlink control channel (“the UE no longer monitors previously configured CORESET(s) upon unsuccessful recovery from beam failure” [0096], “if the beam revival is not successful and a corresponding timer, such as the T310 timer, expires (see block 630), then the beam revival procedure 600 stops UL transmissions” [0103], “Once the Beam Failure is detected, the UE may stop monitoring the corresponding CORESET(s) and stop using all grant-free and SPS allocations on the failed beams .. the UE may not make any PUCCH transmissions on the current beam set, e.g., HARQ ACK/NACK, once Beam Failure has been declared” [0109]).
However, Basu does not explicitly disclose for the secondary cell.
Nevertheless, Agiwal discloses “receive first configuration information on a SpCell and second configuration information on a SCell from the base station, to detect beam failure on the Scell” [0025], “PRACH preamble(s) and/or PRACH occasion(s) of SCell for beam failure recovery are associated to beams (i.e., synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) or Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI RSs)) of that Scell” [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secondary cell because “As a result beam failure on SCell can be detected and recovered quickly unlike the existing method wherein beam failure recovery on SCell is not performed by a terminal leading to data interruption” [0030].
Regarding claims 2, 10, 17, 25, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses measuring an RS received power (RSRP) of the at least one RS (“a RSRP measurement value of the active beam” [0064]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 18, 26, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses the failure recovery procedure is a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, and wherein the plurality of failures of the secondary cell is a plurality of beam failures of the secondary cell (“Unsuccessful recovery from beam failure is declared upon reaching the configured maximum number of BFRR transmission” [0096], “beam failure recovery” [0061]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, 27, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses the at least one configuration parameter is received via at least one of: a primary cell; or another secondary cell different from the secondary cell (“a UE may be configured, for a serving cell, with a set q.sub.0 of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes by a first higher layer parameter, e.g., Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, and with a set q.sub.1 of CSI-RS resource configuration indexes and/or SS/PBCH block indexes by another higher layer parameter, e.g., Candidate-Beam-RS-List, for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell” [0037]). In addition, Agiwal discloses “In case UE is configured with multiple SCells, this configuration can be provided independently for each SCell on which beam failure recovery is needed” [0079], [0025].
Regarding claims 5, 13, 20, 28, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses measuring at least one signal associated with the channel to determine the plurality of failures of the secondary cell (“the beam revival procedure is determined to be successful for an active beam of the first set in response to a RSRP measurement value of the active beam being above the configured RSRP threshold value for the first number of consecutive beam revival instances” [0099]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 21, 29, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses receiving at least one configuration parameter indicating a cell deactivation timer associated with the secondary cell (“A Beam-Failure-Recovery-Timer is used to control the amount of BFRR that the UE should make before giving up” [0092]), wherein the stopping comprises stopping, before expiration of the cell deactivation timer and based on the failure recovery procedure for the secondary cell being unsuccessful, at least one of: the uplink transmission; or the monitoring (“Unsuccessful recovery from beam failure is declared upon reaching the configured maximum number of BFRR transmission .. In one embodiment, the UE no longer monitors previously configured CORESET(s) upon unsuccessful recovery from beam failure” [0096], “when one of the procedure recovers/revives successfully while the other one is still running, then the still running procedure is stopped” [0106], “within a window configured by higher layer parameter Beam-failure-recovery-request-window” [0040]).
Regarding claims 7, 22, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Basu discloses determining that the failure recovery procedure is unsuccessful based on at least one of: an expiration of a timer associated with the secondary cell; or a maximum quantity of failure instances for the failure recovery procedure (“Unsuccessful recovery from beam failure is declared upon reaching the configured maximum number of BFRR transmission, or upon expiry of the beam failure recovery timer, e.g., when the beam failure recovery timer starts upon beam failure detection” [0096]).
Regarding claims 8, 15, 23, 30, Basu, Agiwal discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Agiwal discloses the at least one RS comprises at least one of: an RS of a primary cell; or an RS of the secondary cell (“receive first configuration information on a SpCell and second configuration information on a SCell from the base station, to detect beam failure on the Scell” [0025], “PRACH preamble(s) and/or PRACH occasion(s) of SCell for beam failure recovery are associated to beams (i.e., synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) or Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI RSs)) of that Scell” [0079]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 12/04/2025