DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The IDSs submitted on 12/08/2023, 04/22/2025 and 04/27/2026 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Response to Restriction
Applicant’s election, with traverse, of Group I (claim 1-13) in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged. However, the restriction has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the at least one processor is configured to”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to introduce “at least one processor” earlier in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (WO 2018/126792 A1, hereinafter “Xu”, see English translation provided for mapping purposes).
As to claim 1:
Xu disclose a wireless communication method (see Fig. 1; Abstract; [0047]-[0068]) comprising:
determining, by a first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1), measurement resource configured to receive Reference Signal (RS) (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]);
receiving, by the first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1) from the second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1), the RS in the measurement resource (“Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result”; [0049]-[0057]); and
determining interference of operations of the second network node on operations of the first network node based on the received RS (“Step S120: Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result.
In this embodiment, the first measurement result can be used for cross-link interference coordination”; [0049] “both the first communication device and the second communication device can be base stations. By executing the above steps S110 to S120, the mutual interference status between the base stations can be determined. For example, downlink transmission from base station A interferes with uplink transmission from base station B”; [0059]-[0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
As to claim 2:
Xu further disclose wherein the RS comprises at least one of Synchronization Signal and Physical Broadcast Channel Block (SSB), Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS), Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), Remote Interference Management (RIM-RS), Channel Status Information (CSI)-RS, Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) DMRS, or Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) DMRS (“the first reference signal may be a downlink demodulation reference signal (DL DMRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a downlink reference signal (DL RS)”; [0058]).
As to claim 3:
Xu further disclose further comprising receiving, by the first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1) from the second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1), measurement resource information, wherein the measurement resource is determined based on the measurement resource information (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]).
As to claim 4:
Xu further disclose wherein the measurement resource information comprises at least one of Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) of the RS, RS transmission period and offset, actual transmitted RSs, time-domain offset, frequency location of the RS, or cell identifier (ID) of the cell of aggressor BS Xu further disclose (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]).
As to claim 13:
Xu disclose a first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one processor (processor; Fig. 4; [0175]) configured to:
determine measurement resource configured to receive Reference Signal (RS) (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]);
receive, via a receiver (receiving antenna; Fig. 4; [0174]) from the second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1), the RS in the measurement resource (“Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result”; [0049]-[0057]); and
determine interference of operations of the second network node on operations of the first network node based on the received RS (“Step S120: Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result.
In this embodiment, the first measurement result can be used for cross-link interference coordination”; [0049] “both the first communication device and the second communication device can be base stations. By executing the above steps S110 to S120, the mutual interference status between the base stations can be determined. For example, downlink transmission from base station A interferes with uplink transmission from base station B”; [0059]-[0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
As to claim 14:
Xu discloses a wireless communication method (see Fig. 1; Abstract; [0047]-[0068]), comprising:
determining, by a second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1), measurement resource for sending Reference Signal (RS) (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0048]-[0053]);
sending, by the second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1) to a first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1), the RS in the measurement resource (“Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result”; [0049]-[0057]),
wherein interference of operations of the second network node on operations of the first network node is determined based on the RS (“Step S120: Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result. In this embodiment, the first measurement result can be used for cross-link interference coordination”; [0049] “both the first communication device and the second communication device can be base stations. By executing the above steps S110 to S120, the mutual interference status between the base stations can be determined. For example, downlink transmission from base station A interferes with uplink transmission from base station B”; [0059]-[0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
As to claim 15:
Xu discloses a second network node (“second communication device”; Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one processor (processor; Fig. 5; [0202]) configured to:
determine measurement resource for sending Reference Signal (RS) (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0048]-[0053]); and
send, via a transmitter (transmitting unit 220; Fig. 5; [0201]) to a first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1), the Reference Signal (RS) in the measurement resource configured to receive the RS (“Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result”; [0048]-[0057]),
wherein interference of operations of the second network node on operations of the first network node is determined based on the RS (“Step S120: Measure the first reference signal according to the first transmission configuration information to form a first measurement result.
In this embodiment, the first measurement result can be used for cross-link interference coordination”; [0049] “both the first communication device and the second communication device can be base stations. By executing the above steps S110 to S120, the mutual interference status between the base stations can be determined. For example, downlink transmission from base station A interferes with uplink transmission from base station B”; [0059]-[0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
As to claim 16:
Xu further disclose wherein the RS comprises at least one of Synchronization Signal and Physical Broadcast Channel Block (SSB), Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS), Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), Remote Interference Management (RIM-RS), Channel Status Information (CSI)-RS, Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) DMRS, or Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) DMRS (“the first reference signal may be a downlink demodulation reference signal (DL DMRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a downlink reference signal (DL RS)”; [0058]).
As to claim 17:
Xu further disclose wherein the at least one processor (processor; Fig. 5; [0202]) is configured to: send, to the first network node (“first communication device”; Fig. 1), measurement resource information, wherein the measurement resource is determined based on the measurement resource information (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]).
As to claim 18:
Xu further disclose wherein the measurement resource information comprises at least one of Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) of the RS, RS transmission period and offset, actual transmitted RSs, time-domain offset, frequency location of the RS, or cell identifier (ID) of the cell of aggressor BS (“In this embodiment, before sending the first reference signal, the second communication device will obtain the first transmission configuration information. In this way, the first communication device can obtain the first transmission configuration information in step S110. Based on the first transmission configuration information, the first communication device can know on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal is transmitted and on which time-frequency resources the first reference signal may be received. When both the first communication device and the second communication device are base stations, the first communication device can receive the first configuration information from the base station that sent the first reference signal.”; [0047]-[0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 2018/126792 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0195674 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
As to claim 12:
Xu discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose sending, by the first network node to a third network node, configuration information comprising at least portion of measurement resource information and a frequency gap information, wherein the third network node determines an unavailable resource according to the configuration information.
However, Park discloses sending, by the first network node to a third network node, configuration information comprising at least portion of measurement resource information and a frequency gap information, wherein the third network node determines an unavailable resource according to the configuration information (“in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, the wireless device may stop transmitting a transport block to the second network node (e.g. via resources of configured grant Type 1 and/or Type 2). In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, the wireless device may stop transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) to the second network node (e.g. for the first bearer, and/or a logical channel of the first bearer). In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, the wireless device may stop transmitting a power headroom report (PHR) to the second network node”; see Figs. 32-34; [0277]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Xu into Park’s system/method as it would allow sending, by the first network node to a third network node, configuration information comprising at least portion of measurement resource information and a frequency gap information, wherein the third network node determines an unavailable resource according to the configuration information. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where applying a known technique to a known device would yield predictable results. Furthermore, such combination would have also reduced battery consumption and improve transmission efficiency (Xu; [0167]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record below is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Xu (US 2024/0089019 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) may receive a resource configuration indicating cross link interference (CLI) measurement resources and the UE may measure at least one reference signal received power (RSRP) value respectively on at least one CLI measurement resource of the one or more CLI measurement resources (see at least abstract).
Haustein (US 2023/0189382 A1) teaches measuring the interference comprises receiving a reference signal such as a sounding reference signal or any other configured resource (see at least [0649]).
Huang (US 2023/0189027 A1) teaches the communications manager 715 may transmit, to a parent IAB node, a SRS measurement configuration for measuring, by the parent IAB node, cross-link interference on at least one reference signal resource set to be used by a downstream node in transmitting SRSs, the configuration also indicating, based at least in part on usage information for the at least one reference signal resource set, a number of spatial layers of CLI associated with the downstream node (see at least [0185]).
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476