Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3/28/2025 and 5/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-7 and 10-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2025/0097755 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jiang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Hardware 1600 (may be implemented on a UE)), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Processor 1610) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Memory 1609), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive first sensing configuration information associated with a source cell, wherein the first sensing configuration information is indicative of a first sensing configuration for a sensing session (See Par. [88], [364]-[378] and Fig. 7; 1 of Jiang for a reference to the terminal receives, from the first device, which is a sensing network function, a first measurement configuration information, which includes sensing configuration associated with the serving and/or target cells for a sensing event);
perform one or more sensing measurements in accordance with the first sensing configuration (See Par. [410]-[411] and Fig. 7; 2 & 3 of Jiang for a reference to the terminal performs measurements [Downlink Sensing Switching Measurements], and sends a first measurements report to the first device);
receive a handover command associated with a handover operation to hand the UE over from the source cell to a target cell (See Par. [353]-[357] and Fig. 7; 15 a & b and 16 a & b of Jiang for a reference to a switching [handover] request is received from the first device, by the terminal, to switch from the serving cell to the target cell), the handover command comprising second sensing configuration information associated with the target cell, wherein the second sensing configuration information is indicative of a second sensing configuration for continuing the sensing session in association with the target cell (See Par. [445]-[455] and Fig. 7; 12 & 13 of Jiang for a reference to the switching request received by the UE, comprises second parameter configuration information that includes sensing parameter configuration associated with the candidate target cell);
perform the handover operation in association with the handover command (See Par. [448]-[456] and Fig. 7; 15 a & b and 16 a & b of Jiang for a reference to the UE performs switching [Handover] to the target cell from the serving cell); and
perform one or more additional sensing measurements in accordance with the second sensing configuration (See Par. [456]-[457] and Fig. 7; 17 of Jiang for a reference to that based on the second parameter configuration information, the UE performs sensing switching measurements associated with the target cell).
Regarding Claim 2, Jiang discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: obtain one or more channel measurements associated with at least one of the source cell or the target cell (See Par. [410]-[411] and Fig. 7; 2 & 3 of Jiang for a reference to terminal performs channel quality measurements associated with the serving cell); and transmit, to a first network node that provides the source cell, mobility measurement information indicative of the one or more channel measurements (See Par. [88], [411] of Jiang for a reference to the terminal transmits the first measurements report, including channel quality to the first node, which maybe an Access & Mobility Management Function (AMF)), wherein receiving the handover command comprises receiving the handover command in association with the mobility measurement information (See Par. [81] of Jiang for a reference to handover is triggered by the movement of the terminal and determining that the terminal needs to connect to a cell with better quality).
Regarding Claim 3, Jiang discloses wherein the first sensing configuration information indicates a sensing session identifier (ID) associated with the sensing session, and wherein the second sensing configuration information indicates the sensing session ID (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event).
Regarding Claim 4, Jiang discloses a first network node (See Jiang; Fig. 7; First Device) for wireless communication, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Processor 1610) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Memory 1609), the processing system configured to cause the first network node to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), first sensing configuration information associated with a source cell provided by the first network node, wherein the first sensing configuration information is indicative of a first sensing configuration for a sensing session (See Par. [88], [364]-[378] and Fig. 7; 1 of Jiang for a reference to the first device, which is a sensing network function, transmits, to the terminal, a first measurement configuration information, which includes sensing configuration associated with the serving and/or target cells for a sensing event);
receive, from the UE, mobility measurement information associated with at least one of the source cell or a target cell (See Par. [410]-[411] and Fig. 7; 2 & 3 of Jiang for a reference to in response to the terminal performing measurements [Downlink Sensing Switching Measurements], the first device receives a first measurements report); and
transmit, to a second network node, a handover request indicative of sensing session request information associated with the sensing session (See Par. [353]-[357] and Fig. 7; 16 a & b of Jiang for a reference to a switching [handover] request is transmitted by the first device, to the serving cell, to switch the UE from the serving cell to the target cell).
Regarding Claim 5, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a radio access network (RAN) node that provides the target cell (See Par. [88] of Jiang for a reference to the first device may be a Radio Access Network (RAN) device, controlling the target cell).
Regarding Claim 6, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a mobility service node that tracks mobility information associated with the UE (See Par. [3], [70]-[71] of Jiang for a reference to the serving cell [Second Node] comprises mobility management function that tracks the movement [Mobility] of the UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Jiang discloses wherein the sensing session request information indicates at least one of a target cell identifier (ID) associated with the target cell, a sensing session ID associated with the sensing session, an additional sensing session ID associated with an additional sensing session, a UE ID associated with the UE, or an active service associated with the UE (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event [Sensing Session ID alternative]).
Regarding Claim 10, Jiang discloses first network node for wireless communication (See Jiang; Fig. 7; Candidate Target Cell), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Processor 1610) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Memory 1609), the processing system configured to cause the first network node to:
receive, from a second network node, a handover request associated with a handover operation to hand a user equipment (UE) over from a source cell to a target cell provided by the first network node (See Par. [445]-[447] and Fig. 7; 12 of Jiang for a reference to a switching [handover] request is received from the first device, by the terminal, to switch from the serving cell to the target cell);
receive sensing session information associated with a sensing session, wherein the sensing session is associated with the UE (See Par. [424]-[432] and Fig. 7; 6 of Jiang for a reference to the candidate target cell receives, from the first device, which is a sensing network function, a first measurement configuration information, which includes sensing configuration associated with the serving and/or target cells for a sensing event); and
perform the handover operation in accordance with the handover request (See Par. [448]-[454] and Fig. 7; 13 & 14 of Jiang for a reference to the target cell sends a switching success message to the first device after obtaining a measurement result and/or sensing result of at least one sensing measurement quantity and cell switching, for the UE, from the serving cell to the target cell is performed).
Regarding Claim 11, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a radio access network (RAN) node that provides the source cell (See Par. [88] of Jiang for a reference to the candidate target cell may be a Radio Access Network (RAN) device, controlling the serving cell).
Regarding Claim 12, Jiang discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to a third network node, a handover indication comprising sensing session request information associated with the sensing session, wherein receiving the sensing session information comprises receiving the sensing session information in association with the sensing session request information (See Par. [469]-[471] and Fig. 8 of Jiang for a reference to the candidate target cell sends a first response information to the serving cell [Third Node] carrying first sensing parameter configuration information).
Regarding Claim 13, Jiang discloses wherein the sensing session request information is indicative of at least one set of sensing configuration parameters supported by the first network node, and wherein the sensing session information is indicative of at least one set of parameter values corresponding to the at least one set of sensing configuration parameters (See Par. [449]-[452] and Fig. 8 of Jiang for a reference to the target cell performs sensing parameter configuration and DL sensing based on the first request information, the first and the second parameter configuration information. The target cell accepts handover based on sensing measurements results).
Regarding Claim 14, Jiang discloses wherein the at least one set of sensing configuration parameters comprises a plurality of sets of sensing configuration parameters, wherein each set of the plurality of sets of sensing configuration parameters is associated with a respective transmission reception point (TRP) of the first network node (See Par. [373], [496] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the first and the second sensing parameter configuration information are associated with a base station or transmission and reception point (TRP)).
Regarding Claim 15, Jiang discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the third network node and in association with receiving the sensing session information, sensing configuration response information (See Par. [476]-[479] and Fig. 8 of Jiang for a reference to the target cell sends a switching success message to the serving cell after obtaining measurements/sensing results of at least one sensing event).
Regarding Claim 16, Jiang discloses wherein the sensing session information is indicative of a plurality of sensing sessions including the sensing session, and wherein the sensing configuration response information indicates at least one selected sensing session of the plurality of sensing sessions, the at least one selected sensing session comprising the sensing session (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event. Sensing event is selected based on measurement ID).
Regarding Claim 17, Jiang discloses wherein the third network node comprises a sensing service management function (See Par. [3], [70]-[71] of Jiang for a reference to the serving cell [Third Node] comprises mobility management function that tracks the movement [Mobility] of the UE).
Regarding Claim 18, Jiang discloses wherein the handover request is indicative of the sensing session request information (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event [Sensing Session ID alternative]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 20, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a mobility service node that tracks mobility information associated with the UE, and wherein the handover request includes the sensing session information (See Par. [88], [518]-[520] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the first device [Second Node] may be an access and mobility management function (AMF) and the target cell [First Node] receive sensing parameter configuration information).
Regarding Claim 21, Jiang discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network node to:
receive, from a network operator service management entity, an indication of a plurality of candidate sensing configurations (See Par. [487]-[497] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the target cell receives first and second measurements configuration information from the first device); and
transmit, to a third network node, a handover indication comprising sensing session request information associated with the sensing session, wherein the sensing session information indicates a selected sensing configuration, of the plurality of candidate sensing configurations (See Par. [514]-[517] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the target cell performs uplink sensing switching measurements and sends the measurements report to the first device [Second Node] and the serving cell [Third Node]).
Regarding Claim 22, Jiang discloses wherein the sensing session information comprises sensing configuration information associated with the target cell, wherein the sensing configuration information is indicative of a sensing configuration for continuing the sensing session in association with the target cell (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event [Sensing Session ID alternative]).
Regarding Claim 23, Jiang discloses a first network node for wireless communication (See Jiang; Fig. 9; Serving Cell), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Processor 1610) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Jiang; Fig. 16; Memory 1609), the processing system configured to cause the first network node to:
receive, from a second network node, a sensing configuration request associated with a sensing session, wherein the sensing session is associated with a user equipment (UE) (See Par. [486]-[497] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the serving cell receives, from the first device [Second Node], second configuration information, including sensing measurement parameters associated with the terminal [UE]); and
transmit, to the second network node in association with the sensing configuration request, a sensing configuration response indicative of sensing session information associated with the sensing session (See Par. [513]-[514] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the serving cell, after performing the UL sensing switching measurements, transmits a sensing measurements report to the first device [second node]).
Regarding Claim 24, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a radio access network (RAN) node that provides a target cell associated with a handover operation to hand the UE over from a source cell to the target cell (See Par. [88] of Jiang for a reference to the serving cell may be a Radio Access Network (RAN) device, controlling the handover of the UE).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 14.
Regarding Claim 28, Jiang discloses wherein the sensing session request information indicates at least one of a target cell identifier (ID) associated with the target cell, a sensing session ID associated with the sensing session, an additional sensing session ID associated with an additional sensing session, a UE ID associated with the UE, or an active service associated with the UE (See Par. [150]-[154] of Jiang for a reference to the first measurements configuration information includes a measurement ID, which is associated with a sensing event identifier. The second measurements configuration information includes measurement ID, which is associated with each sensing event [Sensing Session ID alternative]).
Regarding Claim 29, Jiang discloses wherein the second network node comprises a mobility service node that tracks mobility information associated with the UE, and wherein the sensing configuration request comprises a handover request includes sensing session request information (See Par. [88], [518]-[520] and Fig. 9 of Jiang for a reference to the first device [Second Node] may be an access and mobility management function (AMF) and the target cell [First Node] receive sensing parameter configuration information).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. in view of Da Silva et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0209425 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network node to: receive, from the second network node, a handover command associated with a handover operation to hand the UE over from the source cell to the target cell; and transmit the handover command to the UE.
However, Da silva discloses receive, from the second network node, a handover command associated with a handover operation to hand the UE over from the source cell to the target cell; and transmit the handover command to the UE (See Par. [85], [127] and Fig. 2 of Da Silva for a reference to the AMF receives a handover request to switch the UE from the source cell to the target cell. The handover request is transmitted to the UE too).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Da Silva to Jiang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by increasing the robustness of dual connectivity connection in case the source node fails before the UE connects to the target node. (Da Silva; Par. [93])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jiang and Da Silva, specifically Jiang wherein the handover command comprises second sensing configuration information associated with the target cell, wherein the second sensing configuration information is indicative of a second sensing configuration for continuing the sensing session in association with the target cell (See Par. [445]-[455] and Fig. 7; 12 & 13 of Jiang for a reference to the switching request received by the UE, comprises second parameter configuration information that includes sensing parameter configuration associated with the candidate target cell).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. (US 2025/0039847 Al) teaches methods and apparatuses for Downlink (DL) signaling reception.
Zhang (US 2024/0276315 A1) teaches a handover method, and a terminal and a network-side device.
Zhu et al. (U.S. 2023/0309144 Al) teaches systems and methods for performing integrated sensing and communication.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413