DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 7/7/2026.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11-18 & 21-25 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Claims 5-6 are additionally cancelled based on amendment filed on 7/7/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a foreign priority benefit of 371 of PCT/CN2022/087987 filed on 4/20/2022.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/8/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Arguments
Applicant arguments related to added limitations are not persuasive based on the following arguments.
Applicant:
Applicant argues that the channel switching between cells is not disclosed by provided arts.
Examiner:
Examiner cites that Zhang discloses wherein: in response to a SR PUCCH being triggered by the first logical channel ID, the UE performs PUCCH cell switching between the PCell and the SCell for determining a slot to transmit the SR PUCCH based on a PUCCH slot (Zhang: “FIG. 2, windows 200 and 220 show switching of active BWPs for first and second serving cells & , the UE 110 may encode the SR on a PUCCH in the BWP 206 for the first serving cell and in the BWP 222 for the second serving cell”). pattern by: in response to the first logical channel ID being associated with a SR configured in a next earliest PUCCH slot indicated by the PUCCH slot pattern, the next earliest PUCCH slot is selected to transmit the SR PUCCH (Zhang: “a service may include a logical channel (LCH) of the downlink 172 or the uplink 174 with an identification mapped to the configuration associated with the service & , the base station 140 may collect information regarding logical channels associated with the triggered SRs from the UE 110. & which is the physical resource in the downlink in each slot.”).
Wang in general discloses a UE in a mobile communication network to communicate with a base station, configured to decode the RRC message to obtain BWP configuration information and mapping information, identify one or more UL BWPs and one or more DL BWPs within a carrier bandwidth per Serving Cell based on the BWP configuration information, identify one or more SR configurations which a LCH is mapped to for the UL BWPs based on the mapping information, the LCH being mapped to none or one SR configuration for each of the UL BWPs, identify activation of a UL BWP of the UL BWPs, and encode an SR on a PUCCH based on a SR configuration for the UL BWP.
In the citation provided above for Fig 2 it discloses that FIG. 2, windows 200 and 220 show switching of active BWPs for first and second serving cells & , the UE 110 may encode the SR on a PUCCH in the BWP 206 for the first serving cell and in the BWP 222 for the second serving cell.
So based on above explanation the switching BWPs for first and second cells is disclosed and makes the argument non persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 11-12 & 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2019066587 A1) in view of Agiwal et al (US 11711132 B2).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for wireless communication (Zhang: “Wireless networks may provide wireless communication to various user equipments (UEs)”), comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE) configured (Zhang: The UE 110 may monitor transmission indication on the BWP 204 and/or transmit data on the BWP 204 from T2 to T4 for the first serving cell..”), with a primary cell (PCell) and a secondary cell (SCell) (Zhang: “As can be seen in FIG. 2, windows 200 and 220 show switching of active BWPs for first and second serving cells, respectively. The first serving cell may be a primary cell while the second serving cell may be a secondary cell.”),
determining, by the UE, a second SR in the SCell (Zhang: “the UE 110 may monitor a PDCCH in multiple serving cells, e.g., a primary cell and a secondary cell, simultaneously)”),
wherein: in response to a SR PUCCH being triggered by the first logical channel ID, the UE performs PUCCH cell switching between the PCell and the SCell for determining a slot to transmit the SR PUCCH based on a PUCCH slot (Zhang: “FIG. 2, windows 200 and 220 show switching of active BWPs for first and second serving cells, & , the UE 110 may encode the SR on a PUCCH in the BWP 206 for the first serving cell and in the BWP 222 for the second serving cell”). pattern by: in response to the first logical channel ID being associated with a SR configured in a next earliest PUCCH slot indicated by the PUCCH slot pattern, the next earliest PUCCH slot is selected to transmit the SR PUCCH (Zhang: “a service may include a logical channel (LCH) of the downlink 172 or the uplink 174 with an identification mapped to the configuration associated with the service & , the base station 140 may collect information regarding logical channels associated with the triggered SRs from the UE 110. & which is the physical resource in the downlink in each slot.”).
Zhang does not explicitly teaches the identification of SR on multiple cells.
Agiwal however discloses a a first scheduling request (SR) in the PCell, a first logical channel identifier (ID) being associated with the first SR configured in the PCell (Agiwal: “ identifying that at least one first SR is triggered, identifying whether each of the at least one first SR is triggered for beam failure recovery (BFR) of a secondary cell (SCell), & handling scheduling request (SR) cancellation, random access (RA) prioritization and concurrent occurrence of beam failure recovery (BFR) on primary cell (PCell) and secondary cell (SCell)..”), and
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang in view of Agiwal to figure out the scheduling request in multiple cells. One would be motivated to do so because this technology aid in for supporting higher data rates beyond a 4.sup.th generation (4G) system with a technology for Internet of things (IoT) . (Agiwal).
Claim 21 and 24 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 3, Zhang in view of Agiwal discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the UE, a second logical channel ID associated with the second SR configured in the SCell to be same as the first logical channel ID associated with the first SR configured in the PCell (Zhang: “a service may include a logical channel (LCH) of the downlink 172 or the uplink 174 with an identification mapped to the configuration associated with the service & , the base station 140 may collect information regarding logical channels associated with the triggered SRs from the UE 110.)”).
As per claim 4, Zhang in view of Agiwal discloses the method according to any of claim 1, wherein: a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for transmitting a SR (SR PUCCH) (Zhang: “. The UE 110 may use any PUCCH resource either in a primary cell or a secondary cell to transmit a SR. A secondary cell may also have PUCCH resource used for transmitting a SR..)”) is configured with a repetition factor N, N being a positive integer (Zhang: “Tabel 01 and Tabel 02 discloses integers associated with mapping index of SR in multiple cells)”); and
in response to the repetition factor N being larger than one, the UE performs PUCCH cell switching between the PCell and the SCell for determining a slot to transmit a next SR PUCCH repetition based on a PUCCH slot pattern by (Zhang: “FIG. 4 illustrates a flow chart 400 of a BWP switching procedure according to one embodiment of the present disclosure.The base station 140 may switch an active UL BWP, at 410. The base station 140 may deactivate the previously activated UL BWP and activate another UL BWP of configured UL BWPs. ”); in response to the first logical channel ID being associated with a SR configured in a next earliest PUCCH slot indicated by the PUCCH slot pattern, the next earliest PUCCH slot is selected to transmit the next SR PUCCH repetition (Zhang: “a service may include a logical channel (LCH) of the downlink 172 or the uplink 174 with an identification mapped to the configuration associated with the service & , the base station 140 may collect information regarding logical channels associated with the triggered SRs from the UE 110. & which is the physical resource in the downlink in each slot.”).
As per claim 11, Zhang in view of Agiwal discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: a first periodic position of the first SR is configured in a PCell slot a second periodic position of the second SR is configured in a SCell slot and the PCell slot and the SCell slot do not overlap in a time domain (Zhang: “a default SR may be configured either in SpCell or in one of the PUCCH SCells by dedicated RRC signaling. The sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndex may be associated with the UL BWP & a LCH may be mapped to multiple SR configurations each belonging to different BWPs and each having different SR periodicity.”).
As per claim 12, Zhang in view of Agiwal discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein: a first period of the first SR is same as a second period of the second SR and a first offset of the first SR is different as a second offset of the second SR (Zhang: “a default SR may be configured either in SpCell or in one of the PUCCH SCells by dedicated RRC signaling. The sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndex may be associated with the UL BWP & a LCH may be mapped to multiple SR configurations each belonging to different BWPs and each having different SR periodicity.”).
Claim 22-23 & 25 are rejected based on rationale provided for claims 3 and 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 or 13-14 or 15-16 or 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in all independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Both claims must be selected for allowance.
Conclusion
This actions is FINAL. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449