DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 6-17 remain withdrawn. Claims 18-19 are new.
In view of the amendment, filed 05/18/2026, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 02/23/2026:
Drawings, specification, and claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: amended claim 1, in lines 5 and 8, as well as amended claim 5, and new claim 18, should read “plurality of lenses”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vorontsov, US 20190009369 A1, in view of Drain et al., US 4492467 A, and Goodwin et al., US 20220252392 A1. Evidentiary support is provided by RP Photonics Encyclopedia.
Regarding claim 1, Vorontsov discloses a print engine of an additive manufacturing system (Fig. 3) that supports powder measurement systems (includes powder bed sensing modules 500, Fig. 3, [0053]), comprising:
A print bed (powder bed having surface 100.8, Fig. 3) configured to hold powder of varying sizes (holding powder and thus capable of holding powder of varying sizes);
A laser energy patterning system (laser head 400 with beam forming optics 100.5, Fig. 3, [0053]) directable against the print bed (Fig. 3);
A lens receiving scattered light from the powder on the print bed (receiver optics 523.1, e.g., a lens, receiving backscattered light 500.12, Fig. 14, [0094]); and
A backscatter detection system configured to evaluate scattered light distribution from the powder on the print bed (powder sensing module(s) 500 which may detect backscattered probe beam light 300.2, Fig. 3, [0053]; further detailed in Fig. 14, [0090]-[0095]) at a detection plane (at detector 523.7, Fig. 14, [0094]) and determine powder size (used for characterization of powder particles prior to LAM processing, [0059], [0084], providing in situ information about stock material properties such as powder particle size distribution, [0098]).
Vorontsov discloses the material sensing module includes an optical receiver comprising optics such as a lens receiving the scattered light and the detector (Fig. 14, [0094]). Vorontsov does not specifically disclose a plurality of lens[es], wherein each of the plurality of lens[es] is placed one focal length away from the detection plane to generate an optical Fourier transform of the scattered light at the detection plane.
In the analogous art, Drain discloses a system for backscatter detection for particle size determination (Abstract). Drain discloses a system including a lens for receiving the scattered light (lens 11, Fig. 3) wherein the lens is placed one focal length away from a detection plane 12 to generate an optical Fourier transform of the scattered light at the detection plane (the detection system 12 is in the Fourier transform plane of the lens 11, col. 2, lines 51-60, Fig. 3; the Fourier plane being the plane at a distance of one focal length from the lens, as evidenced by RP Photonics Encyclopedia, p. 5, “Fourier Planes”). Drain discloses the configuration enables measurement of the angular distribution of backscattered light for the determination of particle sizes (col. 1, lines 29-35, col. 2, lines 51-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the lens receiving the scattered light was placed one focal length away from the detection plane to generate an optical Fourier transform of the scattered light at the detection plane as a known arrangement sensitive to angular deviation of scattered light for determining particle size in a backscatter detection system, as taught by Drain. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The combination discloses a lens placed as claimed but does not disclose the plurality of lenses.
In the analogous art, Goodwin discloses an optical metrology system for making measurements of a powder bed in a 3D printing system ([0314]). Goodwin discloses an observation system 1415 for detecting scattered light from the substrate (Fig. 14A, [0315], [0319]) and including a lens system 1460 comprising two lenses receiving the scattered light ([0315], Fig. 14A), wherein the lens system 1460 performs a Fourier transform operation in imaging light onto a detector array ([0319], [0331], Fig. 14A). Goodwin teaches the two lenses can process light entering at different angles ([0319], Fig. 14A) and the configuration allows for real-time 3D metrology for in-situ measurement capability of the powder bed ([0323], [0325]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lens configuration to include a plurality of lenses placed as claimed to perform the imaging of the scattered light at the detection plane as a known configuration for converging backscattered light onto a detector and in order to enable the system to process light received from different angles as taught by Goodwin. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, the duplication of existing parts performing the same function is generally not of patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). In this case, additional lenses configured in the same manner as the first lens would have been expected to provide the result of additional light beam processing capability.
Regarding claim 2, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1, and Vorontsov discloses the laser energy patterning system is configured to direct a two dimensional laser image against the print bed (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1, and Vorontsov discloses the laser energy patterning system comprises a high fluence laser (laser capable of effecting melting for performing additive manufacturing, [0053], and thus is considered to meet high fluence).
Regarding claim 5, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1, and the combination discloses the backscatter detection system evaluates the scattered light distribution (Vorontsov: the sensing modules evaluate scattered light for powder particle characterization, [0053], [0059]) based on the optical Fourier transform of the plurality of lens[es] at the detection plane (Drain: measuring angular intensity distribution of the backscattered light via Fourier transform of lens, col. 1, lines 29-35; col. 2, lines 51-60; Goodwin: two lenses, [0315]).
Regarding new claim 18, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose the plurality of lens[es] receives the scattered light via one or more reflectors.
Drain further discloses directing scattered light 8’ to the lens 11 and detector 12 via one or more reflectors 3 (beam splitter 3, Fig. 3). The reflector enables light emanating from the particles to be redirected to the location of the lens and detector (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the combination such that the plurality of lens[es] receives the scattered light via one or more reflectors in order to provide the capability of positioning the optics and detectors at various locations in the system and directing the scattered light accordingly for detection.
Regarding new claim 19, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1, and Vorontsov discloses the scattered light is a response to a probe beam striking the powder on the print bed (probe laser beam 300.1, Figs. 3 and 14, [0090]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vorontsov, US 20190009369 A1, in view of Drain et al., US 4492467 A, and Goodwin et al., US 20220252392 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bayramian et al., US 20210370402 A1.
Regarding claim 4, modified Vorontsov discloses the print engine of claim 1. Vorontsov discloses the additive manufacturing system uses a fiber array laser head ([0053]). Vorontsov does not disclose the laser energy patterning system comprises a diode laser.
In the analogous art, Bayramian discloses a print engine and additive manufacturing system (Abstract, Fig. 3) for powder bed fusion additive manufacturing ([0138], Figs. 2-3). Bayramian discloses a laser source used for fusing, sintering, or melting of the powder ([0131]) can be a diode laser or a solid state, e.g., fiber, laser ([0132]-[0133]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a diode laser for a fiber laser as a substitution of one known laser type for another yielding predictable results of providing a laser source suitable for powder bed fusion additive manufacturing as shown by Bayramian. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). In this case, each laser type was known for performing equivalent functions of heating and melting powder for layer modification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 9, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to claim amendments and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Drain and Goodwin to address a plurality of lenses placed to generate an optical Fourier transform of the scattered light.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5610712 A, Schmitz describes passing diffracted light through a Fourier lens for focusing on a detection plane displaced by a distance equal to the focal length of the lens for particle size measurement (Fig. 3, col. 7 second paragraph).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754