DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19, 21, 23, 26, 29-30, 32, 34 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 2016/0245558).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a system, comprising:
a housing (housing of receiver 232);
a thermal mass unit (receiver 232) disposed in the housing and configured to thermally couple (by means of conduit lines 205, 235 and heat exchanger 140) to a room side of a vapor/compression circulation loop (100) that is disposed outside of the housing (refer to par. 13, wherein receiver 232 is thermally coupled to loop 100 by means of heat exchanger 140 which is located indoors); and
a thermal coupling device (heat exchanger 140) at least partially disposed outside of the housing (outside of receiver 232 as in fig. 1) that is coupled to the thermal mass unit (by means of conduit lines 205, 215 and 235) and configured to transfer heat between the thermal mass unit (232) and the room side of the vapor/compression circulation loop (refer to fig. 1, wherein thermal mass unit 232 is positioned within a closed loop composed of conduit lines 205, 215 and 235 thermally connecting said thermal mass unit 232 and thermal coupling device 140; according to par. 10, thermal mass unit 232 condenses the fluid flowing from the thermal coupling device 140, to be delivered to liquid pump 210, and flowing through conduit line 235 to provide heat exchange with thermal coupling device 140 within the vapor/compression circulation loop, therefore, the thermal coupling device 140 transferring heat between fluid from the receiver 232 and loop 100).
While Feng discloses the vapor/compression circulation loop, Feng fails to explicitly disclose wherein said loop is a heat pump.
However, Feng teaches in the background of the invention, wherein one common
example of refrigerant systems is an air conditioning system, which operates to condition (cool and often dehumidify) air to be delivered into a climate-controlled zone or space, however, other examples may include heat pumps for various applications
requiring refrigerated environments (refer to the end of par. 3).
One having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that heat pumps not only transfer thermal energy, but allows to provide both heating and cooling functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Feng such that the loop is a heat pump, in order to provide both heating and cooling functions in view of the teachings by Feng along with the knowledge generally available to one having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration.
Regarding claim 2, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses a heat exchanger (220) thermally coupled to and configured to transfer heat between the thermal mass unit (232) and the thermal coupling device (140).
Regarding claim 3, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses a heat exchanger (120) configured to transfer heat between the thermal coupling device (140) and the room side of the heat pump.
Regarding claim 8, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses wherein the housing (housing of receiver 232) is configured to be retrofitted (and capable of being retrofitted) to a space heating radiator. Note: the recitation “to be retrofitted to a space heating radiator” has been considered a recitation of intended use.
Regarding claim 9, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses a fan (225) configured to induce forced convective heat transfer between the thermal mass unit (232) and an indoor environment.
Regarding claim 11, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses the thermal coupling device coupled to the room side of the heat pump, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the thermal coupling device is removably coupled to the room side of the heat pump.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that
it would be obvious to make the thermal coupling device separable if it were considered
desirable for any reason to obtain easy access to the thermal coupling device coupled
to the room side of the heat pump. See MPEP 2144.04 V C
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the thermal coupling device being
removably coupled to the room side of the heat pump, since it would be a matter of
choice of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses wherein the heat
pump further includes an exterior side (120) exposed to an outdoor environment (refer to par. 13, wherein in an exemplary embodiment portion of conduits 105 and/or 135 of the first substantially outdoor loop will extend through an exterior building wall).
Regarding claim 15, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses wherein the housing is configured to be retrofitted (and capable of being retrofitted) to a space heating radiator. Note: the recitation “to be retrofitted to a space heating radiator” has been considered a recitation of intended use.
Regarding claim 18, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses a pump (210)
configured to move fluid through the thermal coupling device (140) to carry heat
between the room side of the heat pump and the thermal mass unit (232).
Regarding claim 19, Feng discloses a system (refer to fig. 1), comprising:
a vapor/compression circulation loop (100) having an internal side exposed to an indoor environment (refer to par. 13); and
a thermal coupling device (140) coupled to the loop (100) and configured to transfer heat between the internal side of the heat pump and a thermal mass unit (232) spaced apart from the heat pump.
While Feng discloses the vapor/compression circulation loop, Feng fails to explicitly disclose wherein said loop is a heat pump.
However, Feng teaches in the background of the invention, wherein one common
example of refrigerant systems is an air conditioning system, which operates to
condition (cool and often dehumidify) air to be delivered into a climate-controlled zone
or space, however, other examples may include heat pumps for various applications
requiring refrigerated environments (refer to the end of par. 3).
One having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that heat
pumps not only transfer thermal energy, but allows to provide both heating and cooling
functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Feng such that the loop is a heat
pump, in order to provide both heating and cooling functions in view of the teachings by
Feng along with the knowledge generally available to one having ordinary skill in the art
of refrigeration.
Regarding claims 21 and 26, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as
disclosed above in the rejection of claim 19. Further, Feng as modified discloses a heat
exchanger (220) configured to be thermally coupled to the room side of the heat pump
and configured to transfer heat between the room side of the heat pump and the
thermal coupling device (140).
Regarding claim 23, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 19. Further, Feng as modified discloses a housing
(housing of receiver 232) spaced apart from the heat pump; and the thermal mass unit
(232) disposed within the housing.
Regarding claim 29, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 19. Further, Feng as modified discloses a pump (210)
configured to move fluid through the thermal coupling device (140) to carry heat
between the room side of the heat pump and the thermal mass unit (232).
Regarding claim 30, Feng discloses a system (refer to fig. 1), comprising:
a vapor/compression circulation loop (100) having an internal side exposed to an indoor environment (refer to par. 13);
a housing (housing of receiver 232) disposed apart from the loop (100);
a thermal mass unit (within receiver 232) disposed in the housing; and
a thermal coupling device (140) coupled to the thermal mass unit (232) and the
internal side of the loop, the thermal coupling device configured to transfer heat
between the thermal mass unit and the internal side of the loop.
While Feng discloses the vapor/compression circulation loop, Feng fails to explicitly disclose wherein said loop is a heat pump.
However, Feng teaches in the background of the invention, wherein one common
example of refrigerant systems is an air conditioning system, which operates to
condition (cool and often dehumidify) air to be delivered into a climate-controlled zone
or space, however, other examples may include heat pumps for various applications
requiring refrigerated environments (refer to the end of par. 3).
One having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that heat
pumps not only transfer thermal energy, but allows to provide both heating and cooling
functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Feng such that the loop is a heat
pump, in order to provide both heating and cooling functions in view of the teachings by
Feng along with the knowledge generally available to one having ordinary skill in the art
of refrigeration.
Regarding claim 32, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 30. Further, Feng as modified discloses a heat
exchanger (220) thermally coupled to the thermal coupling device (140) and the thermal
mass unit (232), the heat exchanger configured to transfer heat between the thermal
coupling device and the thermal mass unit.
Regarding claim 34, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 30. Further, Feng as modified discloses a pump (210)
configured to move fluid through the thermal coupling device (140) to carry heat
between the internal side of the heat pump and the thermal mass unit (232).
Regarding claim 36, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 30. Further, Feng as modified discloses a heat
exchanger (220) thermally coupled to the thermal coupling device (140) and the thermal
mass unit (232), the heat exchanger configured to transfer heat between the thermal
coupling device and the thermal mass unit.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US 2016/0245558) in view of Etherington (US 2,841,965).
Regarding claim 6, Feng as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Feng as modified discloses the thermal mass and the housing, but fails to explicitly disclose thermal insulation disposed between the thermal mass and the housing.
However, Etherington further teaches that it is known in the art of refrigeration
(refer to fig. 2), to provide thermal insulation between a thermal mass and a housing
(refer to fig. 2, and col. 1, line 59), in order to maintain the refrigerant at a certain
temperature (refer to col. 2, lines 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Feng such that thermal
insulation is disposed between the thermal mass and the housing in view of the
teachings by Etherington, in order to maintain the refrigerant at a certain temperature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 11-12 of the remarks that unlike claim 1, which recites “a thermal coupling device ... configured to transfer heat between the thermal mass unit and the room side of the heat pump,” the heat exchanger evaporator/condenser 140 of Feng is not configured to transfer heat between the receiver 232 of Feng and the room side of the vapor/compression circulation loop of Feng; Feng makes no mention whatsoever of heat transfer between the receiver 232 and the room side of the vapor/compression circulation loop. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
According to Feng, refer to fig. 1, and more specifically par. 13, lines 18-23, the thermal coupling device (evaporator/condenser 140) is located indoors, and the thermal mass unit 232 is positioned within a closed loop composed of conduit lines 205, 215 and 235 which fluidly/thermally connect said thermal mass unit 232 and thermal coupling device 140. According to par. 10, the thermal mass unit 232 condenses the fluid that flows from the thermal coupling device 140 (which is located indoors), to be delivered to liquid pump 210 through conduit 210, and further flowing to the thermal coupling device 140 by means of conduit 235, where the fluid goes through heat exchange. Therefore, Feng meeting the limitation of the thermal coupling device transferring heat between the thermal mass unit (located downstream of the thermal coupling device 140 as can be seen from fig. 1) and the room side of the heat pump where the thermal coupling device is located in thermal contact with lines 135 and 105.
For at least the reasons disclosed above, claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19, 21, 23, 26, 29-30, 32, 34 and 36 remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3763