Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230031367 A1, hereinafter “Li”) in view of Sadwick (US 2019/0320515 A1, hereinafter “Sadwick”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a device for control of a lighting device to permit a user to adjust features of the lighting device, comprising a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal and a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit and send lighting control signals to the lighting device to control operation of the lighting device based upon the received input control signals (e.g., NFC module 50, mobile computing device 200, Figs. 1, 2, 6, 13, and 14; ¶¶ [0068]-[0075], [0091]-[0099]).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch.
Sadwick discloses a dimmable lighting system including dimmer control for controlling lighting devices. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to control one or more dimmable light sources (604), thereby receiving dimming inputs from an external dimmer and controlling operation of the lighting devices based on such dimming inputs (Fig. 27; ¶ [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the collective dimmer control functionality of Sadwick into the NFC-controlled lighting system of Liu et al. since it is desirable (it would be beneficial) to permit individual adjustment of lighting devices through NFC-based control while also permitting collective adjustment of multiple lighting devices through a dimmer control interface, thereby increasing operational flexibility and providing both individual and group lighting control (Sadwick, Fig. 27; Figs. 35-40).
The combination of Liu and Sadwick therefore teaches or suggests:
a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch;
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal;
a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit and the dimming signals from the dimmer switch interface; and
sending lighting control signals to the lighting device to control operation of the lighting device based on, at least in part, the input control signals and the dimming signals.
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 2, Liu and Sadwick disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Further, Sadwick discloses a dimming circuit configured to provide dimming control signals for controlling operation of one or more lighting devices. For example, Sadwick discloses dimmer control circuitry and dimmable lighting systems in which dimming control inputs are provided to control operation of lighting devices (e.g., Fig. 27; Fig. 37A, element 976 labeled "Dimming Control"; Fig. 37B, element 976 labeled "Dimming Control").
Therefore, the device of claim 1, further comprising a dimming circuit, wherein the controller is further configured to receive dimming signals from the dimming circuit and send lighting control signals to the lighting device further based on the dimming signals, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu and Sadwick.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the dimming circuit of Sadwick into the device of Liu et al. in order to permit the controller to receive dimming signals and control operation of the lighting device based upon such dimming signals in addition to NFC-based control signals.
Therefore, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the NFC circuit further comprises:
an NFC tag interface ([0094]: the NFC module includes 256 bytes (64 blocks) of memory for User data. The memory is accessible through the RF interface, following ISO/IEC 15693 or NFC Forum Type 5 Tag. The PWM outputs can be configured at boot time, and can be updated live through RF link); and
an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag interface ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 5, Liu and Sadwick disclose the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Further, Sadwick discloses an external dimmer switch communicatively coupled to dimmer control circuitry. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to control one or more dimmable light sources (604), wherein the dimmer control receives dimming inputs from an external dimmer and generates dimming control signals for controlling operation of the lighting devices (Fig. 27). Further, Sadwick discloses dimming control circuitry including a dimming control input (976) configured to provide dimming signals for use by a controller (Figs. 37A and 37B).
Therefore, the device of claim 2, further comprising the external dimming switch, wherein the external dimming switch is communicatively coupled to the dimmer switch interface and wherein the dimming circuit further comprises a dimmer switch input, wherein the dimmer switch input is coupled to an external dimmer switch, and wherein the dimmer switch is configured to generate the dimming signals, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu and Sadwick.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, t utilize the external dimmer switch and associated dimming input circuitry taught by Sadwick within the lighting control device of Liu in order to provide dimmer-generated dimming signoals for controlling operation of the lighting device in conjunction with NFC-based control signals.
Therefore, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the dimming circuit further comprises:
a dimmer switch input ([0027]: is to employ a dimmer or switch to adjust flux output and change the color correlated temperature), wherein the dimmer switch input is coupled to an external dimmer switch, and wherein the dimmer switch is configured to generate the dimming signals ([0082]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b), and a third field 48c of a color temperature scale (color temperature scale 48c). In other embodiments, at least one of the color wheel 48a, the dimming scale 48b and the color temperature scale 48c may be omitted. In one embodiment, the dimming scale 48b includes icons illustrating a degree of dimming, i.e., a degree by which the light being projected by the luminaires; note: the scale is a switch of shifting degree of intensity for generating the dimming signals).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, beam, intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device is retroactively installed in the lighting device ([0101]).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the lighting device comprises an LED driver circuit ([0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a lighting control system including a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal and a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit and control operation of a lighting device based upon the received input control signals (e.g., NFC module 50, mobile computing device 200, Figs. 1, 2, 6, 13, and 14; ¶¶ [0068]-[0075], [0091]-[0099]).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch, nor a dimming output circuit through which lighting control signals are provided to the lighting device.
Sadwick discloses a dimmable lighting system including dimmer control circuitry configured to receive dimming inputs from an external dimmer and provide dimming control signals to lighting devices. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to control dimmable light sources (604) (Fig. 27), as well as dimming control circuitry (976) and controller circuitry configured to provide lighting control signals to lighting devices (Figs. 37A and 37B).
Therefore, the combination of Liu and Sadwick teaches or suggests:
a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch;
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal;
a dimming output circuit; and
a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit, receive dimming signals from the dimmer switch interface, and send lighting control signals to the lighting device via the dimming output circuit to control operation of the lighting device based on the input control signals and the dimming signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the lighting control system of Liu to incorporate the dimmer interface, dimming circuitry, and lighting output control functionality taught by Sadwick in order to provide both NFC-based user control and dimmer-based lighting control within a common lighting control system, thereby increasing operational flexibility and compatibility with conventional dimming systems.
Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the NFC circuit further comprises:
an NFC tag interface ([0094]: the NFC module includes 256 bytes (64 blocks) of memory for User data. The memory is accessible through the RF interface, following ISO/IEC 15693 or NFC Forum Type 5 Tag. The PWM outputs can be configured at boot time, and can be updated live through RF link); and
an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag interface ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, beam intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the NFC- circuit is retroactively installed in the lighting ([0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses a method of controlling a lighting device using near field communication (NFC), including receiving input control signals from a user via an NFC circuit and controlling operation of the lighting device based upon the received input control signals (e.g., NFC module 50, mobile computing device 200, Figs. 1, 2, 6, 13, and 14; ¶¶ [0068]-[0075], [0091]-[0099]).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose receiving dimming signals from a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch.
Sadwick discloses a dimmable lighting system including an external dimmer and dimmer control circuitry configured to receive dimming signals and control operation of one or more lighting devices based upon the dimming signals. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to control dimmable light sources (604), as well as dimming control circuitry configured to provide dimming signals for controlling lighting devices (Fig. 27; Figs. 37A-37B).
Therefore, the method of claim 16, comprising receiving input control signals from a user via an NFC circuit, receiving dimming signals from a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch, and sending lighting control signals to the lighting device based on the input control signals and the dimming signals, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu et al. and Sadwick.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the dimmer-based control functionality taught by Sadwick into the NFC-based lighting control method of Liu et al. in order to permit lighting control based upon both NFC user inputs and dimmer-generated dimming signals, thereby increasing user control flexibility and compatibility with conventional lighting systems.
Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the NFC circuit comprises: an NFC tag; an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag interface is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 19, Liu and Sadwick disclose the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Further, Sadwick discloses that the dimming circuit comprises a dimmer switch input coupled to an external dimmer switch. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to receive dimming inputs from an external dimmer and provide dimming control signals for controlling one or more lighting devices (604) (Fig. 27). Additionally, Sadwick discloses dimming control circuitry including dimming control input circuitry (976) configured to receive dimming control inputs (Figs. 37A and 37B).
Therefore, the method of claim 16, wherein the dimming circuit comprises a dimmer switch input, wherein the dimmer switch input is coupled to an external dimmer switch, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu and Sadwick.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the dimmer switch input circuitry taught by Sadwick within the lighting control method of Liu in order to receive dimming signals from an external dimmer switch and control operation of the lighting device based upon such dimming signals in combination with NFC-based user inputs.
Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising a controller and one or more program instructions, wherein the one or more program instructions are stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage media ([0070]: the mobile computing device 200 may include at least one form of memory that provides for storing a set of instructions to be executed by a hardware processor within the mobile computing device 200 to provide a user interface 49 through which a user can select lighting characteristics to be emitted by the light engine of the lighting device).
Regarding claim 23, discloses a device including an NFC circuit configured to communicate with a mobile computing device and receive user-selected lighting characteristics for controlling operation of a lighting device (e.g., NFC module 50; mobile computing device 200; user selection of lighting characteristics transmitted through NFC to driver electronics; Figs. 1, 2, 6, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0005], [0014], [0068]-[0075], [0091]-[0099]).
However, does not explicitly disclose that the NFC circuit is configured to individually adjust each lighting device in a series of lighting devices, nor that a dimmer switch interface is configured to collectively adjust each lighting device in the series of lighting devices.
discloses a lighting system including a dimmer control configured to control a plurality of lighting devices collectively. In particular, Fig. 27 illustrates an AC socket dimmer/powerline and/or wireless control (602) controlling multiple dimmable light sources (604), thereby collectively adjusting a plurality of lighting devices. Further, Sadwick discloses multi-channel lighting architectures, multiple lighting elements, and control of plural lighting devices within a lighting system (e.g., Figs. 27, 35-40; ¶¶ [0029], [0034]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the NFC-controlled lighting system of to incorporate the collective dimming control of multiple lighting devices taught by in order to provide both individual lighting-device adjustment through NFC-based user control and group-level adjustment through a conventional dimmer interface, thereby improving user flexibility and allowing individualized configuration while maintaining coordinated control of multiple lighting devices.
Regarding claim 24, Sadwick discloses that the series of lighting devices comprises a plurality of lighting devices, for example, multiple dimmable light sources (604) controlled by dimmer control (602), as shown in Fig. 27, and multiple lighting channels and lighting devices as shown in Figs. 35-40.
Therefore, claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 25, Liu et al. and Sadwick disclose the limitations of claim 23 as discussed above. Therefore, the system of claim 10, wherein the NFC circuit is configured to individually adjust each lighting device in a series of lighting devices and the dimmer switch interface is configured to collectively adjust each lighting device in the series of lighting devices, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu et al. and Sadwick for the reasons set forth with respect to claim 23.
Therefore, claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Regarding claim 26, Liu et al. and Sadwick disclose the limitations of claim 23 as discussed above. Therefore, the method of claim 16, wherein the NFC circuit is configured to individually adjust each lighting device in a series of lighting devices and the dimmer switch interface is configured to collectively adjust each lighting device in the series of lighting devices, is taught or suggested by the combination of Liu et al. and Sadwick for the reasons set forth with respect to claim 23.
Therefore, claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The new grounds of rejections are provided in the above rejection section.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a device for control of a lighting device to permit a user to adjust features of the lighting device, comprising a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal and a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit and send lighting control signals to the lighting device to control operation of the lighting device based upon the received input control signals (e.g., NFC module 50, mobile computing device 200, Figs. 1, 2, 6, 13, and 14; ¶¶ [0068]-[0075], [0091]-[0099]).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch.
Sadwick discloses a dimmable lighting system including dimmer control for controlling lighting devices. In particular, Sadwick discloses an AC socket dimmer and powerline and/or wireless control (602) configured to control one or more dimmable light sources (604), thereby receiving dimming inputs from an external dimmer and controlling operation of the lighting devices based on such dimming inputs (Fig. 27; ¶ [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the collective dimmer control functionality of Sadwick into the NFC-controlled lighting system of Liu et al. since it is desirable (it would be beneficial) to permit individual adjustment of lighting devices through NFC-based control while also permitting collective adjustment of multiple lighting devices through a dimmer control interface, thereby increasing operational flexibility and providing both individual and group lighting control (Sadwick, Fig. 27; Figs. 35-40).
The combination of Liu and Sadwick therefore teaches or suggests:
a dimmer switch interface communicatively coupled to an external dimmer switch and configured to receive dimming signals from the external dimmer switch;
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate with an NFC-capable device via a radio frequency (RF) control signal;
a controller configured to receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit and the dimming signals from the dimmer switch interface; and
sending lighting control signals to the lighting device to control operation of the lighting device based on, at least in part, the input control signals and the dimming signals.
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sadwick.
At least for the forgoing reasons all claims remain rejected and newly amended claims as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA C KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844
5/30/2026