Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20230031367 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a device for control of a lighting device to permit a user to adjust features of the lighting device, comprising:
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate via a radio frequency (RF) control signal ([0066]: NFC circuit based on RF ID); and
a controller, the controller configured to: receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit ([0005]: NFC receiver and memory for storing instructions for sending signals from the NFC circuit to the mixing integrated circuit. The NFC receiver receives an external command signal that the instructions stored in the memory of the NFC circuit employ to provide for an NFC control signal to the mixing integrated circuit (IC) to adjust lighting characteristics of the light engine.); and
send lighting control signals to the lighting device to control the operation of the lighting device based on, at least in part, the input control signals ([0006]: running a control application on a mobile computing device including a near field communication (NFC) transmitter, in which the control application is for selecting light settings to be emitted by the light engine of the lighting device; [0092]: The instructions may include how the current received by the mixing integrated circuit 35 from the power supply circuit 30 is distributed to the different lighting arrangements, e.g., different strings of light emitting diodes (LEDs), for light mixing in setting the light characteristics for the collective light being emitted by the light engine 22).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising a dimming circuit ([0098]), the controller further configured to receive dimming signals from the dimming circuit and send lighting control signals to the lighting device further based on the dimming signals ([0080]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b), and a third field 48c of a color temperature scale (color temperature scale 48c). the dimming scale 48b includes icons illustrating a degree of dimming, i.e., a degree by which the light being projected by the luminaires. In some examples, dimming or light intensity may be measured using lux. In some embodiments, the dimming or light intensity scale 48b can provide for adjusting lighting between 100 lux to 1000 lux.).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the NFC circuit further comprises:
an NFC tag interface ([0094]: the NFC module includes 256 bytes (64 blocks) of memory for User data. The memory is accessible through the RF interface, following ISO/IEC 15693 or NFC Forum Type 5 Tag. The PWM outputs can be configured at boot time, and can be updated live through RF link); and
an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag interface ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the dimming circuit further comprises:
a dimmer switch input ([0027]: is to employ a dimmer or switch to adjust flux output and change the color correlated temperature), wherein the dimmer switch input is coupled to an external dimmer switch, and wherein the dimmer switch is configured to generate the dimming signals ([0082]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b), and a third field 48c of a color temperature scale (color temperature scale 48c). In other embodiments, at least one of the color wheel 48a, the dimming scale 48b and the color temperature scale 48c may be omitted. In one embodiment, the dimming scale 48b includes icons illustrating a degree of dimming, i.e., a degree by which the light being projected by the luminaires; note: the scale is a switch of shifting degree of intensity for generating the dimming signals).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, beam, intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device is retroactively installed in the lighting device ([0101]).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the lighting device comprises an LED driver circuit ([0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses a device for control of a lighting device to permit a user to adjust features of the lighting device, comprising:
a near field communication (NFC) circuit configured to communicate via a radio frequency (RF) control signal ([0066]: NFC circuit based on RF ID);
a dimming circuit ([0080]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b); and
a controller, the controller configured to: receive input control signals from a user via the NFC circuit ([0005]: NFC receiver and memory for storing instructions for sending signals from the NFC circuit to the mixing integrated circuit. The NFC receiver receives an external command signal that the instructions stored in the memory of the NFC circuit employ to provide for an NFC control signal to the mixing integrated circuit (IC) to adjust lighting characteristics of the light engine.);
receive dimming signals from the dimming circuit ([0080]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b), and a third field 48c of a color temperature scale (color temperature scale 48c). the dimming scale 48b includes icons illustrating a degree of dimming, i.e., a degree by which the light being projected by the luminaires. In some examples, dimming or light intensity may be measured using lux. In some embodiments, the dimming or light intensity scale 48b can provide for adjusting lighting between 100 lux to 1000 lux.); and
send lighting control signals to the lighting device to control the operation of the lighting device based on the input control signals and the dimming signals ([0006]: running a control application on a mobile computing device including a near field communication (NFC) transmitter, in which the control application is for selecting light settings to be emitted by the light engine of the lighting device; [0092]: The instructions may include how the current received by the mixing integrated circuit 35 from the power supply circuit 30 is distributed to the different lighting arrangements, e.g., different strings of light emitting diodes (LEDs), for light mixing in setting the light characteristics for the collective light being emitted by the light engine 22).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the NFC circuit further comprises:
an NFC tag interface ([0094]: the NFC module includes 256 bytes (64 blocks) of memory for User data. The memory is accessible through the RF interface, following ISO/IEC 15693 or NFC Forum Type 5 Tag. The PWM outputs can be configured at boot time, and can be updated live through RF link); and
an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag interface ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, beam intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the NFC- circuit is retroactively installed in the lighting ([0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses a method of controlling a lighting device using Near Field Communications (NFC), the method comprising: receiving input control signals from a user via an NFC circuit; receiving dimming signals from a dimming circuit; and sending lighting control signals to the lighting device based on the input control signals and the dimming signals ([0005]: NFC receiver and memory for storing instructions for sending signals from the NFC circuit to the mixing integrated circuit. The NFC receiver receives an external command signal that the instructions stored in the memory of the NFC circuit employ to provide for an NFC control signal to the mixing integrated circuit (IC) to adjust lighting characteristics of the light engine; ([0006]: running a control application on a mobile computing device including a near field communication (NFC) transmitter, in which the control application is for selecting light settings to be emitted by the light engine of the lighting device; [0092]: The instructions may include how the current received by the mixing integrated circuit 35 from the power supply circuit 30 is distributed to the different lighting arrangements, e.g., different strings of light emitting diodes (LEDs), for light mixing in setting the light characteristics for the collective light being emitted by the light engine 22).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the NFC circuit comprises: an NFC tag; an NFC tag, wherein the NFC tag interface is communicatively coupled to the NFC tag ([0096]: the contactless interface, i.e., wireless interface, for the NFC module 50 is provided by an RF antenna that provides for receipt of an NFC signal. This interface of the NFC module can be based on ISO/IEC 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 Tag.).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the NFC tag is remote from the NFC circuit ([0005]: The NFC receiver for receiving an external command signal; [0093]: The NFC module may be provided by an ISO 15693 and NFC Forum Type 5 tag).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the dimming circuit comprises: a dimmer switch input ([0027]: is to employ a dimmer or switch to adjust flux output and change the color correlated temperature), wherein the dimmer switch input is coupled to an external dimmer switch ([0082]: the grid of light functions 48a, 48b, 48c may also include a second field 48b of a dimming scale (dimming scale 48b), and a third field 48c of a color temperature scale (color temperature scale 48c). In other embodiments, at least one of the color wheel 48a, the dimming scale 48b and the color temperature scale 48c may be omitted. In one embodiment, the dimming scale 48b includes icons illustrating a degree of dimming, i.e., a degree by which the light being projected by the luminaires; note: the scale is a switch of shifting degree of intensity for generating the dimming signals).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising: receive status information from the lighting device; and send the status information to the user via the NFC circuit ([0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the lighting control signals includes at least one of correlated color temperature, intensity, dimming percentage, dim-curve, thermal foldback, and scheduling (at least [0025], [0064]).
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising a controller and one or more program instructions, wherein the one or more program instructions are stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage media ([0070]: the mobile computing device 200 may include at least one form of memory that provides for storing a set of instructions to be executed by a hardware processor within the mobile computing device 200 to provide a user interface 49 through which a user can select lighting characteristics to be emitted by the light engine of the lighting device).
Conclusion
/MONICA C KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844
11/15/2025