DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 07/20/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/21/2026. Independent claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 9-10 and 19-20 were previously cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-8 and 11-18 are pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 are “anticipated by” claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,510,278 B2
1. A method for a second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a first UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE, wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and performing a sidelink reception from the first UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node or the second network node is a base station.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
1. A method for a first User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a second UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration of the second UE from the second UE; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration of the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message; receiving a sidelink grant from the network node, wherein the sidelink grant indicates sidelink resources; and performing a sidelink transmission to the second UE based on the sidelink resources.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE, and the second UE is a receiving UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a feedback associated with the sidelink transmission from the second UE, wherein the feedback is a HARQ positive acknowledgement or a HARQ negative acknowledgement.
Claims 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-18 are “anticipated by” claims 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,278 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,510,278 B2
11. A second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a first UE; receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE, wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication;transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE.
12. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
13. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
14. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
15. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQA retransmission grant is expected.
16. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first network node or the second network node is a base station.
17. The second UE of claim 16, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
18. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to transmit a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
7. A first User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a second UE; receive a SL DRX configuration of the second UE from the second UE; transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration of the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message; receive a sidelink grant from the network node, wherein the sidelink grant indicates sidelink resources; and perform a sidelink transmission to the second UE based on the sidelink resources.
8. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE, and the second UE is a receiving UE.
9. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
10. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
11. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the network node is a base station.
12. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute a program code to: receive a feedback associated with the sidelink transmission from the second UE, wherein the feedback is a HARQ positive acknowledgement or a HARQ negative acknowledgement.
Similarly, all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/534,303) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,278 B2. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 are “anticipated by” claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,778,685 B2
1. A method for a second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a first UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE, wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and performing a sidelink reception from the first UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node or the second network node is a base station.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
1. A method for a network node to configure Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: receiving a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from a first User Equipment (UE), wherein the first RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message and includes a preferred SL DRX configuration of a second UE; and transmitting a second RRC message to the first UE, wherein the second RRC message includes a SL DRX configuration for the second UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-17 are “anticipated by” claims 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,778,685 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,778,685 B2
11. A second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a first UE; receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE, wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication;transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE.
12. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
13. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
14. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
15. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQA retransmission grant is expected.
16. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first network node or the second network node is a base station.
17. The second UE of claim 16, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
7. A network node to configure Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: receive a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from a first User Equipment (UE), wherein the first RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message and includes a preferred SL DRX configuration of a second UE; and transmit a second RRC message to the first UE, wherein the second RRC message includes a SL DRX configuration for the second UE.
10. The network node of claim 9, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
11. The network node of claim 9, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
12. The network node of claim 9, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
13. The network node of claim 9, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
Similarly, all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/534,303) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. 11,778,685B2. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2021/0051588), Wu hereinafter, in view of Lee et al. (2023/0319852), Lee hereinafter, further in view of DI GIROLAMO et al. (2023/0014303), DI GIROLAMO hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 11, Wu teaches a method (Fig. 1/Fig. 4 & ¶0085/¶0088) for a second User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120a/120e, Fig.2, 120, Fig.4, UE1/UE2) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Fig. 4 & ¶0088), and a second User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120a/120e, Fig.2, 120, Fig.4, UE1/UE2) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Fig. 4 & ¶0088), comprising: a processor (Fig 2, 280); and a memory (Fig.2, 282) operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code (Fig. 2 & ¶0018-¶0019/¶0060) to: receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE (Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0088 - by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration); transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a second network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message (Fig. 1/Fig. 4 & ¶0085 - the UE may transmit a request to the BS <i.e., second network node, plain meaning of a network node> to synchronize sidelink DRX operation and access link DRX operation of the UE. The BS may receive the request and configure the sidelink DRX configuration and the access link DRX configuration such that UE1 may remain in a connected mode on the access link if UE1 is active on the sidelink (e.g., if a sidelink inactivity timer has not expired) and/or remain in a connected mode on the sidelink if UE1 is active on the access link (e.g., if an access link inactivity has not expired). The UE request may be included in in RRC signaling, such as a SidelinkUEInformation (See ¶0045/Fig.1, refers to 5G/NR) information element or communication, when indicating sidelink transmission recipients associated with the UE, in a UEAssistanceInformation information element or communication when reporting traffic patterns, and/or the like.); and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE (Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0016 - a UE …. perform sidelink communication with another UE based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration. Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0088 - by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration).
Yet, Wu does not expressly disclose establish a unicast link with a first UE;
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses establish a unicast link with a first UE (Fig. 12 & ¶0363 - In step S1208, the source UE discovers a destination UE and sends a PC5-S direct link request message on SL-SCH to the destination UE in order to establish a PC5-S direct link with the destination UE for a service. SL-SCH transmission may be based on the sidelink configuration received in step S1202. In response to the request, the destination UE sends a PC5-S direct link response message on SL-SCH to the source UE. Fig. 14 & ¶0397 - In step S1402, each UE (i.e., UE-2, UE-3 and UE-4) determine the destination layer-2 ID for signaling reception for PC5 unicast link establishment. Fig. 14 & ¶0400 - In steps S1410/S1420, the target UE, i.e., UE-2 or UE-4, responds with a direct communication accept message which is sent to UE-1. Upon receiving the direct communication accept message from peer UE, UE-1 obtains the peer UE's Layer-2 ID for future communication, for signaling and data traffic for this unicast link. Fig. 14 & ¶0402 - In steps S1412/S1422, V2X service data is transmitted over the established unicast link. The PC5 link identifier and PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI) are provided to the AS layer, together with the V2X service data. UE-1 sends the V2X service data using the source layer-2 ID (i.e., UE-1's layer-2 ID for this unicast link) and the destination layer-2 ID (i.e., the peer UE's Layer-2 ID for this unicast link));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system to include Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and reliable mechanism for reconfiguring sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation in state transition (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE), in order to apply the latest/updated NR sidelink communications parameters for the sidelink UE transitioned to the new state in the 5G/NR(New radio) for an accurate sidelink measurement performed by the sidelink UE wireless communication system. (¶0312/¶0394, Lee).
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication;
However, in the analogous art, DI GIROLAMO explicitly discloses wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication; (Fig. 17 & ¶0223 - At step 251, UE 201 may send information to the serving cell to help the serving cell in configuring the SL DRX. For example, as part of UE Assistance Information. This information may include one or more of the following: 1) number of active SL communications or; 2) indication of the requested DRX parameters. Fig. 17 & ¶0224 - Number of active SL communications. For each SL communication, the UE may provide an indication if the communication is a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. For the unicast communication, UE 201 may also provide an identifier of the peer UE (e.g. Layer 1 ID, Layer 2 ID). Fig. 17 & ¶0225 - UE 201 may provide specific DRX parameters (See Table 5). Fig. 17 & ¶0226 - At step 252, serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> determines the SL DRX parameters for UE 201 (See Table 5). Fig. 17 & ¶0227 - At step 253, serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration. Fig. 17 & ¶0228 - At step 254, UE 201 confirms the SL DRX configuration to the Serving Cell <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> . Note that UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. ……. In the call flow, it is assumed that UE 201 accepts the SL DRX configuration provided by serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17>. Fig. 17 & ¶0230 - At step 256, UE 201sends a message to UE 203 to inform UE 203 that UE 201 will be using DRX, and providing the SL DRX configuration. In other words, the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> provides the SL DRX configuration based on the determination of SL DRX parameters by the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> for UE 201, and later, the UE 201 accepts the SL DRX configuration as provided by serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17>, subsequently, the UE 201 inform the UE 203 of the SL DRX configuration as provided/determined by the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> for the unicast sidelink communications, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 7-9 as submitted on 07/20/2026. Please see the snapshot of Fig. 17 as reproduced next, which supports aforementioned disclosures by DI GIROLAMO.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include DI GIROLAMO’s invention of a system and a method for NR <New Radio> Sidelink Discontinuous Reception in 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient SL <sidelink> DRX <> Discontinuous Reception mechanism for power savings, to address a number of sidelink non-vehicular sidelink use cases operating in the 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0034, DI GIROLAMO)
Re. Claims 2 and 12, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE. (See Fig. 4)
Re. Claims 3 and 13, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the second UE is a receiving UE. (See Fig. 4)
Re. Claims 4 and 14, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
However, in the analogous art, DI GIROLAMO explicitly discloses wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel. (Fig.1-24 & ¶0305 - Each of the SL DRX configurations for the UE may be configured with parameters, such as drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-InactivityTimerSL.. Fig.1-24 & ¶0307 - drx-InactivityTimerSL: the duration after the PSCCH occasion in which a SCI/PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission for the MAC entity. The SL transmission occurring on one of the SL connections that is impacted by the SL DRX configuration. Also, see Table 5 <¶0366>).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include DI GIROLAMO’s invention of a system and a method for NR <New Radio> Sidelink Discontinuous Reception in 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient SL <sidelink> DRX <> Discontinuous Reception mechanism for power savings, to address a number of sidelink non-vehicular sidelink use cases operating in the 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0034, DI GIROLAMO)
Re. Claims 5 and 15, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle , a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle (), a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
However, in the analogous art, DI GIROLAMO explicitly discloses wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle , a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission (Fig.1-24 & ¶0305 - Each of the SL DRX configurations for the UE may be configured with parameters, such as drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-InactivityTimerSL.. Fig.1-24 & ¶0307 - drx-InactivityTimerSL: the duration after the PSCCH occasion in which a SCI/PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission for the MAC entity. The SL transmission occurring on one of the SL connections that is impacted by the SL DRX configuration. Also, see Table 5 <¶0366>, Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”, “and/or” in the limitation), a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle , a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include DI GIROLAMO’s invention of a system and a method for NR <New Radio> Sidelink Discontinuous Reception in 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient SL <sidelink> DRX <> Discontinuous Reception mechanism for power savings, to address a number of sidelink non-vehicular sidelink use cases operating in the 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0034, DI GIROLAMO)
Re. Claims 6 and 16, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the first network node or the second network node is a base station. (See Fig. 4, Base station (BS) is the network node < plain meaning of a network node > & ¶0087)
Re. Claims 7 and 17, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 6 and 16.
Li9016 further teaches wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB). (See Fig. 4, Base station (BS) is the network node & ¶0087).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee, in view of DI GIROLAMO, further in view of Lin et al. (2022/0353815, FRPR PCT/CN2020/070580 (see PTO-892, which is before the EFD of the instant application) is used in the instant office action), Lin_ PCT_FRPR hereinafter.
Re. Claims 8 and 18, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu, Lee and DI GIROLAMO do not expressly teach transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
However, in the analogous art, Lin_ PCT_FRPR explicitly discloses transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0027 - the DRX re-transmission timer for sidelink data transmission associated with a transmitting HARQ process may include one of more operations as follows. For example, this timer is started if HARQ RTT timer of the same transmitting HARQ process expired. For example, this timer is started if UE receives a PDCCH from base station indicating a SL resource for transmission (i.e. mode-1 resource scheduling), of if UE select a resource for sidelink transmission (i.e. mode-2 resource scheduling). Fig. 1-3 & ¶0028 - HARQ RTT timer for sidelink data reception associated with a receiving HARQ process may include one of more operations as follows. For example, this timer is started when a SCI is received for PSSCH reception. For example, this timer is started when a SL MAC PDU is received in a configured SL grant. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0083 - The response to ping message could be HARQ ACK. For example, if the peer UE receives the PSSCH and find that the indicated L2 ID matches the ID of the peer UE itself, the peer UE reply HARQ ACK on PSFCH. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0087 - if UE who sends the ping message to its peer UE does not receive response in the expected feedback channel or time-frequency (region of) radio resource, UE can perform re-transmission up to a maximum re-transmission limit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system and DI GIROLAMO’s invention of a system and a method for NR <New Radio> Sidelink Discontinuous Reception in 5G/NR < New Radio> wireless communication system to include Lin_ PCT_FRPR’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) support in sidelink communication, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving a better power saving efficiency for NR (New Radio)-V2X (vehicular-to-everything) by introducing DRX like operation in Sidelink (¶0007, Lin_ PCT_FRPR)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument for nonstatutory double patenting rejections (with US 11,510,278 B2 & US 11,778,685 B2), are NOT persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. As pointed out in earlier office action (see mapping in the double patenting rejection, applicant is requested to submit terminal disclaimer (TD) for each of the US Patents (i.e., US 11,510,278 B2 & US 11,778,685 B2) as issued earlier by the USPTO.
Also, as per the MPEP 804, the applicant is requested to submit terminal disclaimer (TD) for each of those US Patents (i.e., US 11,510,278 B2 & US 11,778,685 B2) as issued earlier by the USPTO. Nonstatutory double patenting rejections can ONLY be overcome by submitting those terminal disclaimers, as mentioned supra. See MPEP 804.
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-9 for independent claims 1 and 11, applicant argues that DI GIROLAMO fails to teach, “wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication.”. The applicant further asserts that the reference fails to teach at least a second UE receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE, wherein the SL DRX configuration for the second UE is determined by a first network node and is received from the first network node via the first UE for unicast sidelink communication. See page 9 of remarks as submitted on 07/20/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, DI GIROLAMO discloses in Fig. 17 of step 251, UE 201 may send information to the serving cell to help the serving cell in configuring the SL DRX. For example, as part of UE Assistance Information. This information may include one or more of the following: 1) number of active SL communications or; 2) indication of the requested DRX parameters. See ¶0223. DI GIROLAMO further discloses that the number of active SL communications, for each SL communication as shown in Fig. 17, the UE may provide an indication if the communication is a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. For the unicast communication, UE 201 (Fig. 17) may also provide an identifier of the peer UE (e.g. Layer 1 ID, Layer 2 ID), the UE 201 may provide specific DRX parameters (for example, see in Table 5). See ¶0224-¶0225. DI GIROLAMO further discloses that the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> determines the SL DRX parameters for UE 201 (See Table 5) at step 252. The serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> configures the SL DRX for UE 201. This may be through a new RRC message, or carried as a new IE in an existing RRC message. This message may be part of the SL radio bearer (SLRB) configuration. The UE 201 confirms at step 254 of Fig. 17, the SL DRX configuration to the Serving Cell <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17>. The UE 201 may accept the SL DRX configuration, modify the SL DRX configuration, or reject the SL DRX configuration. ……. In the call flow, it is assumed that UE 201 accepts the SL DRX configuration provided by serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17>. The UE 201 sends a message to UE 203, at step 256 of Fig.17, to inform UE 203 that UE 201 will be using DRX, and providing the SL DRX configuration. See ¶0227-¶0230 along with Fig. 17.
In Summary, the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> provides the SL DRX configuration based on the determination of SL DRX parameters by the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> for UE 201, and later, the UE 201 accepts the SL DRX configuration as provided by serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17>, subsequently, the UE 201 inform the UE 203 of the SL DRX configuration as provided/determined by the serving cell 205 <i.e., First network 205 in Fig. 17> for the unicast sidelink communications, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 7-9 as submitted on 07/20/2026.
Please see the snapshot of Fig. 17 as reproduced next, which supports aforementioned disclosures by DI GIROLAMO.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 11 are unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee, further in view of DI GIROLAMO.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 11, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467