DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 10/20/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 07/28/2025. Claims 9-10 and 19-20 were previously cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-8 and 11-18 are pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 are “anticipated by” claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,510,278 B2
1. A method for a second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a first UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and performing a sidelink reception from the first UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
1. A method for a first User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a second UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration of the second UE from the second UE; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration of the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message; receiving a sidelink grant from the network node, wherein the sidelink grant indicates sidelink resources; and performing a sidelink transmission to the second UE based on the sidelink resources.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE, and the second UE is a receiving UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a feedback associated with the sidelink transmission from the second UE, wherein the feedback is a HARQ positive acknowledgement or a HARQ negative acknowledgement.
Claims 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-18 are “anticipated by” claims 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,278 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,510,278 B2
11. A second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a first UE; receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE; transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE.
12. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
13. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
14. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
15. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQA retransmission grant is expected.
16. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the network node is a base station.
17. The second UE of claim 16, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
18. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to transmit a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
7. A first User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a second UE; receive a SL DRX configuration of the second UE from the second UE; transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration of the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message; receive a sidelink grant from the network node, wherein the sidelink grant indicates sidelink resources; and perform a sidelink transmission to the second UE based on the sidelink resources.
8. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE, and the second UE is a receiving UE.
9. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
10. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
11. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the network node is a base station.
12. The first UE of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute a program code to: receive a feedback associated with the sidelink transmission from the second UE, wherein the feedback is a HARQ positive acknowledgement or a HARQ negative acknowledgement.
Similarly, all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/534,303) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. 11,510,278 B2. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,510,278 B2.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 are “anticipated by” claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,778,685 B2
1. A method for a second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: establishing a unicast link with a first UE; receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE; transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and performing a sidelink reception from the first UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
1. A method for a network node to configure Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: receiving a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from a first User Equipment (UE), wherein the first RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message and includes a preferred SL DRX configuration of a second UE; and transmitting a second RRC message to the first UE, wherein the second RRC message includes a SL DRX configuration for the second UE.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a base station.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-17 are “anticipated by” claims 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,778,685 B2 .
Application No. 18/534,303 (Instant)
US 11,778,685 B2
11. A second User Equipment (UE) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: establish a unicast link with a first UE; receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE; transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUEInformationNR message; and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE.
12. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
13. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
14. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
15. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQA retransmission grant is expected.
16. The second UE of claim 11, wherein the network node is a base station.
17. The second UE of claim 16, wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB).
7. A network node to configure Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX), comprising: a processor; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to: receive a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from a first User Equipment (UE), wherein the first RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message and includes a preferred SL DRX configuration of a second UE; and transmit a second RRC message to the first UE, wherein the second RRC message includes a SL DRX configuration for the second UE.
10. The network node of claim 9, wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE.
11. The network node of claim 9, wherein the second UE is a receiving UE.
12. The network node of claim 9, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control the period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
13. The network node of claim 9, wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle, a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a sidelink control information indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
Similarly, all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/534,303) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. 11,778,685B2. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,778,685B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2021/0051588), Wu hereinafter, in view of Lee et al. (2023/0319852), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 11, Wu teaches a method (Fig. 1/Fig. 4 & ¶0085/¶0088) for a second User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120a/120e, Fig.2, 120, Fig.4, UE1/UE2) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Fig. 4 & ¶0088), and a second User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120a/120e, Fig.2, 120, Fig.4, UE1/UE2) to support Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Fig. 4 & ¶0088), comprising: a processor (Fig 2, 280); and a memory (Fig.2, 282) operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code (Fig. 2 & ¶0018-¶0019/¶0060) to: receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE (Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0088 - by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration); transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node, wherein the RRC message is a SidelinkUElnformationNR message (Fig. 1/Fig. 4 & ¶0085 - the UE may transmit a request to the BS to synchronize sidelink DRX operation and access link DRX operation of the UE. The BS may receive the request and configure the sidelink DRX configuration and the access link DRX configuration such that UE1 may remain in a connected mode on the access link if UE1 is active on the sidelink (e.g., if a sidelink inactivity timer has not expired) and/or remain in a connected mode on the sidelink if UE1 is active on the access link (e.g., if an access link inactivity has not expired). The UE request may be included in in RRC signaling, such as a SidelinkUEInformation (See ¶0045/Fig.1, refers to 5G/NR) information element or communication, when indicating sidelink transmission recipients associated with the UE, in a UEAssistanceInformation information element or communication when reporting traffic patterns, and/or the like.); and perform a sidelink reception from the first UE (Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0016 - a UE …. perform sidelink communication with another UE based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration. Fig.1/Fig. 4 & ¶0088 - by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration).
Yet, Wu does not expressly disclose establish a unicast link with a first UE;
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses establish a unicast link with a first UE (Fig. 12 & ¶0363 - In step S1208, the source UE discovers a destination UE and sends a PC5-S direct link request message on SL-SCH to the destination UE in order to establish a PC5-S direct link with the destination UE for a service. SL-SCH transmission may be based on the sidelink configuration received in step S1202. In response to the request, the destination UE sends a PC5-S direct link response message on SL-SCH to the source UE. Fig. 14 & ¶0397 - In step S1402, each UE (i.e., UE-2, UE-3 and UE-4) determine the destination layer-2 ID for signaling reception for PC5 unicast link establishment. Fig. 14 & ¶0400 - In steps S1410/S1420, the target UE, i.e., UE-2 or UE-4, responds with a direct communication accept message which is sent to UE-1. Upon receiving the direct communication accept message from peer UE, UE-1 obtains the peer UE's Layer-2 ID for future communication, for signaling and data traffic for this unicast link. Fig. 14 & ¶0402 - In steps S1412/S1422, V2X service data is transmitted over the established unicast link. The PC5 link identifier and PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI) are provided to the AS layer, together with the V2X service data. UE-1 sends the V2X service data using the source layer-2 ID (i.e., UE-1's layer-2 ID for this unicast link) and the destination layer-2 ID (i.e., the peer UE's Layer-2 ID for this unicast link));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system to include Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and reliable mechanism for reconfiguring sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation in state transition (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE), in order to apply the latest/updated NR sidelink communications parameters for the sidelink UE transitioned to the new state in the 5G/NR(New radio) for an accurate sidelink measurement performed by the sidelink UE wireless communication system. (¶0312/¶0394, Lee).
Re. Claims 2 and 12, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the first UE is a transmitting UE. (See Fig. 4)
Re. Claims 3 and 13, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the second UE is a receiving UE. (See Fig. 4)
Re. Claims 6 and 16, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the network node is a base station. (See Fig. 4, Base station (BS) is the network node & ¶0087)
Re. Claims 7 and 17, Wu and Lee teach claims 6 and 16.
Li9016 further teaches wherein the base station is a gNodeB (gNB). (See Fig. 4, Base station (BS) is the network node & ¶0087)
Claims 4-5, 8, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee, further in view of Lin et al. (2022/0353815, FRPR PCT/CN2020/070580 (see PTO-892, which is before the EFD of the instant application) is used in the instant office action), Lin_ PCT_FRPR hereinafter.
Re. Claims 4 and 14, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel.
However, in the analogous art, Lin_ PCT_FRPR explicitly discloses wherein the SL DRX configuration includes parameters used to control a period of the second UE monitoring sidelink control channel. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0077 - If the UE just receives the SCI from its peer UE previously, which is used for sidelink communication with other UE or this UE, then the UE may be able to determine whether its peer UE is still in DRX active time based on the DRX inactivity timer of the peer UE. That is, the peer UE would stay in sidelink active time before its DRX inactivity timer (which may be started when he sends SCI) expires, wherein the value of the DRX inactivity timer of the peer UE can be derived via sidelink DRX configuration (also, see mode 1 at least in ¶0027/¶0029/¶0061) exchange signaling before. By this way, if UE determines that its peer UE is still in active time, then the UE can directly perform sidelink communication with its peer UE. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0088 - During the period between UE is aware of peer UE asleep and the next opportunity to contact the peer UE (e.g. the next SCI monitoring opportunity of the peer UE, or the wake-up signal monitoring resource of the peer UE), the UE can go to sleep for power saving. The period may be modelled as a timer for the peer UE. For example, a new timer is introduced to count the period length to the start of the next on duration / wake-up signal of the peer UE. When UE has sidelink traffic for a peer UE, and the timer associated with the peer UE expires, UE should enter sidelink active time. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0089 - Based on the proposed sidelink DRX design, UE need to wake up periodically to monitor SCI during the on duration per sidelink DRX cycle per peer UE, even if the peer UE has no sidelink data for this UE. … If a UE detects the presence of wake up signal, then this UE should start its monitoring in the later preconfigured period of time. In contrast, if the UE does not detect the presence of wake up signal from any peer UE, then this UE can skip some SCI monitoring opportunity in the later pre-configured period of time, e.g. skip SCI monitoring until the coming of the next resource for wake-up signal detection. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0090 - in Figure 2, if a UE detects the presence of wake up signal, UE should start its on duration in the next sidelink DRX cycle to receive sidelink data from those peer UE who sends wake-up signal to him. Also, see claims 1-3, for example, “a method to perform sidelink DRX operation comprising: Maintain a set of sidelink DRX configuration, which include a set of timers and counters to define the pattern for SCI monitoring in PC5 interface; and Exchange the sidelink DRX configuration (also, see mode 1 at least in ¶0027/¶0029/¶0061) with its peer UE when the corresponding PC5-RRC connection is established or reconfigured, or when configured sidelink DRX configuration is changed; and Enable UE to check whether its peer UE is in active time available for sidelink communication, wake-up its peer UE for sidelink communication, or terminate sidelink communication with its peer UE, wherein different peer UEs can share the same or apply separate timers and counter including on duration timer, DRX inactivity timer, long DRX cycle, and DRX offset; wherein the mentioned timers and counter include the HARQ RTT timer and retransmission timer for each transmitting HARQ process and receiving HARQ process for each peer UE.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include Lin_ PCT_FRPR’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) support in sidelink communication, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving a better power saving efficiency for NR (New Radio)-V2X (vehicular-to-everything) by introducing DRX like operation in Sidelink (¶0007, Lin_ PCT_FRPR)
Re. Claims 5 and 15, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle , a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle (), a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
However, in the analogous art, Lin_ PCT_FRPR explicitly discloses wherein the SL DRX configuration configures at least one of an on-duration timer used for determining a duration at the beginning of a SL DRX cycle (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0089 - Based on the proposed sidelink DRX design, UE need to wake up periodically to monitor SCI during the on duration per sidelink DRX cycle per peer UE, even if the peer UE has no sidelink data for this UE. … If a UE detects the presence of wake up signal, then this UE should start its monitoring in the later preconfigured period of time. In contrast, if the UE does not detect the presence of wake up signal from any peer UE, then this UE can skip some SCI monitoring opportunity in the later pre-configured period of time, e.g. skip SCI monitoring until the coming of the next resource for wake-up signal detection. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0090 - in Figure 2, if a UE detects the presence of wake up signal, UE should start its on duration in the next sidelink DRX cycle to receive sidelink data from those peer UE who sends wake-up signal to him. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”, “and/or” in the limitation), a slot offset used for determining a delay before starting the on-duration timer, an inactive timer used for determining a duration after a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) occasion in which a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) indicates a sidelink transmission, a retransmission timer used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0027 - the DRX re-transmission timer for sidelink data transmission associated with a transmitting HARQ process may include one of more operations as follows. For example, this timer is started if HARQ RTT timer of the same transmitting HARQ process expired. For example, this timer is started if UE receives a PDCCH from base station indicating a SL resource for transmission (i.e. mode-1 resource scheduling), of if UE select a resource for sidelink transmission (i.e. mode-2 resource scheduling). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”, “and/or” in the limitation), a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than a length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission grant is expected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include Lin_ PCT_FRPR’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) support in sidelink communication, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving a better power saving efficiency for NR (New Radio)-V2X (vehicular-to-everything) by introducing DRX like operation in Sidelink (¶0007, Lin_ PCT_FRPR)
Re. Claims 8 and 18, Wu and Lee teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Wu and Lee do not expressly teach transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE.
However, in the analogous art, Lin_ PCT_FRPR explicitly discloses transmitting a feedback associated with the sidelink reception to the first UE. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0027 - the DRX re-transmission timer for sidelink data transmission associated with a transmitting HARQ process may include one of more operations as follows. For example, this timer is started if HARQ RTT timer of the same transmitting HARQ process expired. For example, this timer is started if UE receives a PDCCH from base station indicating a SL resource for transmission (i.e. mode-1 resource scheduling), of if UE select a resource for sidelink transmission (i.e. mode-2 resource scheduling). Fig. 1-3 & ¶0028 - HARQ RTT timer for sidelink data reception associated with a receiving HARQ process may include one of more operations as follows. For example, this timer is started when a SCI is received for PSSCH reception. For example, this timer is started when a SL MAC PDU is received in a configured SL grant. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0083 - The response to ping message could be HARQ ACK. For example, if the peer UE receives the PSSCH and find that the indicated L2 ID matches the ID of the peer UE itself, the peer UE reply HARQ ACK on PSFCH. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0087 - if UE who sends the ping message to its peer UE does not receive response in the expected feedback channel or time-frequency (region of) radio resource, UE can perform re-transmission up to a maximum re-transmission limit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for mode 1 sidelink in New radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless communication system and Lee’s invention of a system and a method for reconfiguration of sidelink configuration and sidelink resource allocation for a sidelink user equipment (UE) in state transitioning (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_IDLE) in a 5G/NR(New radio) wireless communication system to include Lin_ PCT_FRPR’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous reception (DRX) support in sidelink communication, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving a better power saving efficiency for NR (New Radio)-V2X (vehicular-to-everything) by introducing DRX like operation in Sidelink (¶0007, Lin_ PCT_FRPR)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument for nonstatutory double patenting rejections (with US 11,510,278 B2 & US 11,778,685 B2), are NOT persuasive. Applicant asserts that the present claimed invention is patentably distinct from the claims of the Reference Patents. For example, Applicant notes this distinction is at least based on the present claim scope and language (from claims 1 and 11) requiring (1) establishing a unicast link with a first UE, (2) receiving a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE, and (3) the second UE performing a sidelink reception from the first UE. These distinct inventive methods and techniques are not similarly claimed in U.S. Patent Nos. 11,510,278 or 11,778,685. As such, it is asserted that the present claimed invention is patentably distinct from the Reference Patents. See Page 6 of remarks as submitted on 10/20/2025.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, US 11,510,278 B2 recites that exactly the limitation as recited in the instant application. Please see the following two snapshots as reproduced below.
1)
2)
As per the MPEP 804, applicant is requested to submit terminal disclaimer (TD) for each of the US Patents (i.e., US 11,510,278 B2 & US 11,778,685 B2) as issued earlier by the USPTO. Nonstatutory double patenting rejections can ONLY be overcome by submitting those terminal disclaimers, as mentioned supra. See MPEP 804.
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-11 for independent claims 1 and 11, applicant argues that Wu fails to teach, “receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE; transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node.”.
In fact, in a lengthy argument (by referring to multiple paragraphs <see pages 7-10>) as submitted on 10/20/2025, the applicant further asserts, “It is noted that the Wu reference teaches that a UE may transmit a request to a BS to synchronize the sidelink DRX operation and access the link DRX operation of the UE, and the BS may receive the request and then configure the sidelink DRX configuration. As such, it is clear in Wu that the request is sent by the UE and the side/ink DRX configuration is configured by the BS, which are two very different procedures. Applicant respectfully asserts that Wu fails to disclose or consider a UE that sends a sidelink DRX configuration to the BS, as recited in Applicant's claimed invention. Furthermore, Wu fails to disclose or consider that a sidelink DRX configuration sent from a UE to a BS is received from another UE, as recited in Applicant's claimed invention.” See pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 10/20/2025.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, in reference to the limitation as recited in independent claims 1 and 11, such as, “receive a SL DRX configuration for the second UE from the first UE;”, Wu discloses that UE1 (See Fig. 4) may perform sidelink communication with UE2 (See Fig. 4) based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration”; See ¶0088. In fact, the sidelink DRX configuration is received by UE1 from the base station (Fig.4, BS) when the base station receives a request from UE1. Once the base station (BS1, Fig.4) receives the request from UE1 in RRC signaling (Such as SidelinkUEInformation information element, which contains the sidelink transmission recipients <i.e., UE2 in Fig. 4> associated with the UE1 in Fig.4, along with the traffic patterns for sidelink communication between UE1 & UE2 as shown in Fig.4), the Base station (BS in Fig. 4) configures the sidelink DRX configuration for the UE1 to perform sidelink communication with UE2 as shown in Fig.4 and disclosed in ¶0085. Surprisingly, the inventive concept of Wu’s disclosure as mentioned supra which is disclosed before the EFD of the instant application, is also, found in the instant application, at least, in ¶0390, which recites, “the traffic pattern information can indicate when UE1 will perform sidelink (periodic) transmissions to UE2. UE2 could report the traffic pattern or the preferred sidelink DRX configuration to gNB2 via one RRC message (e.g. SidelinkUEInformationNR or UEAssistanceInformation). gNB2 could provide the sidelink DRX configuration to UE2 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration).”, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 10-11 as submitted on 10/20/2025.
Now, in reference to the limitation as recited in independent claims 1 and 11, such as, “transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for providing the SL DRX configuration for the second UE to a network node;”, Wu discloses that the sidelink DRX configuration is received by UE1 (See Fig. 4) from the base station (Fig.4, BS) when the base station receives a request from UE1. Once the base station (BS1, Fig.4) receives the request from UE1 in RRC signaling (Such as SidelinkUEInformation information element, which contains the sidelink transmission recipients <i.e., UE2 in Fig. 4> associated with the UE1 in Fig.4, along with the traffic patterns for sidelink communication between UE1 & UE2 as shown in Fig.4), the Base station (BS in Fig. 4) configures the sidelink DRX configuration for the UE1 to perform sidelink communication with UE2 as shown in Fig.4 and disclosed in ¶0085. As mentioned earlier, the inventive concept of Wu’s disclosure as mentioned supra which is disclosed before the EFD of the instant application, is also, found in the instant application, at least, in ¶0390, which recites, “the traffic pattern information can indicate when UE1 will perform sidelink (periodic) transmissions to UE2. UE2 could report the traffic pattern or the preferred sidelink DRX configuration to gNB2 via one RRC message (e.g. SidelinkUEInformationNR or UEAssistanceInformation). gNB2 could provide the sidelink DRX configuration to UE2 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration).”, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at pages 10-11 as submitted on 10/20/2025.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 11 are unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 11, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467