Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-11, 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiang et al. (US Patent no. 9900625) in view of Lim et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2022/0166998), and further in view of Hao et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0240431).
Regarding claim 1, Hsiang discloses a method comprising: determining symbols to predict for of a component of a block vector difference (BVD) that indicates a difference between a block vector (BV) and a block vector predictor (BVP) (See Hsiang Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13), wherein the symbols comprise at least one of: sign symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40); or magnitude symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40, col. 8, lines 60-67 and col. 9, lines 1-4); selecting, based on a subset of a list of BVD (See Hsiang col. 10, lines 62-67, col. 11, lines 1-15 where two BVD components can be a list).
It is noted that although Hsiang discloses a subset of a BVD list (See Hsiang col. 10, lines 62-67, col. 11, lines 1-15 where two BVD components is a list) and determines a symbol (See Hsiang col. 4, lines 9-35), it is silent about selecting the BVD predictor, and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols.
However, Lim teaches the BVD candidates, selecting the BVD predictor, and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols (See Lim’s Abstract, [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0018] and [0428]-[0429]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Hsiang to incorporate Lim’s teachings to provide the BVD candidates, selecting the BVD predictor, and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols. The motivation for performing such a modification in Hsiang is to improve coding efficiency of the video encoding.
It is further noted that the combination of Hsiang and Lim is silent about a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component.
However, Hao teaches a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component (See Hao’s Abstract, [0118]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Hsiang and Lim to incorporate Hao’s teachings to provide a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component. The motivation for performing such a modification in the above combination is to effectively reduce a bitrate required for transmission of signs of BVDs, and thus may improve coding efficiency.
As per claim 11, Hsiang discloses a method comprising determining symbols to predict for of a component of a block vector difference (BVD) that indicates a difference between a block vector (BV) and a block vector predictor (BVP) (See Hsiang Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13), wherein the symbols are at least one of: sign symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40); or magnitude symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40, col. 8, lines 60-67 and col. 9, lines 1-4).
It is noted that Hsiang is silent about determining, based on a checklist comprising BVD candidates for predicting the symbols, a subset of the BVD candidates; determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates; based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor, a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols.
However, Lim teaches determining, based on a checklist comprising BVD candidates for predicting the symbols, a subset of the BVD candidates (See Lim Abstract, [0106]); determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates (See Lim [0006]-[0008]); based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor (See Lim [0425], [0428]-[0429], a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols (See Lim’s Abstract, [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0018] and [0428]-[0429])..
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Hsiang to incorporate Lim’s teachings to determine, based on a checklist comprising BVD candidates for predicting the symbols, a subset of the BVD candidates; determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates; based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor, a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols. The motivation for performing such a modification in Hsiang is to improve coding efficiency of the video encoding.
It is further noted that the combination of Hsiang and Lim is silent about wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component.
However, Hao teaches wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component (See Hao’s Abstract, [0118]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Hsiang and Lim to incorporate Hao’s teachings wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component. The motivation for performing such a modification in the above combination is to effectively reduce a bitrate required for transmission of signs of BVDs, and thus may improve coding efficiency.
As per claim 17, Hsiang discloses a method comprising: determining symbols to predict for of a component of a block vector difference (BVD) that indicates a difference between a block vector (BV) and a block vector predictor (See Hsiang Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-13), wherein the symbols are at least one of: sign symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40) or magnitude symbols (See Hsiang col. 2, lines 29-40, col. 8, lines 60-67 and col. 9, lines 1-4); determining, based on one or more selection criteria, a subset of BVD (See Hsiang col. 10, lines 62-67, col. 11, lines 1-15 where two BVD components can be a list), determining, based on one or more selection criteria, a subset of the BVD candidates (See Hsiang col. 10, lines 62-67, col. 11, lines 1-15 where two BVD components can be a list).
It is noted that Hsiang is silent about determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates; based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor, a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols.
However, Lim teaches determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates (See Lim [0006]-[0008]); based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor (See Lim [0425], [0428]-[0429], a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols (See Lim’s Abstract, [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0018] and [0428]-[0429]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Hsiang to incorporate Lim’s teachings to determine, based on a checklist comprising BVD candidates for predicting the symbols, a subset of the BVD candidates; determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates; based on the costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates, selecting, as a BVD predictor, a BVD candidate from the subset of the BVD candidates; and determining, based on the BVD predictor, at least one of the symbols. The motivation for performing such a modification in Hsiang is to improve coding efficiency of the video encoding.
It is further noted that the combination of Hsiang and Lim is silent about a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component.
However, Hao teaches a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component (See Hao’s Abstract, [0118]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Hsiang and Lim to incorporate Hao’s teachings to provide a BVD predictor associated with a current block of content, wherein each BVD candidate of the subset of the list of BVD candidates comprises a horizontal component and a vertical component. The motivation for performing such a modification in the above combination is to effectively reduce a bitrate required for transmission of signs of BVDs, and thus may improve coding efficiency.
As per claim 2, the combination of Hsiang and Lim further teaches wherein the subset of the list of BVD candidates is selected based on a subset of the symbols (See Hsiang col. 3, lines 28-57).
As per claim 3, the combination of Hsiang and Lim further teaches decoding the BVD (See Lim [0878]).
As per claims 6 and 14, the combination of Hsiang and Lim further teaches a checklist as seen in the rejection of claim 11 (See Lim Abstract, [0106], [0006]-[0008]).
As per claims 7 and 15, the combination of Hsiang and Lim further teaches a set of suffix bin positions for one or more portions of the sign and magnitude symbols of the component of the BVD (See Hsiang Abstract, col. 3, lines 28-60).
As per claim 10, combination of Hsiang and Lim further teaches wherein the BVD is a motion vector difference (MVD), and the BVD predictor is an MVD predictor (See Hsiang’s Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-40).
5. Claims 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 16, 18-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiang et al. (US Patent no. 9900625) in view of Lim et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2022/0166998) and Hao et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0240431), as applied to claims 1, 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Nien et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0217013).
Regarding claims 4-5, 12-13 and 18, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejections of claims 1, 11 and 17.
It is noted that the combination of Hsiang, Lim and Hao is silent about wherein the determining further comprises: based on a symbol of the BVD predictor and a value of a corresponding symbol of the BVD, determining an indication of whether the symbol of the BVD predictor matches the corresponding symbol of the BVD and sending, via a bitstream, the indication, and wherein the determining further comprises: receiving, via a bitstream, an indication of whether a symbol of the BVD predictor matches a corresponding symbol of the BVD; and determining, based on the symbol of the BVD predictor and the indication, a value of the corresponding symbol of the BVD.
However, Nien teaches wherein the determining further comprises: based on a symbol of the BVD predictor and a value of a corresponding symbol of the BVD, determining an indication of whether the symbol of the BVD predictor matches the corresponding symbol of the BVD (See Nien [0189], [0191]); and sending, via a bitstream, the indication (See Nien [0088]), and wherein the determining further comprises: receiving, via a bitstream, an indication of whether a symbol of the BVD predictor matches a corresponding symbol of the BVD; and determining, based on the symbol of the BVD predictor and the indication, a value of the corresponding symbol of the BVD (See Nien [0190], [0197]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Hsiang, Lim and Hao to incorporate Nien’s teachings to determine further comprises: based on a symbol of the BVD predictor and a value of a corresponding symbol of the BVD, determining an indication of whether the symbol of the BVD predictor matches the corresponding symbol of the BVD and sending, via a bitstream, the indication, and wherein the determining further comprises: receiving, via a bitstream, an indication of whether a symbol of the BVD predictor matches a corresponding symbol of the BVD; and determining, based on the symbol of the BVD predictor and the indication, a value of the corresponding symbol of the BVD. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Hsiang and Lim is to have better coding efficiency.
As per claim 16, the combination of Hsiang, Lim and Nien further teaches removing, from the checklist, BVD candidates not matching a sign value and a magnitude bin of each selected BVD predictor (See Nien [0089], [0091]-[0092] and [0133]).
As per claims 8 and 19, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 1 and 17.
It is noted that the combination of Hsiang, Lim and Hao is silent about wherein the subset of the list of BVD candidates is selected based on one or more subset selection criteria, wherein the one or more subset selection criteria comprise one or more of: determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for each allowed sign value combination; or determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for a spatial position in a reference region.
However, Nien teaches wherein the subset of the list of BVD candidates is selected based on one or more subset selection criteria, wherein the subset selection criteria comprise one or more of: determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for each allowed sign value combination; or determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for a spatial position in a reference region (See Nien [0009], [0087] and [0089]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Hsiang, Lim and Hao to incorporate Nien’s teachings wherein the subset of the list of BVD candidates is selected based on one or more subset selection criteria, wherein the subset selection criteria comprise one or more of: determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for each allowed sign value combination; or determining a selected BVD candidate, of the subset of the list of BVD candidates, for a spatial position in a reference region. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Hsiang and Lim is to have better coding efficiency.
As per claims 9 and 20, the combination of Hsiang, Lim, Hao and Nien further teaches wherein the determining costs associated with the subset of the BVD candidates further comprises determining a template matching cost for each BVD candidate of the subset, and wherein the selecting the BVD candidate further comprises: selecting the BVD predictor based on a template matching cost associated with the BVD predictor being a smallest template matching cost among the determined template matching costs (See Nien [0079], [0096], [0133]).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424