DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed Dec. 8, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tadepalli et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0051152 (referred to hereafter as Tadepalli).
As to claim 1, Tadepalli teaches an advanced robotic system for installing solar panels, comprising:
a solar panel setting robot provided in a form of a first robotic system including a robotic arm assembly designed to articulate a solar panel and install the solar panel on a bracket coupled to a torque tube (see para. 91 and 97);
an end effector rotatably coupled to an end of the robotic arm assembly; vacuum pods attached to a frame of the end effector, wherein the vacuum pods are designed to suction to the solar panel (see para. 77, 80 and 89);
a solar panel carrying robot provided in the form of a second robotic system designed to carry multiple solar panels and travel in proximity to the solar panel setting robot (see para. 91 and 97); and
a control system configured to coordinate installation activities between the solar panel setting robot and the solar panel carrying robot (see para. 165 and 175).
As to claim 2, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control system further comprises: a panel delivery control system; a panel placement control system; and a central controller (see para. 91, 105 and 97).
As to claim 3, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the central controller further comprises: a vision module; a notification module; a sensor module; a communication module; and an electrical safety system (see para. 104, 122, 133, 169).
As to claim 4, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the solar panel setting robot is configured to identify an installation location for the solar panel and deploy a notification through a notification module of the control module (see para. 104, 122, 133, 169).
As to claim 5, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the control system further comprises a disconnect switch (see para. 94).
As to claim 6, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the solar panel setting robot uses a vision module to align the solar panel with the bracket (see para. 131 and 133).
As to claim 8, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 3, wherein a communication module sends a release signal to the system to indicate that the panel setting robot is no longer moving or is otherwise aligned in an installation position (see para. 77 and 89).
As to claim 9, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the panel placement control system further comprises a fastening control system for tightening one or more fasteners to secure the solar panel to the bracket (see para. 121 and 124).
As to claim 10, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the electrical safety system is configured to integrate dynamic robotic zoning systems defining a three-dimensional work zone for the first robotic system and the second robotic system (see para. 107, 121 and 124).
As to claim 18, Tadepalli teaches a method of installing solar panels using an advanced robotic platform, the method comprising:
providing one or more autonomous machines provided in a form of a solar panel setting robot and a solar panel carrying robot (see para. 91 and 97);
identifying an installation location for a first solar panel installation using a navigation module of the solar panel setting robot (see para. 91 and 97);
driving the one or more autonomous machines to the installation location using a drive module of the solar panel setting robot (see para. 91 and 97);
initiating an installation process including: sending a notification to a central controller using a communication module that the installation process has been initiated (see para. 91, 105 and 97);
retrieving a solar panel from the solar panel carrying robot using a robotic arm assembly of the panel setting robot (see para. 77, 80 and 89);
aligning the solar panel with a bracket according to one or more parameters using a vision module (see para. 131 and 133); and
fastening the solar panel to the bracket using one or more fasteners (see para. 121 and 124).
As to claim 19, Tadepalli teaches the method of claim 18, wherein aligning the solar panel further comprises: applying a suction pressure to a plurality of vacuum pods to couple the solar panel to an end effector coupled to an end of the robotic arm assembly of the solar panel setting robot; moving the end effector from a first position to a second position where the solar panel is positioned on the plurality of brackets on a torque tube at the second position; and de-energizing a vacuum pump and disengaging the end effector from the solar panel by releasing the vacuum pods, such that the end effector may move independently of the solar panel (see para. 77, 80 and 89).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadepalli in view of Brulo et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0030863 (referred to hereafter as Brulo).
As to claim 7, Tadepalli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control system further comprises: a panel delivery control system; a panel placement control system; and a central controller (see para. 91, 105 and 97).
Tadepalli does not teach multiple solar panel carrier robots designed to communicate to each other to facilitate continuous solar panel installation. However, Brulo teaches multiple solar panel carrier robots designed to communicate to each other to facilitate continuous solar panel installation (see para. 118). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use multiple solar panel carrier robots designed to communicate to each other to facilitate continuous solar panel installation in Tadepalli as taught by Brulo. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings well known in the art that coordinating multiple robots to perform a task would result in performing tasks faster and in a more efficient manner.
4. Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadepalli in view of Zhou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0206003 (referred to hereafter as Zhou).
As to claim 11, Tadepalli teaches a system for installing solar panels, comprising:
a solar panel setting robot provided in the form of a first robotic system, wherein the solar panel setting robot comprises:
a robotic drive assembly designed to transport the solar panel setting robot from one location to another (see para. 91 and 97);
a local controller; a robotic arm assembly designed to articulate a robotic arm of the solar panel setting robot (see para. 97-98); and
an end effector designed to removably couple to a solar panel; a plurality of solar panel carrying robots provided in a form of a second robotic system including one or more modules (see para. 91 and 97); and
a control system designed to coordinate installation activities between the solar panel setting robot and the plurality of solar panel carrying robots (see para. 155 and 161).
Tadepalli does not teach a waterproof housing. However, Zhou teaches a robotic arm for installing solar panels which comprises waterproof housing (see para. 53). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use waterproof arms in Tadepalli as taught by Zhou. Motivation to do so comes from the teaching of Zhou that having chassis that is water and dust proof with access through a cover would increase safety and minimize down time.
As to claim 12, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 11. Tadepalli further teaches the control system further comprises: a panel delivery control system comprising an advanced navigation system for planning a route from a solar panel pickup location to a solar panel installation location; a panel placement control system comprising a vision module for aligning the solar panel with a bracket; and a central controller designed to control one or more aspects of the first robotic system, the second robotic system, or a combination thereof (see para. 104-105 and 107-108).
As to claim 13, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 11. Tadepalli further teaches the central controller further comprises: a notification module; a sensor module provided in the form of a sensor array; a communication module; and an electrical safety system (see para. 104, 122, 133, 169).
As to claim 14, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 11. Tadepalli further teaches the end effector comprises: a frame configured to couple with the robotic arm assembly; and a vacuum pump and a plurality of vacuum pods, each configured to selectively engage with the solar panel (see para. 77, 80 and 89).
As to claim 15, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 14. Zhou further teaches the end effector further comprises: a plurality of nozzles configured to remove debris from a front surface of the solar panel (see para. 33).
As to claim 16, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 14. Tadepalli further teaches the frame further comprises: a chassis portion; a spacing member; a first alignment arm; a second alignment arm (see para. 96-97). Tadepalli does not teach a third alignment arm. It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application or have a third arm as a design choice “duplication of parts” (see MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
As to claim 17, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 14. Tadepalli further teaches the vacuum pump is configured to de-energize to release the solar panel from the vacuum pods after the solar panel is installed (see para. 77, 80 and 89).
6. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadepalli in view of Zhou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0206003 (referred to hereafter as Zhou), further in view of Brulo.
As to claim 20, Tadepalli in view of Zhou teach the system of claim 18. Tadepalli further teaches identifying the solar panel as being installed using the vision module, including a unique identifier for the solar panel; identifying the unique identifier for the solar panel (see para. 157). Tadepalli does not teach transmitting an installation notification to a data store including the solar panel and an installed status.
However, Brulo teaches transmitting an installation notification to a data store including the solar panel and an installed status (see para. 305, 307, 333). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application transmitting an installation notification in Tadepalli as taught by Brulo. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings well known in the art that doing so would all a user to keep track of status of install jobs which would assist a user in performing/planning installs in a more efficient manner.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669