DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
No priority claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/23/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nair et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/145859).
As per claim 1, Nair disclose A method (see Fig.2, Fig.4, UE 402, a method between user equipment and a base station, para. 0062), comprising:
receiving, by network computing equipment (see Fig.2, Base Station 204, Fig.4, Base Station 404) comprising a processor (see Fig.2, Processor 222), at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report, generated by at least one user equipment, comprising at least one report value (see Fig.4, step 3, para. 0065, UE 402 creates and sends a measurement report, receiving at the base station, the report contains information: Neighbor Cell ID1: signal quality; Cell ID1: signal quality; wireless local area network (WLAN) measurements {report value} to serving base station 404);
analyzing, by the network computing equipment, the at least one report value to result in at least one analyzed report value (see Fig.4, steps 4 and 5, see para. 0066-0067, serving base station 404 compares/analyzing, the received measurements/report value, against threshold values {at least one analyzed report value} for handover to target base stations); and
based on the at least one analyzed report value, determining, by the network computing equipment, at least one connection transition value with respect to at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, step 10, when one or more of the X2/Xn link set-ups are unsuccessful/ determining at least one connection transition value, then serving base station 404 identifies those base stations as potential false base stations and, in step 10, sends a measObjectToRemoveList message to UE 402 to stop measurements on the X2/Xn link failed cells/base stations).
As per claim 2, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair further disclose wherein the at least one analyzed report value corresponds to at least one interval associated with the at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report (see Fig.4, step 4, in step 4, serving base station 404 compares the received measurements against threshold values for handover to target base stations).
As per claim 3, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair further disclose wherein the at least one analyzed report value is at least one time-based value (see Fig.4, step 4, signal strength measured in figure 4 step 4 is time dependent).
As per claim 6, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair further disclose wherein the at least one radio access network node is a first radio access network node, and wherein the at least one connection transition value corresponds to the at least one user equipment being idle and transitioning from selection of camping on the first radio access network node to selection of camping on a second radio access network node (see Fig.4, para. 0060, 0063-0073, scenarios for UE handover, where the transition value corresponds to the user equipment being idle and transitioning from selection of camping on the first radio access network node to selection of camping on a second radio access network node).
As per claim 7, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair further disclose wherein the at least one radio access network node is a first radio access network node, and wherein the at least one connection transition value corresponds to the at least one user equipment transitioning from being connected to the first radio access network node to being connected to a second radio access network node (see Fig.4, para. 0063-0072, scenarios for UE handover, one connection transition value corresponds to the at least one user equipment transitioning from being connected to the first radio access network node to being connected to a second radio access network node).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/145859), and further in view of 3GPP ("3rd·Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects Study on 5G Security Enhancement against False Base Stations (Release 17 )",3GPP STANDARD; TECHNICAL REPORT; 3GPP TR 33.809, 2020-08-31).
As per claim 4, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair further disclose wherein the at least one radio access network node is a first radio access network node, wherein the at least one connection transition value is a first connection transition value that corresponds to the at least one user equipment transitioning from having a connection status with the first radio access network node to having the connection status with a second radio access network node, wherein the at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report is a first user equipment radio parameter measurement report, wherein the at least one report value is a first time corresponding to the at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report (see Fig.4, para. 0062-0072, in steps 5 and 6, serving base station 404 determines if measurement values are above threshold values. If not, then the serving base station 404 waits for further measurement reports from UE 402. If measurement values are above threshold values, serving base station 404 prepares one or more target base stations for handover).
Nair however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first connection transition value is determined based on at least the first time and a second time corresponding to a second user equipment radio parameter measurement report.
3GPP however disclose wherein a first connection transition value is determined based on at least the first time and a second time corresponding to a second user equipment radio parameter measurement report (see sections, 5.3.1, 6.4, 6.6, 6.8, the measurement repots sent by UEs to the network already contain various information of the surrounding radio conditions, the measurement reports and further enriched so that the detection of false base stations becomes more effective. Further, different types of measurement reports could be taken into use, e.g., logged measurement reports. The present key issue is for investigating potential enhancements to the detection framework and enrichments to the measurement reports to further strengthen the false base station detection. Method of detecting false base stations is critical to further processing of the information to ascertain that a particular base station is false and doesn't belong to the genuine operator network. Once a determination is reached that a particular base station is false, the genuine network can take actions to isolate such false base stations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first connection transition value is determined based on at least the first time and a second time corresponding to a second user equipment radio parameter measurement report, as taught by 3GPP, in the system of Nair, so as to enable handovers and detect false base station, see 3GPP, see section 5.3.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/145859), and further in view of Sheoran (US Pub. No.:2025/0126532).
As per claim 13, Nair disclose the method of claim 1.
Nair however does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one connection transition value is a temporal graph edge.
Sheoran however disclose wherein at least one connection transition value is a temporal graph edge (see para. 0066, Cell-pairs allowing user handoff form edges in the temporal graph, transition value is a temporal graph edge. see also para. 0060, 0067-0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein at least one connection transition value is a temporal graph edge as taught by Sheoran, in the system of Nair, so as to enable a set of temporal network graphs to be established and maintained for each time step, see Sheoran, see paragraphs 66-67.
As per claim 14, Nair disclose A network computing equipment (see Fig.2, Base Station 204, Fig.4, Base Station 404), comprising:
a processor (see Fig.2, Processor 222) configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (see para. 0036-0038, base station 204 is used to store one or more software programs that are executed by the respective processors 212 and 222), comprising:
receiving at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report, corresponding to at least one radio access network node and generated by at least one user equipment, the at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report comprising at least one time value and at least one radio performance measurement value (see Fig.4, step 3, para. 0065, UE 402 creates and sends a measurement report {receiving radio performance measurement value}, the report contains information: Neighbor Cell ID1: signal quality; Cell ID1: signal quality; wireless local area network (WLAN) measurements {report value} to serving base station 404);
analyzing the at least one time value to result in at least one first anomaly value corresponding to the at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, steps 4 and 5, see para. 0066-0067, serving base station 404 compares/analyzing, the received measurements/report value, against threshold values {at least one analyzed report value} for handover to target base stations);
analyzing the at least one radio performance measurement value to result in at least one second anomaly value corresponding to the at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, steps 4 and 5, see para. 0066-0067, serving base station 404 compares/analyzing, the received measurements/report value, when measurement values are above threshold values, serving base station 404 prepares one or more target base stations for possible handover); and
based on the at least one analyzed report value, performing a connection establishment action (see Fig.4, in step 9, serving base station 404 proceeds with a regular handover preparation for the target base station).
Although, Nair disclose based on the at least one analyzed report value, performing a connection establishment action;
Nair however does not explicitly disclose based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score; analyzing the at least one combined anomaly score with respect to an anomaly score criterion to result in an analyzed anomaly score; and based on satisfaction of the anomaly score criterion, performing a connection establishment action.
Sheoran however disclose based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score; analyzing the at least one combined anomaly score with respect to an anomaly score criterion to result in an analyzed anomaly score (see para. 0044, 0067, the performance metrics are aggregated on the cell site level, the result is a site level performance metric such as an aggregated throughput value or aggregated packet loss value. The result is a series of temporal network graphs 281 which contains the information of all cell sites and also the handoff information between cell sites. The cell-level KPIs define node features. Handoff user numbers define edge weights, an analyzed anomaly score, see also para. 0077, 0082); and based on satisfaction of the anomaly score criterion, performing a connection establishment action (see para. 0082-0084, a normal cell having the best radio quality or signal strength is identified and compared with the radio quality of the original destination cell of the handover request. If the difference is less than a threshold, the normal cell is selected as the new destination cell and a connection establishment action is performed, see also para. 0087, determining if a target cell for the handoff is in an abnormal state, such as a cell outage or congestion due to traffic, inferring a type of traffic present in the UE device and selecting an alternative handover target for the handover request, para. 0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score; analyzing the at least one combined anomaly score with respect to an anomaly score criterion to result in an analyzed anomaly score as taught by Sheoran, in the system of Nair, so as to select an alternative target cell for the handover request, wherein the selecting is responsive to determining a performance-sensitive traffic usage level of the UE device, and initiating a handover operation between the source cell and the alternative target cell, see Sheoran, see paragraphs 0014-0016.
As per claim 15, the combination of Nair and Sheoran disclose the network computing equipment of claim 14.
Sheoran further disclose wherein the determining of the at least one combined anomaly score comprises applying an ensemble learning model to the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value (see para. 0069, information about the nodes and the edges of the temporal network graphs 281 is provided as an input from this series of network graphs to a machine learning model 286, applying an ensemble learning model to the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, the output of the machine learning model 286 corresponds to the state of each cell site as abnormal or normal).
As per claim 16, the combination of Nair and Sheoran disclose the network computing equipment of claim 14.
Sheoran further disclose wherein the analyzing of the at least one radio performance measurement value comprises applying, to the at least one radio performance measurement value, at least one of: an isolation forest learning model or a local outlier factor learning model (see para. 0065, the eNodeB in use temporal graphs and an associated machine learning algorithm to make a decision on whether or not the mobility network should accept the UE device's handover request).
As per claim 17, the combination of Nair and Sheoran disclose the network computing equipment of claim 14.
Sheoran further disclose wherein the analyzing of the at least one time value comprises applying a temporal graph model to the at least one time value and wherein the at least one first anomaly value is at least one temporal graph edge (see para. 0066, 0069, each temporal graph in an embodiment consists of all active cells as nodes, such as cell 282a and cell 282b in FIG. 2D. Cell-pairs allowing user handoff form edges in the temporal graph, such as edge 283 between cell 282a and cell 282b. For each node, time series data is retrieved from the cell-level KPI logs 284 and the handoff logs 285 and information about the nodes and the edges of the temporal network graphs 281 is provided as an input from this series of network graphs to a machine learning model 286).
As per claim 18, the combination of Nair and Sheoran disclose the network computing equipment of claim 14.
Sheoran further disclose wherein the network computing equipment is part of a wireless communication network core network (see para. 0026, 0029, the first base station 204, the second base station 206 and the third base station 208 are generally each in communication with a core network 214 that provides a variety of functions and services, such as mobility management, authorization and accounting, and data communication through a gateway to other networks such as the public internet).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/145859), in view of Sheoran (US Pub. No.:2025/0126532) and further in view of Simon (EP3035740A1).
As per claim 19, Nair disclose a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (see Fig.2, Processor 222, see para. 0012, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied therein executable program code that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform the method) of a network computing equipment (see Fig.2, Base Station 204, Fig.4, Base Station 404), facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report, corresponding to at least one radio access network node and generated by at least one user equipment, the at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report comprising at least one time value and at least one radio performance measurement value (see Fig.4, step 3, para. 0065, UE 402 creates and sends a measurement report, the report contains information: Neighbor Cell ID1: signal quality; Cell ID1: signal quality; wireless local area network (WLAN) measurements {report value} to serving base station 404);
analyzing the at least one time value to result in at least one first anomaly value corresponding to the at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, steps 4 and 5, see para. 0066-0067, serving base station 404 compares/analyzing, the received measurements/report value, against threshold values {at least one analyzed report value} for handover to target base stations);
analyzing the at least one radio performance measurement value to result in at least one second anomaly value corresponding to the at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, steps 4 and 5, see para. 0066-0067, serving base station 404 compares/analyzing, the received measurements/report value, when measurement values are above threshold values, serving base station 404 prepares one or more target base stations for possible handover).
Nair however does not explicitly disclose based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score.
Sheoran however disclose based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score (see para. 0044, 0067, the performance metrics are aggregated on the cell site level, the result is a site level performance metric such as an aggregated throughput value or aggregated packet loss value. The result is a series of temporal network graphs 281 which contains the information of all cell sites and also the handoff information between cell sites. The cell-level KPIs define node features. Handoff user numbers define edge weights, an analyzed anomaly score, see also para. 0077, 0082); and based on satisfaction of the anomaly score criterion, performing a connection establishment action (see para. 0082-0084, a normal cell having the best radio quality or signal strength is identified and compared with the radio quality of the original destination cell of the handover request. If the difference is less than a threshold, the normal cell is selected as the new destination cell and a connection establishment action is performed, see also para. 0087, determining if a target cell for the handoff is in an abnormal state, such as a cell outage or congestion due to traffic, inferring a type of traffic present in the UE device and selecting an alternative handover target for the handover request, para. 0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of based on the at least one first anomaly value and the at least one second anomaly value, determining at least one combined anomaly score, as taught by Sheoran, in the system of Nair, so as to select an alternative target cell for the handover request, wherein the selecting is responsive to determining a performance-sensitive traffic usage level of the UE device, and initiating a handover operation between the source cell and the alternative target cell, see Sheoran, see paragraphs 0014-0016.
The combination of Nair and Sheoran however does not explicitly disclose determining at least one combined anomaly score “indicative of a probability that the at least one radio access network node is a fake base station”.
Simon however disclose determining at least one combined anomaly score “indicative of a probability that the at least one radio access network node is a fake base station” (see para. 0009, 0011, 0042, 0045, determining at least one fake cell probability level by analyzing the signaling and/or behavior of at least one of said active base station and network base stations, said at least one fake cell probability level indicating the probability of being affected by a fake base station, taking a first measure for adaptation of cell-change criteria by taking into account said at least one fake cell probability level, see also para. 0063, 0064, 0077-0078, 0080, 0086, 0089-0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of determining at least one combined anomaly score “indicative of a probability that the at least one radio access network node is a fake base station”, as taught by Simon, in the system of Nair and Sheoran, so as to detect a fake base station and find countermeasures which allow for the wireless communication device to ever leave the fake base station on its own or even better to avoid camping, see Simon, see paragraphs 0005, 0009, 0011.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Norrman et al et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0070239).
As per claim 1, Norrman disclose A method (see Fig.4, para. 0056, a method in a first network node for detecting false base stations), comprising:
receiving, by network computing equipment comprising a processor, at least one user equipment radio parameter measurement report, generated by at least one user equipment, comprising at least one report value (see Fig.4, para. 0084-0087, action 402, the network node 110 receives/receiving a message comprising a measurement report comprising collected information a mobile terminal, the measurement report may contain information on physical cell identifiers, carrier frequency and pilot signal strength of cells in the network device's surroundings);
analyzing, by the network computing equipment, the at least one report value to result in at least one analyzed report value (see Fig.4, para. 0095-0099, action 404, anomalies are determined, by comparing / analyzing the received information with a predetermined target information, after having received the measurement report from the network device); and
based on the at least one analyzed report value, determining, by the network computing equipment, at least one connection transition value with respect to at least one radio access network node (see Fig.4, para. 0103-0107, the network node 110 provides an indication that a false base station is present when the collected information differs from the target information / determining, or if there is a deviation or anomaly between the logged data and the data expected from cell planning and configuration. The indication may be provided by triggering an alarm, which may raise the alert level, or raising a warning message providing an alert on a possible presence of a false or rogue base station in the area).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US Pub. No.:2023/0231762) – see para. 0099, “UE 400 may measure and report network data from data 454 to NMS 130. The network data may comprise event data, telemetry data, and/or other SLE-related data. The network data may include various parameters indicative of the performance and/or status of the wireless network. NMS 130 may determine one or more SLE metrics and store the SLE metrics as network data 137 (FIG. 1A) based on the SLE-related data received from the UEs or client devices in the wireless network. NMS 130 may further update temporal graph database 138 (FIG. 1A) of the network to include the telemetry data, or at least entity and connectivity information extracted from the telemetry data, received from the UEs or client devices in the wireless network over time.”
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469