Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “output shaft” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “a deceleration part connected to an output shaft of the steering driving part and configured to transmit the steering driving force”. Examiner notes that claim 2 recites additional structure to the deceleration part removing it from being interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0070883 A1 to Du et al (hereinafter Du).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses an independent steering apparatus (Fig. 2 and Abstract) comprising:
a wheel (2) of a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 & [0049] and [0067]);
a knuckle (1) integrally fixed to the wheel (2) (Figs. 1-2 & [0049] and [0067] disclose the knuckle holds and steers the wheel 2);
a steering driving part (3) configured to generate steering driving force (Fig. 2 & [0060]);
a deceleration part connected to an output shaft (32) of the steering driving part (3) and configured to transmit the steering driving force (Fig. 2 & [0060]); and
a deceleration part housing (31) configured to accommodate the deceleration part (Fig. 2 & [0060] disclose the motor may include a planetary gear reducer and motor is housed by the housing 31, therefore the deceleration part is interpreted as also being housed within the housing 31),
wherein the steering driving part (3) is integrally fixed to the deceleration part housing (31) (Fig. 2 & [0060]), and
the deceleration part housing (31) is integrally fixed to the knuckle (1) (Fig. 2 & [0060]), and
wherein the steering driving force generated by the steering driving part (3) is transmitted to the deceleration part housing (31) through the deceleration part such that the knuckle (1) is rotated (Fig. 2 & [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Du further discloses claim 1, wherein the deceleration part comprises a planetary gear set (Fig. 2 & [0060]).
Regarding claim 14, Du discloses an independent steering apparatus (Fig. 2 and Abstract) comprising:
a wheel (2) of a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 & [0049] and [0067]);
a knuckle (1) integrally fixed to the wheel (2) (Figs. 1-2 & [0049] and [0067] disclose the knuckle holds and steers the wheel 2);
a steering driving part (3) configured to generate steering driving force (Fig. 2 & [0060]);
a deceleration part connected to an output shaft (32) of the steering driving part (3) and configured to transmit the steering driving force (Fig. 2 & [0060]); and
a deceleration part housing (31) having the deceleration part located therein (Fig. 2 & [0060] disclose the motor may include a planetary gear reducer and motor is housed by the housing 31, therefore the deceleration part is interpreted as also being housed within the housing 31),
wherein the steering driving part (3) is integrally fixed to the deceleration part housing (31) (Fig. 2 & [0060]), and
the deceleration part housing (31) is integrally fixed to the knuckle (1) (Fig. 2 & [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of US 4,877,098 A to Asanuma.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, Du further discloses wherein the [output shaft] (32) has a rotational center axis coinciding with a kingpin axis (Fig. 3 & [0054] and [0060]).
While Du makes mention of including a planetary gear set, Du does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the planetary gear set has a rotational center axis coinciding with a kingpin axis.
Asanuma teaches that it was old and well known in the art of vehicle steering, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a planetary gear set (59) to have a rotational center axis (33) coinciding with a kingpin axis (33) (Fig. 2 and col 1 lns 42-55 and col 3 lns 2-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle steering before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system disclosed by Du to incorporate for the planetary gear set to have a rotational center axis coinciding with a kingpin axis as taught by Asanuma enabling speed reduction from the motor in a compact arrangement, e.g., see col 2 lns 3-7 and col 3 lns 2-16, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of US 2020/0207405 A1 to Kuribayashi.
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 2, Du does not appear to disclose wherein the deceleration part further comprises a plurality of external gear sets or belts.
Kuribayashi teaches that it was old and well known in the art of vehicle steering, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a deceleration part (28) to include a plurality of external gear sets or belts (36) (Figs. 1-2 & [0029], [0042], and [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle steering before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor and speed reduction system disclosed by Du to incorporate for the motor to be disposed offset to the kingpin axis and connected via a speed reducer via a plurality of external gear sets or belts as taught by Kuribayashi in order to downsize the motor via a high reduction enabling a compact platform, e.g., see Kuribayashi [0029], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of US 2007/0267234 A1 to Rogg
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 2, although Du discloses steering motor 3 is connected to the vehicle body, e.g., [0059], Du does not appear to disclose wherein the planetary gear set comprises first, second and third rotating elements, and the first rotating element is connected to a vehicle body so as to be rotationally constrained.
Rogg teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a planetary gear set comprises first (63), second (66) and third (67) rotating elements, and the first rotating element (63) is connected to a vehicle body (64) so as to be rotationally constrained (Fig. 6 & [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering motor including a planetary gearset fixed to a vehicle body disclosed by Du to incorporate the planetary gear set comprises first, second and third rotating elements, and the first rotating element is connected to a vehicle body so as to be rotationally constrained as taught by Rogg in order to achieve a higher torque capacity, e.g., see Rogg [0010], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, the modified combination of Du/Rogg further discloses wherein the second rotating element (Rogg - 66) is connected to the output shaft (Du – 32/Rogg - 71) of the steering driving part (Du – 3/Rogg - 70), and the third rotating element (Rogg - 67) is connected to the deceleration part housing (Du – 31/Rogg – 52) (Du – Figs. 2-3/Rogg – Figs. 5-6 & [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 6, the modified combination of Du/Rogg further discloses wherein: the second rotating element (66) is a sun gear (66) connected to the output shaft (Du – 32/Rogg - 71) of the steering driving part (Du – 3/Rogg - 70); the first rotating element (Rogg - 63) is a carrier (Rogg - 63) connected to the vehicle body (Rogg - 64) so as to be rotationally constrained; and the third rotating element (Rogg – 67) is a ring gear (Rogg – 67) connected to the deceleration part housing (Du – 31/Rogg – 52) (Du – Figs. 2-3/Rogg – Figs. 5-6 & [0039]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of US 2024/0124048 A1 to Oh et al (hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 1, Du further discloses a slot part (121) located at an end (12) of the knuckle (1) facing the deceleration part housing (31); and a coupling part (5), wherein each of the coupling part (5) is coupled to the slot part (121) (Figs. 1-3 & [0062]).
Du does not appear to disclose slot parts respectively located at opposite ends of the knuckle facing the deceleration part housing; and coupling parts located in the deceleration part housing, wherein each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding slot part among the slot parts.
Oh teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, slot parts (110, 120) respectively located at opposite ends of the knuckle (100) facing the deceleration part housing (200,300); and coupling parts (111,121) located in the deceleration part housing (200,300), wherein each of the coupling parts (111,121) is coupled to a corresponding slot part (110,120) among the slot parts (110,120) (Figs. 4,5, and 7 & [0050] and [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system including a steering motor supported on only one side by the knuckle disclosed by Du to incorporate for the knuckle to support the steering motor on opposite ends via disclose slot parts respectively located at opposite ends of the knuckle facing the deceleration part housing; and coupling parts located in the deceleration part housing, wherein each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding slot part among the slot parts as taught by Oh in order to have a simplified configuration, e.g., see Oh [0006], to better support the steering motor by supporting it on opposite ends, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
See the 892 for prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611