DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 03/09/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 15-17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection of claims 1-20 is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments to claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/09/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan et al. al (US 20250016593 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Narayanan discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to (Fig. 1B discloses that WTRU includes a transceiver (120)): receive CSI reference signals (RSs) (Paragraph 0371 discloses that the WTRU may generate a CSI report comprising the CSI measurement based on atleast one reference signal); and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: (Paragraph 0388 discloses measuring Channel State Information (CSI) associated with at least one reference signal) measure the CSI-RSs (Paragraphs 0187-0188 disclose a CSI reporting with AIML based CSI compression may be determined based on any of the following: Number of layers used or implemented for the associated AIML model, Input dimension (e.g., number of bits, number of samples, number of time samples aggregated, number of frequency samples aggregated etc. Paragraph 0371 discloses measuring the CSI-RS) and determine, based on the configuration information and the measured CSI-RSs, a CSI report, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit the CSI report (Paragraph 0388 discloses the WTRU may transmit the report comprising the CSI associated with the at least one reference signal. Paragraph 0350 discloses that the WTRU may generate one or more CSI or parts thereof based on determined matrix method as described above in paragraph 0147 and transmit the CSI report using transmission resources).
Narayanan does not explicltiy discloses transmit capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support a Toeplitz-based method of determining channel state information (CSI) reports; receive configuration information that indicates parameters for the Toeplitz-based method of determining the CSI reports. wherein the Toeplitz-based method is based on a dual-stage precoding structure including a first component W1 and a second component W2, and wherein at least some of the parameters are to identify at least a first row and a first column of a Toeplitz codebook corresponding to W1.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses transmit capability information indicating a capability of the UE (Col 13. Discloses a receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or signal quality measurements etc.) to support a Toeplitz-based method of determining channel state information (CSI) reports (Col. 18, lines 1-30 discloses UE may determine a channel estimation matrix between the UEs, and may decompose the channel estimation matrix into x-dimension and y-dimension sub-matrices corresponding to the x and y dimensions of the channel estimation matrix. Decomposing the channel estimation matrix may enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices); receive configuration information that indicates parameters for the Toeplitz-based method of determining the CSI reports (Col. 18, lines 1-30 discloses UE may determine a channel estimation matrix between the UEs, and may decompose the channel estimation matrix into x-dimension and y-dimension sub-matrices corresponding to the x and y dimensions of the channel estimation matrix. Decomposing the channel estimation matrix may enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices. The symmetric Toeplitz properties of the sub-matrices may enable the first wireless device 205-a to solve the eigenvectors/precoders of the sub-matrices in a less computationally intensive manner, which may reduce a complexity at the first wireless device 205-a and reduce processing power and resources required to solve for the precoders/eigenvectors. Col. 21, lines 45-60, Upon determining the precoders/eigenvectors for the LoS MIMO communication 230 based on the sub-matrices, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit, to the second wireless device 205-b, an indication of a set of precoders 225 which are to be used for the LoS MIMO communication 230. In other words, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit an indication of the eigenvectors/precoders 225 which were determined based on the symmetric Toeplitz sub-matrices. Subsequently, the second wireless device 205-b may transmit the LoS MIMO communication 230 using the rectangular antenna array 215-b and the indicated set of precoders 225); wherein the Toeplitz-based method is based on a dual-stage precoding structure including a first component W1 and a second component W2, and wherein at least some of the parameters are to identify at least a first row and a first column of a Toeplitz codebook corresponding to W1 (Col. 21, lines 45-60, Upon determining the precoders/eigenvectors for the LoS MIMO communication 230 based on the sub-matrices, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit, to the second wireless device 205-b, an indication of a set of precoders 225 which are to be used for the LoS MIMO communication 230. In other words, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit an indication of the eigenvectors/precoders 225 which were determined based on the symmetric Toeplitz sub-matrices. Subsequently, the second wireless device 205-b may transmit the LoS MIMO communication 230 using the rectangular antenna array 215-b and the indicated set of precoders 225). Col. 20 discloses the channel estimation matrix using the Toeplitz matrices, see matrix 18 on Col. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhang to the system of Narayanan to provide a technique of channel estimation matrix that enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices), effectively reducing the degrees of freedom of the sub-matrices and allowing for less computationally-expensive solving (Summary).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises substantially similar limitations as described above in claim 1 claimed as a method perform by a UE as disclosed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Narayanan discloses a base station (BS), comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to (¶0041 discloses that the eNode- Bs 160 a, 160 b, 160 c may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 cover the air interface 116 (Fig. 1C)): and receive CSI reference signals (RSs) (Paragraph 0371 discloses that the WTRU may generate a CSI report comprising the CSI measurement based on atleast one reference signal), transmit CSI reference signals (RSs) (Paragraph 0371 discloses that the WTRU may generate a CSI report comprising the CSI measurement based on atleast one reference signal. Paragraphs 0187-0188 disclose a CSI reporting with AIML based CSI compression may be determined based on any of the following: Number of layers used or implemented for the associated AIML model, Input dimension (e.g., number of bits, number of samples, number of time samples aggregated, number of frequency samples aggregated etc. Paragraph 0371 discloses measuring the CSI-RS), and receive the CSI report that is based on the configuration information and the CSI- RSs (Paragraph 0388 discloses the WTRU may transmit the report comprising the CSI associated with the at least one reference signal. Paragraph 0350 discloses that the WTRU may generate one or more CSI or parts thereof based on determined matrix method as described above in paragraph 0147 and transmit the CSI report using transmission resources).
Narayanan does not explicltiy discloses receive capability information indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) to support a Toeplitz-based method of determining channel state information (CSI) reports, transmit configuration information that indicates parameters for the Toeplitz-based method of determining the CSI reports. wherein the Toeplitz-based method is based on a dual-stage precoding structure including a first component W1 and a second component W2, and wherein at least some of the parameters are to identify at least a first row and a first column of a Toeplitz codebook corresponding to W1.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses receive capability information indicating a capability of the UE (Col 13. Discloses a receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or signal quality measurements etc.) to support a Toeplitz-based method of determining channel state information (CSI) reports (Col. 18, lines 1-30 discloses UE may determine a channel estimation matrix between the UEs, and may decompose the channel estimation matrix into x-dimension and y-dimension sub-matrices corresponding to the x and y dimensions of the channel estimation matrix. Decomposing the channel estimation matrix may enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices); transmit configuration information that indicates parameters for the Toeplitz-based method of determining the CSI reports (Col. 18, lines 1-30 discloses UE may determine a channel estimation matrix between the UEs, and may decompose the channel estimation matrix into x-dimension and y-dimension sub-matrices corresponding to the x and y dimensions of the channel estimation matrix. Decomposing the channel estimation matrix may enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices. The symmetric Toeplitz properties of the sub-matrices may enable the first wireless device 205-a to solve the eigenvectors/precoders of the sub-matrices in a less computationally intensive manner, which may reduce a complexity at the first wireless device 205-a and reduce processing power and resources required to solve for the precoders/eigenvectors. Col. 21, lines 45-60, Upon determining the precoders/eigenvectors for the LoS MIMO communication 230 based on the sub-matrices, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit, to the second wireless device 205-b, an indication of a set of precoders 225 which are to be used for the LoS MIMO communication 230. In other words, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit an indication of the eigenvectors/precoders 225 which were determined based on the symmetric Toeplitz sub-matrices. Subsequently, the second wireless device 205-b may transmit the LoS MIMO communication 230 using the rectangular antenna array 215-b and the indicated set of precoders 225); wherein the Toeplitz-based method is based on a dual-stage precoding structure including a first component W1 and a second component W2, and wherein at least some of the parameters are to identify at least a first row and a first column of a Toeplitz codebook corresponding to W1 (Col. 21, lines 45-60, Upon determining the precoders/eigenvectors for the LoS MIMO communication 230 based on the sub-matrices, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit, to the second wireless device 205-b, an indication of a set of precoders 225 which are to be used for the LoS MIMO communication 230. In other words, the first wireless device 205-a may transmit an indication of the eigenvectors/precoders 225 which were determined based on the symmetric Toeplitz sub-matrices. Subsequently, the second wireless device 205-b may transmit the LoS MIMO communication 230 using the rectangular antenna array 215-b and the indicated set of precoders 225). Col. 20 discloses the channel estimation matrix using the Toeplitz matrices, see matrix 18 on Col. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhang to the system of Narayanan to provide a technique of channel estimation matrix that enable the UE to generate smaller sub-matrixes which exhibit symmetry (e.g., symmetric Toeplitz matrices), effectively reducing the degrees of freedom of the sub-matrices and allowing for less computationally-expensive solving (Summary).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 and objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chung et al. (US 2021/0266769 A1) discloses in Fig. 9, a method of configuring indication information (or indicator) for each specific unit (e.g., for each specific resource unit or specific time unit in a time domain and indicating and configuring a time domain behavior of a UE based on the indication information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413