DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, 17-20, 22-24 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 09-26-2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4,8-12, 14,17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0010669 (hereinafter, “Lim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”).
As per claim 1, Lim discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing; (housing of electronic device illustrated by Fig. 1)
a battery that provides power to a component in the housing; (battery; Fig. 18)
a pressure sensor in the housing; and (barometric pressure sensor; Fig. 18)
a motion sensor in the housing; and (motion sensor, not limiting example, accelerometer; Fig. 18)
a controller in the housing, (non-limiting example, power management module, ap ; Fig. 18) wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the housing is enclosed (inter alia: arranged on the pocket of user; ¶ [0162] ) during movement of the housing (inter alia: ¶ [0073] states that “sensor module 170 may collect various sensor signals associated with a motion state of the electronic device 100” ) by analyzing sets of motion sensor measurements (motion sensor; ¶ [0073] ) in a temporal space and in spectral space, (time/frequency domain ¶ [0100])
is configured to reduce power consumption of the battery in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (inter alia: place device on sleep mode based on the sensed data; Fig. 6 )
Lin does not distinctly disclose reducing the power consumption based on the device being enclosed in a backpack.
However, Polat discloses that. In particular, Polat discloses an electronic device, comprising the following:
a housing; (housing of electronic device 100; Fig. 1)
a battery that provides power to a component in the housing; (The electronic device may include a “battery” that powers the components illustrated by Fig. 1)
a pressure sensor in the housing; and (electronic device 100 may also include a pressure sensor; ¶ [0019])
a motion sensor in the housing; and (Polat: sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]))
a controller in the housing, (processor; Fig. 1) wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the housing is enclosed during movement of the housing by analyzing sets of motion sensor measurements and pressure sensor measurements (Inter alia: ¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” and “accelerometer data, pressure sensor data may also be collected to provide supplemental information on correctly determining if electronic device 100 has been placed into backpack 208” ¶ [0033])
is configured to reduce power consumption of the battery in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (¶ [0012] states “If the electronic device is in a backpack mode, the electronic device is set to a low power state to reduce the battery power usage.” )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Polat because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Polat’s teaching of placing the computer device in a power consumption mode would enhance Lin's system by detecting the state of the device not being used in the user’s backpack, thus, further conserving power for the electronic device.
Lin as modified does not distinctly disclose where the claimed expression “housing is enclosed” is more narrowly interpreted as power conservation while the system is in the pocket.
However, Xu discloses that. In particular Xu discloses the following:
a housing; (housing for device 100; Fig’s 1-2)
a battery that provides power to a component in the housing; (limited battery power for device 200; Fig 1)
a pressure sensor in the housing; and (pressure sensor; ¶ [0019])
a motion sensor in the housing; and (accelerometer, gyroscope; ¶ [0016]
a controller in the housing, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the housing is enclosed during movement of the housing analyzing sets of motion sensor measurements and pressure sensor measurements in a temporal space (pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state by using a time window ¶ [0029] )
is configured to reduce power consumption of the battery in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (mobile platform 200 utilizes sensor signals to put one or more of the system “components into a lower power consumption or disabled state”; ¶ [0021])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin as modified and Xu because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Xu’s teaching of placing a system component to a low power mode due to transition of the device in a pocket would enhance Lin's system by allowing the system to further conserve power, enhancing its power management process.
As per independent claim 11, this claim is substantially the same as the electronic device recited by independent claim 1. Therefore, independent claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons already recited in claim 1.
As per claim 3, Lin as modified discloses an electronic device wherein the motion sensor comprises an accelerometer. (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210); ¶ [0020] )
As per claim 4, Lin as modified discloses an electronic device further comprising: an ambient light sensor in the housing, wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether the housing is enclosed in response to measurements from the ambient light sensor. (Xu: may receive input from one or more sensors, e.g., “ambient light sensor” to detect an In_pocket state; ¶ [0020])
As per claim 8, Lin as modified discloses an electronic device wherein the component comprises a sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” ) & (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state & may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210) to detect an In pocket state; ¶ [0020])
As per claim 9, Lin as modified discloses an electronic device wherein the component comprises an input device. (Xu: microphone 202; Fig 2) (Lin; Fig 18)
As per claim 10, Lin as modified discloses an electronic device wherein the input device comprises a microphone. (Xu: microphone 202; Fig 2), (Lin; Fig 18)
As per claims 12, Lin as modified discloses a method further comprising: gathering light measurements with an ambient light sensor, wherein determining whether the electronic device is enclosed is based on the light measurements, the motion measurements and the pressure measurements. (¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” ) & (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state & may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210) to detect an In pocket state; ¶ [0020]) & (Xu: may receive input from one or more sensors, e.g., “ambient light sensor” to detect an In_pocket state; ¶ [0020])
As per claim 14, Lin as modified discloses a method further comprising: gathering motion measurements with a motion sensor; and determining that the electronic device is moving based on the motion measurements. (Polat: ¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” ) & (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state & may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210) to detect an In pocket state; ¶ [0020]) & (Xu: may receive input from one or more sensors, e.g., “ambient light sensor” to detect an In_pocket state; ¶ [0020])
As per claim 17, Lin as modified discloses a method wherein adjusting the power consumption of the battery comprises reducing the power requirements of a component in the electronic device. (Polat: ¶ [0012] states “If the electronic device is in a backpack mode, the electronic device is set to a low power state to reduce the battery power usage.” ) & (Xu: mobile platform 200 utilizes sensor signals to put one or more of the system “components into a lower power consumption or disabled state”; ¶ [0021])
As per claim 18, Lin as modified discloses a method wherein adjusting the power consumption of the battery comprises altering a user interaction mode of the electronic device. (Xu; reducing power based on the user’s interaction when the phone is in the pocket; at least ¶ [0019]) & (Polat: based on whether user has device in the backpack initiation a power conservation mode; Fig 4)
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0010669 (hereinafter, “Lim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0370972 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
As per claim 5, Polat as modified does not distinctly disclose an electronic device wherein the component comprises an always-on display.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses an electronic device wherein the component comprises an always-on display. ( ¶ [0111] always on display)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin as modified and Zhang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Zhang’s teaching of always-on display would enhance Lin's as modified system by allowing the system to display limited information while reducing power consumption, thus enhancing the power management of the computer system.
As per claims 6, Lin as modified discloses wherein the controller is configured to place the always-on display in a deactivated mode in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (Zhang: ¶ [0111]always on display is stopped when phone is placed in a pocket)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin as modified and Zhang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Zhang’s teaching of reducing power by stopping the always-on display would enhance Lin's as modified system by allowing the system to further conserve power, thus enhancing power management of the computer system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0010669 (hereinafter, “Lim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 9,086,875 (hereinafter “Harrat”).
As per claim 7, Lin as modified does not distinctly disclose wherein the component comprises wireless communications circuitry, wherein the wireless communications circuitry is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed.
However, Harrat explicitly discloses wherein the component comprises wireless communications circuitry, wherein the wireless communications circuitry is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (Col 1 lines 46-60 discloses user’s gesture of placing a mobile device in his/her pocket that leads the power management system to assign a power profile that include placing the communication modem to off ; Col 2 lines 27-37 )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin as modified and Harrat because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Harrat’s teaching of reducing power to a mobile system by turning off the communication modem would enhance Lin's as modified system by allowing the system to further conserve power, thus enhancing power management of the computer system.
Claims 19-20, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”).
As per claim 19, Polat as modified discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing; (Polat: housing of electronic device 100; Fig. 1) & (Xu: housing device 100; Fig. 1)
a display in the housing; (Polat: touchscreen; ¶ [0056]) & (
a battery that provides power to the display; (Polat: The electronic device may include a “battery” that powers the components illustrated by Fig. 1)
a pressure sensor in the housing configured to gather pressure data; (Polat: electronic device 100 may also include a pressure sensor; ¶ [0019])
a motion sensor in the housing configured to gather motion data; and (Polat: sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017])
a controller in the housing, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the housing is moving in response to measurements from the motion sensor, to determine a power of the pressure data and a power of the motion data to determine whether the housing is enclosed based on the power of the pressure data and the power of the motion data, (Polat: ¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” and “accelerometer data, pressure sensor data may also be collected to provide supplemental information on correctly determining if electronic device 100 has been placed into backpack 208” ¶ [0033]) )
and to reduce power consumption of the battery in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (Polat: ¶ [0012] states “If the electronic device is in a backpack mode, the electronic device is set to a low power state to reduce the battery power usage.” )
Polat does not distinctly disclose where the claimed expression “housing is enclosed” is more narrowly interpreted as power conservation while the system is in the pocket.
However, Xu discloses that. In particular Xu discloses the following:
a housing; (housing for device 100; Fig’s 1-2)
a battery that provides power to a component in the housing; (limited battery power for device 200; Fig 1)
a pressure sensor in the housing configured to gather pressure data;; and (pressure sensor; ¶ [0019])
a motion sensor in the housing configured to gather motion data;; and (accelerometer, gyroscope; ¶ [0016]
a controller in the housing, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the housing is moving in response to measurements from the motion sensor, to determine a power of the pressure data and a power of the motion data to determine whether the housing is enclosed based on the power of the pressure data and the power of the motion data, (pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” ¶ [0029] )
and to reduce power consumption of the battery in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (mobile platform 200 utilizes sensor signals to put one or more of the system “components into a lower power consumption or disabled state”; ¶ [0021])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Polat and Xu because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Xu’s teaching of placing a system component to a low power mode due to transition of the device in a pocket would enhance Polat's system by allowing the system to further conserve power, enhancing its power management process.
As per claim 23, Polat as modified discloses an electronic device further comprising: a sensor in the housing, wherein the sensor is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (Polat: ¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” ) & (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state & may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210) to detect an In pocket state; ¶ [0020])
As per claim 20, Polat as modified discloses an electronic device further comprising: further comprising: an ambient light sensor in the housing configured to make light measurements, wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether the housing is enclosed based on the light measurements. (¶ [0019] states “The pressure sensor can detect a pressure difference to determine when electronic device 100 has been put in a backpack” and “In the backpack mode, the electronic device is determined to be in motion with the electronic device disposed in a backpack while the user is walking with the backpack” ) & (sensor device 106 can be an accelerometer or gyroscope to acquire acceleration data.; ¶ [0017]) & (Xu: pressure sensor to determine whether mobile platform 200 is in one of several positional states, for example, “determining a transition of mobile platform 200 to the IN_POCKET” state & may receive input from one or more sensors (e.g., accelerometer 210) to detect an In pocket state; ¶ [0020]) & (Xu: may receive input from one or more sensors, e.g., “ambient light sensor” to detect an In_pocket state; ¶ [0020])
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0370972 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
As per claim 24, Polat as modified does not distinctly disclose wherein the display is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed.
However, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the display is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (always on display is stopped when phone is placed in a pocket; ¶ [0011] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Polat as modified and Zhang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Zhang’s teaching of the always-on display is stopped would enhance Polat's as modified system by allowing the system to reduce power consumption, thus enhancing the power management of the computer system.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable U.S. Publication No. 2022/0100252 (hereinafter “Polat”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0219524 (hereinafter “Xu”) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 9,086,875 (hereinafter “Harrat”).
As per claim 22, Lin as modified does not distinctly disclose wireless communications circuitry in the housing, wherein the wireless communications circuitry is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed.
However, Harrat explicitly discloses wherein the component wireless communications circuitry in the housing, wherein the wireless communications circuitry is configured to be adjusted in response to determining that the housing is enclosed. (Col 1 lines 46-60 discloses user’s gesture of placing a mobile device in his/her pocket that leads the power management system to assign a power profile that include placing the communication modem to off ; Col 2 lines 27-37 )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Polat as modified and Harrat because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Harrat’s teaching of reducing power to a mobile system by turning off the communication modem would enhance Polat's as modified system by allowing the system to further conserve power, thus enhancing power management of the computer system
For at least the above reasons the rejections are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09-26-2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov