DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 3/4/2026.
Claims 2-20 and 22 are pending.
Claims 2-20 and 22 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 3/4/2026. Claim 21 was canceled, claim 22 was added and claims 2-20 and 22 remain pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 3/4/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,882,462 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5,7-9,11-14,16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US Pub. 2021/0376894)(C1 hereafter) in view of Nam et al. (US Pub. 2013/0308715)(N1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 2,11 and 20, C1 teaches an apparatus (i.e. UE)[refer Fig. 25; 200] for wireless communication [paragraph 0144], comprising:
one or more processors [refer Fig. 25; 202], memory coupled with the one or more processors [refer Fig. 25; 204]; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors [paragraph 0533] to cause the apparatus to:
receive configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a transmission-reception point (i.e. base station) from which the apparatus is to receive periodic tracking reference signals (i.e. CSI-RS)[paragraph 0316](CSI-RSs are periodic)[paragraph 0277];
measure one or more periodic tracking reference signals (i.e. CSI-RS) from one or more transmission-reception points [paragraph 0324]; and
transmit a measurement report to the one or more transmission-reception points based at least in part on measurement of the one or more periodic tracking reference signals (i.e. measured CSI)[paragraph 0328].
However, C1 fails to disclose receive configuration information via radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a set of transmission-reception points from which the apparatus is to receive periodic tracking reference signals and the measuring of one or more periodic tracking reference signals is from one or more transmission-reception points of the set of transmission-reception points.
N1 discloses using RRC signaling to configure a set of CSI-RS access points (APs) and periodic reporting to be grouped under a particular identifier, such as a CSI group ID, to align a mobile station with CSI feedback [paragraph 0091], a mobile station can be configured with multiple CSI configuration groups [paragraph 0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 to incorporate the configuring of sets of CSI-RS (i.e. periodic tracking signal) access points (i.e. transmission-reception points) for reporting CSI feedback as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of allowing a mobile station to identify a strongest signal and associated signal strength from multiple CSI sources [refer N1; paragraph 0003].
Regarding claims 3,12 and 21, C1 in view of N1 teaches perform a beam management procedure [paragraph 0151] with the one or more transmission-reception points of the set of transmission-reception points [paragraph 0153] based at least in part on the measurement report [paragraph 0152].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, C1 in view of N1 teaches determining that at least one transmission-reception point of the set of transmission-reception points possesses a highest (i.e. best) reference signal received power among transmission-reception points associated with the apparatus [paragraph 0168].
Regarding claims 5 and 14, C1 teaches the configuration information is based at least in part on at least one periodic tracking reference signal (i.e. CSI-RS) received prior to the configuration information [paragraph 0316].
Regarding claims 7 and 16, C1 fails to disclose receiving the periodic tracking reference signals as separate tracking reference signals from each transmission-reception point of the set of transmission-reception points.
N1 discloses using RRC signaling to configure a set of CSI-RS access points (APs) and periodic reporting to be grouped under a particular identifier, such as a CSI group ID, to align a mobile station with CSI feedback [paragraph 0091], a mobile station can be configured with multiple CSI configuration groups [paragraph 0092], CSI-RS can be configured for primary and secondary groups (i.e. separate signals from each of the set)[paragraph 0110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 to incorporate the configuring of sets of CSI-RS (i.e. periodic tracking signal) access points (i.e. transmission-reception points) for reporting CSI feedback as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of allowing a mobile station to identify a strongest signal and associated signal strength from multiple CSI sources [refer N1; paragraph 0003].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, C1 fails to disclose receiving the periodic tracking reference signals as joint tracking reference signals from each transmission-reception point of the set of transmission-reception points.
N1 discloses using RRC signaling to configure a set of CSI-RS access points (APs) and periodic reporting to be grouped under a particular identifier, such as a CSI group ID (i.e. joint track reference signal), to align a mobile station with CSI feedback [paragraph 0091], a mobile station can be configured with multiple CSI configuration groups [paragraph 0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 to incorporate the configuring of sets of CSI-RS (i.e. periodic tracking signal) access points (i.e. transmission-reception points) for reporting CSI feedback as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of allowing a mobile station to identify a strongest signal and associated signal strength from multiple CSI sources [refer N1; paragraph 0003].
Regarding claims 9 and 18, C1 teaches transmitting a request for a tracking reference signal periodicity (i.e. CSI-RS) for one or more transmission-reception points of the set of transmission-reception points (a UE may request a BS to configure different beams for some or all RS resources or sets)[paragraph 0447].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of N1, as applied to claims 2 and 11, in further view of Ko et al. (US Pub. 2017/0134111)(K1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, C1 fails to disclose each transmission-reception point of the set of transmission-reception points has a different cell identification from every other transmission-reception point of the set of transmission-reception points.
K1 discloses, in the field of using multiple transmission and reception points [refer Abstract], that transmission/reception points can have different physical cell identities (PCI) assigned to them [paragraph 0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for a UE to acquire information about a cell, such as cell ID [refer C1; paragraph 0145] in view of W1 to incorporate multiple transmission and reception points that can have different cell identities assigned to them as taught by K1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known procedure within the field of endeavor to yield predictable results with multiple transmission and reception points in a communication system [refer K1; paragraph 0009].
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of N1, as applied to claims 2 and 11, in further view of Xu et al. (US Pub. 2023/0371054)(X1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, C1 fails to explicitly disclose transmitting the request via an uplink control channel, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), a combination of Layer-1 signaling and MAC-CE, RRC signaling, or combinations thereof.
X1 discloses, in the field controlling UE measurement reporting and control of reporting using RRC [paragraph 0058], a UE can request system information in which dedicated RRC signaling can be used for the request and delivery of system information [paragraph 0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 to incorporate the requesting of system information from a wireless device using RRC signaling as taught by X1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known procedure within the field of endeavor to yield predictable results with regards to UE measurement reporting and control of reporting [refer X1; paragraph 0058].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of N1, as applied to claim 2, in further view of Priyanto et al. (US Pub. 2023/0345455)(P1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 22, C1 fails to disclose that the periodic tracking reference signals are used to estimate at least one of a timing error or a frequency error.
P1 discloses the scheduling of reference signals, such as CSI-RS [paragraph 0074], that are usable for estimating time and/or frequency error [paragraph 0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for the use of CSI-RS [refer C1; paragraph 0316] to incorporate the use of reference signals for the estimation of time and/or frequency error as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide efficient estimation of frequency of errors of time and frequency [refer P1; paragraph 0008].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 2,11 and 20, applicant argues that the applied references does not teach the claim limitations, namely, “receiving configuration information via RRC signaling that indicates a set of transmission-reception points from which the UE is to receive periodic tracking reference signals and measuring one or more transmission-reception points of the set of transmission-reception points.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to the above-mentioned argument, examiner respectively disagrees. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, as required by MPEP 2111, a periodic tracking reference signal can be seen as any type of signaling transmitted in a network comprised of either multiple base stations or sources of transmission and reception (i.e. the claimed transmission-reception points) that can be used to reference, identify or otherwise compare network conditions, such as channel state information reference signals such as those taught by C1. C1 discloses the configuration and use of CSI-RS through RRC signaling [refer C1; paragraph 0316], the resource configurations of CSI-RSs are periodic [refer C1; paragraph 0277], and the CSI-RS are measured [refer C1; paragraph 0324]. Furthermore, C1 notes that a CSI-RS can be used as a tracking reference signal [refer C1; paragraph 0187], which allows for the interpretation of a CSI-RS to be seen as the claimed tracking reference signal.
Although C1 failed to disclose that the RRC signaling would provide information for a set of transmission-reception points and performing measurement for that set of transmission-reception points, N1 was cited for meeting this discrepancy. As was noted in the prior rejection, N1 was cited for disclosing RRC signaling to configure a set of CSI-RS access points (APs), which can be viewed as a set of transmission-reception points, and periodic reporting to be grouped under a particular identifier, such as a CSI group ID (i.e. joint track reference signal), to align a mobile station with CSI feedback [paragraph 0091], a mobile station can be configured with multiple CSI configuration groups [paragraph 0092]. N1 specifically refers to multiple transmission points with regards to a CSI configuration group [refer N1; paragraph 0109]. In light of this disclosure given the broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner reasoned that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrive at the claimed invention in which the teachings of C1 would be modified to incorporate RRC signaling, in which C1 specifically uses to set up CSI-RS resources [refer C1; paragraph 0316], to particularly configure CSI-RS access points (i.e. claimed set of transmission-reception points)[refer N1; paragraph 0081]. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412