DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2,4-9,13, and 23-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments / Status of Rejections
RE: Rejections of claims 5-9 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b):
Applicants have amended claims 1, 5-9 and 13 to provide antecedent basis and clarity to the claims.
Therefore, the amendments to the claims overcome the basis of the prior rejections of record. The rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejections of claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over by Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023), evidenced by Mohite et al (CTSNET.org, 2020) and Edelman et al (Annals of cardiothoracic surgery, 2013):
Applicants traverse the anticipation rejection on the grounds that Kothari does not disclose all limitations of current claim 1. Specifically, Applicants argue that the method taught by Kothari does not teach that the donor heart is maintained a predominantly non-beating state during a preservation stage because the OCS™ system eventually gets the heart to sinus rhythm either by the perfusate pressure or the use of the defibrillation pads.
The issue at hand is what is to be considered “the preservation stage”. Applicants appear to be arguing that the time beginning with the perfusate being pumped into the donor heart, re-initiation of beating, and then storage in the OCS up until transplantation, constitute the preservation stage of claim 1. Because the heart is made to beat during this period, Applicants assert the heart cannot be considered predominantly non-beating.
However because there is no time window or details associated with the preservation stage as claimed, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim permits for the preservation stage to be the period of time between harvest and restarting of beating, particularly the period wherein the perfusate is delivered, but the heart has not yet started beating. During this time, the heart is not beating. Adding temporal or duration limitations related to the preservation stage would likely assist in moving prosecution forward.
Therefore, the anticipation rejections with Kothari over claims 1-2 and 5 are maintained and modified below for amendments to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the applicant states that the Custodial is not used to maintain the potassium level in the perfusate during preservation.
The rejection has been reconsidered. The previous rejection is withdrawn and a modified rejection is made below to address current claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, as explained above in regard to claim 1, the duration of the preservation stage is not claimed. Therefore, the method taught by Kothari reads on the duration of the preservation stage and the heart is predominantly non-beating. When the heart is not beating, it is under the required threshold of does not exceed one-third of the normal number of contractions for the same period.
Therefore, the anticipation rejection made with Kothari over claim 8 is maintained/modified to address current claim limitations.
RE: Rejections of claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over by Yang et al (The Annals of thoracic surgery, 2013):
Applicants traverse on substantially the same grounds as above with Kothari et al, asserting that Yang et al re-establishes the heart in a beating state, and thus does not meet the claim limitation of predominantly non-beating during a preservation stage.
As above, the Office’s position is that the preservation stage is not sufficiently defined, thus under BRI, the period between harvest and re-establishing the beating is being considered to read on the preservation stage.
Therefore, the anticipation rejections with Yang over claim 1 is maintained and modified below for amendments to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Applicants state that Yang does not disclose if the values of ACT are less than 400 seconds, ACT is adjusted by adding heparin into perfusate, as stated in the claim.
In response, the arguments is not persuasive.
While Yang et al does not directly disclose the direct claim limitation, Yang et al monitored ACT and because the value was 480 seconds, did not proceed with administration of heparin. It is well known in the art that the administration of heparin during extracorporeal circulation (such as bypass or ex-vivo perfusion), that the maintenance of clotting time is essential (See, Bull et al, The Journal of thoracic and cardiovascular surgery, 1975). Bull et al further been established in the art, that during extracorporeal circulation, ACT is calculated and sufficient heparin administered to increase clotting time to 8 minutes or 480 seconds (See, Bull et al, p 688). Therefore, while Yang et al does not explicitly state, that heparin was not added because the ACT was 480, it is well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood why it was or was not administered in the instance of extracorporeal circulation as taught in Yang et al and evidenced by Bull et al.
Therefore, the rejections over claims 1 and 9 with Yang et al are maintained.
RE: Rejections of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over by Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023) and in view of Mohite et al (CTSNET.org, 2020):
Applicants traverse this rejection on the grounds that claim 4 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 is allowable per the arguments discussed about the beating status of the preservation taught by Kothari et al; therefore claim 4 cannot be rendered obvious.
In response, the argument is not persuasive.
As discussed above, claim 1 is not allowed as the rejection is maintained. Therefore, the explicit teaching of Mohite et al does render the claim obvious, as it teaches maintaining the perfusate at 34°C.
Therefore, the rejection over claim 4 with Kothari in view of Mohite et al is maintained.
RE: Rejections of claims 7, 13, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023) and evidenced by Edelman et al (Annals of cardiothoracic surgery, 2013):
Regrading claim 7, Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that the reasoning to add potassium to ensure non-beating state supplies insight of the invention from hindsight and Kothari nor Mohite provide motivation to add potassium ions to get the donor heart into non-beating state because it would be contrary to the purpose of the systems. Also, Applicants traverse on the grounds that claim 7 depends on claim 1, which applicants argue is allowable.
In response, the argument is not persuasive.
As discussed above about claim 1, the BRI of the claim, includes the time of procurement, cannulation, and beginning of perfusion, as preservation stage and therefore, claim 1 is not allowable. Mohite was not depended upon for the rejection of claim 7 and any teachings from there are not relevant for obviating this claim. Therefore, the use of a high potassium cardioplegia would provide motivation to further administer more if needed to get the heart in a non-beating state. As the addition of the cardioplegia occurs while the heart is cannulated while still in the donor, the temperature is approximately 37°C ± °C, this is done to get the donor heart to a non-beating state, and perfusate by definition is any liquid flowing through an organ, the method taught by Kothari obviates claim 7 (See, p2 paragraph 5).
Therefore, the rejection over claim 7 with Kothari evidenced by Edelman et al is maintained.
Regarding claim 13, Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that the XVIVO™ embodiment is for hypothermic preservation conditions and no longer reads on the scope of amended claim 1, that the claimed perfusion ratio is several times the value than that taught by the second embodiment of Kothari, and that claim 13 is dependent on claim 1 which the applicant argued is patentable.
In response, the argument is not persuasive.
As discussed above about claim 1, the BRI of the claim, includes the time of procurement, cannulation, and beginning of perfusion, as preservation stage and therefore, claim 1 is not allowable. In regard to the ratio, the previous office action acknowledged that the range taught by Kothari is not within the claimed range but because the ratio relies upon a variable that varies with each donor, optimization of general conditions that that are described by prior art that can be determined by routine experimentation renders a claim obvious.
Lastly, the amendment to claim 1 added the limitation that the perfusion with perfusate is at a temperature of 20-37°C during preservation stage; therefore, the
embodiment of XVIVO™ of Kothari no longer reads on claim 13, as the method is completed in hyperthermic conditions.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 13 as currently written is withdrawn and modified below to utilize an embodiment of Kothari that completes the method in normothermic conditions. This new rejection has been necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claim 23, Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that claim 23 is dependent on claim 1, which Applicants argue is allowable, and the reference, Kothari does not teach the cardioplegic solution is used to maintain a predominantly non-beating state during preservation.
In response, the argument is not persuasive.
As discussed above about claim 1, the BRI of the claim, includes the time of procurement, cannulation, and beginning of perfusion, as preservation stage and therefore, claim 1 is not allowable. Therefore, Kothari provides an embodiment that uses a cardioplegic solution in an aqueous solution containing the claimed elements to place the heart in a non-beating state.
Therefore, the rejection over claim 23 with Kothari evidenced by Edelman et al is maintained.
Maintained & Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023), evidenced by Mohite et al (CTSNET.org, 2020), Edelman et al (Annals of cardiothoracic surgery, 2013), and TransMedics® Organ Care System™ (OCS™ Heart User Guide, version 3.3.7, 2021).
Kothari teaches that heart transplantation is the gold standard treatment for end stage heart failure and there are two systems for prolonged organ preservation, TransMedics® Organ Care System™ (OCS™) and XVIVO™ device. The OCS™ system allows for ex vivo normothermic perfusion and the XVIVO™ device allows for hypothermic perfusion. (See, Abstract).
Kothari teaches that for ex-vivo normothermic perfusion with the OCS™ there are two methods that can be done for harvesting the heart depending on the patient outcome prior to donation (See, p2 paragraph 5). For brain death (DBD) donors once the organ has been checked for allograft quality, a cardioplegia cannula is placed into the aorta, and a venous cannula is placed in the right artium. Donor blood is collected, heparinized, to then be added to the OCS™ system to prime the system and to be mixed with the perfusion solution. The allograft is then procured with incisions at various major vessel sites. (See, p2 paragraph 5).
Kothari teaches that once the heart is removed from donor, it is prepared for attachment to the OCS™ for perfusion, which includes cannulating the aorta and pulmonary arteries that are attached to the circuit and the coronary perfusion with oxygenated blood begins (See, p 2-3, Figure 1). The perfusion solution is a mixture of donor blood, electrolytes, dextrose, heparin, steroids, insulin, and antibiotics to maintain the organ. Kothari teaches that generally after a few minutes of perfusion, the heart begins contracting and that the OCS™ has a built in defibrillation pads that allow for conversion to sinus rhythm (See, p10). The OCS™ creates a closed circuit, and the ideal flow rate is approximately, 700-800 mL/min (See, p3 and Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 1 and 8, Kothari teaches a method of preserving a donor heart, comprising perfusing donor heart with oxygenated blood based perfusate, wherein the donor heart is predominantly kept in a non-beating state. The donor heart isn’t beating until the continuous perfusion and that “generally happens”, implying it doesn’t always and needs assistance. In those embodiments where the continuous perfusion does not immediately result in beating and assistance is required, the period of perfusion prior to beating reads on a preservation stage and the heart is non-beating during this time. . It is emphasized the claim does not have a temporal or duration constraint on the preservation stage.
TransMedics® Organ Care System™ OCS™ Heart User Guide teaches that he initial parameters for the perfusion are at a temperature of 34°C (See, p65 ¶5.7, Table 9) therefore this reads on, …oxygenated blood based perfusate at a temperature of 20-37°C during a preservation stage. This range is fully within the currently claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches that during procurement a cannula is placed into the aorta for the cardioplegia solution. Therefore, the donor heart is put in a non-beating state with the cardioplegia solution, and the cardioplegic solution is administered before the preservation in the OCS™ is initiated.
Mohite et al provides a user guide for the Transmedic OCS™ that details the use of Brettschneider (HTK) also known as Custodiol®, a cardioplegic solution, during procurement transfer to OCS™ and thus the procured donor heart is in a non-beating state (See, p3). Edelman et al details the components and concentrations of Custodiol®; Custodiol® has a K+ (potassium ion) concentration of 9 mmol/L (=0.35188g/L) (See, p718 Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches cannulating the aorta and pulmonary arteries that are attached to the circuit and the coronary perfusion with oxygenated blood begins (See, p 2-3, Figure 1). The figure legend provides a guide for the blood /perfusion mix goes through; blood enters the heart through the aortic cannula and travels retrogradely to the coronary arteries. Deoxygenated blood enters the coronary sinus and drains to the right artium and right ventricle, where it is ejected out of pulmonary artery and then drained to the reservoir. The left atrial vent also drains to the reservoir. A pump then pushes the blood/perfusate mixture through the gas exchanger and heater, to recirculate through the donor heart (See, Figure 1 p3).
Regarding claim 6, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches the OCS™ is closed circuit and that the perfusion solution should include electrolytes. The Custodiol® used for cardioplegia has potassium ions concentration of 9 mmol/L.
Edelman et al teaches in Table 1, the ingredients and concentrations of Custodiol® (See, p718 Table 1). Edelman et al teaches that Custodiol® has a K+ (potassium ion) concentration of 9 mmol/L (=0.35188g/L).
The OCS™ user manual, details that the perfusate used is buffered with electrolytes, amino acids and glucose (See, p66; ¶5.8), and throughout the preservation the electrolytes levels are sampled and need replenishment during preservation (See, p67 ¶5.9.3) and potassium chloride is used for electrolyte balance (See, p 38 Table 5).
Therefore claims 1,2,5,6, and 8 are rejected as being anticipated by Kothari and evidenced by Mohite et al, Edelman et al, and TransMedics® Organ Care System™ User Guide.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (The Annals of thoracic surgery, 2013).
Yang et al teaches that preservation of donor hearts in beating status with continuous, normothermic, blood perfusion is an effective approach for long-term preservation and for heart transplantation (See, Abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al teaches in their method that for group A of pigs the hearts were procured, then placed in a perfusion solution of autologous blood depleted of leukocytes (by filtration) in a perfusion system. After the cannulas for the continuous perfusion are properly placed in major vessels, the heart is removed from the cavity and preserved in the storage reservoir for 8 hours in a beating state in normothermic blood perfusion. The perfusion rate is 100-120 mL/min, pressure was within 45 to 55 mm Hg, and temperature 37°C. (See, p2029 Methods). The period of time after perfusion starts, but before the heart is reanimated is being considered to read on the preservation stage. This reads on the limitations of the method of claim 1, wherein perfusing the donor heart with oxygenated blood based perfusate, wherein the donor heart is predominantly kept in a non-beating state, as the blood is mixed with the perfusate and the perfusion system provides gas during the circulation circuit for oxygenation, and lastly because the heart is stopped during procurement, it is predominately not beating.
Regarding claim 9, following the discussion above, Yang et al teaches that after procurement the perfusion solution had 3 mg of heparin, and throughout the process the activated clotting time (ACT) was tested, and it was longer than 480 seconds, therefore no more heparin was administered. This reads on the limitation of claim 9 where blood clotting ability is monitored and if less than 400 seconds, ACT is adjusted with heparin, due to the initial dose of heparin to get it within the necessary range.
Therefore claims 1 and 9 are rejected as being anticipated by Yang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023) as applied to claim 1,2,5-6,8 above, and further in view of Mohite et al (CTSNet.org, doi:10.25373/ctsnet.13374056, 2020).
The teachings of Kothari are set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches a method for ex-vivo normothermic preservation with the Transmedic OCS™.
Kothari does not teach the temperature or a range at which the method of normothermic preservation is completed in.
Mohite et al provides a user guide for the Transmedic OCS™ that details a method to use the system for normothermic preservation of donor heart. The Transmedic Organ Care System™ (OCS™) is a commercially available system that allows a beating donor heart to be maintained a normothermic conditions of 34°C and perfused with oxygenated perfusate/blood during the preservation process (See, p2). It would therefore have been at least prima facie obvious to have performed the ex-vivo normothermic preservation with the Transmedic OCS™ of Kothari at a temperature of 34°C based on the teachings of Mohite et al. The rationale for this conclusion of obviousness is the explicit teaching of Mohite et al. One would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully carrying out the method of Kothari at 34°C based on the disclosure of Mohrite et al. Therefore, claim 4 is rendered obvious over Kothari in view of Mohite et al.
Claims 7, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023), evidenced by Edelman et al (Annals of cardiothoracic surgery, 2013) and TransMedics® Organ Care System™ (OCS™ Heart User Guide, version 3.3.7, 2021).
The teachings of Kothari are set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches that for ex-vivo normothermic perfusion with the OCS™ there are two methods that can be done for harvesting the heart depending on the patient outcome prior to donation (See, p2 paragraph 5). For brain death (DBD) donors once the organ has been checked for allograft quality, a cardioplegia cannula is placed into the aorta, and a venous cannula is placed in the right artium.
Kothari does not explicitly teach the limitation, that if the heart begins to contract or enters bradycardia, to administer an additional dose of potassium ions into the perfusate.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Kothari to comprise an additional step of adding more potassium ions or cardioplegic solution with the potassium ions to a donor heart that has not fully stopped beating. One would be motivated to make this modification because the method requires a non-beating heart for transfer from donor to OCS™ for preservation, therefore ensuring it is in a non-beating state is essential.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because potassium ions are part of cardioplegia administered initially to achieve a non-beating state and is included in the perfusate solution for further maintenance of the donor heart.
Therefore claim 7 is rendered obvious over Kothari.
Regarding claim 13, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches the method for using the OCS™ that continuously perfuses the donor heart with oxygenated warm blood perfusate. The device is designed to maintain based on the User Guide, an average aortic pressure of 75-80 mm Hg and OCS™ coronary flow of 700-800 mL/min (See, p65 ¶5.7 Table 9). The average human heart can range in weight from 230-350 grams depending on size and gender; therefore, the ratio of perfusion pressure to mass of donor heart would range from, 0.22-0.32 mmHg/g. The second ratio of perfusion rate to donor heart mass would have a range of 2-3.4 mL/min/g.
The OCS™ user guide also teaches, pump flow and solution infusion rates should be set to optimize mean aortic pressure, coronary flow and heart rate, therefore providing motivation to optimize the parameter of the donor heart preservation method (See, p65 ¶5.7).
Kothari provides a range for the ratios of claim 13 and it varies based on the size of the donor heart; it would be readily determinable by one having ordinary skill in the art by routine experimentation to find the optimal perfusion pressure to mass ratio or perfusion rate to mass of donor heart ratio. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, claim 13 is rendered obvious over Kothari.
Regarding claim 23, following the discussion above, Kothari teaches the method of OCS™ for heart preservation and the use of perfusion solution, that is a mixture of donor blood, electrolytes, dextrose, heparin, steroids, insulin, and antibiotics to maintain the organ (See, p3). Potassium ions and magnesium chloride are known electrolytes. The Kothari method also teaches the use of cardioplegia, such as Custodiol®. Edelman et al teaches in Table 1, the ingredients and concentrations of Custodiol® (See, p718 Table 1). Table 1 of Edelman et al shows Custodiol® has a K+ (potassium ion) concentration of 9 mmol/L (=0.35188g/L), Mg2+ (magnesium ions) concentration of 4 mmol/L (= 0.097 grams/L), and a pH of 7.02-1.20. Edelman et al also teaches that the components of Custodiol® have a high histidine content buffers the acidosis to maintain the pH (See, p718 col 1 para 1). This shows that the perfusate would have an initial concentration of these values that would then be combined with the solution taught in the method of Kothari.
Kothari provides necessary elements required by the perfusion solution of claim 23 and it varies based on the volume of perfusate used in the OCS™ or other preservation system, it would be readily determinable by one having ordinary skill in the art by routine experimentation to find the optimal grams of electrolytes and buffer system for the perfusion solution. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore claim 23 is rendered obvious over Kothari and evidenced by Edelman et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari (Journal of cardiovascular development and disease, 2023) as applied to claim 1, 2, 5-6, 8 above, and in view of Kaliyev et al (Journal of cardiac surgery, 2019).
The teachings of Kothari are set forth above.
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Kothari teaches the administration of a cardioplegic solution during preservation of the donor heart but it silent on the temperature at which it is administered.
Kaliyev et al teaches the use of blood cardioplegia with OCS™ for ex vivo organ management. Kaliyev et al teaches that the use of the blood cardioplegia is a safe method for myocardial protection in distant procurement and preservation of donor hearts in OCS™ (See, Abstract).
Kaliyev et al teaches that during procurement, for the blood cardioplegia group, 500-750 mL of normothermic blood was collected for initial dose of cardioplegia (See, p970 col 2). Kaliyev et al teaches that the blood cardioplegia consisted of blood and crystalloid solution at a ratio of 5:1, that the crystalloid solution contained potassium chloride at 30 mL, and the total volume was 600 mL. Kaliyev et al teaches that in both groups that after cardioplegia the donor hearts were cannulated and connected to the OCS™ (See, p970 col 2). Kaliyev et al teaches that the use of induction of preservation with blood cardioplegia is associated with lower prevalence of post transplantation right heart insufficiency, arrhythmia, and evidence of ischemia when compared with standard cold cardioplegia (See, p972 col2).
This reads on, further comprising, prior to the preservation stage, arresting the donor heart in situ in the donor’s body by administering a normothermic potassium cardioplegic solution, and explanting the donor heart in the non-beating state for the preservation stage of claim 24.
This reads on, wherein the arresting in the donor and the perfusing during the preservation stage are each performed at a normothermic temperature of 20-37°C of claim 26.
Given that both Kothari and Kaliyev et al both teach donor heart preservation in OCS™ in normothermic conditions, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Kothari such that the cardioplegic solution was administered at normothermic temperatures, as taught by Kaliyev et al. As Kaliyev et al teaches the combination of crystalloid solution with potassium chloride and normothermic donor blood, the cardioplegic solution administered was normothermic temperature, between 20-37°C. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the outcomes of the donor heart post transplantation, as taught by Kaliyev et al. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Kaliyev et al.
Regarding claim 25, following the discussion above, Kaliyev et al teaches the ration of 1:5 of cardioplegia solution and donor blood. Kothari teaches that the cardioplegia cannula is placed into the aorta.
Therefore, this reads on, wherein the potassium cardioplegic solution is administered as mixture with the donor’s blood,…., into the aortic root of the donor heart of claim 26.
While the ratio taught by Kaliyev et al is above the claimed limitation of 1:2 for cardioplegia solution and donor’s blood, Kaliyev et al provides necessary elements required by the potassium cardioplegic solution mixture of claim 26. It would be readily determinable by one having ordinary skill in the art by routine experimentation to find the optimal ratio of cardioplegia solution to donor’s blood for an effective cardioplegic solution to arrest the heart. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, claims 24-26 are rendered obvious by Kothari in view of Kaliyev et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLINE M LARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633