DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 08/05/2026, claims 3-5 and 7-10 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, as originally filed, does not reasonably convey to one having ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention as now amended.
Applicant amended claim 3 to recite, inter alia:
“controlling, based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to operate in a second power mode in which power consumption is higher than a power consumption in a first power mode,” and
“wherein the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame.”
The originally filed disclosure has been reviewed, and adequate written-description support has not been found for the above newly added limitations and, particularly, for the claimed functional and temporal relationships among (1) receiving the predetermined frame, (2) controlling the communication apparatus, based on receiving the predetermined frame, to operate in a second power mode having higher power consumption than a first power mode, and (3) allowing the second access point to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on receiving the predetermined frame.
That is, the originally filed disclosure does not reasonably convey that Applicant was in possession, as of the filing date, of an embodiment in which receipt of the predetermined frame causes or provides the basis for controlling the communication apparatus to transition to or operate in the claimed higher-power second power mode, together with the further claimed relationship in which the second access point is allowed to transmit a frame while the communication apparatus operates in that second power mode based on receipt of the predetermined frame.
Although the originally filed disclosure may separately describe power-save/non-power-save operation, communications involving first and second access points, and/or Coordinated Spatial Reuse, disclosure of these individual concepts does not, without more, provide written-description support for the particular newly claimed combination and causal/temporal relationship among these features.
The written-description requirement does not require the originally filed disclosure to use the identical words subsequently introduced into a claim. Nevertheless, each newly added claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported by the application as originally filed. The originally filed disclosure must reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the presently claimed subject matter at the time of filing.
In the present case, Applicant has introduced a specific relationship requiring that receiving the predetermined frame serves as the basis for operation of the communication apparatus in the higher-power second power mode and that the second access point is permitted to transmit while the communication apparatus operates in that second power mode based on receipt of the predetermined frame. Such a relationship is not apparent from the application as originally filed.
Accordingly, the newly amended subject matter constitutes subject matter that is not adequately supported by the original disclosure, and claim 1 therefore fails to comply with the written-description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Dependent claims 3-5 and 8-10 are also rejected as being dependency upon the rejected base claims. Applicant is required to identify specific support in the application as originally filed that reasonably conveys possession of the above-recited combination and relationships, or amend the claim to correspond to subject matter adequately supported by the original disclosure.
Claim rejection - 35 USC § U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The limitation “wherein the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame” renders the scope of the claim unclear.
Specifically, it is unclear whether the phrase “based on the receiving of the predetermined frame” modifies “the second access point is allowed to send a frame,” such that the second access point is permitted to transmit the frame based on the communication apparatus receiving the predetermined frame, or instead modifies “the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode,” such that operation of the communication apparatus in the second power mode is based on receiving the predetermined frame while the second access point is permitted to transmit. These interpretations recite different functional relationships among the receipt of the predetermined frame, operation in the second power mode, and transmission by the second access point. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Applicant is invited to clarify the intended relationship between receiving the predetermined frame, operation of the communication apparatus in the second power mode, and the second access point being allowed to transmit the frame. Dependent claims 4-5 and 9-10 are also rejected as being dependency upon the rejected base claims. For the examination, Examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0120427 A1) in view of Boodannavar et al. (US 2016/0360489 A1), and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0070932 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Wang teaches a communication apparatus operating as a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard, the communication apparatus comprising:
at least one memory that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first access point of a first Basic Service Set (BSS) to which the communication apparatus belongs, a predetermined frame used in performing Coordinated Spatial Reuse between the first access point and a second access point of a second BSS, wherein, in the Coordinated Spatial Reuse, the first access point performs a transmission power control of the second access point (Wang- See, e.g., Wang's coordinated spatial reuse procedures of Figs. 9, 12, and 15-18. Wang teaches that each AP may request its associated STA to perform spatial-reuse measurements, including measurements relating to its own AP and one or more overlapping-BSS (OBSS) APs. The AP may transmit a Measurement Request element to its associated STA requesting measurement of an OBSS AP. The associated STA performs the requested measurement and reports information concerning the OBSS AP. Wang further teaches that the STA may measure received power from an OBSS trigger frame and determine path loss/space loss using transmission-power information associated with the OBSS AP. The resulting measurement information is used in determining and configuring subsequent coordinated spatial-reuse transmissions. See ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0045]).
Wang, however, does not explicitly describe controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption.
Boodannavar et al. teaches controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption. (See, e.g., Fig. 3]. Boodannavar teaches that controlling a wireless communication apparatus, in response to signaling received from its associated wireless access point, to leave a sleep/power-save operating state and operate in an active operating state and the wireless communication device receives a push notification from the WLAN access point. In response, the wireless communication device may exit its sleep state and perform communication requiring higher data throughput, including operating multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains in a MIMO mode. Accordingly, Boodannavar teaches a first operating mode corresponding to a sleep/power-save state and a second operating mode corresponding to an active state in which additional RF circuitry is operated and power consumption is correspondingly higher than in the sleep/power-save state. See ¶ [0037] and [0042])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang's associated STA such that, upon receiving Wang's Measurement Request or other predetermined signaling used for the coordinated spatial-reuse measurement procedure, the STA exits a first sleep/power-save mode and operates in a second active mode, as taught by Boodannavar.
Neither Wang nor Boodannavar explicitly states that wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode.
Han et al. expressly teaches such a feature wherein the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode (See, e.g., Han Figs. 8 and 9A-9B. Han teaches that AP1 determines a second transmission-power limit applicable to AP2 based upon path-loss and interference/SIR considerations. AP1 provides AP2 with information indicating the determined transmission-power limitation. Han further teaches an announcement frame containing AP identification information and corresponding maximum transmission-power information, allowing AP2 to identify the transmission-power level applicable to AP2.
Han further teaches sharing a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of AP1 with AP2 based upon the determined transmission-power limitation, such that AP2 is permitted to transmit a second PPDU during the shared TXOP while satisfying the transmission-power restriction determined by AP1. See ¶ [0071-0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode as taught by Han to have incorporated in the system of Wang, so that it would provide that the communication apparatus can receive and process the relevant OBSS signaling. During the coordinated spatial-reuse interval, the first AP controls the permitted transmission power of the second AP and permits the second AP to transmit under the determined power restriction.
Regarding claim 7: Wang teaches a communication method performed by a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard, the communication method comprising:
receiving, from a first access point of a first Basic Service Set (BSS) to which the communication apparatus belongs, a predetermined frame used in performing Coordinated Spatial Reuse between the first access point and a second access point of a second BSS, wherein, in the Coordinated Spatial Reuse, the first access point performs a transmission power control of the second access point (Wang- See, e.g., Wang's coordinated spatial reuse procedures of Figs. 9, 12, and 15-18. Wang teaches that each AP may request its associated STA to perform spatial-reuse measurements, including measurements relating to its own AP and one or more overlapping-BSS (OBSS) APs. The AP may transmit a Measurement Request element to its associated STA requesting measurement of an OBSS AP. The associated STA performs the requested measurement and reports information concerning the OBSS AP. Wang further teaches that the STA may measure received power from an OBSS trigger frame and determine path loss/space loss using transmission-power information associated with the OBSS AP. The resulting measurement information is used in determining and configuring subsequent coordinated spatial-reuse transmissions. See ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0045]).
Wang, however, does not explicitly describe controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption.
Boodannavar et al. teaches controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption. (See, e.g., Fig. 3]. Boodannavar teaches that controlling a wireless communication apparatus, in response to signaling received from its associated wireless access point, to leave a sleep/power-save operating state and operate in an active operating state and the wireless communication device receives a push notification from the WLAN access point. In response, the wireless communication device may exit its sleep state and perform communication requiring higher data throughput, including operating multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains in a MIMO mode. Accordingly, Boodannavar teaches a first operating mode corresponding to a sleep/power-save state and a second operating mode corresponding to an active state in which additional RF circuitry is operated and power consumption is correspondingly higher than in the sleep/power-save state. See ¶ [0037] and [0042])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang's associated STA such that, upon receiving Wang's Measurement Request or other predetermined signaling used for the coordinated spatial-reuse measurement procedure, the STA exits a first sleep/power-save mode and operates in a second active mode, as taught by Boodannavar.
Neither Wang nor Boodannavar explicitly states that wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode.
Han et al. expressly teaches such a feature wherein the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode (See, e.g., Han Figs. 8 and 9A-9B. Han teaches that AP1 determines a second transmission-power limit applicable to AP2 based upon path-loss and interference/SIR considerations. AP1 provides AP2 with information indicating the determined transmission-power limitation. Han further teaches an announcement frame containing AP identification information and corresponding maximum transmission-power information, allowing AP2 to identify the transmission-power level applicable to AP2.
Han further teaches sharing a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of AP1 with AP2 based upon the determined transmission-power limitation, such that AP2 is permitted to transmit a second PPDU during the shared TXOP while satisfying the transmission-power restriction determined by AP1. See ¶ [0071-0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode as taught by Han to have incorporated in the system of Wang, so that it would provide that the communication apparatus can receive and process the relevant OBSS signaling. During the coordinated spatial-reuse interval, the first AP controls the permitted transmission power of the second AP and permits the second AP to transmit under the determined power restriction.
Regarding claim 8: Wang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a communication method for a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard, the communication method comprising:
receiving, from a first access point of a first Basic Service Set (BSS) to which the communication apparatus belongs, a predetermined frame used in performing Coordinated Spatial Reuse between the first access point and a second access point of a second BSS, wherein, in the Coordinated Spatial Reuse, the first access point performs a transmission power control of the second access point (Wang- See, e.g., Wang's coordinated spatial reuse procedures of Figs. 9, 12, and 15-18. Wang teaches that each AP may request its associated STA to perform spatial-reuse measurements, including measurements relating to its own AP and one or more overlapping-BSS (OBSS) APs. The AP may transmit a Measurement Request element to its associated STA requesting measurement of an OBSS AP. The associated STA performs the requested measurement and reports information concerning the OBSS AP. Wang further teaches that the STA may measure received power from an OBSS trigger frame and determine path loss/space loss using transmission-power information associated with the OBSS AP. The resulting measurement information is used in determining and configuring subsequent coordinated spatial-reuse transmissions. See ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0045]).
Wang, however, does not explicitly describe controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption.
Boodannavar et al. teaches controlling, based on receiving the predetermined frame, the communication apparatus to change from a first lower-power mode to a second power mode having higher power consumption. (See, e.g., Fig. 3]. Boodannavar teaches that controlling a wireless communication apparatus, in response to signaling received from its associated wireless access point, to leave a sleep/power-save operating state and operate in an active operating state and the wireless communication device receives a push notification from the WLAN access point. In response, the wireless communication device may exit its sleep state and perform communication requiring higher data throughput, including operating multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains in a MIMO mode. Accordingly, Boodannavar teaches a first operating mode corresponding to a sleep/power-save state and a second operating mode corresponding to an active state in which additional RF circuitry is operated and power consumption is correspondingly higher than in the sleep/power-save state. See ¶ [0037] and [0042])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang's associated STA such that, upon receiving Wang's Measurement Request or other predetermined signaling used for the coordinated spatial-reuse measurement procedure, the STA exits a first sleep/power-save mode and operates in a second active mode, as taught by Boodannavar.
Neither Wang nor Boodannavar explicitly states that wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode.
Han et al. expressly teaches such a feature wherein the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode (See, e.g., Han Figs. 8 and 9A-9B. Han teaches that AP1 determines a second transmission-power limit applicable to AP2 based upon path-loss and interference/SIR considerations. AP1 provides AP2 with information indicating the determined transmission-power limitation. Han further teaches an announcement frame containing AP identification information and corresponding maximum transmission-power information, allowing AP2 to identify the transmission-power level applicable to AP2.
Han further teaches sharing a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of AP1 with AP2 based upon the determined transmission-power limitation, such that AP2 is permitted to transmit a second PPDU during the shared TXOP while satisfying the transmission-power restriction determined by AP1. See ¶ [0071-0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the second access point is allowed to send a frame while the communication apparatus operates in the second power mode based on the receiving of the predetermined frame, and wherein power modes of the communication apparatus include at least the first power mode and the second power mode as taught by Han to have incorporated in the system of Wang, so that it would provide that the communication apparatus can receive and process the relevant OBSS signaling. During the coordinated spatial-reuse interval, the first AP controls the permitted transmission power of the second AP and permits the second AP to transmit under the determined power restriction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment as filed on 08/05/82026, Applicant has amended all the independent claims. Thus, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3-5, and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416