DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 12/08/2023, claims 1-8 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 12/08/2023 have been reviewed and accepted.
35 U.S.C. 112(f): Claim Interpretations
Claim 1 recites "A communication apparatus…comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire…; and a notification unit configured to notify…", and thus the claim has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to acquire and notify” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
In view of the specification, the components of figure 3 appears to provide that the AP 102 includes an OBSS AP information acquisition unit 301, a frame generation unit 302, and a frame transmission/reception unit 303. These units may be configured by software, or a part or all of these units may be configured by hardware. The OBSS AP information acquisition unit 301 acquires Capability of the OB SS AP 105 as a target of CSR by receiving a beacon and a management frame from the OB SS AP 105. ¶ [0036] and ¶ [0037].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the term "unit' as simply a substitute for the term "means for' because "unit" would not be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as being sufficiently definite structure for performing the claimed function (see MPEP 2181(I.)).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Rejection Under 112 Second after being invoked under 112 f (sixth)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
After the claim construction analysis under 112(f) or Sixth Paragraph, the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification.
However, the written description provided in the specification does not clearly link to the structure (i.e., the notification unit) to perform the steps of the function listed on the claim. The current specification only provides the method to notify a station having established a connection with the communication apparatus of the information acquired by the acquisition unit and an instruction to not operate in a power save mode. The specification does not disclose enough detail about the notification unit (e.g., an algorithm for software, or a specific component for a hardware device) needed to perform the function described in the claim. Thus, the disclosed structure shown in the figure 3 is not sufficient to perform the claimed function [emphasis added]. See MPEP 2181 under Section II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. Thus, the claim must be rejected under 112(b), second paragraph. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. For the examination, Examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention fails to be limited to embodiments which fall within a statutory category. Claim 11 recites “a storage medium comprising instructions to be executed by a processor-based device” in line 3.
In view of the above, by disclosing "A storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a communication method… ", the medium comprises multiple processes that is a code/signal/program intended to be covered within the meaning. Thus, a transitory, propagating signal like the claim above is not within one of the four statutory categories. The claim fails to mention that "a non-transitory computer-readable medium" is stored with, or encoded with, or embedded with "computer executable instructions" and without these components the functionality of the claimed invention cannot be carried out.
In view of the specification of paragraph [0061], it recites “ a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits…”
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent (See MPEP 2111.01). A signal does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) because it is an ephemeral, transient signal and thus is non-statutory. Therefore, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as covering non-statutory subject matter (See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57) (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOODANNAVAR et al. (US 2016/0360489 A1) in view of PARK et al. (US 2023/0164695 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Boodannavar teaches a communication apparatus operating as an access point defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)802.11 standard (See Fig. 3: the WLAN technology can include a Wi-Fi (or more generically a WLAN) wireless communication subsystem or radio, the Wi-Fi radio can implement an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 technology, such as one or more of: IEEE 802.11a; IEEE 802.11b; IEEE 802.11g; IEEE 802.11-2007; IEEE 802.11n; IEEE 802.11-2012; IEEE 802.11ac; or other present or future developed IEEE 802.11 technologies. ¶ [0019]), the communication apparatus comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, in a case where the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus (See Fig. 3; In a third configuration 320, the wireless access point 210 can be configured to communicate/acquire with the wireless communication device 102 using multiple spatial streams in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) mode, e.g., at MIMO data rates, and the wireless communication device 102 can be also configured to transmit to and/or receive from the wireless AP 210 the multiple spatial streams using multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains. ¶ [0031]) operating as an access point defined by the IEEE802.11 standard cooperate to perform Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 4: The 802.11n wireless communication protocol provides for up to four different spatial streams with up to four separate RF transmit chains and four separate RF receive chains. Communication of each spatial stream can occupy a bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz. ¶ [0031]), information on the another communication apparatus (See Fig. 3: While associated with the WLAN access point 210, the wireless communication device 102 can scan for alternative access points (i.e., first and another APs) with which to associate and connect. ¶ [0038]); and
a notification unit configured to notify a station having established a connection with the communication apparatus of the information acquired by the acquisition unit and an instruction to not operate in a power save mode (See Fig. 3: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file (such as a photo). The wireless communication device 102 can be configured to determine which application launched and/or whether an associated file transfer to the WLAN access point 210 or from the WLAN access point 210 requires a high data throughput that can be provided by operating in a MIMO mode, at MIMO rates, with multiple RF transmit chains (for transfer of data to the WLAN access point 210) or with multiple RF receive chains (for reception of data from the WLAN access point 210). ¶ [0042]).
Even though, Boodannavar teaches the wireless access point to communicate using multiple spatial streams with the wireless (UE) device to notify to exit the sleep state (i.e., power save mode) by activating for using higher data rate throughput or transferring a large volume data file, Boodannavar doesn’t explicitly provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus.
However, Park discloses performing Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 23: In a WLAN system, the coordinated spatial reuse method is a method of reusing the same time-frequency resource in different spaces by using power strength. ¶ [0253]) and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus (See Fig. 24: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for…data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs (i.e., between the AP and another AP) when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps (i.e., either one of the APs could be analyzed as another communication apparatus). ¶ [0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Boodannavar, so that it would not only provide to alleviate/reduce the number of collisions with APs/STAs in a different BSS using coordinated scheduling but also increase the number/probability of parallel transmissions in a coordinated manner compared to spatial reuse. Park: ¶ [0248-0249].
Regarding claim 2; Boodannavar in view of Park teaches the communication apparatus wherein the notification unit notifies the information and the instruction by using a Measurement announcement frame defined by the IEEE802.11 standard (Park: In WLAN system…sharing channel feedback information (i.e., measurement announcement frame) and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps. ¶ [0253]).
Regarding claim 3; Boodannavar teaches a communication apparatus operating as a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)802.11 standard, the communication apparatus comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive, in a case where a first other communication apparatus operating as an access point defined by the IEEE802.11 standard (See Fig. 3; In a third configuration 320, the wireless access point 210 can be configured to communicate with the wireless communication device 102 using multiple spatial streams in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) mode, e.g., at MIMO data rates, and the wireless communication device 102 can be also configured to transmit to and/or receive from the wireless AP 210 the multiple spatial streams using multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains. ¶ [0031]) cooperate to perform Spatial streams (See Fig. 4: The 802.11n wireless communication protocol provides for up to four different spatial streams with up to four separate RF transmit chains and four separate RF receive chains. Communication of each spatial stream can occupy a bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz. ¶ [0031]), the second other communication apparatus and the first other communication apparatus having established a connection with the communication apparatus (See Fig. 3: While associated with the WLAN access point 210, the wireless communication device 102 can scan for alternative access points (i.e., first and second APs) with which to associate and connect. ¶ [0038]); and
a control unit configured to control, in a case where the reception unit receives the information, the communication apparatus not to operate in a power save mode (See Fig. 3: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file (such as a photo). The wireless communication device 102 can be configured to determine which application launched and/or whether an associated file transfer to the WLAN access point 210 or from the WLAN access point 210 requires a high data throughput that can be provided by operating in a MIMO mode, at MIMO rates, with multiple RF transmit chains (for transfer of data to the WLAN access point 210) or with multiple RF receive chains (for reception of data from the WLAN access point 210). ¶ [0042]).
Even though, Boodannavar teaches the wireless access point to communicate using multiple spatial streams with the wireless (UE) device to notify to exit the sleep state (i.e., power save mode) by activating for using higher data rate throughput or transferring a large volume data file, Boodannavar doesn’t explicitly provide performing Spatial Reuse and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus.
However, Park discloses performing Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 23: In a WLAN system, the coordinated spatial reuse method is a method of reusing the same time-frequency resource in different spaces by using power strength. ¶ [0253]) and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus (See Fig. 24: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for…data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps (i.e., either one of the APs could be analyzed as first and second other communication apparatuses). ¶ [0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Boodannavar, so that it would not only provide to alleviate/reduce the number of collisions with APs/STAs in a different BSS using coordinated scheduling but also increase the number/probability of parallel transmissions in a coordinated manner compared to spatial reuse. Park: ¶ [0248-0249].
Regarding claim 4; Boodannavar teaches the communication apparatus wherein the reception unit receives a Measurement announcement frame defined by the IEEE802.11 standard, and wherein the control unit sets a power management mode of the communication apparatus to an active mode based on information on the power management mode (Boodannavar: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file. ¶ [0042]) included in the Measurement announcement frame (Park: In WLAN system…sharing channel feedback information (i.e., measurement announcement frame) and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps. ¶ [0253]).
Regarding claim 5; Boodannavar in view of Park discloses the communication apparatus further comprising a transmission unit configured to receive a packet transmitted from the second other communication apparatus (Park: See Fig. 23: a sharing AP may obtain a channel between shared APs (i.e., second other communication apparatus) and a STA. For example, the sharing AP may obtain a channel between the shared APs and the STA through a sounding procedure, and may select shared APs for transmitting a signal to the STA based on obtained channel information. ¶ [0268]) after the control unit sets the power management mode of the communication apparatus to the active mode (Boodannavar: upon waking from an associated sleep state to an active state based on a user input to activate an application, the wireless communication device 102 can be configured to use a MIMO mode at MIMO rates matched to a higher bandwidth (if applicable for the associated WLAN access point 210) enabling the use of two spatial streams and two RF receive chains if the activated application is expected to use a higher data rate throughput or transfer a large volume data file. ¶ [0042]), and to transmit a Measurement announcement based on the reception to the first other communication apparatus having established the connection with the communication apparatus (Park: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for minimizing interference between BSSs in data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the APs, or for increasing data transmission efficiency by two or more APs participating at a specific time in data transmission and reception to and from the terminal. ¶ [0253]).
Regarding claim 6; Boodannavar teaches a communication method for a communication apparatus operating as an access point defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)802.11 standard, the communication method comprising:
acquiring, in a case where the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus (See Fig. 3; In a third configuration 320, the wireless access point 210 can be configured to communicate with the wireless communication device 102 using multiple spatial streams in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) mode, e.g., at MIMO data rates, and the wireless communication device 102 can be also configured to transmit to and/or receive from the wireless AP 210 the multiple spatial streams using multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains. ¶ [0031]) operating as an access point defined by the IEEE802.11 standard cooperate to perform Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 4: The 802.11n wireless communication protocol provides for up to four different spatial streams with up to four separate RF transmit chains and four separate RF receive chains. Communication of each spatial stream can occupy a bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz. ¶ [0031]), information on the another communication apparatus (See Fig. 3: While associated with the WLAN access point 210, the wireless communication device 102 can scan for alternative access points (i.e., first and another APs) with which to associate and connect. ¶ [0038]); and
notifying a station having established a connection with the communication apparatus of the information acquired by the acquisition unit and an instruction to not operate in a power save mode (See Fig. 3: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file (such as a photo). The wireless communication device 102 can be configured to determine which application launched and/or whether an associated file transfer to the WLAN access point 210 or from the WLAN access point 210 requires a high data throughput that can be provided by operating in a MIMO mode, at MIMO rates, with multiple RF transmit chains (for transfer of data to the WLAN access point 210) or with multiple RF receive chains (for reception of data from the WLAN access point 210). ¶ [0042]).
Even though, Boodannavar teaches the wireless access point to communicate using multiple spatial streams with the wireless (UE) device to notify to exit the sleep state (i.e., power save mode) by activating for using higher data rate throughput or transferring a large volume data file, Boodannavar doesn’t explicitly provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus.
However, Park discloses performing Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 23: In a WLAN system, the coordinated spatial reuse method is a method of reusing the same time-frequency resource in different spaces by using power strength. ¶ [0253]) and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus (See Fig. 24: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for…data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps (i.e., either one of the APs could be analyzed as another communication apparatus). ¶ [0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Boodannavar, so that it would not only provide to alleviate/reduce the number of collisions with APs/STAs in a different BSS using coordinated scheduling but also increase the number/probability of parallel transmissions in a coordinated manner compared to spatial reuse. Park: ¶ [0248-0249].
Regarding claim 7; Boodannavar teaches a communication method for a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)802.11 standard, the communication method comprising:
receiving, in a case where a first other communication apparatus operating as an access point defined by the IEEE802.11 standard (See Fig. 3; In a third configuration 320, the wireless access point 210 can be configured to communicate with the wireless communication device 102 using multiple spatial streams in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) mode, e.g., at MIMO data rates, and the wireless communication device 102 can be also configured to transmit to and/or receive from the wireless AP 210 the multiple spatial streams using multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains. ¶ [0031]) cooperate to perform Spatial streams (See Fig. 4: The 802.11n wireless communication protocol provides for up to four different spatial streams with up to four separate RF transmit chains and four separate RF receive chains. Communication of each spatial stream can occupy a bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz. ¶ [0031]), the second other communication apparatus and the first other communication apparatus having established a connection with the communication apparatus (See Fig. 3: While associated with the WLAN access point 210, the wireless communication device 102 can scan for alternative access points (i.e., first and second APs) with which to associate and connect. ¶ [0038]); and
controlling, in a case where the reception unit receives the information, the communication apparatus not to operate in a power save mode (See Fig. 3: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file (such as a photo). The wireless communication device 102 can be configured to determine which application launched and/or whether an associated file transfer to the WLAN access point 210 or from the WLAN access point 210 requires a high data throughput that can be provided by operating in a MIMO mode, at MIMO rates, with multiple RF transmit chains (for transfer of data to the WLAN access point 210) or with multiple RF receive chains (for reception of data from the WLAN access point 210). ¶ [0042]).
Even though, Boodannavar teaches the wireless access point to communicate using multiple spatial streams with the wireless (UE) device to notify to exit the sleep state (i.e., power save mode) by activating for using higher data rate throughput or transferring a large volume data file, Boodannavar doesn’t explicitly provide performing Spatial Reuse and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus.
However, Park discloses performing Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 23: In a WLAN system, the coordinated spatial reuse method is a method of reusing the same time-frequency resource in different spaces by using power strength. ¶ [0253]) and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus (See Fig. 24: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for…data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps (i.e., either one of the APs could be analyzed as first and second other communication apparatuses). ¶ [0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Boodannavar, so that it would not only provide to alleviate/reduce the number of collisions with APs/STAs in a different BSS using coordinated scheduling but also increase the number/probability of parallel transmissions in a coordinated manner compared to spatial reuse. Park: ¶ [0248-0249].
Regarding claim 8; Boodannavar teaches a storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a communication method for a station defined by an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)802.11 standard, the communication method comprising:
receiving, in a case where a first other communication apparatus operating as an access point defined by the IEEE802.11 standard (See Fig. 3; In a third configuration 320, the wireless access point 210 can be configured to communicate with the wireless communication device 102 using multiple spatial streams in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) mode, e.g., at MIMO data rates, and the wireless communication device 102 can be also configured to transmit to and/or receive from the wireless AP 210 the multiple spatial streams using multiple RF transmit chains and/or multiple RF receive chains. ¶ [0031]) cooperate to perform Spatial streams (See Fig. 4: The 802.11n wireless communication protocol provides for up to four different spatial streams with up to four separate RF transmit chains and four separate RF receive chains. Communication of each spatial stream can occupy a bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz. ¶ [0031]), the second other communication apparatus and the first other communication apparatus having established a connection with the communication apparatus (See Fig. 3: While associated with the WLAN access point 210, the wireless communication device 102 can scan for alternative access points (i.e., first and second APs) with which to associate and connect. ¶ [0038]); and
controlling, in a case where the reception unit receives the information, the communication apparatus not to operate in a power save mode (See Fig. 3: The wireless communication device 102 (i.e., the station) can receive a push notification (i.e., instruction) from the WLAN access point 210, such as for an email application or a social media application. The user of the wireless communication device 102 can respond to the push notification (which can be displayed to the user via the I/O element 308 of the wireless communication device 102) by unlocking the display (e.g., to exit the sleep state (i.e., not to operate in power saving mode) and respond to the push notification.)…which can benefit from a high data throughput connection and/or can seek to download and/or upload a high volume file (such as a photo). The wireless communication device 102 can be configured to determine which application launched and/or whether an associated file transfer to the WLAN access point 210 or from the WLAN access point 210 requires a high data throughput that can be provided by operating in a MIMO mode, at MIMO rates, with multiple RF transmit chains (for transfer of data to the WLAN access point 210) or with multiple RF receive chains (for reception of data from the WLAN access point 210). ¶ [0042]).
Even though, Boodannavar teaches the wireless access point to communicate using multiple spatial streams with the wireless (UE) device to notify to exit the sleep state (i.e., power save mode) by activating for using higher data rate throughput or transferring a large volume data file, Boodannavar doesn’t explicitly provide performing Spatial Reuse and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus.
However, Park discloses performing Spatial Reuse (See Fig. 23: In a WLAN system, the coordinated spatial reuse method is a method of reusing the same time-frequency resource in different spaces by using power strength. ¶ [0253]) and receiving information on the second other communication apparatus (See Fig. 24: In a WLAN system, multi-AP coordination technology is a method for…data transmission and reception by sharing channel feedback information and scheduling information on a terminal between APs when transmitting and receiving a data frame between the terminal and the Aps (i.e., either one of the APs could be analyzed as first and second other communication apparatuses). ¶ [0253]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide performing Spatial Reuse and acquiring information on the another communication apparatus as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Boodannavar, so that it would not only provide to alleviate/reduce the number of collisions with APs/STAs in a different BSS using coordinated scheduling but also increase the number/probability of parallel transmissions in a coordinated manner compared to spatial reuse. Park: ¶ [0248-0249].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SON et al. (US 2019/0159127 A1 to discuss Wireless Communication Method Using Wake-Up Radio and Wireless Communication Terminal Using Same ).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416