Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-15, 17, 19, 22, 24, 25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kusaka et al. US publication no.: US 2003/0057908 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kusaka et al. teach, An electrical power supply system comprising: a main electrical power supply system configured to generate (high voltage battery 10; inverter 12, figure 1), from a main electrical network, at least one polyphase voltage in order to supply at least one electrical load (three phase motor generator 14, figure 1) ; each electrical load having a winding for each phase of the respective polyphase voltage, the windings being connected together at a midpoint in a star connection (see the windings that are connected in a star configuration as seen in figure 1); an auxiliary power supply system (low voltage battery 20, figure 1) configured to supply power to an auxiliary electrical network, the auxiliary electrical network including a first and a second power supply terminals (see figure 1, where the low voltage battery contains two terminals) ; wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the at least one polyphase voltage with at least one non-zero homopolar component (see paragraph 62, where the voltage command for the high voltage battery system is disclosed), and the auxiliary power supply system comprises a connection module configured to connect the first power supply terminal to the midpoint (see figures 1 and 6 and paragraphs 53, 74 and 99, where one of the terminals of the low voltage system is connected to the midpoint of the windings) and the second power supply terminal to a reference point, for supplying the auxiliary electrical network via the at least one non-zero homopolar component, the respective homopolar component coming from the midpoint (see figures 1 and 6, where the low voltage battery is connected to the reference point/ earth) .
Regarding claim 3, Kusaka et al. teach, the system according to claim 1, wherein the reference point is a point substantially midway between potentials supplied by the main electrical network (see figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kusaka et al. teach, the system according to claim 3, wherein the potential of the substantially midway point is an average of the potentials supplied by the main electrical network at plus or minus 30% of the maximum potential among said supplied potentials (see figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kusaka et al. teach, the system according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrical network is a DC power network (see figures 1 and 6 and paragraph 53, where the low votlage battery is an aux battery utilized as a DC voltage).
Regarding claim 9, Kusaka et al. teach, An electrical installation comprising at least one electrical load, a main electrical network and a power supply system, wherein the power supply system is according to claim 1; the main power supply system being connected between the main electrical network and the at least one electrical load for supplying same with the at least one generated polyphase voltage; each electrical load including a winding for each phase of the respective polyphase voltage, the windings being connected to each other at a midpoint in a star connection.
Regarding claim 10, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 9, wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with an AC homopolar component (see the multi-phase voltage generate utilizing the inverter 12, figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 10, wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with the AC homopolar component having a voltage of zero mean value over a time period (see figures 3a-3b and paragraph 54 for PWM control).
Regarding claim 12, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 10, wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with the AC homopolar component having a current of zero mean value over a time period (see figures 3a-3b and paragraph 54 for PWM control).
Regarding claim 13, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 11, wherein the time period is a period of the polyphase voltage (see figure 1 and 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 14, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 11, wherein the time period is a time portion of a discharge cycle of the main electrical network when the main electrical network is in form of a battery (see figure 1 and 3a-3b, where it can be seen that the inverter is supplied with power from the battery 10 and therefore inherent that the time period of the PWM cycle is during the discharge period of the battery).
Regarding claim 15, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 14, wherein the time portion is selected from: a predefined duration of a few minutes, a half discharge cycle and the discharge cycle (see figures 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 17, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 9, wherein the main electrical network is a DC network apt to supply a DC voltage, and the main power supply system is configured to convert said DC voltage into the polyphase voltage (see battery 10 and inverter 12, figure 1).
Regarding claims 19, 22 and 25, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 18, wherein the reference point is connected to a terminal of a respective DC elementary source (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 24, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 17, wherein the main electrical network includes a single DC source, and the main power supply system includes a polyphase inverter apt to generate the polyphase voltage from said DC source (see high voltage battery 10 and inverter 12, figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 28, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 9, wherein each electrical load is an electric motor including a rotor and a stator, the windings connected in star connection being the windings of the stator (see motor 14, figures 1 and 6 connected in a star configuration).
Regarding claim 29, Kusaka et al. teach, the installation according to claim 28, wherein the electric motor is a synchronous motor with a wound rotor, called wound excitation, and the auxiliary power supply system being then preferentially configured to additionally supply the wound rotor of the synchronous motor (see paragraph 54 and figure 6, where the motor is PWM control and would rotor and wound excitation can easily be utilized as one of the applications controlled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka et al. US publication no.: US 2003/0057908 A1 in view of Peter et al. DE 10-2013-205869 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Kusaka et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the system according to claim 5, wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is a DC component, and the connection module is configured to directly connect the first supply terminal to the midpoint and the second supply terminal to the reference point.
However Peter et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is a DC component, and the connection module is configured to directly connect the first supply terminal to the midpoint and the second supply terminal to the reference point (see paragraphs 58-61 and figure 3).
In view of Peter et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kusaka et al. to include; wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is a DC component, and the connection module is configured to directly connect the first supply terminal to the midpoint and the second supply terminal to the reference point, for the purpose of improving the control of the motor drive system.
Regarding claim 7, Kusaka et al. is silent on specifically teaching, The system according to claim 5, wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is an AC component, and the connection module includes a rectifier suitable for converting each AC homopolar component into a DC voltage delivered to the auxiliary electrical network.
However Peter et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is an AC component, and the connection module includes a rectifier suitable for converting each AC homopolar component into a DC voltage delivered to the auxiliary electrical network. (see paragraphs 58-61 and figure 3)
In view of Peter et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kusaka et al. to include; wherein each homopolar component generated by the main power supply system is an AC component, and the connection module includes a rectifier suitable for converting each AC homopolar component into a DC voltage delivered to the auxiliary electrical network, for the purpose of improving the control of the motor drive system.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka et al. US publication no.: US 2003/0057908 A1 in view of Sahoo et al. US publication no.: US 2022/0103003 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Kusaka et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the system according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary power supply system further comprises an electrical isolation module connected at the output of the connection module and intended to be connected at the input of the auxiliary electrical network, the electrical insulation module including an electrical transformer with at least one primary winding and at least one secondary winding, an auxiliary inverter connected to the primary winding(s) and an auxiliary rectifier connected to the secondary winding(s).
However Sahoo et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the auxiliary power supply system further comprises an electrical isolation module connected at the output of the connection module and intended to be connected at the input of the auxiliary electrical network, the electrical insulation module including an electrical transformer with at least one primary winding and at least one secondary winding, an auxiliary inverter connected to the primary winding(s) and an auxiliary rectifier connected to the secondary winding(s) (see figure 1 and paragraph 27, where the separation of high-voltage system and low-voltage system is shown via galvanic isolation).
In view of Sahoo et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kusaka et al. to include; wherein the auxiliary power supply system further comprises an electrical isolation module connected at the output of the connection module and intended to be connected at the input of the auxiliary electrical network, the electrical insulation module including an electrical transformer with at least one primary winding and at least one secondary winding, an auxiliary inverter connected to the primary winding(s) and an auxiliary rectifier connected to the secondary winding(s), for the purpose of improving the control of the motor drive system.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka et al. US publication no.: US 2003/0057908 A1 in view of Raju et al. US publication no.: US 2010/0014325 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Kusaka et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the installation according to claim 10, wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with the AC homopolar component using at least one harmonic component of rank 3 for increasing the peak value of the voltage supplying the load.
However, Raju et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with the AC homopolar component using at least one harmonic component of rank 3 for increasing the peak value of the voltage supplying the load (see paragraphs 89, 101 and 108, where it can be seen that a third harmonic signal is utilized).
In view of Raju et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kusaka et al. to include; wherein the main power supply system is configured to generate the polyphase voltage with the AC homopolar component using at least one harmonic component of rank 3 for increasing the peak value of the voltage supplying the load), for the purpose of reduction of peak stresses.
Claims 18, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka et al. US publication no.: US 2003/0057908 A1 in view of Despesse US patent no.: US patent no.: US 10,044,069 B2.
Regarding claim 18, Kusaka et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the installation according to claim 17, wherein the main electrical network includes a plurality of DC elementary sources, and the main power supply system includes a plurality of single-phase inverters, each connected to a respective DC elementary source
However, Despesse is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the main electrical network includes a plurality of DC elementary sources, and the main power supply system includes a plurality of single-phase inverters, each connected to a respective DC elementary source (see figure 27 and col. 23, lines 29-65).
In view of Despesse’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Kusaka et al. to include; wherein the main electrical network includes a plurality of DC elementary sources, and the main power supply system includes a plurality of single-phase inverters, each connected to a respective DC elementary source, for the purpose of redundancy.
Regarding claims 20 and 23, Despesse teaches, The installation according to claim 18, wherein the reference point is connected to a terminal common to the DC elementary sources(see figure 27 and col. 23, lines 29-65).
Regarding claim 21, Despesse teaches, the installation according to claim 17, wherein the main electrical network includes a plurality of DC elementary sources, and the main power supply system includes a dynamic reconfiguration module suitable for generating the polyphase voltage via a dynamic reconfiguration of the DC elementary sources (see figure 27 and col. 23, lines 29-65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846