DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “creating, by the metaverse environment reader, a description of the first scene based on the indexing of the first scene, wherein the description is an audio, heptic, or braille representation of the first scene”.
In response: Alon in para. [0512] disclosed the system may be configured to output for display an index of the plurality of images of the plurality of complementary objects. An index may include a number, text, a symbol, etc. representing a corresponding image of a complementary object. The disclosed system may display the plurality of images of the complementary objects together with their respective indices on a display device. Also see para. [0274], note that displaying may include providing visual data (e.g., via projector or screen), audio data (e.g., by playing a sound on a speaker), and/or tactile data (e.g., via a haptic feedback device). Thus, the stated argument is not persuasive.
On page 9, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “conveying, by the metaverse environment reader, the one or more electrical signals encoded with the description of the first scene to a user device to be presented on a user interface”.
In response: Alon in para. [0287] explains that a scene may include a 3D representation of a living room encoded as a mesh as discussed above. To illustrate this principle, a mesh of a scene may in include establishing points that constitute a floor, a wall, a doorway, stairs, etc. para. [0497], note that the system may present a user interface that may display, for example, several cups and several suggested locations (e.g. next to a bottle, on the table). Note that the scene is presented for user. Thus, the stated argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 11, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alon et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0383115 A1, hereinafter “Alon”).
(1) regarding claim 1:
As shown in fig. 1, Alone disclosed a method (fig. 1, para. [0032], note that FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary system for augmenting or reconstructing a 2D or 3D scene or image), comprising:
receiving, by a metaverse environment reader, a first scene of a metaverse (para. [0248], note that at step 402, visual input reconstruction system 120 may receive or retrieve an input scene. An input scene may be received or retrieved from a data storage, consistent with disclosed embodiments);
performing, by the metaverse environment reader, semantic segmentation and object detection steps to identify a plurality of objects in the first scene (para. [0251], note that the visual input reconstruction system 120 may scan to detect an object such as a chair, a table, or a soda bottle. Other examples of objects are possible. Step 404 may include receiving or retrieving image object identifiers. Scanning may include object recognition algorithms (e.g., machine learning methods). Scanning may include determining or detecting an object insertion location);
indexing, by the metaverse environment reader, the plurality of objects of the first scene based on the semantic segmentation and object detection steps (para. [0252], note that input reconstruction system 120 may extract an object from scene. Extracting may include generating or copying image object data related to an object detected in a scene. The system may extract 2D or 3D shapes of objects or elements or portion of the scenes. For example, the system may generate a model of a detected game chair. Also see para. [0254]);
creating, by the metaverse environment reader, a description of the first scene based on the indexing of the first scene, wherein the description is an audio, haptic, or braille representation of the first scene (para. [0274], note that client device 110 may generate an interface at a headset, an LED screen, a touch screen, and/or any other screen. An interface may include input and output devices capable of receiving user input and providing information to a user, as described herein or any other type of interface. Displaying may include providing visual data (e.g., via projector or screen), audio data (e.g., by playing a sound on a speaker), and/or tactile data (e.g., via a haptic feedback device).);
generating, by the metaverse environment reader, one or more electrical signals which include an encoding of the description of the first scene (para. [0286], note that a scene may be configured for display via a device, such as a headset, a computer screen, a monitor, a projection, etc. Aspects of a scene may be encoded in a known format, such as 3D vector format, a Computer-Aided Design file, .FLV, .MP4, .AVI, .MPG, .MP3, .MOV, .F4V, .VR, or any other image, video, or model format).
Alon discloses most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching conveying, by the metaverse environment reader, the one or more electrical signals encoded with the description of the first scene to a user device to be presented on a user interface.
However, Alon teaches conveying, by the metaverse environment reader, the one or more electrical signals encoded with the description of the first scene to a user device to be presented on a user interface (para. [0287], note that a scene may include a 3D representation of a living room encoded as a mesh as discussed above. To illustrate this principle, a mesh of a scene may in include establishing points that constitute a floor, a wall, a doorway, stairs, etc. para. [0497], note that the system may present a user interface that may display, for example, several cups and several suggested locations (e.g. next to a bottle, on the table). The system may also permit a user to modify the location where the added object (e.g. cup) may be inserted in the scene).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach conveying, by the metaverse environment reader, the one or more electrical signals encoded with the description of the first scene to a user device to be presented on a user interface. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to generating, augmenting or reconstructing a two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) scene or image. More particularly, the disclosed embodiments are directed to receiving a scene from an audiovisual environment and altering, augmenting, or reconstructing one or more portions of the received scene (para. [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for Alon to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
(2) regarding claim 4:
Alone further disclosed the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the metaverse environment reader, a second scene of the metaverse, wherein objects in the second scene are labeled (para. [0329], note that at step 802, 3D generator system may receive a scene, consistent with disclosed embodiments. The scene may be a 2D or 3D scene. The scene may be incomplete (i.e., based on a scan that captures a partial representation of an object));
creating, by the metaverse environment reader, a second description of the second scene based on one or more labels of one or more objects in the second scene (para. [0330], note that at step 804, 3D generator system may segment a scene, consistent with disclosed embodiments. As described herein, segmenting may include partitioning (i.e., classifying) image elements of a scene into scene-components or objects such as table 806, sofa 808, chair 810, and/or other components or objects);
generating, by the metaverse environment reader, one or more second electrical signals which include an encoding of the second description of the second scene (para. [0330], note that step 804 may include generating a mesh, point cloud, or other representation of a scene. A scene-component may include a complete object (e.g., a cup), a part of an object (e.g., a handle of a cup), or a partial representation of an object (e.g., a cup as-viewed from one side).); and
conveying, by the metaverse environment reader, the one or more second electrical signals encoded with the second description of the first scene to the user device to be presented on the user interface (para. [0335], note that step 804 may include generating a mesh, point cloud, or other representation of a scene. A scene-component may include a complete object (e.g., a cup), a part of an object (e.g., a handle of a cup), or a partial representation of an object (e.g., a cup as-viewed from one side).).
(3) regarding claim 5:
Alone further disclosed the method of claim 4, further comprising generating a point of interest description describing metadata for the one or more objects in the second scene, wherein the metadata is not based on visual information of the second scene or of the one or more objects in the second scene (para. [0255], note that a scene may be classified as an indoor scene, an office scene, a reception hall scene, a sport venue scene, etc. Identifying or classifying a type of a scene in may be based on scene metadata describing or otherwise labeling a scene).
(4) regarding claim 6:
Alone further disclosed the method of claim 4, further comprising:
identifying, by an object reader, the plurality of objects in the first scene (para. [0251], note that at step 404, visual input reconstruction system 120 may scan an input scene for an object);
generating, by the object reader, descriptions of the plurality of objects in the first scene based on visual information associated with the plurality of objects (para. [0251], note that visual input reconstruction system 120 may scan to detect an object such as a chair, a table, or a soda bottle. Other examples of objects are possible. Step 404 may include receiving or retrieving image object identifiers. Scanning may include object recognition algorithms (e.g., machine learning methods)); and
generating, by the object reader, descriptions of the one or more objects in the second scene from the one or more labels (para. [0255], note that scanning may include identifying or classifying a type of scene based on detected and identified objects within a scene (e.g., objects may be detected that are associated with a kitchen, and a scene may be identified as a kitchen scene accordingly).).
The proposed rejection of claims 1 and 4-6, renders obvious the steps of claims 11, 14-16 and 20 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed rejection as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 1 and 4-6 are equally applicable to claims 11, 14-16 and 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-10, 12-13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art made of record does not teach “determining, by the metaverse environment reader, an order of importance of the plurality of objects in the first scene based at least on a location and a size of each object of the plurality of objects; and sorting, by the metaverse environment reader, the plurality of objects of the first scene based on the determined order of importance”, as recited in claims 2 and 12. Claims 3, 7-10 and 13, 17-19 depend on claims 2 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Canny et al. (US Patent Number 12,154,139 B2) disclosed systems are disclosed for determining contextual segments for targeting contextual advertising in metaverses. The system can deploy an observer avatar in a metaverse to capture information inside a portion of a metaverse from behaviors and interactions of a target user avatar.
Ummer (US Publication Number 2024/0295919 A1) disclosed a system for hosting a metaverse virtual conference (VC) includes a cloud server, at least one headset worn by a first participant, and at least one television device associated with a second participant. The television device includes a television screen, and an image capturing unit disposed on the television screen for capturing images of the second participant.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILINA K DEMETER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617