DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greaney et al. (US 2022/0184468) in view of Bennett et al. (US 2011/0177876).
Regarding claim 21-23, Greaney et al. discloses a club head having a face 145, sole 117, crown 119, hosel 120, and a head-shaft connection assembly (FCT)123. The club head includes a first material, second material, and third material. The first, second, and third materials each have a first, second and third densities, first, second, and third material volumes, and first, second, and third material masses (See Paragraph 0204, 0205, 0206, 0207). The first material mass is 25 to 55% of the total mass and the second material mass is 20 to 65% of the total head mass (see Paragraphs 205 and 206). The club head includes a metallic front body portion having a front opening and formed of a second material (See Paragraph 0173 and 0204). The club head has a mass of 190 to 210 grams and a volume of 390 to 600cc (See Paragraph 0091 and 0202). The club head also has a center of gravity with a head origin y-axis coordinate of 25 to 60mm (See Paragraph 0169). The Zup value of the club head is 22 to 39mm (See Paragraph 0167). The clubhead further has a moment of inertia about the Ixx and Izz axes of 300 to 360 kg-mm2 and 450 to 590 kg-mm2 respectively (See Paragraph 0090). The crown is made of a non-metallic material (See Paragraph 0216). The face portion is made of a non-metallic material (See Paragraph 0220). Greaney et al. discloses inertia values, center of gravity values, club head mass, volume, and material compositions that meet the claimed values of that of the applicant. Based on the above, the distribution of the mass and the mass ratios would already be present. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found any variation within the values above to be an obvious design choice. Greaney et al. does not disclose an adjustable head-shaft connection assembly. It should further be noted that vertical planes 1F-2F, 1R-9R, 1T-8T, 1H-8H, 1C-4C, and 1S-2S are merely locations directed to the length, height, and width of the club head and are met by Greaney et al. Bennett et al. discloses a club head having an interchangeable shaft system for adjusting the loft and or lie angle of the club head (See Paragraph 0126). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an adjustable head-shaft connection assembly, as taught by Bennett et al., in order to adjust the loft and lies angle of the club head.
Regarding claim 24, Greaney et al. discloses inertia values, center of gravity values, club head mass, volume, and material compositions that meet the claimed values of that of the applicant. Based on the above, the first and second material volume values would already be present. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found any variation within the values above to be an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 25, Greaney et al. discloses inertia values, center of gravity values, club head mass, volume, and material compositions that meet the claimed values of that of the applicant. Based on the above, the first and second material volume values would already be present. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found any variation within the values above to be an obvious design choice. Regarding claim 26, Greaney et al. discloses inertia values, center of gravity values, club head mass, volume, and material compositions that meet the claimed values of that of the applicant. Based on the above, the ratio of the material volume would already be present. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found any variation within the values above to be an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 27, see the above regarding claim 25.
Regarding claim 28, see the above regarding claim 25.
Regarding claim 29, see the above regarding claim 25.
Regarding claim 30, Greaney et al. discloses the second material mass being 40 to 130g (See Paragraph 0206).
Regarding claim 31, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 32, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 33, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 34, Greaney et al. discloses a rear weight 159 made of tungsten, which has a density greater than 7 g/cc (See Paragraph 0189).
Regarding claim 35, Greaney et al. discloses a forward weight 200 as one weight; however, applicant does not disclose why having the forward weight as two weights are critical in attaining the invention. Greaney et al. discloses the one weight, forward weight enabling the club head to achieve the same inertia values and weight disclosed by the applicant. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the number of forward weights to be an obvious choice of design.
Regarding claim 36, Greaney et al. discloses an aluminum ring 106 having a density of less than 3 g/cc based on material (See Paragraph 0209). Greaney et al. also disclose a crown insert covering a crown opening made of a lightweight composite having a mass of 9 g and a lightweight composite sole having a mass of 13 g(See Paragraph 0173).
Regarding claim 37, Greaney et al. discloses the rear weight attached to the ring (See Paragraph 0188).
Regarding claim 38, Greaney et al. discloses the aluminum ring attached to the metallic front body at a toe and heel ring joint (See Paragraph 0150)
Regarding claim 39, Greaney et al. discloses the heel joint distance being less than the toe joint distance (See Paragraph 0152). Greaney et al. Also notes that the distances are from 20 to 70mm from the center face. A toe joint distance of 70mm to a heel joint distance of 30mm would give the toe joint distance a percentage of over 100% greater than the heel joint distance.
Regarding claim 40, Greaney et al. discloses inertia values, center of gravity values, club head mass, volume, and material compositions that meet the claimed values of that of the applicant. Based on the above, the elevation of the heel and toe joint would already be present. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found any variation within the values above to be an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 41, Greaney eta l. disclose a portion of the aluminum ring located above an elevation of the center face and a portion below the elevation of the center face.
Regarding claim 42, see the above regrading claim 21.
Regarding claim 43, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 44, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 45, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 46, Greaney et al. discloses a rear ring portion 106 attached to the metallic front body and forming a crown opening (See Figure 12B and Paragraph 0150).
Regarding claim 47, see the above regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 48, see the above regarding claim 21.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711