Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 6/12/26 (hereinafter Response) has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1, 11-13, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification uses character reference 130 to designate the opening in ¶0028 but in ¶0026 character reference 126 is used. The use of character reference 130 in ¶0028 appears to be a typographical error because character reference 130 is also used to designate the gear 130, e.g., see ¶0027 and Fig. 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Based on the amendments to the claims the objection to claim 11 raised in the non-final office action mailed 3/25/26 (hereinafter Office Action) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase “wherein the body includes portions to flank the steering wheel and the flanking portions are arranged to grip the steering column in response to the clamp being tightened” is not disclosed in the originally filed Specification and thus is considered to be new matter. Although the originally filed Specification does provide support for the clamp 106, e.g., see Fig. 1 and [0024] and [0026] there is no specific support for “flanking portions are arranged to grip the steering wheel” because (a) it is unclear what the flanking portions are, (b) there is not disclosure as to gripping, and (c) it is unclear how they grip the steering wheel as claimed, the figures do not depict the body contacting the steering wheel in any capacity, the steering column yes, but not the steering wheel, and thus the newly added limitation fails the written description requirement and is considered to be new matter.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “is mounted to the steering column using at least one part” renders the claim indefinite because the term “at least one part” lacks clear antecedent basis as the term has already been introduced by the claim. Therefore it is unclear if the term is attempting to refer back to the previously introduced part or if a second/different part is being introduced.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0261988 A1 to Owens et al (hereinafter Owens).
Regarding claim 1, Owens discloses a method, comprising:
providing a vehicle (102a) to utilize a steering actuator (300) (Figs. 1 and 9 & [0030]-[0031]), the steering actuator (300) mountable to the vehicle (102a) using at least one part (810,820) (Figs. 11-12 & [0082]-[0084] disclose the brackets 810,820 are used to mount the steering actuator), the steering actuator including:
an external interface (216) to receive control signals from an external device (130) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034],[0039]);
a motor (340) for rotating a steering control (330) to steer the vehicle (Fig. 9 & [0059]); and
an enclosure (110) including a control system (202,204) to control the motor (340) based at least on part on the control signals received over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0039], [0041], [0049] disclose the steering actuator receives controls from either the CPU or the mission computer and that the CPU/mission computer can receive controls through the antennae from the mobile user device 130. The box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure);
an opening (A), said opening (A) characterized in that, when the steering actuator is installed in the vehicle (102a): a portion of the vehicle (602) extends through the opening (A), and a portion of a body (810) of the at least one part (810,820) is located within the opening (A) (Annotated Figs. 8A-C & [0082]-[0084] disclose and depict a portion of the body 810 being located within the opening A);
the method further comprising operating the control system (202,204) based on the received control signals to control the motor (340) and automatically steer the vehicle (102) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0031], [0039], [0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the steering control (330) comprises a circular steering control (330) (Fig. 9 depicts the steering controller 330 form a circular path to match the steering wheel. Note this interpretation is similar to that depicted by “circular arm 124” of Fig. 1 and [0025] of Applicant’s originally filed Specification).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the external device (130) comprises a user device (130) (Fig. 1 & [0033]-[0034] discloses the device may be a portable tablet), and the method further comprises:
coupling the user device (130) to the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]); and
inputting the control signals to the steering actuator (110) using the user device (130) and over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039] discloses the user can send steering controls from the tablet to the steering actuator via wireless communication from the tablet to the steering actuator and the control signals are received over the external interface 216).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, Owens further discloses wherein the user device comprises a smart phone, a tablet, or other mobile device (Fig. 1 & [0033]-[0034] discloses the device may be a portable tablet).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 3, Owens further discloses wherein the external interface (216) comprises a wireless transceiver (216), and wherein the method further comprises wirelessly coupling the user device (130) to the wireless transceiver (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 5, Owens further discloses wherein the wireless transceiver (216) comprises a short range radio (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the steering actuator (110) includes a drive assembly (320) coupled to the motor (340) for rotating the steering control (330) (Figs. 7-9 & [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses:
receiving global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals from an external antenna (216) located outside the enclosure and a GNSS receiver (210) located inside the enclosure (Figs. 1-2 & [0040]-[0041] disclose receiving GPS signals, GPS is a type of GNSS, via the antenna 216 and transmitting them to the GPS receiver 210 noting that the box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure and the antenna 216 is external to that box and thus is interpreted as being an external antenna); and
automatically steering the vehicle based at least in part on the GNSS signals (Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049] disclose receiving GPS signals and feeding them to the mission computer which provides commands to the CPU to control the vehicle via steering actuator 300).
Regarding claim 11, Owens discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a steering actuator (300) for turning a steering control (702) of a vehicle (102a), the steering actuator (300) to mount to a steering column (602,1002) below the steering control (702) using at least one part (810) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0084] bracket 810 is used to mount the actuator to the steering column which includes the housing 1002 and the column 602), the steering actuator including:
an opening (A) through which a portion (602) of the steering column (602,1002) extends when the steering actuator (300) is mounted to the steering column (602,1002) using at least one part (810), wherein an opening-defining portion of a frame (304,306,820) of the steering actuator (300) defines the opening (Annotated Figs. 8A-C and Figs. 11-12 & [0082]-[0084] and [0088]);
an external interface (216) to receive control signals from an external device (130) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034],[0039]);
a motor (340) for rotating the steering control (702) to steer the vehicle (102); and
an enclosure (110) including a control system (202,204) to control the motor (340) based at least in part on the control signals received over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0039], [0041], [0049] disclose the steering actuator receives controls from either the CPU or the mission computer and that the CPU/mission computer can receive controls through the antennae from the mobile user device 130. The box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure);
wherein the opening-defining portion of the frame (304,306,820) of the steering actuator (300) includes a front side (B) locatable below the steering control (702) when the steering actuator (300) is mounted to the steering column (602,1002) using the at least one part (810), and a back side (C) opposite the front side (B), the back side (C) further from the steering control (702) than the front side (B) when the steering actuator (300) is mounted to the steering column (602,1002) using the at least one part (810); the steering actuator (300) and a body (810) of the at least one part (810) characterized in that, when the steering actuator (300) is mounted to the steering column (602,1002) using the at least one part (810), a portion of the body (810) is spaced apart from the steering control (702) less than the back side (C), taken along one or more lines that are coincident with, or parallel with, an axis of rotation of the steering control (702) (Annotated Figs. 8A-C and 12 and Fig. 11 & [0082]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses wherein the steering column (602,1002) includes 1) an end on which the steering control (702) is mountable, and 2) a length below the end of the steering column (602,1002); wherein the steering actuator (300) is mountable on the length of the steering column (602,1002) (Figs. 8-12); and wherein the at least one part (810) includes another body, wherein the other body comprises a bracket, wherein the body comprises a clamp (Fig. 11 & [0085]-[0086] disclose that the part 810 includes a bracket, i.e., the other body part, for mounting the actuator 300 to the steering column housing and utilizes fasteners, e.g, screws or bolts, to secure the bracket to the upper portion of the frame 304 and the steering column housing 1002. Notably, fasteners under a broadest reasonable interpretation can be interpreted as being clamps because it generates a clamping force (often called preload or clamp load) that holds two or more parts tightly together).
Regarding claim 14, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,216,220,222,224), the method further comprising: receiving sensor signals from the at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,216,220,222,224); and automatically steering the vehicle (102a) based at least in part on the sensor signals (Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 15, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein the sensor signals comprise satellite system (GNSS) signals (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein the at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,220,222,224) is located in the enclosure (110) (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein one or more external components of the at least one sensor assembly (216) are located outside the enclosure (110) (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses wherein the steering actuator (300) comprises an upper section defining at least part of the enclosure (110), the upper section located (B) below the steering control (702) and a lower section (A) located below the upper section; and
wherein the motor (340) comprises a part of the lower section (A) of the steering actuator (300) and the upper section (B) is located between the steering control (702) and the motor (340) (Annotated Fig. 6 and Figs. 7-12 & [0082]-[0084] generally).
Regarding claim 20, Owens discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a vehicle (102a) including a steering assembly (Figs. 9-12 depict at least a portion of the steering assembly of the vehicle as including e.g., steering column 602,1002, steering wheel 702, steering actuator 300. See also Fig. 1 & [0079] and [0082]);
one or more user interfaces (218) in the vehicle; and
wherein the steering assembly includes a steering column (602,1002), a steering control (702), and a steering actuator (300) for turning the steering control (702), the steering actuator (300) mounted to the steering column (602,1002) using at least one part (810) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0084]), the steering actuator (300) including:
a motor (340) for rotating the steering control (702) to steer the vehicle (102a) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0082]); and
an enclosure (110,304,306,340,820) including a motor controller (202,204) to control the motor (340), wherein the motor controller (202,204) is controllable using inputs into the one or more user interfaces (218) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0042], [0044] disclose the enclosure includes a button or switch, i.e., a user interface, enabling control of the motor 340, e.g., by using buttons to engage/disengage manual/automatic control, emergency stop, system configuration. As shown in Fig. 2, the box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure in the block diagram and the equivalent structure of the block diagram is interpreted as being at least the physical structures depicted in Figs. 6,9, and 12.).
wherein an exterior of the enclosure (110,304,306,340,820) includes a front side (B) and a back side (C), in which a portion of the front side (B) of the exterior is coincident with a first plane (D), and a portion of the back side (C) of the exterior is coincident with a second plane (E), characterized in that the planes (D,E) are perpendicular with an axis of rotation of the steering control (702) and the second plane (E) is further from the steering control (702) than the first plane (D); the steering actuator (300) and a body of the at least one part (810) characterized in that, when the steering actuator (300) is mounted to the steering column (602,1002), a portion of the body (810) is located closer to the steering control (702) than said second plane (E) (Annotated Figs. 8A-C and 12 and Fig. 11 & [0082]-[0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens in view of US 2017/0248946 A1 to Ogura et al (hereinafter Ogura).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, although Owens discloses wirelessly communicating between the steering actuator and the user device as discussed above, Owens does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the hardware used for wireless transmission is a wireless transceiver comprising a WiFi transceiver.
Ogura teaches that it was old and well known in the art of remote steering control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the wireless transceiver to be a WiFi tranceiver (Fig. 2 & [0052] disclose the user remote control device 112 communicates with the control device 30 of the work vehicle 1 via communication devices 110 and 111, i.e., transceivers, which may communicate via WiFi, i.e., WiFi transceivers. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of Ogura with teaching of Owens since the combination of the two references is merely simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (KSR rationale B). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is, in the substitution of the Wifi transceiver of Ogura for the wireless transceiver of Owens. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens in view of US 2014/0074340 A1 to Wilson et al (hereinafter Wilson).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 1, although Owens discloses receiving … signals from a sensor located in the enclosure; and automatically steering the vehicle based at least in part on the … signals (Fig. 2 & [0046]-[0047]).
Owens does not appear to explicitly disclose: that the sensor is an internal measurement unit.
Wilson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of automatic vehicle control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for sensors utilized for vehicle control to include an inertial measurement unit ([0023]-[0024] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle control before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system disclosed by Owens to incorporate the for the sensors used to provide input to the control system to include an inertial measurement unit as taught by Wilson in order to improve steering control, e.g., see Wilson [0023]-[0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, depending on claim 14, Owens does not appear to further disclose wherein the sensor signals comprise inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals.
Wilson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of automatic vehicle control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for sensors signals utilized for vehicle control to include inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals ([0023]-[0024] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle control before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system disclosed by Owens to incorporate the for the sensors used to provide input to the control system to include sensor signals comprise inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals as taught by Wilson in order to improve steering control, e.g., see Wilson [0023]-[0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Response directed to the 35 USC §102 rejection of independent claims 1, 11, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Response pp. 8-11.
Applicant’s argument that Owens does not disclose the amended claim limitation of claim 11 because parts 820 and 810 are both further away from the steering control 702 than the parts 304,306 are understood, however, based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the amended claim limitations the argument is not persuasive in distinguishing Owens from the presently amended claims because based on the breadth of the claimed terms the interpretation of a frame of the steering actuator can include bracket 820 as discussed above and thus bracket 810 is closer to the steering wheel 702 than the backside of bracket 820. See Response pp. 9-11.
Regarding Applicant’s argument directed toward claim 20, the argument fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because it amounts to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. To the extent that an argument is made directed toward claim 20, the argument is not persuasive for the same reasons discussed above in relation to claim 11.
Applicant’s argument directed toward claim 1 is not persuasive because Applicant takes too narrow of a view of the claimed opening. As can be seen in Fig. 10, the bracket 810 is inside the opening defined by the parts 304,306 of the steering actuator 300 because it can be seen inside that free space. Applicant appears to be taking a narrow interpretation of opening such that only objects that are between the back plane and the front plane of the opening would meet the limitation, but that has not specifically been claimed and thus the argument is not persuasive.
Therefore this argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611