Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a motor for rotating the steering control to steer the vehicle” should be and is interpreted as “a motor for rotating the steering control to steer a[[the]] vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0261988 A1 to Owens et al (hereinafter Owens).
Regarding claim 1, Owens discloses a method, comprising:
providing a vehicle (102a) to utilize a steering actuator (300) (Figs. 1 and 9 & [0030]-[0031]) including:
an external interface (216) to receive control signals from an external device (130) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034],[0039]);
a motor (340) for rotating a steering control (330) to steer the vehicle (Fig. 9 & [0059]); and
an enclosure (110) including a control system (202,204) to control the motor (340) based at least on part on the control signals received over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0039], [0041], [0049] disclose the steering actuator receives controls from either the CPU or the mission computer and that the CPU/mission computer can receive controls through the antennae from the mobile user device 130. The box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure);
the method further comprising operating the control system (202,204) based on the received control signals to control the motor (340) and automatically steer the vehicle (102) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0031], [0039], [0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the steering control (330) comprises a circular steering control (330) (Fig. 9 depicts the steering controller 330 form a circular path to match the steering wheel. Note this interpretation is similar to that depicted by “circular arm 124” of Fig. 1 and [0025] of Applicant’s originally filed Specification).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the external device (130) comprises a user device (130) (Fig. 1 & [0033]-[0034] discloses the device may be a portable tablet), and the method further comprises:
coupling the user device (130) to the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]); and
inputting the control signals to the steering actuator (110) using the user device (130) and over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039] discloses the user can send steering controls from the tablet to the steering actuator via wireless communication from the tablet to the steering actuator and the control signals are received over the external interface 216).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, Owens further discloses wherein the user device comprises a smart phone, a tablet, or other mobile device (Fig. 1 & [0033]-[0034] discloses the device may be a portable tablet).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 3, Owens further discloses wherein the external interface (216) comprises a wireless transceiver (216), and wherein the method further comprises wirelessly coupling the user device (130) to the wireless transceiver (216) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 5, Owens further discloses wherein the wireless transceiver (216) comprises a short range radio (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses wherein the steering actuator (110) includes a drive assembly (320) coupled to the motor (340) for rotating the steering control (330) (Figs. 7-9 & [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 1, Owens further discloses:
receiving global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals from an external antenna (216) located outside the enclosure and a GNSS receiver (210) located inside the enclosure (Figs. 1-2 & [0040]-[0041] disclose receiving GPS signals, GPS is a type of GNSS, via the antenna 216 and transmitting them to the GPS receiver 210 noting that the box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure and the antenna 216 is external to that box and thus is interpreted as being an external antenna); and
automatically steering the vehicle based at least in part on the GNSS signals (Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049] disclose receiving GPS signals and feeding them to the mission computer which provides commands to the CPU to control the vehicle via steering actuator 300).
Regarding claim 11, Owens discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a steering actuator (300) for turning a steering control (702), the steering actuator (300) to mount to the steering column (602,1002) below the steering control (702) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0082]), the steering actuator including:
an external interface (216) to receive control signals from an external device (130) (Figs. 1-2 & [0033]-[0034],[0039]);
a motor (340) for rotating the steering control (702) to steer a[[the]] vehicle (102); and
an enclosure (110) including a control system (202,204) to control the motor (340) based at least on part on the control signals received over the external interface (216) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0039], [0041], [0049] disclose the steering actuator receives controls from either the CPU or the mission computer and that the CPU/mission computer can receive controls through the antennae from the mobile user device 130. The box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure).
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses wherein the steering column (602,1002) includes 1) an end on which the steering control (702) is mountable, and 2) a length below the end of the steering column (602,1002); wherein the steering actuator (300) is mountable on the length of the steering column (602,1002) (Figs. 8-12).
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses wherein the steering actuator (300) is configured to install on the steering column (602,1002) after the steering control (702) is mounted on the steering column (602,1002), without requiring removal of the steering control (702) from the steering column (602,1002) (Figs. 5 and 8-8C & [0066] and [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 14, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,216,220,222,224), the method further comprising: receiving sensor signals from the at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,216,220,222,224); and automatically steering the vehicle (102a) based at least in part on the sensor signals (Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 15, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein the sensor signals comprise satellite system (GNSS) signals (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein the at least one sensor or sensor assembly (210,220,222,224) is located in the enclosure (110) (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, depending on claim 14, Owens further discloses wherein one or more external components of the at least one sensor assembly (216) are located outside the enclosure (110) (see above rejection of claim 9 and Figs. 1-2 & [0039]-[0041], [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 11, Owens further discloses wherein the steering actuator (300) comprises an upper section defining at least part of the enclosure (110), the upper section located (B) below the steering control (702) and a lower section (A) located below the upper section; and
wherein the motor (340) comprises a part of the lower section (A) of the steering actuator (300) and the upper section (B) is located between the steering control (702) and the motor (340) (Annotated Fig. 6 and Figs. 7-12 & [0082]-[0084] generally).
Regarding claim 20, Owens discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a vehicle (102a) including a steering assembly (Figs. 9-12 depict at least a portion of the steering assembly of the vehicle as including e.g., steering column 602,1002, steering wheel 702, steering actuator 300. See also Fig. 1 & [0079] and [0082]);
one or more user interfaces (218) in the vehicle; and
wherein the steering assembly includes a steering column (602,1002), a steering control (702), and a steering actuator (300) for turning the steering control (702), the steering actuator (300) mounted to the steering column (602,1002) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0082]), the steering actuator (300) including:
a motor (340) for rotating the steering control (702) to steer the vehicle (102a) (Figs. 9-12 & [0081]-[0082]); and
an enclosure (110) including a motor controller (202,204) to control the motor (340), wherein the motor controller (202,204) is controllable using inputs into the one or more user interfaces (218) (Figs. 1-2 and 9 & [0042], [0044] disclose the enclosure includes a button or switch, i.e., a user interface, enabling control of the motor 340, e.g., by using buttons to engage/disengage manual/automatic control, emergency stop, system configuration. As shown in Fig. 2, the box surrounding the M-PAK 110 is interpreted as being the enclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens in view of US 2017/0248946 A1 to Ogura et al (hereinafter Ogura).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, although Owens discloses wirelessly communicating between the steering actuator and the user device as discussed above, Owens does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the hardware used for wireless transmission is a wireless transceiver comprising a WiFi transceiver.
Ogura teaches that it was old and well known in the art of remote steering control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the wireless transceiver to be a WiFi tranceiver (Fig. 2 & [0052] disclose the user remote control device 112 communicates with the control device 30 of the work vehicle 1 via communication devices 110 and 111, i.e., transceivers, which may communicate via WiFi, i.e., WiFi transceivers. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of Ogura with teaching of Owens since the combination of the two references is merely simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (KSR rationale B). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is, in the substitution of the Wifi transceiver of Ogura for the wireless transceiver of Owens. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens in view of US 2014/0074340 A1 to Wilson et al (hereinafter Wilson).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 1, although Owens discloses receiving … signals from a sensor located in the enclosure; and automatically steering the vehicle based at least in part on the … signals (Fig. 2 & [0046]-[0047]).
Owens does not appear to explicitly disclose: that the sensor is an internal measurement unit.
Wilson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of automatic vehicle control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for sensors utilized for vehicle control to include an inertial measurement unit ([0023]-[0024] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle control before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system disclosed by Owens to incorporate the for the sensors used to provide input to the control system to include an inertial measurement unit as taught by Wilson in order to improve steering control, e.g., see Wilson [0023]-[0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, depending on claim 14, Owens does not appear to further disclose wherein the sensor signals comprise inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals.
Wilson teaches that it was old and well known in the art of automatic vehicle control, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for sensors signals utilized for vehicle control to include inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals ([0023]-[0024] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle control before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system disclosed by Owens to incorporate the for the sensors used to provide input to the control system to include sensor signals comprise inertial measurement unit (IMU) signals as taught by Wilson in order to improve steering control, e.g., see Wilson [0023]-[0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
See the 892 for prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611