DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “wherein gear teeth of the second gear of the gear drive mechanism are formed on at least a part of an outer circumferential surface of the rotatable body of the screw-nut mechanism” of Claim 11 and “wherein the second gear is formed on” of Claim 20, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara (US 20180202504 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hara discloses an electromechanical brake system comprising: a screw-nut mechanism comprising a rotatable body (22) configured to be rotatable and a translatable body (28) operably coupled with the rotatable body (22), the translatable body (28) configured to be axially translatable relative to the rotatable body (22) to move a brake pad (18) according to rotation of the rotatable body (22) (see Fig. 1, [0049-0050]); and an actuator assembly (26) comprising: a motor (38) having a motor shaft (40), and a multiple-stage drive mechanism having a belt drive mechanism (44) and a gear drive mechanism (46, 48), the multiple-stage drive mechanism operably connecting between the motor shaft (40) and the rotatable body (22) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 1, wherein the belt drive mechanism (44) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a drive belt (56); a drive pulley (50) provided on the motor shaft (40); and a driven pulley (54) connected to the drive pulley (50) of the motor shaft (40) via the drive belt (56), wherein the driven pulley (54) is provided on an intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive (44) mechanism and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 3, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein a diameter of the drive pulley provided on the motor shaft (40) is smaller than a diameter of the driven pulley provided on the intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) (see Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 4, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a first gear (58) provided on the intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48); and a second gear (60) rotatably engaged with the first gear (58), provided on the intermediate shaft (52), to rotate the rotatable body of the screw-nut mechanism (22) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein a diameter of the first gear (58) provided on the intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) is smaller than a diameter of the second gear (60) configured to rotate the rotatable body (22) of the screw-nut mechanism according to rotation of the first gear (58) (see Fig. 2, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 6, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein the intermediate shaft (52) has a first portion where the driven pulley (54) of the belt drive mechanism connected to the drive pulley (50) of the motor shaft (40) is provided and a second portion where the first gear (58) of the gear drive mechanism rotatably engaged with the second gear (60) configured to rotate the rotatable body (22) of the screw-nut mechanism is provided (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein a diameter of the second gear (60) of the gear drive (46, 48) mechanism rotatably engaged with the first gear (58) provided on the intermediate shaft (52) is larger than an outer diameter of the rotatable body (22) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 17, Hara discloses an actuator assembly comprising: a motor (38) having a motor shaft (40); and a multiple-stage drive mechanism having a belt drive mechanism (44) and a gear drive mechanism (46, 48) and operably connecting between the motor shaft (40) and a rotatable body (22) of a screw-nut mechanism, which is operably coupled with a translatable body (28) of the screw-nut mechanism configured to be axially translatable relative to the rotatable body (22) to move a brake pad according to rotation of the rotatable body of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Hara discloses the actuator assembly of claim 17, wherein the belt drive mechanism (44) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a drive belt (56); a drive pulley (50) provided on the motor shaft (40); and a driven pulley (54) connected to the drive pulley (50) of the motor shaft (40) via the drive belt (56), wherein the driven pulley (54) is provided on an intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Hara discloses the actuator assembly of claim 18, wherein the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a first gear (58) provided on the intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) and the gear drive mechanism (46, 48); and a second gear (60) rotatably engaged with the first gear (58), provided on the intermediate shaft (52), to rotate the rotatable body (22) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 102411618 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an electromechanical brake system comprising: a screw-nut mechanism comprising a rotatable body (50) configured to be rotatable and a translatable body (40) operably coupled with the rotatable body (50), the translatable body (40) configured to be axially translatable relative to the rotatable body (50) to move a brake pad (11, 12) according to rotation of the rotatable body (50) (see Fig. 7, Fig. 9, [0047], [0051]); and an actuator assembly comprising: a motor (30) having a motor shaft (30a), and a multiple-stage drive mechanism having a belt drive mechanism (33) and a gear drive mechanism (35), the multiple-stage drive mechanism operably connecting between the motor shaft (30a) and the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4 Fig. 7, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 1, wherein the belt drive mechanism (33) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a drive belt (33); a drive pulley (31) provided on the motor shaft (30a); and a driven pulley (32) connected to the drive pulley (31) of the motor shaft (30a) via the drive belt (33), wherein the driven pulley (32) is provided on an intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive (33) mechanism and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 4, [0050-0051]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein a diameter of the drive pulley (31) provided on the motor shaft (30a) is smaller than a diameter of the driven pulley (32) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 4, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the gear drive mechanism (35) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35); and a second gear (35) rotatably engaged with the first gear (34), provided on the intermediate shaft (34), to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4, [0050-0051], [0058-0059]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein a diameter of the first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) is smaller than a diameter of the second gear (35) configured to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism according to rotation of the first gear (34) (see Fig. 4, [0015], [0050-0051]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein the intermediate shaft (34) has a first portion where the driven pulley (32) of the belt drive mechanism connected to the drive pulley (31) of the motor shaft (30a) is provided and a second portion where the first gear (34) of the gear drive mechanism rotatably engaged with the second gear (35) configured to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism is provided (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein gear teeth of the first gear (34) of the gear drive mechanism (35) are formed on at least a part of an outer circumferential surface of the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, [0050-0051]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein the first gear (34) of the gear drive mechanism (35) is fixed to the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 7, [0059]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the driven pulley (32) of the belt drive mechanism (33) connected to the drive pulley (31) of the motor shaft (30a) via the drive belt (33) is fixed to the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 7, [0059]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein the second gear (35) is fixed to the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism according to rotation of the first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 9, [0050]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the translatable body (40) of the screw-nut mechanism is arranged between the motor (30) and the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism has: an inner race of a bearing rotatably supporting the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 9, [0048]), and the second gear (35) rotatably engaged with the first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4, wherein a diameter of the second gear (35) of the gear drive (35) mechanism rotatably engaged with the first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) is larger than an outer diameter of the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses an actuator assembly comprising: a motor (30) having a motor shaft (30a); and a multiple-stage drive mechanism having a belt drive mechanism (33) and a gear drive mechanism (35) and operably connecting between the motor shaft (30a) and a rotatable body (50) of a screw-nut mechanism, which is operably coupled with a translatable body (40) of the screw-nut mechanism configured to be axially translatable relative to the rotatable body (50) to move a brake pad (11, 12) according to rotation of the rotatable body of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses the actuator assembly of claim 17, wherein the belt drive mechanism (33) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a drive belt (33); a drive pulley (31) provided on the motor shaft (30a); and a driven pulley (32) connected to the drive pulley (31) of the motor shaft (30a) via the drive belt (33), wherein the driven pulley (32) is provided on an intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses the actuator assembly of claim 18, wherein the gear drive mechanism (35) of the multiple-stage drive mechanism comprises: a first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35); and a second gear (35) rotatably engaged with the first gear (34), provided on the intermediate shaft (34), to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses the actuator assembly of claim 19, wherein the second gear (35) fixed to the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism to rotate the rotatable body (50) of the screw-nut mechanism according to rotation of the first gear (34) provided on the intermediate shaft (34) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (33) and the gear drive mechanism (35) (see Fig. 9, [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US 20180202504 A1) as applied to Claim 2, above, in view of Kinoshita et. al. (US 20220009463 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the intermediate shaft (52) operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism (44) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Hara does not disclose the gear drive mechanism (46, 48) having a flange protruding radially from an outer circumferential surface of the intermediate shaft.
Kinoshita teaches a rotating shaft (5) with a flange (5a) protruding radially from an outer circumferential surface (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to combine the flange of a rotating shaft of Kinoshita with the electromechanical brake system’s intermediate shaft of Hara in order to provide thrust support for the rotating intermediate shaft and prevent intermediate shaft misalignment while allowing axial rotation (see US 20220009463 A1 [Kinoshita]; [0023]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 102411618 B1) as applied to Claim 4, above, in view of Casadio (US 20250172180 A1). It should be noted while the publication date of Casadio is after the effective filling date of this application, Casadio qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) with an effective filling date prior to this application’s.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 4.
Kim does not disclose wherein the gear teeth of the second gear of the gear drive mechanism are formed on at least a part of an outer circumferential surface of the rotatable body of the screw-nut mechanism.
Casadio teaches a rotatable body of a screw-nut with external toothing of a second gear formed on the outer circumferential surface of rotatable body of a screw-nut mechanism (see Fig. 4, [0053], [0174]).
It would have been obvious to combine the external toothing formed on the outer circumferential surface of a rotatable body of a screw-nut of Casadio with the rotatable body and second gear in the electromechanical brake system of Kim in order to decrease the size of the electromechanical brake system and reduce maintenance costs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US 20180202504 A1) as applied to Claim 2, above, in view of Fujiwara et. al. (US 20030017899 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Hara discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein: the driven pulley provided on the intermediate shaft operably connecting between the belt drive mechanism and the gear drive mechanism (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Hara does not disclose the driven pulley having an inner wall fixedly coupled to the intermediate shaft and an outer wall having an outer surface rotatably engaged with the drive belt, and one or more bearings configured to rotatably support the inner wall of the driven pulley are disposed inside a space formed between the inner wall and the outer wall of the driven pulley.
Fujiwara teaches a driven pulley (2) having an inner wall (6) fixedly coupled to an intermediate shaft (1) (see Fig. 1, [0059]) and an outer wall having an outer surface (3) rotatably engaged with the drive belt (see [0042-0043]), and one or more bearings (19) configured to rotatably support the inner wall (6) of the driven pulley (2) are disposed inside a space formed between the inner wall (6) and the outer wall (3) of the driven pulley (2) (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to combine the driven pulley and bearings of Fujiwara with the intermediate shaft and electromechanical brake system of Hara in order to prevent the pulley from tilting or misaligning while operating (see US 20030017899 A1 [Fujiwara]; [0059]).
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616