Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the back tie structure, the zipper, the clamp/clasp, and the Velcro must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims must be un a one sentence format. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “a personalized outlook”, “is low in cost”, and provides the user the opportunity to change the outlook as often as required”. These phrases are vague and fail to distinctly claim the applicant’s invention. How is the “personalized outlook” being done? How is the device “low in cost”? How does the cover provide the user the opportunity to change the outlook as often as required”?
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the outlook". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claims recite a slip-on cover, a back tie cover, a zipper, a clamp/clasp, and a Velcro. However, paragraph 0006 of the specification indicates that the cover comprises slip-on cover, a back tie cover, a zipper, a clamp/clasp, or Velcro. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry (20050145095) in view of Reiss et al (20070163420).
Regarding claim 1, as the applicant’s invention is best understood, Larry discloses the use of a tuning peg cover with a fabric body (see paragraph 0012) and Velcro (paragraph 0016) as an attachment means.
Larry does not disclose the use of openings.
Reiss et al disclose the use of a headstock cover with openings for tuning pegs for the unobstructed playing a of guitar (see figures 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in Larry to include the holes as discloses in Reiss in order to provide access to the tuning pegs when needed.
Regarding claim 2, as the applicant’s invention is best understood, Larry discloses a protective tuning peg cover that is easy to install and remove via the velcro.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837