DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 4, 9, 11, 12; canceled claim: 6; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in pg.9 of the remarks that Butani et al. do not disclose: “control the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon-counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Para. [0045] of Butani et al. teach concurrently using a real-time camera, a photon-counting x-ray detector. Para. [0123] teaches the photon counting can be configured to capture different parts of the x-ray spectrum. Therefore, the rejection is maintained and made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani et al. (US 2021/0199603 A1; pub. Jul. 1, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Butani et al. disclose in a first embodiment: A cabinet x-ray image system for obtaining x-ray images and colorized or grey scale density x-ray images of a specimen, the system comprising:
a cabinet defining an interior chamber wherein the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber (para. [0072]), a door configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber for containing the specimen (para. [0015], [0072]); wherein confined within the cabinet are:
an optical camera configured to capture an optical image of the specimen (para. [0013])
an x-ray system including:
a multispectral x-ray source (abstract, para. [0041]);
an x-ray detector including a photon-counting detector (abstract, para. [0041]); and
a specimen platform (abstract);
a display (para. [0015]);
a controller configured to:
selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays through the specimen to the x-ray detector (para. [0016]);
determine the density of different areas of the specimen from data collected from the x-ray detector of the projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized (para. [0016]);
create a density x-ray image of the specimen wherein the densities of the different areas of the specimen are displayed via Analog Digital Units (para. [0101]-[0103]); and selectively display the density x-ray image of the specimen on the display (para. [0016]).
In the first embodiment Butani et al. are silent about: control the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon-counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized.
In a further embodiment Butani et al. disclose: control the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon-counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized (para. [0045], [0123]) motivated by the benefits for detecting different densities of the sample (Butani et al. para. [0123]).
In light of the benefits for detecting different densities of the sample as taught by Butani et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two embodiments of Butani et al.
Regarding claim 2, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for excised tissue, organ or bone specimens (para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for any organic or inorganic specimen that fits inside an x-ray cabinet (para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Butani et al. disclose: the cabinet x-ray image system further includes: an optical camera configured to capture an optical image of the specimen; and the controller is further configured to: control the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen; and selectively display the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the display (para. [0007], [0013], [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Butani et al. disclose: the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen are displayed overlaid (para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Butani et al. disclose: the x-ray source emits a first amount of x-rays;
the x-ray detector includes a plurality of pixels in an array, each pixel configured to detect a second amount of x-rays received by the pixel; and
the controller is further configured to:
create the density x-ray image from the plurality of pixels by comparing from the first amount of x-rays and the second amount of x-rays for each pixel in the array (para. [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, Butani et al. disclose: the different areas of the specimen of the density x-ray image are displayed in different grey scale, different color or different shades of color (para. [0101]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 8, Butani et al. disclose: A method for obtaining x-ray images and colorized or grey scale density x-ray images of a specimen using a cabinet x-ray image system, wherein the cabinet x- ray image system comprises: a cabinet defining an interior chamber wherein the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber, a door configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber for containing the specimen, wherein confined within the cabinet are: an optical camera configured to capture an optical image of the specimen; an x-ray system including: an x-ray source; an x-ray detector including a photon-counting detector; and a specimen platform; and; a display; a controller configured to: selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays through the specimen to the x- ray detector; control the optical camera and x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon- counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized; determine the density of different areas of the specimen from data collected from the x-ray detector of the projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized; create a density x-ray image of the specimen wherein the densities of the different areas of the specimen are displayed vis Analog Digital Units; and selectively display the density x-ray image of the specimen on the display, wherein the method comprises: controlling the x-ray detector to collect an x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized; determining the density of different areas of the specimen from data collected from the x-ray detector of the projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized; creating a density x-ray image of the specimen wherein the different areas of the specimen are indicated as a density or range of densities based on the determined density of different areas of the specimen; and selectively displaying the density x-ray image of the specimen on the display (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 9, Butani et al. disclose: the controller is further configured to:
control the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen; and
selectively display the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the display; and the method further includes
controlling the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen; and
selectively displaying the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the display (para. [0119]).
Regarding claim 10, Butani et al. disclose: the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen are displayed overlaid (para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Butani et al. disclose in a first method: A method for obtaining x-ray images and colorized or grey scale density x- ray images of a specimen using a cabinet x-ray image system (abstract), wherein the cabinet x-ray image system comprises:
a cabinet defining an interior chamber wherein the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber (para. [0072]), a door configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber for containing the specimen (para. [0015], [0072]);
wherein confined within the cabinet are:
an x-ray system including:
an x-ray source (abstract, para. [0041]);
an x-ray detector including a photon-counting detector (abstract, para. [0041]); and
a specimen platform (abstract);
a display (para. [0015]);
a controller configured to: selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays through the specimen to the photon-counting detector (para. [0016]);
wherein the method comprises:
controlling the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect an x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized (para. [0016]);
determining the density of different areas of the specimen from data collected from the x-ray detector of the projection x-ray image of the specimen when the x-ray source is energized (para. [0016]);
creating a density x-ray image of the specimen wherein the densities of the different areas of the specimen are displayed via Analog Digital Units (para. [0101]-[0103]); and
selectively displaying the density x-ray image of the specimen on the display (para. [0016]).
In the first method Butani et al. are silent about: control the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon- counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized.
In a further method Butani et al. disclose: control the optical camera and the x-ray detector to collect a projection x-ray image of the specimen including concurrently capturing a standard x-ray image, a photon- counting image, and a real-time image when the x-ray source is energized (para. [0045], [0123]) motivated by the benefits for detecting different densities of the sample (Butani et al. para. [0123]).
In light of the benefits for detecting different densities of the sample as taught by Butani et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two methods of Butani et al.
Regarding claim 12, Butani et al. disclose the controller is further configured to: control the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen (para. [0041]); and selectively display the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the display (para. [0016]); and the method further includes controlling the optical camera system to capture and collect the optical image of the specimen (para. [0041]); and selectively displaying the density x-ray image and the optical image of the specimen on the display (para. [0016]).
Regarding claim 13, Butani et al. disclose: the x-ray detector utilized performs photon-counting (para. [0019]).
Regarding claim 14, Butani et al. disclose: the photon-counting detector may be photomultipliers, Geiger counters, single-photon avalanche diodes, superconducting nanowire single-photon detectors, transition edge sensors, CCD, scintillation counters, and hybrid pixel photon counting detectors (para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Butani et al. disclose: the different areas of the specimen that are photon-counted are displayed in different grey scale, different color or different shades of color (para. [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884