DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claim: 1, 7; canceled claims: 5-6; the rest is unchanged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in pg.4 of the remarks that the prior arts are silent about: “control the optical camera to capture and collect a plurality of optical camera images of the specimen in color, wherein the plurality of optical camera images comprise multiple separately captured optical images of the specimen obtained at different times before the x-ray source irradiates the specimen”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Butani et al. (1) teach an optical camera in para. [0003]-[0008], [0034] to capture colored images of the sample being x-rayed. Para. [0003]-[0008] also teach the optical image is taken separately from the x-ray image. The optical image is taken to get the orientation of the sample being x-rayed; in other words an optical image is taken before the x-ray image. Para. [0094]-[0095] teach of Butani et al. (1) teach overlaying optical images. Additionally, the applicant asserts that the prior arts do not teach simultaneously taking images. Para. [0090] of Butani et al. teaches “In one embodiment, pressing this command can simultaneously or in substantially close proximity in time, the computer commands the optical camera and X-ray source in conjunction with the X-ray detector to capture images from both sources, the latter being an X-ray image or series of images from which tomosynthetic images can be assembled”. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani et al. (US 2021/0199603 A1; pub. Jul. 1, 2021) in view of Butani et al. (1) (US 2020/0340931 A1; pub. Oct. 29, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Butani et al. disclose: A cabinet x-ray irradiator and optical camera system for performing x-ray irradiation and optical images of a specimen (abstract), the system comprising: a cabinet defining an interior chamber (para. [0013]); a display (para. [0013]); an x-ray system including: an x-ray source (para. [0013]); and a specimen platform (para. [0013]); an optical camera configured to capture camera images of the specimen in color (para. [0013], [0051]); and a controller configured to: control the optical camera to capture and collect a plurality of optical camera images of the specimen in color (para. [0051]), wherein the plurality of optical camera images comprise multiple separately captured optical images of the specimen obtained at different times (para. [0084]); then, display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display in color (para. [0014], [0051]), selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays and irradiate through the specimen (para. [0118]-[0121]).
Butani et al. are silent about: the plurality of optical camera images comprise multiple separately captured optical images of the specimen obtained at different times before the x-ray source irradiates the specimen; then, and before the x-ray source is energized, display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display in color as overlaid together with one another to verify specimen orientation prior to irradiation; and after displaying the resultant plurality of optical camera images and in response to a confirmation of specimen orientation from the displayed plurality of optical camera images in color, selectively energize the x-ray source to emit X- rays and irradiate through the specimen.
In a similar field of endeavor Butani et al. (1) disclose: the plurality of optical camera images comprise multiple separately captured optical images of the specimen obtained at different times before the x-ray source irradiates the specimen; then, and before the x-ray source is energized (para. [0004], [0008] teach first getting an orientation of the specimen with a NIR camera/optical camera, para. [0034] teaches using the camera to imaged sample being x-rayed, para. [0094]-[0095]), display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display in color as overlaid together with one another to verify specimen orientation prior to irradiation (para. [0004], [0008] teach first getting an orientation of the specimen with a NIR camera/optical camera, para. [0094]-[0095]); and after displaying the resultant plurality of optical camera images and in response to a confirmation of specimen orientation from the displayed plurality of optical camera images in color, selectively energize the x-ray source to emit X- rays and irradiate through the specimen (para. [0004], [0008] teach first getting an orientation of the specimen with a NIR camera/optical camera, para. [0094]-[0095]) motivated by the benefits to efficiently provide accurate three-dimensional imaging of a specimen in which overlapping images having differing attenuation characteristics (Butani et al. (1) para. [0040]).
In light of the benefits to efficiently provide accurate three-dimensional imaging of a specimen in which overlapping images having differing attenuation characteristics as taught by Butani et al. (1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the apparatus of Butani et al. using the teachings of Butani et al. (1).
Regarding claim 2, Butani et al. disclose: the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber (para. [0072]), a door (fig.2 item 24) configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber within the interior chamber for containing the specimen.
Regarding claim 3, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for excised tissue, organ or bone specimens (para. [0005], [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for any organic or inorganic specimen that fits inside an x-ray cabinet (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Butani et al. disclose: the orientation of the specimen the optical image are substantially the same (para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 8, Butani et al. disclose: the controller is configured to selectively display the optical image on the display simultaneously side-by-side or picture-in-a-picture (para. [0118]).
Regarding claim 9, Butani et al. disclose: the plurality of optical camera images comprise reflected visible light or emitted electromagnetic wavelengths (para. [0119]).
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884