DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claim: 1; canceled claims: 5-6; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butani et al. (US 2021/0199603 A1; pub. Jul. 1, 2021) in view of Butani et al. (1)(US 2020/0340931 A1; pub. Oct. 29, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Butani et al. disclose: A cabinet x-ray irradiator and optical camera system for performing x-ray irradiation and optical images of a specimen (abstract), the system comprising: a cabinet defining an interior chamber (para. [0013]); a display (para. [0013]); an x-ray system including: an x-ray source (para. [0013]); and a specimen platform (para. [0013]); an optical camera configured to capture camera images of the specimen (para. [0013]); and a controller configured to: control the optical camera to capture and collect a plurality of optical camera images of the specimen wherein the plurality of optical camera images comprise multiple separately captured optical images of the specimen obtained at different times (para. [0084]); then, display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display (para. [0014]), selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays and irradiate through the specimen; then, selectively display the plurality of optical camera images overlaid on the display (para. [0118]-[0121]).
Butani et al. are silent about: before the x-ray source is energized, display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display as overlaid together with one another to verify specimen orientation prior to irradiation; after displaying the resultant plurality of optical camera images, selectively energize the x-ray source to emit x-rays and irradiate through the specimen; then, selectively display the plurality of optical camera images overlaid on the display.
In a similar field of endeavor Butani et al. (1) disclose: before the x-ray source is energized, display the resultant plurality of optical camera images of the specimen on the display as overlaid together with one another to verify specimen orientation prior to irradiation (para. [0004], [0008] teach first getting an orientation of the specimen with a NIR camera/optical camera, para. [0094]-[0095]); after displaying the resultant plurality of optical camera images (para. [0094]-[0095]) motivated by the benefits to efficiently provide accurate three-dimensional imaging of a specimen in which overlapping images having differing attenuation characteristics (Butani et al. (1) para. [0040]).
In light of the benefits to efficiently provide accurate three-dimensional imaging of a specimen in which overlapping images having differing attenuation characteristics as taught by Butani et al. (1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the apparatus of Butani et al. using the teachings of Butani et al. (1).
Regarding claim 2, Butani et al. disclose: the cabinet comprises a walled enclosure surrounding the interior chamber (para. [0072]), a door (fig.2 item 24) configured to cover the interior chamber and a sampling chamber within the interior chamber for containing the specimen.
Regarding claim 3, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for excised tissue, organ or bone specimens (para. [0005], [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Butani et al. disclose: the specimen platform is configured for any organic or inorganic specimen that fits inside an x-ray cabinet (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Butani et al. disclose: the orientation of the specimen the optical image are substantially the same (para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 8, Butani et al. disclose: the controller is configured to selectively display the optical image on the display simultaneously side-by-side or picture-in-a-picture (para. [0118]).
Regarding claim 9, Butani et al. disclose: the plurality of optical camera images comprise reflected visible light or emitted electromagnetic wavelengths (para. [0119]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884