DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 16-18 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudisill et al. (WO 2017/069778).
Regarding claim 1, Rudisill et al. discloses a 3D printing method including a polymeric composite building material including polymer particles as a powder bed. (Abstract, par. [0007], [0012] and [0018]). A fusing agent composition is applied to the polymer particles (Abstract) and includes a plasmonic resonance absorber which converts absorbed radiation to heat (i.e. radiation absorber) (par. [0026]), water (par. [0031]-[0032]) and a co-solvent such as triethylene glycol in amounts of 10-80 wt%. (par. [0035]-[0036) as well as specific co-solvent amount of 20 wt% in Table 1 which teaches the present range with sufficient specificity as to anticipate the claim. (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding claim 2, the radiation absorbing material includes metal nanoparticles (par. [0028]-[0029]) or carbon black. (par. [0091])
Regarding claims 3 and 25, the polymer particles include PA66, PA9, PA11, PA12, PA6/12, polyethylene, polyurethane, polypropylene, polyester, polycarbonate and polystyrene. (par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, the radiation absorbing material includes carbon black (par. [0091]) and the polymer particles include PA12 (par. [0012] and [0091]).
Regarding claim 16, triethylene glycol is used in amounts of 10-80 wt%. (par. [0035]-[0036) as well as specific co-solvent amount of 20 wt% in Table 1 which teaches the present range with sufficient specificity as to anticipate the claim. (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding claims 17-18, the amount of plasmonic resonance absorber is in an amount of 1-20wt% of the total weight of the fusing agent. (par. [0030]).
Regarding claim 23, the polymer particles have diameters in the range of 5-100 microns. (par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 24, the melting point of the polymer particles is in the range of 50-400oC. (par. [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudisill et al. (WO 2017/069778)
Regarding claim 19, Rudisill et al. discloses using one or more co-solvents in combination wherein the total amount of co-solvents is in the range of 10-80wt%. (par. [0036]). The amount of each co-solvent would therefore have been a matter of routine optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art so long as the total amount falls within the range taught by Rudisill et al. to obtain the benefits from the inclusion of the co-solvent in the fusing agent composition.
Regarding claim 22, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Rudisill et al. discloses: triethylene glycol is used in amounts of 10-80 wt%. (par. [0035]-[0036) as well as specific co-solvent amount of 20 wt% in Table 1, one or more co-solvents in combination wherein the total amount of co-solvents is in the range of 10-80wt%. (par. [0036]) and therefore the specific amount of each co-solvent would therefore have been a matter of routine optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art, an amount of plasmonic resonance absorber is in an amount of 1-20wt% of the total weight of the fusing agent (par. [0030]) wherein the radiation absorber may include carbon black (par. [0091]), one or more additives such as a surfactant in an amount of 0.1-3wt% (par. [0035]) and a water-based vehicle (par. [0032]) which would therefore cover the balance of the fusing agent composition.
Regarding claim 26, the polymer particles may include ceramic particles (i.e. filler particles in an amount of 1-20wt% (par. [0013]), therefore the ceramic particles are included in an amount up to 1/5th the content of the polymer particles.
Claims 5 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudisill et al. (WO 2017/069778) in view of Emamjomeh et al. (WO 2016/171724).
Rudisill et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Rudisill et al. does not disclose a detailing agent.
Emamjomeh et al. disclose a detailing agent for 3D printing which reduces the degree of coalescence bleed by reducing the temperature of the powder bed (Abstract and par. [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a detailing agent in the 3D printing composition of Rudisill et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a detailing agent in Rudisill et al. for the purpose of reducing coalescence bleed to provide an improved 3D printed object.
Regarding claim 20, the detailing agent includes a co-solvent including propylene glycol methyl ether and ethylene glycol butyl ether. (par. [0044]).
Regarding claim 21, the content of water in the detailing agent is at least 85wt% due to the amounts of the other components: colorant, surfactant, co-solvent and balance of water (par. [0034]) (1-3wt% colorant: Abstract, 0.1-5wt% surfactant: par. [0043] and 1-20wt% co-solvent: par. [0044]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 09/10/2025