DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the schedule (claims 1 and 11), the clam-shell (claim 2), and the magnetic attachment of the elongated coded section to the elongated member body (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification does not mention a “clam-shell” (claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “clam-shell” is not understood in this context. As mentioned above, the specification does not use this term, and it is not understood to what disclosed structure it refers.
Regarding claim 5, there is no antecedent basis for “said color.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cerniglia (2020/0394938).
Regarding claim 1, Cerniglia discloses a labeling kit comprising: a plurality of attachment members (154, Fig. 20) each configured to be removably retained about a working member (152, Fig. 20), wherein each attachment member has a coded identifier (paragraph 0067); and a schedule (150, Fig. 20) that includes a coded identifier that matches the coded identifier of the attachment members (paragraph 0067), and wherein the schedule is capable of being customized with indicia provided by a user (i.e., a user can write on schedule 150, if desired).
Regarding claim 3, each attachment member (154, Fig. 20) comprises an elongated member that is wrapped around the working member (152, Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 20 shows that the background color of the indicia “300” extends to only about half of the attachment member (154).
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph 0056 and note that Cerniglia discloses varying the number of background colors. Further, Fig. 20 illustrates different background colors for the indicia “300” and the indicia “2”. Figs. 8-10 likewise illustrate a pattern of multiple colors on the attachment members.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 20 shows that the code identifiers on attachment member (154) comprise a design pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerniglia (2020/0394938) in view of Hawker (5,115,586).
Cerniglia discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Cerniglia does not disclose how the attachment member is attached to the working member, except to say that it is “wrapped around the hose” (paragraph 0059). Hawker teaches attaching an identifier to a cylindrical member via a clam-shell arrangement. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the attachment member disclosed by Cerniglia to the working member via a clam-shell arrangement, as taught by Hawker, in order to enable the attachment member to be readily attached and removed from the working member as desired.
Claims 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerniglia (2020/0394938) in view of Meyers (2021/0398457).
Cerniglia discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Cerniglia does not disclose how the attachment member is attached to the working member, except to say that it is “wrapped around the hose” (paragraph 0059). Meyers teaches attaching an identifier (11, Fig. 1) to a cylindrical member via zip ties (16, 18, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the attachment member disclosed by Cerniglia to the working member via zip ties, as taught by Meyers, in order to enable the diameter of the attachment member to correspond to the diameter of the working member.
Regarding claim 9, the attachment member disclosed by Meyers includes a fastener (18, Fig. 1) and a fastening assembly (19, Fig. 1) by which the fastener is retained. The fastener is removable (paragraph 0014). Also, like all zip ties, it can be removed by being cut.
Regarding claim 10, the fastener (18, Fig. 1) comprises a fastening element (the teeth of the zip tie) and the fastening assembly (19, Fig. 1) comprises a loop through which the fastening element is attached. The fastening element is removable (paragraph 0014). Also, like all zip ties, it can be removed by being cut.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerniglia (2020/0394938) in view of Larsen (5,778,583).
Cerniglia discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Cerniglia does not disclose how the attachment member is attached to the working member, except to say that it is “wrapped around the hose” (paragraph 0059). It is not known whether the attachment member is formed of stretchable material. Larsen teaches attaching an identifier to a cylindrical member via a stretchable material (12, Fig. 3, column 3, lines 54-57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the attachment member disclosed by Cerniglia to the working member via a stretchable material, as taught by Meyers, in order to enable the attachment member to attach to working members of different diameter.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerniglia (2020/0394938) in view of Meyers (2021/0398457) and Augustine (2013/0205630).
Cerniglia discloses a labeling kit comprising: an attachment member (154, Fig. 20) having an elongated member body that wraps around the working member (152, Fig. 20); an elongated coded section is carried along a length of the elongated member body (Fig. 20); and a schedule (150, Fig. 20) is provided that includes a coded identifier that matches the coded identifier of the attachment members (paragraph 0067), and wherein the schedule is capable of being customized with indicia provided by a user (i.e., a user can write on schedule 150, if desired).
However, Cerniglia does not disclose how the attachment member is attached to the working member, except to say that it is “wrapped around the hose” (paragraph 0059). Meyers teaches attaching an identifier (11, Fig. 1) to a cylindrical member via a fastener body in the form of zip ties (16, 18, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the attachment member disclosed by Cerniglia to the working member via zip ties, as taught by Meyers, in order to enable the diameter of the attachment member to correspond to the diameter of the working member.
The zip ties disclosed by Meyers comprises a fastener body (18, Fig. 1) to which the elongated member body (11, Fig. 1) would be attached. The elongated member body is removably attached to the fastener body (paragraph 0014). Also, like all zip ties, it can be removed by being cut.
Further, the elongated coded section disclosed by Cerniglia is not disclosed as being attached to the elongated member body by magnets. Rather, it appears that the coded section is printed directly on the elongated member body. Augustine teaches attaching indicia in the form of an image (paragraph 0060) to a band that encircles a cylindrical object via magnets (paragraphs 0060-0061). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the elongated coded section disclosed by Cerniglia to the elongated member body by magnets, as taught by Augustine, in order to facilitate the removal and replacement of the coded section, if desired.
Regarding claim 12, in the combination set forth above, the elongated member body (11, Fig. 1) disclosed by Meyers is secured to the fastener body (16, 18, Fig. 1) at a plurality of positions along the length of the elongated member body. Specifically, it is secured at both ends thereof, as shown in Fig. 1 of Meyers.
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 20 of Cerniglia shows that the background color of the indicia “300” comprises a color. See also paragraph 0056.
Regarding claim 14, see paragraph 0056 and note that Cerniglia discloses varying the number of background colors. Further, Fig. 20 illustrates different background colors for the indicia “300” and the indicia “2”. Figs. 8-10 likewise illustrate a pattern of multiple colors on the attachment members.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 20 of Cerniglia shows that the code identifiers on attachment member (154) comprise a design pattern.
Regarding claim 16, the member (154, Fig. 20) disclosed by Cerniglia is inherently flexible in order to be able to wrap around the working member (152, Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 17, the attachment (16, 18, Fig. 1) disclosed by Meyers is a zip tie.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631