DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano US PG-Pub 2005/0157901 in combination with Braband US PG-Pub 2024/0040324 in view of Bolognia US PG-Pub 2014/0001580.
Regarding claim 7, Hatano teaches a passive acoustic directional amplifier having a cavity formed by the passive acoustic directional amplifier; and, a microphone system positioned within the cavity (Fig. 1 & [0014]: a microphone-12 in the cavity of the sound collector that will collect acoustic sound to be provided to the microphone-12).
Hatano failed to teach a dual microphone system comprising: a substrate having a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface and substantially parallel to the top surface, and an edge surface extending from the top surface to the bottom surface, wherein the edge surface defines a slotted recess extending into the substrate; a first MEMS microphone mounted to the top surface of the substrate, the first MEMS microphone comprising a first package, a first sensor, and a first integrated circuit, wherein the first package forms a first sound port and wherein the first sound port is positioned over the slotted recess; and, a second MEMS microphone mounted to the bottom surface of the substrate, the second MEMS microphone comprising a second package, a second sensor, and a second integrated circuit, wherein the second package forms a second sound port and wherein the second sound port is positioned over the slotted recess, and wherein the second sound port is positioned within 3 millimeters of the first sound port.
However, Bradband teaches a dual microphone system comprising: a substrate having a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface and substantially parallel to the top surface (Fig. 12: substrate-510), and an edge surface extending from the top surface to the bottom surface, wherein the edge surface defines a slotted recess extending into the substrate (Fig. 12: the substrate-510 has an edge which defines a slot recess where sound can go inside); a first MEMS microphone mounted to the top surface of the substrate, the first MEMS microphone comprising a first package, a first sensor, wherein the first package forms a first sound port and wherein the first sound port is positioned over the slotted recess (Fig. 12 & [0129]: the microphone-521 is place on the substrate-510 in the recess so sound can be pickup though the sound path-538 and up through it’s sound port); and, a second MEMS microphone mounted to the bottom surface of the substrate, the second MEMS microphone comprising a second package, a second sensor, wherein the second package forms a second sound port and wherein the second sound port is positioned over the slotted recess (Fig. 12 & [0129]: the microphone-520 is place on the substrate-510 in the recess so sound can be pickup though the sound path-538 and down through it’s sound port).
Hatano and Bradband are analogous art because they are both in the same field of endeavor, namely microphone devices. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because having a dual MEMS microphone is an alternate equivalent type of microphones that is used to capture audio data.
The combination failed to explicitly teach microphone package having integrated circuit and wherein the second sound port is positioned within 3 millimeters of the first sound port.
However, Bolognia teaches microphone package having integrated circuit and wherein the second sound port is positioned within 3 millimeters of the first sound port (Fig. 4B & [0031]: the MEMS microphones have integrated circuit-7A/7B and the substrate-2 is about 3mm).
The combination and Bolognia are analogous art because they are both in the same field of endeavor, namely microphone devices. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because microphone unit having integrated circuit helps to process data faster and having substrate of 3mm is an inventor choice and no undue result will arise.
Regarding claim 10, Bolognia teaches wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board ([0029]: the substrate-2 can be PCB). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because PCB is an alternate equivalent material for a substrate.
Regarding claim 11, Braband teaches wherein the first MEMS microphone is a bottom port MEMS microphone (Fig. 12-520). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because it is an inventor choice to select if the microphone will be bottom or top port and no unexpected result will arise.
Claim 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano US PG-Pub 2005/0157901 in combination with Braband US PG-Pub 2024/0040324 in view of Bolognia US PG-Pub 2014/0001580 and further in view of Mucha US PG-Pub 2019/0166432.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the first MEMS microphone is configured to generate a first output signal and wherein the second MEMS microphone is configured to generate a second output signal (Braband, Fig. 12 & Bolognia Fig. 4B: two microphone device will have their own outputs).
The combination failed to teach sum the first output signal with the second output signal to create a summation signal.
However, Mucha teaches sum the first output signal with the second output signal to create a summation signal (Fig. 1 & [0067]: dual MEMS microphones that will sum together).
The combination and Mucha are analogous art because they are both in the same field of endeavor, namely microphone devices. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because adding the microphone signals will amplify the audio signal as Mucha teaches at the end of [0067].
Regarding claim 9, the combination failed to teach wherein a third integrated circuit within the audio system creates the summation signal and wherein the audio system does not delay the first signal in relation to the second signal and does not delay the second signal in relation to the first signal, prior to generating the summation signal of the first and second signal.
However, Mucha teaches sum the first output signal with the second output signal to create a summation signal (Fig. 1 & [0067]: dual MEMS microphones that will sum together and does not mention delaying one signal relative to the other).
The combination and Mucha are analogous art because they are both in the same field of endeavor, namely microphone devices. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, because adding the microphone signals without relative delay will amplify the audio signal as Mucha is doing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM A JEREZ LORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695