Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the component listed as “extension portion 161” is not labeled on the drawings. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang (CN216251022U).
Regarding Claim 1, Fang teaches a cylindrical battery cell ([0004], [0081]) comprising a housing (20, [0005]), which includes an end wall (23, [0055]) and a side wall ("housing", 22, [0112]) surrounding the end wall. An opening ("recess", FIG. 9, 31 not listed in FIG. 9) is formed on one side of the side wall facing away from the end wall. An electrode assembly (10, [0005]) disposed in the housing, wherein a first tab (11, [0005]) is provided on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (FIG. 9). A current collecting component disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (40, FIG. 9), wherein the current collecting component is welded and connected to the first tab [0041]. Fang teaches a cover plate welded with the side wall to seal the opening [0112],[0132]. Fang teaches in a thickness direction of the cap, the cap comprises a recessed portion that is recessed toward the electrode assembly [0105], and the recessed portion is welded and connected to the current collecting [0199].
Regarding claim 3, Fang teaches the thickened portion of the current collecting component is welded with the recessed portion of the cap Fig. 5 & 8, [0199].
Regarding claim 4, Fang teaches a center hole located in the center region that corresponds to the positioning of the recess portion of the cap [0214-0217].
Regarding claim 13, Fang teaches a battery assembly comprising the cylindrical battery cell [0082].
Regarding claim 14, Fang teaches an electronic device comprising the battery assembly [0089-0090].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U), as applied to claim 1 in view of Li (WO2022188484).
Regarding claim 2, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach a cover plate being welded with the end cap. Wang teaches a cover plate welded with the end cap [0045] [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang to have a cover plate welded with the end cap as a known means in the battery art of securing the end cap to the cover plate as taught by Li.
Regarding Claim 5, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 4 but does not teach the specific limitations of this claim. Li teaches an opening hole corresponding to the liquid injection hole is disposed at a center of the current collecting component [0016-0017] [0099]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fang and Wang to obtain a cylindrical battery cell having a recess portion disposed at a center of the end cap, wherein a liquid injection hole is disposed at a center of the recess portion and having that corresponding liquid injection hole disposed at a center of the current collecting component, since such would allow injected liquid electrolyte to wet the electrode assembly of Fang as taught by Li (0016).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches liquid injection hole. Li does not teach a liquid injection hole having a diameter of 2 mm to 7 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to vary the size of the liquid injection hole including within a diameter 2 mm to 7 mm, with a reason expectation of success of being able to inject electrolyte into the battery through a hole of that size. It has been held that relative dimensions will not generally distinguish a claimed invention over the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A)
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in view of Narbonne (US20210218095A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach the specific limitations of this claim. However, Narbonne teaches a cover for a cylindrical electrochemical device wherein at least a part of a lower surface of the cap located at an outer periphery is in contact with an end surface of the side wall for welding connection (FIG. 1 a, underside of element 3 / element 9 is in contact with the side shell 2), and in a thickness direction of the cap, an annular groove that is recessed toward the electrode assembly side is further disposed at the outer periphery of the cap, a side wall of the annular groove away from a center of the cap is in contact with an inner surface of the side wall for welding connection (FIG. 2a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang to include the cover of the similar cell of Narbonne. One would have been motivated to combine these two inventions because the presence of the closure part (3), which contains the groove, improves the heat dissipation/ cooling of the container of the cell ([0013], [0050]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in view of Min (EP4047703A2).
Regarding Claim 11, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach a venting mark being disposed on the cap. However, Min teaches a cylindrical battery wherein a venting mark is further disposed on the cap [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with venting mark of Min. One would have been motivated to combine the aspects of these inventions in this way because the vent mark would be configured to rupture once the pressure inside the battery reached, or rather surpassed, a predetermined threshold [0076-0077], which is well known in the art to protect the battery from damage caused by thermal runway.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in view of Lim (CN114865054A).
Regarding Claim 12, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach the limitations of this claim. However, Lim teaches a (cylindrical, [0158]) battery wherein a second tab (62, 63) is Page 14 disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the end wall (FIG. 1, 62/63 are elements of 60, 62 not highlighted in this figure), and the cylindrical battery cell further comprises an electrode terminal (50) protruding from an outer surface of the end wall (FIG. 1), the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the second tab ([0074, 0325], 12 is the portion of the tab with no coating). 41. Lim also teaches a liquid injection hole (H3, [0187]), but does not specifically teach it being disposed on the end wall or the electrode terminal. However, it was held that the rearrangement of parts was unpatentable unless a new or unexpected result was produced (MPEP 2144.04(VI) (C)). 42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with these elements of Lim. One would have been motivated to combine these inventions because terminal 50 being exposed on the lower portion opposite to opening can act as an anode, so when multiple cylindrical batteries are connected in one direction the electrical connection structure is greatly simplified [0328], according to Lim. Moreover, the battery where its structure has a large portion of the lower surface located on the opposite side from the opening and protruding from the casing ensures sufficient area for welding components for electrical connection [0328].
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 & 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 14 & 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/531,628 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter being claim is of the same invention from the same inventors.
Claim 1 of both applications are claiming similar subject matter with the difference being the description of the connection between the cap and the current collector. The present application (18/534700) describes a cap having a recess portion for a current collecting component to be connected and welded to. The reference application (18/531628) describes a current collecting component having a thickened portion protruding toward the cap, and the thickened portion being connected and welded to the cap. The description of the connection differentiates by the component that is protruding and the component that is recessed, but both are describing the same connection between the same two components at the same location, thus rendering the current claim obvious over the reference application.
Claim 10 of the present (18/534700) application has identical subject matter with claim 14 of the reference application (18/531628). With the differentiating factor being the independent claim they are both derived from, of which it was previously examined to not be patentably distinct; in the discussion above.
Claim 11 of the present (18/534700) application has identical subject matter with claim 18 of the reference application (18/531628). With the differentiating factor being the independent claim they are both derived from, of which it was previously examined to not be patentably distinct; in the discussion above.
Claim 12 of the present (18/534700) application has identical subject matter with claim 19 of the reference application (18/531628). With the differentiating factor being the independent claim they are both derived from, of which it was previously examined to not be patentably distinct; in the discussion above.
Regarding claim 13 claim 20 of 18/531628 teaches a battery assembly containing the cylindrical battery cell.
Regarding claim 14, it would be obvious as known in the battery art to use a battery assembly in an electronic device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/D.E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745