Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/4/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 2 was amended. Claims 3-8 were cancelled. The drawing objections of 3/3/2026 have been obviated. Claim 2 has been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Rourke et al. (US 2025/0312230) in view of Prince (US4,384,369) and Eckes (US 5,826,273). The device of O’Rourke et al. teaches,
With respect to claim 2,
An athletic garment, comprising: a main body (12) comprising athletic shorts (para 0003) constructed of an elastic material and having two thigh areas, the main body configured to be form-fitting to a wearer's lower torso and thighs (Figures 2a, 2b);
a vertical rectangular-shaped embodiment (18) sewn to (it is noted that ‘sewn to” is a product by process limitation, the pocket of the prior art is secured and capable of being sewn, and therefore meets the product by process limitation of “sewn to” as currently recited) a back wall of each of the thigh areas on a posterior-inside of the main body (para 0003) and made of a stretchable material (para 0050), at least one warmer removably retained within the at least one pocket assembly of the pockets.
The device of O’Rourke et al. substantially discloses the claimed invention but is silent with respect to the pockets being two separate pockets.
The device of Prince teaches pockets having a the vertical rectangular-shaped embodiment (80; figure 2) containing two separate pillow-pockets (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the pocket structure of O’Rourke et al. with the two separate pillow pockets of Prince in order to better contain and hold the stored item in a secure location without unwanted movement.
The modified device of O’Rourke et al substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a warmer that is capable of being air activated.
The device of Eckes teaches an air activated warmer (24, column 4, liens 65-67). it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize an air activated warmer in order to provide an easily activated heat source as desired by the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The drawing objections of the last office action have been obviated. The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732